DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the bent blade support (see at least claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 20-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 10 and 20: it is not clear what is intended by the term “aft”, since it appears that such a term depends on what orientation the razor cartridge is held in
Claim 21:
at line 6, “the opposed side walls” should be amended to read “opposed side walls”
at the second to last line, “the first side surface” should be amended to read “the first rear side surface”
Claim 22:
at line 6, “the opposed side walls” should be amended to read “opposed side walls”
at the second to last line “second rear sides surface” should be amended to read “second rear side surface”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding both claims 2 and 15, at least one “bent blade support” is required. However, this structure is not shown in the drawings, and there is insufficient written description to apprise one of ordinary skill in the art what is intended by this term. Examiner notes that reference is made to a prior art document for this structure, but otherwise the configuration is not described (see paragraph [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bozikis (US 20100175265).
Regarding claim 21, Bozikis discloses a razor cartridge frame (frame 10; see fig. 2), comprising: a guard at a front region extending in a longitudinal direction (guard 12 extends in a longitudinal direction at the front of frame 10; see fig. 2), a cap at a rear region also extending in the longitudinal direction (cap portion 14 extends in a longitudinal direction at the rear of frame 10; see fig. 2), an opening between the guard and the cap and extending in the longitudinal direction between the opposed side walls (blade receiving section 13 is an opening located between guard 12, cap portion 14, and side members 15; see fig. 2), a first blade-receiving slot (first vertical slots 45 nearest guard 12; see fig. 13), the first blade-receiving slot being positioned between a first front support at a guard side a first rear support at a cap side (first vertical slot 45 is located between a first front support and first rear support; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below), a second blade-receiving slot (second vertical slot 45 positioned behind first vertical slot 45; see fig. 13), the second blade-receiving slot being positioned between a second front support at a guard side and a second rear support at a cap side (second vertical slot 45 is located between a second front support and second rear support; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below), wherein the first front support has a first front side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the first front support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the second front support has a second front side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the second front support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the first rear support has a first rear side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the first rear support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the first front support has a first front blade locating surface extending from the first front side surface in a first direction along the longitudinal direction (front guide surface 47 located on the first front support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the second front support has a second front blade locating surface extending from the second front side surface in the first direction (front guide surface 47 located on the second front support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the first rear support has a first rear blade locating surface extending from the first rear side surface in a second direction along in the longitudinal direction (back guide surface 48 located on the first rear support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13), the second direction being opposite the first direction (front guide surface 47 extends to the right from lateral guide surface 49 and back guide surface 48 extends to the left from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the second rear support has a second rear blade locating surface extending from the second rear side surface in the second direction (back guide surface 48 located on the second rear support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the first front side surface, the first rear side surface, the second front side surface, and the second rear side surface are all coplanar (each lateral guide surface 49 is coplanar; see fig. 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozikis (US 20100175265) in view of O’Connor (US 20160332313).
Regarding claim 1, Bozikis discloses a razor cartridge (blade unit 5; see fig. 1), comprising: a frame (frame 10; see fig. 2) having: a guard at a front region extending in a longitudinal direction (guard 12 extends in a longitudinal direction at the front of frame 10; see fig. 2), a cap at a rear region also extending in the longitudinal direction (cap portion 14 extends in a longitudinal direction at the rear of frame 10; see fig. 2), opposed side walls extending between the guard and the cap and perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (side members 15 are located between guard 12 and cap portion 14 and extend in a transverse direction; see fig. 2), an opening between the guard and the cap and extending in the longitudinal direction between the opposed side walls (blade receiving section 13 is an opening located between guard 12, cap portion 14, and side members 15; see fig. 2), and a blade-receiving slot (vertical slots 45; see fig. 2), the blade-receiving slot being positioned between a front support at a guard side and a rear support at a cap side (vertical slots 45 are located between a front support and rear support; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); a razor blade having an edge portion (blades 25 comprise cutting edges 26 and are mounted within blade receiving section 13; see figs. 2 and 4) ; wherein the front support has a front side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the front support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the rear support has a rear side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the rear support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the front support has a front blade locating surface extending from the front side surface in a first direction along the longitudinal direction (front guide surface 47 extends longitudinally from first lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the rear support has a rear blade locating surface extending from the rear side surface in a second direction along in the longitudinal direction (back guide surface 48 extends longitudinally from second lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13), the second direction being opposite the first direction (front guide surface 47 extends to the right from first lateral guide surface 49 and back guide surface 48 extends to the left from second lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the front side surface and the rear side surface are coplanar (the first lateral guide surface 49 and second lateral guide surface 49 are coplanar; see fig. 13); and wherein a portion of the support portion of the razor blade is positioned in the blade-receiving slot (as modified, the support portion of blade 25 is positioned within vertical slot 45; see fig. 3).
