DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6-7, 10, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, Applicant recites “an C1-10 alkyl”. It should be “a C1-10 alkyl”.
In claims 6-7, Applicant recites “where a formula contains no
, it means that, in
linked at this position, L2 is a single bond and Ar2 is hydrogen.” An amendment to “where a formula containing no
means that in
linked at this position, L2 is a single bond and Ar2 is hydrogen.” reads better.
In claim 10, Applicant reciters “, the structure
shown in Formula a-1 being selected …” An amendment to “, and the structure
in Formula a-1 is selected …”
In claim 13, Applicant recites “alternatively, the functional layer comprises an organic light emitting layer, the organic light emitting layer comprising the nitrogen-containing compound”. An amendment to “alternatively, the functional layer comprises an organic light emitting layer, wherein the organic light emitting layer comprises the nitrogen-containing compound” reads better.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant recites “a structure shown in Formula a-1 or a structure shown in Formula a-2, and at least one of A1 and A2 is the structure shown in Formula a-1; …”
The claim language “a structure shown in Formula a-1” can be interpreted as any part of the structure within the structure represented by Formula a-1. It is unclear which part of structure is referred to in the Formula a-1. For instance, the Formula a-1 consists of multiple structures including L3 and Ar3. It is unclear which structure (i.e. L3, Ar3, or L3-Ar3) is required to satisfy the limitation of the claim, rendering this claim indefinite.
Similarly, the claim language “a structure shown in Formula a-2” can be interpreted as any part of the structure represented by Formula a-2. It is unclear which part of structure is referred to in the Formula a-2. For instance, the Formula a-2 consists of multiple structures including L, Het, L1, L2, Ar1, and Ar2. It is unclear which structure (i.e. L, Het, L1, L2, Ar1, Ar2, or any combination thereof) is required to satisfy the limitation of the claim, rendering this claim indefinite.
For the purpose of prosecution, the Examiner interprets the claim language “shown in” as “represented by”. That is, the Examiner interprets the limitation to mean “a structure represented by Formula a-1 or a structure represented by Formula a-2, and at least one of A1 and A2 is the structure represented by Formula a-1; …”
Regarding claims 2-14, claims 2-14 are rejected due to the dependency from claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, Applicant recites “the structure shown in Formula a-1, …”
The claim language “the structure shown in Formula a-1” can be interpreted as any part of the structure within the structure represented by Formula a-1. It is unclear which part of structure is referred to in the Formula a-1. For instance, the Formula a-1 consists of multiple structures including L3 and Ar3. It is unclear which structure (i.e. L3, Ar3, or L3-Ar3) is required to satisfy the limitation of the claim, rendering this claim indefinite.
For the purpose of prosecution, the Examiner interprets the claim language “shown in” as “represented by”. That is, the Examiner interprets the limitation to mean “the structure represented by Formula a-1,…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stoessel et al. (US 2021/0384443 A1, hereafter Stoessel).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-11, Stoessel discloses a compound comprising a structure of Formula (I) and used for an organic electroluminescent device ([0001], [0007], [0023]) and exemplifies Formula 29 ([0196]).
The Formula 29 of Stoessel has identical structure as Applicant’s nitrogen-containing compound. The structure enclosed by a dashed box is a benzocyclohexane. It is noted that the benzocyclohexane is substituted by two methyl and one ethyl groups at positions 1, 3, and 4 of the cyclohexane ring as annotated in the figure above, and the two methyl and one ethyl groups are connected to form cycloalkyl rings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoessel et al. (US 2021/0384443 A1).
Regarding claims 13-14, Stoessel discloses a compound comprising a structure of Formula (I) and used for an organic electroluminescent device ([0001], [0007], [0023]) and exemplifies Formula 29 ([0196]). The Formula 29 of Stoessel has identical structure as Applicant’s nitrogen-containing compound of the instant claim 1 as outlined above.
Stoessel does not disclose a specific organic electroluminescent device comprising the Formula 29 of Stoessel; however, Stoessel does teach that the compound can be used as the matrix material ( [0197], [0243]).
Stoessel teaches the structure of an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a light emitting layer, and a cathode ([0344]-[0347]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Formula 29 of Stoessel by incorporating it into the organic light emitting layer as the matrix material, as taught by Stoessel.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of matrix materials of Stoessel in the device of Stoessel would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Modified organic electroluminescent device of Stoessel (1) comprising an anode, an organic light emitting layer containing the compound of Formula 29 of Stoessel as a matrix material, and a cathode, wherein the organic electroluminescent device is equated with an electronic apparatus.
Regarding claims 1, 3-11, and 13-14, Stoessel discloses a compound comprising a structure of Formula (XV) and used for an organic electroluminescent device ([0001], [0007], [0023]). Stoessel exemplifies Formula 29 ([0196]).
The Formula 29 of Stoessel has aliphatic polycyclic ring structure enclosed by a dashed circle in the figure above which is not same as the aliphatic polycyclic ring of the Formula (XV); however, Stoessel does teach that the aliphatic polycyclic ring can be Formula (N-6),
, wherein R1 can be hydrogen and v can be 0 ([0054], [0028], [0046]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Formula 29 of Stoessel by substituting the aliphatic polycyclic ring structure with the Formula (N-6), wherein R1 is hydrogen and v is 0, as taught by Stoessel.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the exemplified aliphatic polycyclic ring structures in the compound of Stoessel would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Modified compound of Stoessel.
The Modified compound of Stoessel has identical structure as Applicant’s nitrogen-containing compound, meeting all the limitations of claims 1 and 3-11.
Stoessel does not disclose a specific organic electroluminescent device comprising the Modified compound of Stoessel; however, Stoessel does teach that the compound can be used as the matrix material ( [0197], [0243]).
Stoessel teaches the structure of an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a light emitting layer, and a cathode ([0344]-[0347]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Modified compound of Stoessel by incorporating it into the organic light emitting layer as the matrix material, as taught by Stoessel.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of matrix materials of Stoessel in the device of Stoessel would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Modified organic electroluminescent device of Stoessel (2) comprising an anode, an organic light emitting layer containing the compound of Modified compound of Stoessel as a matrix material, and a cathode, wherein the organic electroluminescent device is equated with an electronic apparatus, meeting all the limitations of claims 13-14.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoessel et al. (US 2021/0384443 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3-11, and 13 above, further in view of Pang et al. (“A full-color, low-power, wearable display for mobile applications”, SPIE, 03/29/2012, hereafter Pang).
Regarding claim 14, the Modified organic electroluminescent device of Stoessel (1) and (2) read on all the features of claim 13 as outlined above.
The device comprises an anode, an organic light emitting layer containing the compound of Formula 29 of Stoessel (or the Modified compound of Stoessel) as a matrix material, and a cathode.
Stoessel does not discloses a specific display device comprising the Modified organic electroluminescent device of Stoessel.
Pang discloses a display device (“flexible active matrix OLED display” in Fig. 3) comprising an organic electric element (“C: OLED” in Fig. 3) and a control part (“thin-film transistor”; “B: TFT” in Fig. 3).
Pang teaches the organic electric element of Pang provide a full-color, low-power, wearable display for mobile application (title and abstract).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Modified organic electroluminescent device of Stoessel by incorporating it into a display device, as taught by Stoessel and Pang.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide a full-color, low-power, wearable display for mobile application based on the teaching of Pang.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material and method to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, the substitution of the organic electroluminescent devices in a display device would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides a display device comprising the Modified organic electroluminescent device of Stoessel (1) or (2), wherein the display device is an electronic apparatus.
Conclusion
/SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786