DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Corrected drawing sheets have been received. The objection(s) to the drawing(s) is/are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 has been amended. The objection to claim 14 is withdrawn.
Claim Status
Independent claims 1, 17, and 22, and dependent claims 3, 8, 14, 15, and 19, have been amended; dependent claims 2, 407, 9, and 18 have been canceled; new claims 24-30 have been added. Thus, claims 1, 3, 8, 10-17, 19, 22, and 24-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-01-21 (“Remarks”) have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 of claims 1, 10, 14, and 22 (Remarks, pp.15-16) are moot because a new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendments to the independent claim(s) is made in view of the previously applied references as presented in this Office action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 3, 8, 11-13, 15-17, and 19 (Remarks, beginning on p.16) but they are not persuasive, as explained below.
***
Applicant argues that “Niu discloses a method for triggering the RRC reestablishment procedure, not a method for determining whether to measure a neighboring cell. Therefore, a person, of ordinary skill in the art could have no motivation to combine the solution of Niu with the solution of Yiu to achieve the method of determining whether to measure the neighboring cell” (Remarks, p.18, emphasis in original) and that “according to Niu, the distance between the communication device and the cell being equal to or greater than a threshold is taken as a condition for triggering the RRC reestablishment procedure, and is not taken as a condition for the terminal to measure the neighboring cell” (Remarks, p.19, emphasis in original).
First, Examiner notes that Niu is relied upon to teach that “the first message indicates a distance threshold value” and “determining that the distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value” (see Non-Final Rejection, p.11); it is the combination of Lu, Yiu, and Niu, that teaches the limitations of former claims and 7 (and now, the relevant portion(s) of the independent claim(s)). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Niu discloses a first message indicating a distance threshold value as well as determining that the distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value (Niu, Fig. 3B, step 352; ¶¶0030-0032, and ¶0061).
Furthermore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument that Niu does not disclose a method for determining whether to measure a neighboring cell. Niu discloses “transmitting, by wireless communication node to a communication device, information associated with an operation to enable the communication device to initiate the operation based on the information. In some embodiments, the operation comprises one of: (1) an intra-frequency or inter-frequency measurement, (2) a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reestablishment procedure, or (3) a carrier switch procedure. In some embodiments, the information includes … a threshold of distance between the communication device and a serving cell…” (Niu, Fig. 3B, step 352, and ¶¶0031-0032, emphasis added). Thus, Niu discloses:
sending a message to a communication device,
that the message contains information associated with an operation to enable the communication device to initiate the operation based on the information,
that the operation may comprise an intra-frequency or inter-frequency measurement, and
that the information may include a threshold of distance between the communication device and a serving cell.
***
Applicant argues that “Niu is silent about performing measurement on the neighboring cell with frequency priority lower than or equal to the frequency priority of the serving cell. That is, Niu does not teach or suggest taking this distance as a condition of whether to perform measurement on the neighboring cell with frequency priority lower than or equal to the frequency priority of the serving cell.” (Remarks, p.19, emphasis in original).
Examiner again notes the Niu is not relied upon to teach the frequency priority limitation(s). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is the combination of Lu, Niu, and Yiu, which teaches the limitation of former claims 6 and 7 (and now the relevant limitation(s) in the independent claim(s)).
***
Applicant argues that “Lu does not mention what type of threshold value the absolute threshold specifically is. That is, Lu does not mention an RSRP signal level threshold value for initiating an intra-frequency measurement. Lu therefore fails to disclose ‘based on a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower than a frequency priority of a serving cell or a frequency of the neighboring cell being equal to a frequency of a serving cell, and a serving cell selection level being greater than a reference signal received power (RSRP) signal level threshold value for initiating an intra-frequency measurement, measuring the neighboring cell’ as recited in amended claim 1” (Remarks, pp.20-21, emphasis in original).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lu discloses comparing the service quality RSRP of the neighboring cell to that of the serving cell and determining whether it meets an “absolute threshold” (Lu, Col. 8: lines 64-66, A3 event), as well as comparing the service quality RSRP of the serving and neighboring cells to “absolute threshold(s)” (Lu, Col. 8: line 66 through Col 9: line 3, A5 event). Though Lu does not explicitly use the precise language, “RSRP signal level threshold value for initiating an intra-frequency measurement” or “does not mention what type of threshold value the absolute threshold specifically is” (Remarks, p.20, emphasis added), Examiner notes that:
the effect of Lu’s comparison of the service quality RSRP to the absolute threshold may be to initiate a cell reselection, which in turn comprises performing measurements on a neighboring cell (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 8: line 52 through Col. 9: line 3; and Col. 10: lines 32-37);
one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that comparing a value against a threshold is only meaningful if the value and threshold are able to be compared, i.e., they are of the same type (i.e., the value and threshold, for instance, must have the same units). Thus, Lu’s threshold, since it is compared to service quality RSRP of serving and/or neighboring cells, must be an RSRP signal level threshold; and
the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “serving cell selection level being greater than a reference signal received power (RSRP) signal level threshold value” would include the A3 and/or A5 events as described by Lu in Figs. 2-3, step S20 and Col. 8: line 52 through Col. 9: line 3.