Bozikis does not explicitly disclose a razor blade having a support portion mounted in the opening, the edge portion extending in the longitudinal direction and being angularly bent relative of the support portion.
O’Connor discloses a razor blade having a support portion mounted in the opening (vertical bases 114; see fig. 4), the edge portion extending in the longitudinal direction and being angularly bent relative of the support portion (cutting edges 32 extend longitudinally and are bent relative to vertical bases 114; see paragraph [0029] and fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bozikis in view of O’Connor to make the razor blades include a support portion and the edge portion bent relative to the support portion. O’Connor discloses a unitary bent blade unit (see paragraph [0027] and fig. 4). It is known that integrating parts into a singular element can reduce cost due to the need for less processing and assembly time. Further, such a modification would be obvious as a simple substitution of elements, where the blades of Bozikis could be replaced by those of O’Connor to yield the predictable result of a razor cartridge capable of removing hair.
Regarding claim 2, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
O’Connor further discloses wherein the razor blade includes a bent blade support with the edge portion affixed thereto (blade stabilizers 88, 90 are positioned adjacent to the blades; see figs. 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bozikis in view of O’Connor to include bent blade supports. O’Connor discloses that the bent blade supports (blade stabilizers 88, 90) are positioned to improve securement of the blade members, in addition to cutting efficiency and rinsibility (see paragraph [0028]). Therefore, in order to further secure the blades and improve cutting efficiency and rinsibility, it would be obvious to include bent blade supports in the device of Bozikis as modified.
Regarding claim 3, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
O’Connor further discloses wherein the edge portion and the support portion of the razor blade are formed of a unitary piece of material (the blade members are formed as a unitary member including vertical base 114, bent portion 116, and cutting edge 32; see paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bozikis in view of O’Connor to make the edge portion and support portion formed from a unitary piece of material since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (see Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993)). Further, it is known that doing so can reduce cost due to less processing and assembly time. Therefore, in order to reduce cost and simplify the design, it would be obvious to make the edge portion and support portion formed from a unitary piece of material.
Regarding claim 5, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified further discloses a second blade-receiving slot into which the razor blade is positioned (a second vertical slot 45 for receiving a second blade 25 is positioned behind the first vertical slot 45; see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 5 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified further discloses a third blade-receiving slot into which the razor blade is positioned (a third vertical slot 45 for receiving a third blade 25 is positioned behind the second vertical slot 45; see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 6 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified further discloses wherein the first blade-receiving slot, the second blade-receiving slot, and the third blade-receiving slot are spaced away from side walls (each of the first, second, and third vertical slots 45 are spaced from side members 15; see fig. 13).
Regarding claim 8, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified further discloses wherein the front support includes an angled top support that is positioned adjacent an underside of the edge portion of the razor blade (a top surface of the front support is positioned under blades 25; see annotated portion of fig. 13 above).
