DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6-11 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment of 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
Applicant argues:
On pages 6-7 of the remarks applicant argues the claims limitation requires that the processor specify, based on the priority of each UCI, a coefficient to be multiplied to the number of bits of the UCI in rate matching of that UCI, such that the coefficient is applied during rate matching to determine the respective resources. Therefore, Lin fails to remedy the defects of Hamss with respect to the above- mentioned limitation.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits:
Examiner notes that the claim limitation recites “a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information” and not a coefficient to be multiplied to the number of bits of the UCI in rate matching of that UCI as being argued. The claims requires specifying the coefficient based priority of each uplink control information in rate matching.
Lin teaches in [0031], [0034], [0084], determining coefficient A to be multiplied to a number of bits in determining UCI resources. Furthermore, Lin discloses performing rate matching for the UCIs based on priority, see [0030]-[0032].
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit”, “transmission unit”, “reception unit” in claims 6-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Hamss et al (US 2022/0078768 A1) in view of Lin et al (US 2022/0124703 A1).
Regarding claim 6, El Hamss teaches a terminal comprising:
a control unit that multiplexes two or more uplink control information having different priorities on an uplink shared channel (El Hamss: [0249]-[0250], multiplexing UCIs with different priorities on PUSCH); and
a transmission unit that transmits an uplink signal using the uplink shared channel on which the two or more uplink control information is multiplexed (El Hamss: [0249]-[0250], transmission data on PUSCH).
El Hamss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the control unit respectively determines resources of the two or more uplink control information by specifying, based on a priority of each uplink control information in rate matching of each of the two or more uplink control information, a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information.
Lin teaches wherein the control unit respectively determines resources of the two or more uplink control information by specifying, based on a priority of each uplink control information in rate matching of each of the two or more uplink control information, a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information (Lin: [0031], [0034], [0084], determining coefficient A to be multiplied to a number of bits in determining UCI resources).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of El Hamss wherein the control unit respectively determines resources of the two or more uplink control information by specifying, based on a priority of each uplink control information in rate matching of each of the two or more uplink control information, a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information as disclosed by Lin to provide a system for multiplexing UCIs (Lin: Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, El Hamss in view of Lin teaches wherein when a first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) having a first priority and a second HARQ-ACK having a second priority lower than the first priority are multiplexed on the uplink shared channel, the control unit specifies, based on the first priority in rate matching of the first HARQ-ACK, a first coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the first HARQ-ACK, and specifies, based on the second priority in rate matching of the second HARQ-ACK, a second coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the second HARQ-ACK (Lin: [0082]-[0084] UCI Y with highest priority, coefficient is 1; other UCI, coefficient is A).
Regarding claim 8, El Hamss teaches a base station comprising:
a control unit that assumes that two or more uplink control information having different priorities is multiplexed on an uplink shared channel (El Hamss: [0249]-[0250], multiplexing UCIs with different priorities on PUSCH); and
a reception unit that receives an uplink signal using the uplink shared channel on which the two or more uplink control information is multiplexed (El Hamss: [0249]-[0250], transmission data on PUSCH).
El Hamss does not teach but Lin teaches from a terminal that respectively determines resources of the two or more uplink control information by specifying, based on a priority of each uplink control information in rate matching of each of the two or more uplink control information, a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information (Lin: [0031], [0034], [0084], determining coefficient A to be multiplied to a number of bits in determining UCI resources).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of El Hamss wherein the signal is received from a terminal that respectively determines resources of the two or more uplink control information by specifying, based on a priority of each uplink control information in rate matching of each of the two or more uplink control information, a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information as disclosed by Lin to provide a system for multiplexing UCIs (Lin: Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, El Hamss teaches a radio communication system comprising: a terminal; and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises a control unit that multiplexes two or more uplink control information having different priorities on an uplink shared channel (El Hamss: [0249]-[0250], multiplexing UCIs with different priorities on PUSCH); and a transmission unit that transmits an uplink signal to the base station, using the uplink shared channel on which the two or more uplink control information is multiplexed (El Hamss: [0249]-[0250], transmission data on PUSCH).
El Hamss does not explicitly disclose
wherein the control unit respectively determines resources of the two or more uplink control information by specifying, based on a priority of each uplink control information in rate matching of each of the two or more uplink control information, a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information.
Lin teaches wherein the control unit respectively determines resources of the two or more uplink control information by specifying, based on a priority of each uplink control information in rate matching of each of the two or more uplink control information, a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information (Lin: [0031], [0034], [0084], determining coefficient A to be multiplied to a number of bits in determining UCI resources).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of El Hamss wherein the control unit respectively determines resources of the two or more uplink control information by specifying, based on a priority of each uplink control information in rate matching of each of the two or more uplink control information, a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information as disclosed by Lin to provide a system for multiplexing UCIs (Lin: Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, E Hamss teaches a radio communication method comprising: a step of multiplexing, by a terminal, two or more uplink control information having different priorities on an uplink shared channel (El Hamss: [0249]-[0250], multiplexing UCIs with different priorities on PUSCH); and
a step of transmitting, by the terminal, an uplink signal using the uplink shared channel on which the two or more uplink control information is multiplexed (El Hamss: [0249]-[0250], transmission data on PUSCH).
El Hamss does not teach but Lin teaches from a terminal that respectively determines resources of the two or more uplink control information by specifying, based on a priority of each uplink control information in rate matching of each of the two or more uplink control information, a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information (Lin: [0031], [0034], [0084], determining coefficient A to be multiplied to a number of bits in determining UCI resources).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of El Hamss wherein the signal is received from a terminal that respectively determines resources of the two or more uplink control information by specifying, based on a priority of each uplink control information in rate matching of each of the two or more uplink control information, a coefficient to be multiplied to a number of bits of the uplink control information as disclosed by Lin to provide a system for multiplexing UCIs (Lin: Abstract).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Hamss et al (US 2022/0078768 A1) in view of Lin et al (US 2022/0124703 A1) in further view of Lin et al (US 2020/0296716 A1) (hereinafter Lin716).
Regarding claim 11, El Hamss in view of Lin does not explicitly disclose wherein when determining the resources, the processor applies a scaling factor that limits the resources usable for the uplink control information.
Lin716 teaches wherein when determining the resources, the processor applies a scaling factor that limits the resources usable for the uplink control information (Lin716: [0092], [0097]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of El Hamss in view of Lin wherein when determining the resources, the processor applies a scaling factor that limits the resources usable for the uplink control information as disclosed by Lin716 to provide a system for multiplexing UCI (Lin716: Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478