***
Thus, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10-17, 19, 22, and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant amended the independent claims 1, 17, and 22 to recite “…a serving cell selection level being greater than a reference signal received power (RSRP) signal level threshold value…” (emphasis added).
Newly added claims or claim limitations must be supported in the specification through express, implicit, or inherent disclosure (please see MPEP § 2163 and §608.04). A review of applicant’s originally filed disclosure, including ¶0077, ¶0090, ¶¶0146-0151, and ¶0198 of applicant’s Specification as pointed out by applicant (Remarks, p.14) did not yield sufficient support for the newly recited limitation. Additionally, each time “serving cell selection level” appears in the originally filed Claims (claim 7), Specification (¶0020, ¶0056, ¶0162, ¶0237), and Drawings (Fig. 8) recite “a serving cell selection level being less than or equal to a reference signal received power (RSRP) signal level threshold value”.
Thus, independent claims 1, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 3, 8, 10-16, 19, and 24-30 each depend variously from the independent claims 1, 17, and 22, and thus are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10, 14, 16, 17, 19, 22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,199,736 to Lu et al. (“Lu”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0044539 to Yiu et al. (“Yiu”) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0322184 to Niu et al. (“Niu”).
As to claim 1 (and similarly applied to claim 22), Lu discloses a method for reselecting a cell, performed by a terminal (Lu, Figs. 2-3 and Col. 7: lines 48-64), comprising: determining location information of the terminal, wherein the location information comprises a distance between the terminal and the cell, or a distance between the terminal and the cell and a geographic location where the terminal is located (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S101; Col. 11: line 41 through Col. 12: line 4; see also step S20 and Col. 9: lines 13-17); and measuring a neighboring cell based on the location information (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 11: lines 15-34); wherein measuring the neighboring cell based on the location information comprises: based on … a serving cell selection level being greater than a reference signal received power (RSRP) signal level threshold value for initiating an intra-frequency measurement (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 8: line 55 through Col. 9: line 3), measuring the neighboring cell (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 10: lines 32-37). Examiner notes that Lu further discloses a terminal (Lu, Fig. 1; Col. 6: lines 60-67; and Col. 7: lines 58-64), comprising: a processor (Lu, Fig. 1, processor 120; Col. 7: lines 1-4); and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (Lu, Fig. 1, memory 130; Col. 7: lines 1-25); wherein the processor is configured to perform the method as described. Thus, claim 22 is similarly rejected.
Lu does not disclose: receiving a first message sent by a network device, wherein the first message indicates parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information; the parameter information comprises a distance threshold value; based on a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower than a frequency priority of a serving cell or a frequency of the neighboring cell being equal to a frequency of the serving cell; in a case that a distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value.
However, Yiu discloses: receiving a first message sent by a network device, wherein the first message indicates parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information (Yiu, Fig. 5, step 505; ¶0029; Examiner makes note of applicant's specification, ¶0143: "the parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on location information may include at least one of: a frequency of a neighboring cell, a frequency of a serving cell, a frequency priority of the neighboring cell, a frequency priority of the serving cell, a distance threshold value or a geographic location range"); based on a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower than a frequency priority of a serving cell or a frequency of the neighboring cell being equal to a frequency of the serving cell (Yiu, ¶0023).
Additionally, Niu discloses: the parameter information comprises a distance threshold value (Niu, Fig. 3B, step 352; ¶¶0030-0032); in a case that a distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value (Niu, Fig. 3B, step 352; ¶¶0030-0032).
