DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 2, 13, 15, 16, 19-21, 28, 34, 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baek et al. (US 2023/0111248 A1, hereinafter “Baek”).
Regarding claims 1, 34 and 36, Baek teaches a method for determining a hyper frame number (HFN) of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity, performed by a terminal device (figs. 1, 5-8, 13, ¶ [0038]), comprising: receiving indication information sent by a network device, wherein the indication information comprises HFN information; and determining a HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information (figs. 5-8, ¶ [0009]-¶ [0011], ¶ [0060]-¶ [0063], ¶ [0072], ¶ [0074], in operation 730, the base station 710 may configure the terminal 720 with the initial value of HFN of the PDCP layer used by the terminal 720 to receive data for MBS communication. By applying the received HFN value, the terminal 720 may determine the initial value of a state variable such as RX_DELIV or RX_NEXT and the HFN value of a packet first received by the terminal 720 as data for MBS communication. ¶ [0081], ¶ [0082]), wherein the indication information further comprises multicast broadcast service (MBS) service information (fig. 4, ¶ [0062], a terminal 410 may receive the information about the MBS communication later than the other terminals. Alternatively, the terminal 410 may perform data reception for MBS communication after obtaining reception information for MBS communication. ¶ [0063], The message for configuring an MBS service may include MBS service configuration information for the terminal 410 to receive data for MBS communication. ¶ [0077], The initial value of HFN may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication. ¶ [0092], the initial value of RX_NEXT may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication), and wherein determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information comprises: determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity corresponding to the MBS service information based on the HFN information (figs. 5-8, ¶ [0009], The configuration information may include at least one of an RX_DELIV value, an RX_NEXT value, a COUNT value, or a hyper frame number (HFN) value.
¶ [0010], identifying an HFN value of a first-received MBS data packet among the MBS data based on the RX_DELIV value or the RX_NEXT value. ¶ [0011], identifying, based on the HFN value, a COUNT value of a first-received MBS data packet among the MBS data. ¶ [0063], in order for the terminal 410 to derive the RX_DELIV value or the RX_NEXT value, the base station 400 may notify the terminal 410 of an HFN value about a received packet, which the terminal 410 first receives as data for MBS communication, as an initial variable value. The initial state variable or the variable value that may be used to derive the initial state variable value may be configured for each PDCP entity, and the PDCP entity may be a radio bearer that may provide an MBS service or may perform point-to-multipoint (PTM) transmission. The message for configuring an MBS service may include MBS service configuration information for the terminal 410 to receive data for MBS communication. The MBS service configuration information may include the above initial state variable value or the variable value 430 that may be used to derive the initial state variable value. ¶ [0065], ¶ [0066], Because both RX_DELIV and RX_NEXT are state variables of the COUNT value, they may have an HFN portion and a sequence number portion. ¶ [0075]-¶ [0077], The initial value of HFN may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication. ¶ [0092], the initial value of RX_NEXT may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication); wherein the MBS service information comprises at least one of a MBS service identifier (ID), a MBS bearer ID, or protocol entity configuration information of a MBS bearer (¶ [0060], ¶ [0062], the base station 400 transmitting data of MBS communication may transmit data about a certain MBS communication. The terminal 410 may perform data reception for MBS communication after obtaining reception information for MBS communication. ¶ [0063], The initial state variable or the variable value that may be used to derive the initial state variable value may be configured for each PDCP entity, and the PDCP entity may be a radio bearer that may provide an MBS service or may perform point-to-multipoint (PTM) transmission. The radio bearer capable of providing an MBS service or performing PTM transmission as such may be referred to as a PTM data radio bearer (DRB). However, in another embodiment, it may be referred to as another name such as MBS DRB, MBS RB, or MBS radio bearer (MRB). When the base station 400 receives the message for requesting an MBS service from the terminal 410, the base station 400 may transmit a message for configuring an MBS service to the terminal 410. The message for configuring an MBS service may include MBS service configuration information for the terminal 410 to receive data for MBS communication. ¶ [0092], the initial value of RX_NEXT may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication).
Regarding claim 2, Baek teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the HFN information comprises at least one of the HFN value or a count value (COUNT) (figs. 7, 8, ¶ [0074], ¶ [0081], ¶ [0082]).