Regarding claim 9, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
O’Connor further discloses wherein a clip is positioned on the frame such that an underside of the clip is positioned in contact with a portion of the edge portion of the razor blade (the underside of blade retention member 42 is positioned against cutting edges 34 of the blades; see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bozikis in view of O’Connor to include a clip on the frame. Bozikis discloses cover 19 (see fig. 2) which is positioned to secure the blades in the cartridge. It would be a simple substitution of elements to replace side members 21 of cover 19 with the clips of O’Connor since they are used for the same purpose of securing the interior components (see paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 10, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified further discloses a second blade positioned in the opening aft of the first blade (a second blade 25 is positioned in blade receiving section 13 behind the first blade 25; see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 10 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified further discloses wherein the frame includes one second blade-receiving slot into which a first portion of a second blade support portion is positioned (a second vertical slot 45 for receiving a first portion of the support portion of second blade 25 is positioned behind the first vertical slot 45; see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 11 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified further discloses wherein the frame includes a second second blade-receiving slot into which a second portion of the second blade is positioned (on the opposite end of the cartridge, a second vertical slot 45 for receiving a second portion of the support portion of second blade 25 is positioned behind the first vertical slot 45; see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 12 as described in the rejection above.
O’Connor further discloses wherein the frame includes a third second blade-receiving slot into a which a third portion of the second blade is positioned (in the center of the cartridge, a second blade slot 78 for receiving a third portion of vertical base 114 is positioned behind the first blade slot 78; see figs. 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bozikis in view of O’Connor to include a third second blade-receiving slot. O’Connor discloses that the blade-receiving slots (blade slots 78) are configured to receive and support one of the blades (see paragraph [0020]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that providing further slots in the center of the cartridge would further secure the blades against movement and prevent shifting of the blades during use. Therefore, in order to improve security of the blades, such a modification would be obvious.
Regarding claim 14, Bozikis discloses a razor cartridge (blade unit 5; see fig. 1), comprising: a frame (frame 10; see fig. 2) having: a guard at a front region extending in a longitudinal direction (guard 12 extends in a longitudinal direction at the front of frame 10; see fig. 2), a cap at a rear region also extending in the longitudinal direction (cap portion 14 extends in a longitudinal direction at the rear of frame 10; see fig. 2), opposed side walls extending between the guard and the cap and perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (side members 15 are located between guard 12 and cap portion 14 and extend in a transverse direction; see fig. 2), an opening between the guard and the cap and extending in the longitudinal direction between the opposed side walls (blade receiving section 13 is an opening located between guard 12, cap portion 14, and side members 15; see fig. 2), a first blade-receiving slot (first vertical slots 45 nearest guard 12; see fig. 13), the first blade-receiving slot being positioned between a first front support at a guard side and a first rear support at a cap side (first vertical slot 45 is located between a first front support and first rear support; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below), and a second blade-receiving slot (second vertical slot 45 positioned behind first vertical slot 45; see fig. 13), the second blade-receiving slot being positioned between a second front support at a guard side and a second rear support at a cap side (second vertical slot 45 is located between a second front support and second rear support; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below), a first razor blade having a first edge portion (first blade 25 comprises first cutting edge 26 and is mounted within blade receiving section 13; see figs. 2 and 4); a second razor blade having a second edge portion (second blade 25 comprises second cutting edge 26 and is mounted within blade receiving section 13; see figs. 2 and 4); wherein the first front support has a first front side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the first front support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the first rear support has a first rear side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the first rear support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the second rear support has a second rear side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the second rear support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the first front support has a first front blade locating surface extending from the first front side surface in a first direction along the longitudinal direction (front guide surface 47 located on the first front support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the second front support has a second front blade locating surface extending from the second front side surface in the first direction (front guide surface 47 located on the second front support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the first rear support has a first rear blade locating surface extending from the first rear side surface in a second direction along the longitudinal direction (back guide surface 48 located on the first rear support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13), the second direction being opposite the first direction (front guide surface 47 extends to the right from lateral guide surface 49 and back guide surface 48 extends to the left from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the second rear support has a second rear blade locating surface extending from the second rear side surface in the second direction (back guide surface 48 located on the second rear support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein a portion of the first support portion of the first razor blade is positioned in the first blade-receiving slot (as modified, the first support portion of first blade 25 is positioned within vertical slot 45; see fig. 3); wherein the first front side surface, the first rear side surface, the second front side surface, and the second rear side surface are all coplanar (each lateral guide surface 49 is coplanar; see fig. 13); and wherein a portion of the second support portion of the second razor blade is positioned in the second blade receiving slot (as modified, the second support portion of second blade 25 is positioned within vertical slot 45; see fig. 3).