Lu, Yiu, and Niu are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: control signaling for completing the handoff, including determination of parameters used for handoff and/or hand-off measurements; access point selection and/or reselection, including reselection being triggered by location data; and/or network topologies, including hierarchically pre-organized networks, large scale networks, airborne and/or satellite networks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu to incorporate the teachings of Yiu to include: receiving a first message sent by a network device, wherein the first message indicates parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on the location information; based on a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower than a frequency priority of a serving cell or a frequency of the neighboring cell being equal to a frequency of the serving cell. Doing so would allow for "[balancing] the load of the cells of the network to maximize service to UEs" (Yiu, ¶0003), which would prevent "delay or latency in communications or delay in accessing network service" (Yiu, ¶0003) and would "provide a robust protocol for communication with UEs and yet minimize delays or interruption in end-to-end voice communications" (Yiu, ¶0003).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu to incorporate the teachings of Niu to include: the parameter information comprises a distance threshold value; in a case that a distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value. Doing so would "allow the communication devices to autonomously initiate cell reselection or carrier switch procedures, thereby avoiding mobility issues caused by extra delays in the network" (Niu, ¶0034), and would "provide higher quality of service, longer battery life, and improved performance" (Niu, ¶0003).
As to claim 3, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein measuring the neighboring cell comprises: determining that a frequency priority of the neighboring cell is higher than a frequency priority of the serving cell (Yiu, Fig. 5, steps 505-510; ¶0029-30); and measuring a neighboring cell (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 10: lines 32-37).
As to claim 10, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein performing the cell reselection based on the location information comprises: determining a target cell based on the location information (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 10: lines 15-19).
As to claim 14, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising: reselecting the target cell (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 8: lines 52-54).
As to claim 16, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein receiving the first message sent by the network device comprises: receiving the first message sent by the network device based on at least one of a system message or a radio resource control (RRC) release message (Yiu, Fig. 5, step 505; ¶0029).
As to claim 17, Lu discloses a method for reselecting a cell, performed by a network device (Lu, Figs. 2-3 and Col. 7: lines 48-64), comprising: wherein the location information comprises a distance between a terminal and a cell, or a distance between the terminal and the cell and a geographic location where the terminal is located (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S101; Col. 11: line 41 through Col. 12: line 4; see also step S20 and Col. 9: lines 13-17); wherein the location information is used for measuring a neighboring cell by the terminal (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 10: lines 32-37), and measuring the neighboring cell comprises based on … and a serving cell selection level being greater than a reference signal received power (RSRP) signal level threshold value for initiating an intra-frequency measurement (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 8: line 55 through Col. 9: line 3), measuring the neighboring cell (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 10: lines 32-37).
Lu does not disclose: sending a first message, wherein the first message indicates parameter information that a terminal performs a cell reselection based on location information, and the parameter information comprises a distance threshold value; measuring the neighboring cell comprises based on a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower than a frequency priority of a serving cell or a frequency of the neighboring cell being equal to a frequency of the serving cell; in a case that a distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value.
However, Yiu discloses: sending a first message, wherein the first message indicates parameter information that a terminal performs a cell reselection based on location information (Yiu, Fig. 5, step 505; ¶0029; Examiner makes note of applicant's specification, ¶0143: "the parameter information that the terminal performs the cell reselection based on location information may include at least one of: a frequency of a neighboring cell, a frequency of a serving cell, a frequency priority of the neighboring cell, a frequency priority of the serving cell, a distance threshold value or a geographic location range"); measuring the neighboring cell comprises based on a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower than a frequency priority of a serving cell or a frequency of the neighboring cell being equal to a frequency of the serving cell (Yiu, ¶0023).
Additionally, Niu discloses: the parameter information comprises a distance threshold value (Niu, Fig. 3B, step 352; ¶¶0030-0032); in a case that a distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value (Niu, Fig. 3B, step 352; ¶¶0030-0032).