Regarding claim 13, Baek teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication information further comprises an update mode of the HFN information, and determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information comprises: in response to the applicable condition not being satisfied, generating updated HFN information by updating the HFN information based on the update mode; and determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the updated HFN information (figs. 4-8, ¶ [0063], ¶ [0066], ¶ [0081], ¶ [0082], ¶ [0084], ¶ [0086], ¶ [0088]. Where the value of HFN is determined based on one of the conditions listed in these paragraphs. If, for example, the first condition is satisfied, the value of the HFN is determined according to the first condition. And if the condition does not satisfy, the HFN is determined according to the next condition), wherein the update mode comprises an update step size and an update direction (¶ [0084], [0086], ¶ [0088]. Where the value of HFN is obtained by adding 1 to the reference HFN value or by subtracting 1 from the reference HFN value.).
Regarding claim 15, Baek teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication information sent by the network device comprises one of: receiving, based on a system message, the indication information sent by the network device; receiving, based on a multicast broadcast service (MBS) control channel message, the indication information sent by the network device; or receiving, based on a dedicated configuration message of the terminal device, the indication information sent by the network device (figs. 4-8, ¶ [0063], the message for configuring an MBS service may be transmitted in a unicast manner. ¶ [0065]. ¶ [0066]).
Regarding claim 16, Baek teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: decrypting or verifying an integrity of received data corresponding to the MBS service information based on the HFN information (¶ [0062], when a security function such as ciphering and integrity protection should be performed, a COUNT value corresponding to a combination of a sequence number value and a hyper frame number (HFN) value should match with respect to the packet transmitted between the base station 400 as a transmitting apparatus and the terminal 410 as a receiving apparatus. ¶ [0063], ¶ [0073]).
Regarding claim 19, Baek teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information comprises: in response to the terminal device being a device newly accessing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) service, determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information (figs. 4-8, ¶ [0059], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0063]).
Regarding claims 20 and 37, Baek teaches a method for determining a hyper frame number (HFN) of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity, performed by a network device (figs. 1, 5-8, 12), comprising: sending indication information to a terminal device, wherein the indication information comprises HFN information (figs. 5-8, ¶ [0060], ¶ [0072], ¶ [0074], in operation 730, the base station 710 may configure the terminal 720 with the initial value of HFN of the PDCP layer used by the terminal 720 to receive data for MBS communication. By applying the received HFN value, the terminal 720 may determine the initial value of a state variable such as RX_DELIV or RX_NEXT and the HFN value of a packet first received by the terminal 720 as data for MBS communication. ¶ [0081], ¶ [0082]), wherein the indication information further comprises multicast broadcast service (MBS) service information (fig. 4, ¶ [0062], a terminal 410 may receive the information about the MBS communication later than the other terminals. Alternatively, the terminal 410 may perform data reception for MBS communication after obtaining reception information for MBS communication. ¶ [0063], The message for configuring an MBS service may include MBS service configuration information for the terminal 410 to receive data for MBS communication. ¶ [0077], The initial value of HFN may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication. ¶ [0092], the initial value of RX_NEXT may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication), wherein the MBS service information comprises at least one of a MBS service identifier (ID), a MBS bearer ID, or protocol entity configuration information of a MBS bearer (¶ [0060], ¶ [0062], the base station 400 transmitting data of MBS communication may transmit data about a certain MBS communication. The terminal 410 may perform data reception for MBS communication after obtaining reception information for MBS communication. ¶ [0063], The initial state variable or the variable value that may be used to derive the initial state variable value may be configured for each PDCP entity, and the PDCP entity may be a radio bearer that may provide an MBS service or may perform point-to-multipoint (PTM) transmission. The radio bearer capable of providing an MBS service or performing PTM transmission as such may be referred to as a PTM data radio bearer (DRB). However, in another embodiment, it may be referred to as another name such as MBS DRB, MBS RB, or MBS radio bearer (MRB). When the base station 400 receives the message for requesting an MBS service from the terminal 410, the base station 400 may transmit a message for configuring an MBS service to the terminal 410. The message for configuring an MBS service may include MBS service configuration information for the terminal 410 to receive data for MBS communication. ¶ [0092], the initial value of RX_NEXT may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication).