Bozikis does not explicitly disclose a razor blade having a first support portion mounted in the opening, the first edge portion extending in the longitudinal direction and being angularly bent relative to the first support portion; and a second support portion mounted in the opening, the second edge portion extending in the longitudinal direction and being angularly bent relative to the second support portion.
O’Connor discloses a razor blade having a first support portion mounted in the opening (first vertical base 114; see fig. 4), the first edge portion extending in the longitudinal direction and being angularly bent relative to the first support portion (first cutting edge 32 extends longitudinally and is bent relative to first vertical base 114; see paragraph [0029] and fig. 4); and a second support portion mounted in the opening (second vertical base 114; see fig. 4), the second edge portion extending in the longitudinal direction and being angularly bent relative to the second support portion (second cutting edge 32 extends longitudinally and is bent relative to second vertical base 114; see paragraph [0029] and fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bozikis in view of O’Connor to make the razor blades include a support portion and the edge portion bent relative to the support portion. O’Connor discloses a unitary bent blade unit (see paragraph [0027] and fig. 4). It is known that integrating parts into a singular element can reduce cost due to the need for less processing and assembly time. Further, such a modification would be obvious as a simple substitution of elements, where the blades of Bozikis could be replaced by those of O’Connor to yield the predictable result of a razor cartridge capable of removing hair.
Regarding claim 15, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 14 as described in the rejection above.
O’Connor further discloses wherein one of the first and second razor blades includes a bent blade support with the edge portion affixed thereto (blade stabilizers 88, 90 are positioned adjacent to the blades; see figs. 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bozikis in view of O’Connor to include bent blade supports. O’Connor discloses that the bent blade supports (blade stabilizers 88, 90) are positioned to improve securement of the blade members, in addition to cutting efficiency and rinsibility (see paragraph [0028]). Therefore, in order to further secure the blades and improve cutting efficiency and rinsibility, it would be obvious to include bent blade supports in the device of Bozikis as modified.
Regarding claim 16, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 14 as described in the rejection above.
O’Connor further discloses wherein one of the first and second razor blades are formed of a unitary piece of material (the blade members are formed as a unitary member including vertical base 114, bent portion 116, and cutting edge 32; see paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bozikis in view of O’Connor to make the edge portion and support portion formed from a unitary piece of material since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (see Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993)). Further, it is known that doing so can reduce cost due to less processing and assembly time. Therefore, in order to reduce cost and simplify the design, it would be obvious to make the edge portion and support portion formed from a unitary piece of material.
Regarding claim 18, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 14 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified further discloses wherein the first blade-receiving slot and the second blade receiving slot are spaced away from side walls (each of the first and second vertical slots 45 are spaced from side members 15; see fig. 13).
Regarding claim 19, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 14 as described in the rejection above.
O’Connor further discloses wherein a clip is positioned on the frame such that an underside of the clip is positioned in contact with a portion of the first edge portion and the second edge portion of the first and second razor blades, respectively (the underside of blade retention member 42 is positioned against cutting edges 34 of the blades; see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bozikis in view of O’Connor to include a clip on the frame. Bozikis discloses cover 19 (see fig. 2) which is positioned to secure the blades in the cartridge. It would be a simple substitution of elements to replace side members 21 of cover 19 with the clips of O’Connor since they are used for the same purpose of securing the interior components (see paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 20, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 14 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified further discloses wherein a third razor blade is positioned in the frame aft of the second blade (a third blade 25 is positioned in blade receiving section 13 behind second blade 25; see fig. 2).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozikis (US 20100175265) in view of O’Connor (US 20160332313), and further in view of Newman (EP 1092515).
Regarding claim 4, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified further discloses wherein the razor blade defines a first side and a second side (each blade 25 has an upper face 27 and lower face 28; see paragraph [0071] and fig. 4).
Bozikis as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the first and second sides is free of burrs.