Lu, Yiu, and Niu are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: control signaling for completing the handoff, including determination of parameters used for handoff and/or hand-off measurements; access point selection and/or reselection, including reselection being triggered by location data; and/or network topologies, including hierarchically pre-organized networks, large scale networks, airborne and/or satellite networks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu to incorporate the teachings of Yiu to include: sending a first message, wherein the first message indicates parameter information that a terminal performs a cell reselection based on location information; measuring the neighboring cell comprises based on a frequency priority of the neighboring cell being lower than a frequency priority of a serving cell or a frequency of the neighboring cell being equal to a frequency of the serving cell. Doing so would allow for "[balancing] the load of the cells of the network to maximize service to UEs" (Yiu, ¶0003), which would prevent "delay or latency in communications or delay in accessing network service" (Yiu, ¶0003) and would "provide a robust protocol for communication with UEs and yet minimize delays or interruption in end-to-end voice communications" (Yiu, ¶0003).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu to incorporate the teachings of Niu to include: the parameter information comprises a distance threshold value; in a case that a distance between the terminal and the serving cell is greater than the distance threshold value. Doing so would "allow the communication devices to autonomously initiate cell reselection or carrier switch procedures, thereby avoiding mobility issues caused by extra delays in the network" (Niu, ¶0034), and would "provide higher quality of service, longer battery life, and improved performance" (Niu, ¶0003).
As to claim 19, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein sending the first message comprises: sending the first message based on at least one of a system message or a radio resource control (RRC) release message (Yiu, Fig. 5, step 505; ¶0029).
As to claim 24, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses a network device (Lu, Fig. 1; Col. 6: lines 60-67; please also see Col. 16: lines 8-23), comprising: a processor (Lu, Fig. 1, processor 120; Col. 7: lines 1-4); and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to implement the method according to claim 17 (Lu, Fig. 1, memory 130; Col. 7: lines 1-25).
As to claim 26, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the location information is further used for determining a target cell by the terminal (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S20; Col. 10: lines 15-19).
***
Claims 8 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Yiu and Niu and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0329507 to Yao et al. (“Yao”).
As to claim 8, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the location information comprises the distance between the terminal and the cell and the geographic location where the terminal is located (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S101; Col. 11: line 41 through Col. 12: line 4; see also step S20 and Col. 9: lines 13-17).
Lu in view of Yiu and Niu does not disclose: the parameter information comprises a geographic location range.
However, Yao discloses: the parameter information comprises a geographic location range (Yao, ¶0478, system information message includes coverage area information).
Lu, Yiu, Niu, and Yao are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: control signaling for completing the handoff, including determination of parameters used for handoff and/or hand-off measurements; access point selection and/or reselection, including reselection being triggered by location data; and/or network topologies, including hierarchically pre-organized networks, large scale networks, airborne and/or satellite networks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu in view of Yiu and Niu to incorporate the teachings of Yao to include: the parameter information comprises a geographic location range. Doing so would "reduce measurement power consumption of a terminal device and improve measurement efficiency" (Yao, ¶0005).
As to claim 25, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the location information comprises the distance between the terminal and the cell and the geographic location where the terminal is located (Lu, Figs. 2-3, step S101; Col. 11: line 41 through Col. 12: line 4; see also step S20 and Col. 9: lines 13-17).
Lu in view of Yiu and Niu does not disclose: the parameter information comprises a geographic location range.
However, Yao discloses: the parameter information comprises a geographic location range (Yao, ¶0478, system information message includes coverage area information).
Lu, Yiu, Niu, and Yao are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: control signaling for completing the handoff, including determination of parameters used for handoff and/or hand-off measurements; access point selection and/or reselection, including reselection being triggered by location data; and/or network topologies, including hierarchically pre-organized networks, large scale networks, airborne and/or satellite networks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu in view of Yiu and Niu to incorporate Yao to include: the parameter information comprises a geographic location range. Doing so would "reduce measurement power consumption of a terminal device and improve measurement efficiency" (Yao, ¶0005).
***
Claims 11, 15, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Yiu and Niu and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0189136 to You et al. (“You”).
As to claim 11, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the location information comprises a distance between the terminal and the target cell (Lu, Col. 9: lines 43-44); and determining the target cell based on the location information comprises at least one of: determining distances between the terminal and a plurality of cells (Lu, Col. 9: lines 42-52).
Lu in view of Yiu and Niu does not disclose: taking a cell with a smallest distance in the distances as the target cell; or determining distances between the terminal and a plurality of cells, and determining a ratio of each of the distances to a cell coverage radius corresponding to distance, and taking a cell with a minimum ratio in ratios as the target cell.