Regarding claim 21, Baek teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the HFN information comprises at least one of a HFN value or a count value (COUNT) (figs. 7, 8, ¶ [0009], ¶ [0074], ¶ [0081], ¶ [0082]).
Regarding claim 28, Baek teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the indication information further comprises an update mode of the HFN information, wherein the update mode comprises an update step size and an update direction (figs. 4-8, ¶ [0063], ¶ [0066], ¶ [0081], ¶ [0082], ¶ [0084], [0086], ¶ [0088]. Where the value of HFN is obtained by adding 1 to the reference HFN value or by subtracting 1 from the reference HFN value.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 3, 6, 8, 11, 22, 24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek.
Regarding claim 3, Baek teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information comprises: in response to an applicable condition of the HFN information being satisfied, determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information; wherein the applicable condition of the HFN information comprises one of a sequence number (SN) value or a system frame number (SFN) value (¶ [0066], the difference between the RX_DELIV value and the RX_NEXT value may not be greater than (or cannot be greater than) the length of a PDCP reception window. For example, when the length of the reception window is 2^(the number of bits of the sequence number size - 1), the RX_DELIV and RX_NEXT values may not be greater than (or cannot be greater than) the length of the reception window. In other words, the length of the reception window is from minimum SN to the maximum SN. ¶ [0084], when the absolute value of a value obtained by subtracting <the sequence number of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU)> from <the reference sequence number> is greater than or equal to 0 and less than the reordering window size, the terminal 820 may configure the HFN value of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU) the same as the value of the reference HFN. Otherwise, when the absolute value of a value obtained by subtracting <the reference sequence number> from <the sequence number of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU)> is greater than the reordering window size, the terminal 820 may configure the HFN value of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU) as a value obtained by subtracting 1 from the reference HFN value. Otherwise, when the absolute value of a value obtained by subtracting <the sequence number of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU)> from <the reference sequence number> is greater than the reordering window size, the terminal 820 may configure the HFN value of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU) as a value obtained by adding 1 to the reference HFN value. In other words, the value of HFN is determined based on one of the conditions listed above. If, for example, the first condition is satisfied, the value of the HFN is determined according to the first condition. ¶ [0086], ¶ [0088]. ¶ [0089]).
Baek does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises one of: receiving the applicable condition of the HFN information sent by the network device: or determining the applicable condition of the HFN information based on an agreement.
However, Baek teaches the terminal device determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information; wherein the applicable condition of the HFN information comprises one of a sequence number (SN) value or a system frame number (SFN) value (¶ [0066], ¶ [0084]-¶ [0088]). Baek further teaches when a security function such as ciphering and integrity protection should be performed, a COUNT value corresponding to a combination of a sequence number value and a hyper frame number (HFN) value should match with respect to the packet transmitted between the base station as a transmitting apparatus and the terminal as a receiving apparatus (¶ [0062], ¶ [0063]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send, from the network device, an applicable condition, comprising at least one of a SN value or a SFN value, of the HFN information to the terminal device in the system of Beak to ensure a matching HFN/COUNT value by utilizing same condition(s)/configuration at the terminal device and the network device.
Regarding claim 6, Beak teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the SN value comprises at least one of: a minimum SN value; a maximum SN value; the minimum SN value and the maximum SN value; a section number corresponding to the SN value; or a parameter pair (m, n) corresponding to the SN value, wherein m denotes a number of sections after equally segmenting all the SN values into sections in a specified order, n denotes a section number of a section containing a current SN value among the m sections, and n is an integer less than or equal to m, or wherein the SFN value comprises at least one of: a minimum SFN value; a maximum SFN value; the minimum SFN value and the maximum SFN value; a section number corresponding to the SFN value; or a parameter pair (i, j) corresponding to the SFN value, wherein i denotes a number of sections after equally segmenting all the SFN values into sections in a specified order, j denotes a section number of a section containing a current SFN value among the i sections, and j is an integer less than or equal to i (¶ [0066], the difference between the RX_DELIV value and the RX_NEXT value may not be greater than (or cannot be greater than) the length of a PDCP reception window. For example, when the length of the reception window is 2^(the number of bits of the sequence number size - 1), the RX_DELIV and RX_NEXT values may not be greater than (or cannot be greater than) the length of the reception window. In other words, the length of the reception window is from minimum SN to the maximum SN. ¶ [0084], ¶ [0086], ¶ [0088]).