Newman discloses wherein one of the first and second sides is free of burrs (blank 5 comprises cutting edge 7, which should be free from chips, nicks, or other breaks in the integrity of the edge; see paragraph [0003] and fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bozikis in view of Newman to make the first and second sides of the blade free from burrs. Newman discloses that distorted cutting edges can render the blade useless or at worst, can injure the user (see paragraph [0003]). Therefore, in order to prevent injury to the user, such a modification would be obvious in view of the teachings of Newman.
Regarding claim 17, Bozikis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 14 as described in the rejection above.
Bozikis as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the first and second razor blades is free of burrs.
Newman discloses wherein one of the first and second razor blades is free of burrs (blank 5 comprises cutting edge 7, which should be free from chips, nicks, or other breaks in the integrity of the edge; see paragraph [0003] and fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bozikis in view of Newman to make the first and second sides of the blade free from burrs. Newman discloses that distorted cutting edges can render the blade useless or at worst, can injure the user (see paragraph [0003]). Therefore, in order to prevent injury to the user, such a modification would be obvious in view of the teachings of Newman.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 14-17 of remarks filed 3/9/2026, with respect to claim 22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 22 has been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or otherwise render obvious in combination with all claim limitations a razor cartridge frame with a first front side surface and a first rear side surface that are coplanar within a first plane, a second front side surface and a second rear side surface that are coplanar within a second plane, with the second plane being parallel to and offset from the first plane.
The closest prior art of record is Bozikis (US 20100175265). Bozikis discloses a razor cartridge frame (frame 10; see fig. 2), comprising: a guard at a front region extending in a longitudinal direction (guard 12 extends in a longitudinal direction at the front of frame 10; see fig. 2), a cap at a rear region also extending in the longitudinal direction (cap portion 14 extends in a longitudinal direction at the rear of frame 10; see fig. 2), an opening between the guard and the cap and extending in the longitudinal direction between the opposed side walls (blade receiving section 13 is an opening located between guard 12, cap portion 14, and side members 15; see fig. 2), a first blade-receiving slot (first vertical slots 45 nearest guard 12; see fig. 13), the first blade-receiving slot being positioned between a first front support at a guard side and a first rear support at a cap side (first vertical slot 45 is located between a first front support and first rear support; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below), and a second blade-receiving slot (second vertical slot 45 positioned behind first vertical slot 45; see fig. 13), the second blade-receiving slot being positioned between a second front support at a guard side and a second rear support at a cap side (second vertical slot 45 is located between a second front support and second rear support; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below), wherein the first front support has a first front side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the first front support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the first rear support has a first rear side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the first rear support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the second rear support has a second rear side surface extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction (lateral guide surface 49 located on the second rear support extends in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below); wherein the first front support has a first front blade locating surface extending from the first front side surface in a first direction along the longitudinal direction (front guide surface 47 located on the first front support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the first rear support has a first rear blade locating surface extending from the first rear side surface in a second direction along in the longitudinal direction (back guide surface 48 located on the first rear support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13), the second direction being opposite the first direction (front guide surface 47 extends to the right from lateral guide surface 49 and back guide surface 48 extends to the left from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the second rear support has a second rear blade locating surface extending from the second rear side surface in the second direction (back guide surface 48 located on the second rear support extends longitudinally from lateral guide surface 49; see fig. 13); wherein the first front side surface and the first rear side surface are coplanar within a first plane (lateral guide surface 49 on the first front support and lateral guide surface 49 on the first rear support are coplanar; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below), the second front side surface and the second rear sides surface are coplanar within a second plane (lateral guide surface 49 on the second front support and lateral guide surface 49 on the second rear support are coplanar; see annotated portion of fig. 13 below).
Bozikis does not explicitly disclose wherein the second plane is parallel to and offset from the first plane. It would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bozikis to arrive at this configuration because there is no apparent functional reason to have the first plane and second plane offset from one another. Further, Bozikis provides no motivation that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to consider this configuration. Thus, it would not be obvious to modify Bozikis to make the first plane and second plane parallel and offset from one another.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: KR 200432048 to Ahn, drawn to a shaver; and US 8359752 to Bridges, drawn to a shaving razor cartridge.
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724