However, You discloses: taking a cell with a smallest distance in the distances as the target cell (You, Fig. 6, steps 620 and 640; ¶0097-104); or determining distances between the terminal and a plurality of cells, and determining a ratio of each of the distances to a cell coverage radius corresponding to distance, and taking a cell with a minimum ratio in ratios as the target cell.
Lu, Yiu, Niu, and You are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: control signaling for completing the handoff, including determination of parameters used for handoff and/or hand-off measurements; access point selection and/or reselection, including reselection being triggered by location data; and/or network topologies, including hierarchically pre-organized networks, large scale networks, airborne and/or satellite networks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu in view of Yiu and Niu to incorporate the teachings of You to include: taking a cell with a smallest distance in the distances as the target cell; or determining distances between the terminal and a plurality of cells, and determining a ratio of each of the distances to a cell coverage radius corresponding to distance, and taking a cell with a minimum ratio in ratios as the target cell. Doing so would allow "the time that the cell can provide services for the UE [to be] relatively longer, thereby avoiding additional mobility (handover/BWP handover/beam handover, etc.)" (You, ¶0104).
As to claim 15, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 10.
Lu in view of Yiu and Niu does not disclose: wherein reselecting the target cell based on the location information comprises at least one of: selecting a cell nearest the terminal as the target cell; or selecting a cell nearest the terminal from cells that satisfy an S criterion of the cell reselection as the target cell.
However, You discloses: wherein reselecting the target cell based on the location information comprises at least one of: selecting a cell nearest the terminal as the target cell; or selecting a cell nearest the terminal from cells that satisfy an S criterion of the cell reselection as the target cell (You, Fig. 6, steps 620 and 640; ¶0097-104).
Lu, Yiu, Niu, and You are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: control signaling for completing the handoff, including determination of parameters used for handoff and/or hand-off measurements; access point selection and/or reselection, including reselection being triggered by location data; and/or network topologies, including hierarchically pre-organized networks, large scale networks, airborne and/or satellite networks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu in view of Yiu and Niu to incorporate the teachings of You to include: wherein reselecting the target cell based on the location information comprises at least one of: selecting a cell nearest the terminal as the target cell; or selecting a cell nearest the terminal from cells that satisfy an S criterion of the cell reselection as the target cell. Doing so would allow "the time that the cell can provide services for the UE [to be] relatively longer, thereby avoiding additional mobility (handover/BWP handover/beam handover, etc.)" (You, ¶0104).
As to claim 27, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 26, wherein the location information comprises a distance between the terminal and the target cell (Lu, Col. 9: lines 43-44); and determining the target cell is implemented by at least one of: determining distances between the terminal and a plurality of cells (Lu, Col. 9: lines 42-52).
Lu in view of Yiu and Niu does not disclose: taking a cell with a smallest distance in the distances as the target cell; or determining distances between the terminal and a plurality of cells, and determining a ratio of each of the distances to a cell coverage radius corresponding to distance, and taking a cell with a minimum ratio in ratios as the target cell.
However, You discloses: taking a cell with a smallest distance in the distances as the target cell (You, Fig. 6, steps 620 and 640; ¶0097-104); or determining distances between the terminal and a plurality of cells, and determining a ratio of each of the distances to a cell coverage radius corresponding to distance, and taking a cell with a minimum ratio in ratios as the target cell.
Lu, Yiu, Niu, and You are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: control signaling for completing the handoff, including determination of parameters used for handoff and/or hand-off measurements; access point selection and/or reselection, including reselection being triggered by location data; and/or network topologies, including hierarchically pre-organized networks, large scale networks, airborne and/or satellite networks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu in view of Yiu and Niu to incorporate the teachings of You to include: taking a cell with a smallest distance in the distances as the target cell; or determining distances between the terminal and a plurality of cells, and determining a ratio of each of the distances to a cell coverage radius corresponding to distance, and taking a cell with a minimum ratio in ratios as the target cell. Doing so would allow "the time that the cell can provide services for the UE [to be] relatively longer, thereby avoiding additional mobility (handover/BWP handover/beam handover, etc.)" (You, ¶0104).
As to claim 30, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 26.