Regarding claim 8, Baek teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the applicable condition being satisfied comprises one of: a SN value corresponding to a PDCP data packet received by the terminal device satisfying the applicable condition; or a SFN value corresponding to the PDCP data packet received by the terminal device satisfying the applicable condition (¶ [0066], ¶ [0084], ¶ [0086], ¶ [0088]), wherein the indication information further comprises multicast broadcast service (MBS) service information, and the received PDCP data packet is a first PDCP data packet received by the terminal device from a MBS radio bearer (MRB) corresponding to the MBS service information (fig. 4, ¶ [0062], ¶ [0063], in order to match the above COUNT value, before the terminal 410 receives data for MBS communication, the base station 400 may notify an initial state variable value that should be used by the terminal 410 or a variable value 430 that may be used to derive the initial state variable value. The initial state variable or the variable value that may be used to derive the initial state variable value may be configured for each PDCP entity, and the PDCP entity may be a radio bearer that may provide an MBS service or may perform point-to-multipoint (PTM) transmission. The radio bearer capable of providing an MBS service or performing PTM transmission as such may be referred to as a PTM data radio bearer (DRB). However, in another embodiment, it may be referred to as another name such as MBS DRB, MBS RB, or MBS radio bearer (MRB). ¶ [0066]); wherein the SFN value corresponding to the received PDCP data packet comprises one of: a SFN value corresponding to a time location of a last physical data channel on which the PCDP data packet is successfully received; a SFN value corresponding to a time location of a first physical data channel on which the PCDP data packet is successfully received; or the SFN value corresponding to successfully receiving the PDCP data packet.
Regarding claim 11, Baek teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the applicable condition is the SN value, and determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information comprises: in response to the applicable condition not being satisfied and a difference between the SN value corresponding to the PDCP data packet received by the terminal device and the SN value of the applicable condition being s, generating updated HFN information by updating the HFN information based on the difference s; and determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the updated HFN information (¶ [0066], ¶ [0084], ¶ [0086], ¶ [0088]. Where the HFN is determined based on one of the conditions listed in these paragraphs. If, for example, the first condition is satisfied, the HFN is determined according to the first condition And if the condition does not satisfy, the HFN is determined according to the next condition (i.e., based on the difference between the SN values)), or wherein the applicable condition is the SFN value, and determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information comprises: in response to the applicable condition not being satisfied and a difference between the SFN value corresponding to the PDCP data packet received by the terminal device and the SFN value of the applicable condition being k, generating updated HFN information by updating the HFN information based on the difference k; and determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the updated HFN information.
Regarding claim 22, Baek teaches the method of claim 20.
Beak does not explicitly teach sending an applicable condition of the HFN information to the terminal device, wherein the applicable condition of the HFN information comprises at least one of a sequence number (SN) value or a system frame number (SFN) value.
However, Baek teaches the terminal device determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information comprises: in response to an applicable condition of the HFN information, wherein the applicable condition of the HFN information comprises at least one of a sequence number (SN) value or a system frame number (SFN) value (¶ [0066], the difference between the RX_DELIV value and the RX_NEXT value may not be greater than (or cannot be greater than) the length of a PDCP reception window. For example, when the length of the reception window is 2^(the number of bits of the sequence number size - 1), the RX_DELIV and RX_NEXT values may not be greater than (or cannot be greater than) the length of the reception window. In other words, the length of the reception window is from minimum SN to the maximum SN. ¶ [0084], when the absolute value of a value obtained by subtracting <the sequence number of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU)> from <the reference sequence number> is greater than or equal to 0 and less than the reordering window size, the terminal 820 may configure the HFN value of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU) the same as the value of the reference HFN. Otherwise, when the absolute value of a value obtained by subtracting <the reference sequence number> from <the sequence number of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU)> is greater than the reordering window size, the terminal 820 may configure the HFN value of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU) as a value obtained by subtracting 1 from the reference HFN value. Otherwise, when the absolute value of a value obtained by subtracting <the sequence number of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU)> from <the reference sequence number> is greater than the reordering window size, the terminal 820 may configure the HFN value of the first received PDCP PDU (or PDCP SDU) as a value obtained by adding 1 to the reference HFN value. In other words, the value of HFN is determined based on one of the conditions listed above. If, for example, the first condition is satisfied, the value of the HFN is determined according to the first condition. ¶ [0086], ¶ [0088]. ¶ [0089]). Baek further teaches when a security function such as ciphering and integrity protection should be performed, a COUNT value corresponding to a combination of a sequence number value and a hyper frame number (HFN) value should match with respect to the packet transmitted between the base station 400 as a transmitting apparatus and the terminal 410 as a receiving apparatus (¶ [0062], ¶ [0063]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send, from the network device, an applicable condition, comprising at least one of a SN value or a SFN value, of the HFN information to the terminal device in the system of Beak to ensure a matching HFN/COUNT value by utilizing same condition(s)/configuration at the terminal device and the network device.
