Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-17, 19-20, 23-29, 33-42, 44-45, 48-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2020/0252989 A1) in view of KO et al. (WO 2020251318 A1) (see provided Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 1, 26, & 51-52, Chen discloses a method, a first user equipment, non-transitory computer-readable medium, of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
a memory (see memory [0022]);
a communication interface (see interface [0041]); and
At least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the communication interface, the at least one processor (see processor [0136]) configured to:
participating in a sidelink (SL) session with at least a second UE (see sidelink participating in fig. 5);
Chen does not disclose however Ko discloses participating in a sidelink (SL) positioning session (see item 284 “side link positioning may be stopped.”)
Chen does not disclose however Ko discloses terminating or suspending the SL positioning session (see item 284 “side link positioning may be stopped.”).
Chen does not disclose however Ko discloses determining that the SL positioning session should be terminated or suspended (see item 284 “side link positioning may be stopped.” Here may infers a decision); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 2 & 27, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 and first UE of claim 26, wherein determining that the SL session should be terminated or suspended comprises determining that the SL session exceeds or will exceed a maximum SL positioning session duration (see [0091], “specified time duration is greater”);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 3 & 28, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 and first UE of claim 26, wherein determining that the SL session should be terminated or suspended comprises determining that a requirement for the SL session is not being met (see “may stop transmitting sidelink reference signals once RLF is declared”, [0078]);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 4 & 29, Chen discloses the method of claim 3 and first UE of claim 28, wherein determining that the SL session should be terminated or suspended comprises determining that the requirement for the SL session is not being met and has not been met for a threshold amount of time (see [0092], “channel quality indicator is below a certain channel quality indicator threshold for at least a certain time duration”);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 8 & 33, Chen discloses the method of claim 3 and first UE of claim 28, wherein determining that the requirement for the SL session is not being met comprises determining that a condition of a channel being used for the SL session does not meet a channel quality requirement (see [0154], “ certain channel condition thresholds”);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 9 & 34, Chen discloses the method of claim 3 and first UE of claim 28, wherein determining that the requirement for the SL session is not being met comprises determining that the first UE or the second UE does not meet a minimum power requirement (see [0101], “the L-UE 402 can facilitate the support for SL power control in all M-UEs 406 to ensure short range SL transmissions in a small coverage area and high SL-SINR”);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 10 & 35, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 and first UE of claim 26, wherein determining that the requirement for the SL session is not being met comprises determining that a processing time (see [0088], “with specific geo-area and time duration/periodicity restrictions”), a measurement response time, a measurement period time, or a measurement time of the first UE or the second UE does not meet a response time requirement;
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 11 & 36, Chen discloses the method of claim 3 and first UE of claim 28, wherein determining that the requirement for the SL session is not being met comprises determining that the first UE or the second UE does not meet a quality of service (QoS) requirement (see QOS requirments, [0077]);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 12 & 37, Chen discloses the method of claim 3 and first UE of claim 28, wherein the requirement for the SL session was explicitly specified during setup of the SL positioning session (see pre-configured [0071]);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 13 & 38, Chen discloses the method of claim 3 and first UE of claim 28, wherein the requirement for the SL session was implicitly determined (see [0133], “the interference mitigation and congestion control are handled by RAN for both L-UE 402 and M-UE(s) 406 as part of the resource allocation procedure, with the awareness of UE group context (i.e. sent in Group Assistance Information in RRC) which may include attributes such as the location/position of UE in the UE group and transmission timing.” Therefore, indirect or implict);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 14 & 39, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 and first UE of claim 26, wherein terminating or suspending the SL session comprises terminating or suspending the SL session via communication over a SL channel, via communication over a channel other than the SL channel (see [0078], “ suspend any sidelink data radio bearers (DRBs) and any sidelink signaling radio bearers (SRBs), possibly excepting (e.g., at least for a certain duration) a sidelink SRB(1)”), or combinations thereof;
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 15 & 40, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 and first UE of claim 26, wherein terminating or suspending the SL session comprises terminating or suspending the SL session via a multicast message, a groupcast message, a broadcast message, or a unicast message (see unicast, [0078]);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 16 & 41 , Chen discloses the method of claim 1 and first UE of claim 26, wherein terminating or suspending the SL session comprises terminating the SL positioning session (see stop transmitting sidelink, [0078]);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 17 & 42, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 and first UE of claim 26, Chen does not specifically disclose however Maaref discloses wherein terminating the SL session comprises sending, to at least the second UE, a message indicating that the SL positioning session is immediately terminated (see, “In 908, the second UE 904 may provide sidelink failure information indicating the sidelink RLC failure to the first UE 902”; fig. 9);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 19 & 44, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 and first UE of claim 26, wherein terminating or suspending the SL positioning session comprises suspending the SL session (SL is suspended-stopped therefore SL positioning stopped, [0078]);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 20 & 45, Chen discloses the method of claim 19 and first UE of claim 44, wherein terminating the SL positioning session comprises sending, to at least the second UE, a message indicating that the SL session is immediately suspended (see, “In 908, the second UE 904 may provide sidelink failure information indicating the sidelink RLC failure to the first UE 902”; fig. 9);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 23 & 48, Chen discloses the method of claim 19 and first UE of claim 44, further comprising reactivating the SL session (see [0075], “re-establishment”);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 24 & 49, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 and first UE of claim 26, wherein reactivating the SL session comprises sending, to at least the second UE, a message requesting reactivation of the SL positioning session (see [0080], “UE 804 may transmit a sidelink RRC re-establishment request ”);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Regarding claims 25 & 50, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 and first UE of claim 26, wherein terminating or suspending the SL session comprises sending a status update to at least the second UE and receiving (see [0116], “status updates for the unicast sidelink wireless connection with the second wireless device”), from at least the second UE, an instruction to terminate or suspend the SL positioning session (see stop, [0108]);
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 & 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ko et al. in further view of Rao et al. (US 2021/0045093 A1).
Regarding claims 5 & 30, Chen in view of Ko discloses the method of claim 3 and first UE of claim 28,;
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Chen and Ko do not explicitly disclose however Rao discloses wherein determining that the requirement for the SL session is not being met comprises determining that a location estimate of the first UE or the second UE does not meet a location certainty requirement (see validity location, [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Rao with that of Chen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Claim(s) 6-7 & 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view Ko I et al. in further view of Ouchi et al. (US 2019/0229964 A1).
Regarding claims 6 & 31, Chen in view of Ko discloses the method of claim 3 and first UE of claim 28,
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Ouchi specifically discloses wherein determining that the requirement for the SL session is not being met comprises determining that a velocity of the first UE or the second UE exceeds a maximum velocity requirement (see speed exceeds threshold [00432]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Ouchi with that of Chen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claims 7 & 32, Chen discloses the method of claim 3 and first UE of claim 28,
Ko specifically discloses SL Positioning (SL positioning in 284);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Chen with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known standards.
Ouchi specifically discloses wherein the method of claim 3, wherein determining that the requirement for the SL positioning session is not being met comprises determining that a mobility state of first UE or the second UE exceeds a mobility threshold requirement;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Ouchi with that of Chen. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 21-22, 43, 46-47 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643