Regarding claim 24, Beak teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the SN value comprises at least one of: a minimum SN value; a maximum SN value; the minimum SN value and the maximum SN value; a section number corresponding to the SN value; or a parameter pair (m, n) corresponding to the SN value, wherein m denotes a number of sections after equally segmenting all the SN values into sections in a specified order, n denotes a section number of a section containing a current SN value among the m sections, and n is an integer less than or equal to m, or wherein the SFN value comprises at least one of: a minimum SFN value; a maximum SFN value; the minimum SFN value and the maximum SFN value; a section number corresponding to the SFN value; or a parameter pair (i, j) corresponding to the SFN value, wherein i denotes a number of sections after equally segmenting all the SFN values into sections in a specified order, | denotes a section number of a section containing a current SFN value among the i sections, and j is an integer less than or equal to i. (¶ [0066], the difference between the RX_DELIV value and the RX_NEXT value may not be greater than (or cannot be greater than) the length of a PDCP reception window. For example, when the length of the reception window is 2^(the number of bits of the sequence number size - 1), the RX_DELIV and RX_NEXT values may not be greater than (or cannot be greater than) the length of the reception window. In other words, the length of the reception window is from minimum SN to the maximum SN. ¶ [0084], ¶ [0086], ¶ [0088]).
Regarding claim 30, Baek teaches the method of claim 20, wherein sending the indication information to the terminal device comprises one of: sending the indication information to the terminal device based on a system message; sending the indication information to the terminal device based on a multicast broadcast service (MBS) control channel message; or sending the indication information to the terminal device based on a dedicated configuration message of the terminal device (figs. 4-8, ¶ [0063], the message for configuring an MBS service may be transmitted in a unicast manner. ¶ [0065]. ¶ [0066]).
Beak does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: in response to an information change in the system message other than the HFN information, sending first change indication information to the terminal device; or in response to an information change in the MBS control channel message other than the HFN information, sending second change indication information to the terminal device.
However, Beak teaches in response to an information change in the MBS communication, sending a change indication information to the terminal device. (¶ [0065], to change a configuration about data for MBS communication that is being received, a base station 510 may transmit configuration information about MBS communication to the terminal 520 to allow the terminal 520 to apply the configuration information about MBS communication).
Further it is well known in the art to utilize an MBS control channel messages for MBS.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send a second change indication information to the terminal device in response to an information change in the MBS control channel message other than the HFN information in the system of Baek to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed on May 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
9. Applicant argues “…Thus, Baek does not teach or suggest "receiving indication information sent by a network device, wherein the indication information comprises HFN information; and determining a HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information, wherein the indication information further comprises multicast broadcast service (MBS) service information, and wherein determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information comprises: determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity corresponding to the MBS service information based on the HFN information; wherein the MBS service information comprises at least one of a MBS service identifier (ID), a MBS bearer ID, or protocol entity configuration information of a MBS bearer" of amended claim 1.
Nowhere of the above-mentioned sections of Baek discloses or suggests the above limitations of amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claim 1 is allowable. Although different in scope, independent claims 20 and 34 have been amended to recite features similar to those discussed above with respect to amended independent claim 1 and are also allowable over Baek for at least similar reasons.…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that paragraphs [0190], [0191], [0193], [0198] and [0199] (Published version) of the instant application disclose:
[0190] For example, the HFN information includes one or more of a HFN value or a COUNT value.
[0191] For example, the MBS service information includes at least one of a MBS service ID, a MBS bearer ID, or protocol entity configuration information of a MBS bearer.
[0193] In addition, the format or presentation form of the MBS bearer ID may be agreed upon by the protocol or configured by the network device, such as MRB-1 or MRB-2…
[0198] For example, the indication information received by the terminal device indicates that, for a MRB-1, the HFN value is 1. Therefore, the terminal device may determine that the HFN value of the PDCP entity corresponding to the MRB- 1 is 1, which is not limited in the disclosure.
[0199] For example, the terminal device may determine the HFN value of the PDCP entity corresponding to the MBS service information based on the HFN information when the SN value corresponding to the received PDCP data packet satisfies the applicable condition of the HFN information.
Similar to paragraphs [0190], [0191], [0193], [0198], [0199] of the instant application, Baek teaches wherein the indication information further comprises multicast broadcast service (MBS) service information (fig. 4, ¶ [0062], a terminal 410 may receive the information about the MBS communication later than the other terminals. Alternatively, the terminal 410 may perform data reception for MBS communication after obtaining reception information for MBS communication. ¶ [0063], The message for configuring an MBS service may include MBS service configuration information for the terminal 410 to receive data for MBS communication. ¶ [0077], The initial value of HFN may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication. ¶ [0092], the initial value of RX_NEXT may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication), and wherein determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity based on the HFN information comprises: determining the HFN value of the PDCP entity corresponding to the MBS service information based on the HFN information (figs. 5-8, ¶ [0009], The configuration information may include at least one of an RX_DELIV value, an RX_NEXT value, a COUNT value, or a hyper frame number (HFN) value. ¶ [0010], identifying an HFN value of a first-received MBS data packet among the MBS data based on the RX_DELIV value or the RX_NEXT value. ¶ [0011], identifying, based on the HFN value, a COUNT value of a first-received MBS data packet among the MBS data. ¶ [0063], in order for the terminal 410 to derive the RX_DELIV value or the RX_NEXT value, the base station 400 may notify the terminal 410 of an HFN value about a received packet, which the terminal 410 first receives as data for MBS communication, as an initial variable value. The initial state variable or the variable value that may be used to derive the initial state variable value may be configured for each PDCP entity, and the PDCP entity may be a radio bearer that may provide an MBS service or may perform point-to-multipoint (PTM) transmission. The message for configuring an MBS service may include MBS service configuration information for the terminal 410 to receive data for MBS communication. The MBS service configuration information may include the above initial state variable value or the variable value 430 that may be used to derive the initial state variable value. ¶ [0065], ¶ [0066], Because both RX_DELIV and RX_NEXT are state variables of the COUNT value, they may have an HFN portion and a sequence number portion. ¶ [0075]-¶ [0077], The initial value of HFN may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication. ¶ [0092], the initial value of RX_NEXT may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication), wherein the MBS service information comprises at least one of a MBS service identifier (ID), a MBS bearer ID, or protocol entity configuration information of a MBS bearer (¶ [0060], ¶ [0062], the base station 400 transmitting data of MBS communication may transmit data about a certain MBS communication. The terminal 410 may perform data reception for MBS communication after obtaining reception information for MBS communication. ¶ [0063], The initial state variable or the variable value that may be used to derive the initial state variable value may be configured for each PDCP entity, and the PDCP entity may be a radio bearer that may provide an MBS service or may perform point-to-multipoint (PTM) transmission. The radio bearer capable of providing an MBS service or performing PTM transmission as such may be referred to as a PTM data radio bearer (DRB). However, in another embodiment, it may be referred to as another name such as MBS DRB, MBS RB, or MBS radio bearer (MRB). When the base station 400 receives the message for requesting an MBS service from the terminal 410, the base station 400 may transmit a message for configuring an MBS service to the terminal 410. The message for configuring an MBS service may include MBS service configuration information for the terminal 410 to receive data for MBS communication. ¶ [0091], the base station 910 may configure the terminal 920 with the initial value of RX_NEXT of the PDCP layer used by the terminal 920 to receive data for MBS communication. ¶ [0092], the initial value of RX_NEXT may be configured for each point-to-multipoint data radio bearer (PTM DRB) that is a DRB performing MBS communication).
Therefore, the amended claims 1, 20, and 34 are anticipated by Beak, as set forth above.
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477