Lu in view of Yiu and Niu does not disclose: wherein the target cell is reselected by at least one of: selecting a cell nearest the terminal as the target cell; or selecting a cell nearest the terminal from cells that satisfy an S criterion of the cell reselection as the target cell.
However, You discloses: wherein the target cell is reselected by at least one of: selecting a cell nearest the terminal as the target cell; or selecting a cell nearest the terminal from cells that satisfy an S criterion of the cell reselection as the target cell (You, Fig. 6, steps 620 and 640; ¶0097-104).
Lu, Yiu, Niu, and You are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: control signaling for completing the handoff, including determination of parameters used for handoff and/or hand-off measurements; access point selection and/or reselection, including reselection being triggered by location data; and/or network topologies, including hierarchically pre-organized networks, large scale networks, airborne and/or satellite networks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu in view of Yiu and Niu to incorporate the teachings of You to include: wherein the target cell is reselected by at least one of: selecting a cell nearest the terminal as the target cell; or selecting a cell nearest the terminal from cells that satisfy an S criterion of the cell reselection as the target cell. Doing so would allow "the time that the cell can provide services for the UE [to be] relatively longer, thereby avoiding additional mobility (handover/BWP handover/beam handover, etc.)" (You, ¶0104).
***
Claims 12, 13, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Yiu and Niu and further in view of You and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0035346 to Fujishiro et al. (“Fujishiro”).
As to claim 12, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the location information comprises a distance between the terminal and the target cell (Lu, Col. 9: lines 43-44); and determining the target cell based on the location information comprises at least one of: determining N cells … of the cell reselection (Lu, Col. 9: lines 42-52).
Lu in view of Yiu and Niu does not disclose: based on an R criterion; selecting a cell with a smallest distance from the terminal from the N cells as the target cell; or determining N cells based on an R criterion of the cell reselection, and selecting a cell with a minimum ratio from the N cells as the target cell, wherein the ratio is a ratio of the distance between the terminal and the cell to a cell coverage radius.
However, You discloses: selecting a cell with a smallest distance from the terminal from the N cells as the target cell (You, Fig. 6, steps 620 and 640; ¶0097-104); or determining N cells based on an R criterion of the cell reselection, and selecting a cell with a minimum ratio from the N cells as the target cell, wherein the ratio is a ratio of the distance between the terminal and the cell to a cell coverage radius.
Additionally, Fujishiro discloses: based on an R criterion (Fujishiro, ¶0073).
Lu, Yiu, Niu, You, and Fujishiro are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: control signaling for completing the handoff, including determination of parameters used for handoff and/or hand-off measurements; access point selection and/or reselection, including reselection being triggered by location data; and/or network topologies, including hierarchically pre-organized networks, large scale networks, airborne and/or satellite networks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu in view of Yiu and Niu to incorporate the teachings of You to include: selecting a cell with a smallest distance from the terminal from the N cells as the target cell; or determining N cells based on an R criterion of the cell reselection, and selecting a cell with a minimum ratio from the N cells as the target cell, wherein the ratio is a ratio of the distance between the terminal and the cell to a cell coverage radius. Doing so would allow "the time that the cell can provide services for the UE [to be] relatively longer, thereby avoiding additional mobility (handover/BWP handover/beam handover, etc.)" (You, ¶0104).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu in view of Yiu and Niu to incorporate the teachings of Fujishiro to include: based on an R criterion. Doing so would allow for "properly perform[ing] the load distribution of the respective cells. In other words, it [would be] possible to appropriately distribute the user terminals in the RRC idle state to the respective cells" (Fujishiro, ¶0030).
As to claim 13, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu and further in view of Fujishiro and You discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the N cells determined based on the R criterion (Fujishiro, ¶0073) of the cell reselection (Lu, Col. 9: lines 42-52) satisfy one of: a cell selection level being greater than 0 and a cell selection quality being greater than 0; the distance between the terminal and the cell being less than a distance threshold value, or a ratio of the distance between the terminal and the cell to the cell coverage radius being less than a ratio threshold value (You, ¶0132); or the distance between the terminal and the cell being less than the distance threshold value, or the ratio of the distance between the terminal and the cell to the cell coverage radius being less than the ratio threshold value, and a cell selection level being greater than 0 and a cell selection quality of the cell being greater than 0.
As to claim 28, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu discloses the method according to claim 26, wherein the location information comprises a distance between the terminal and the target cell (Lu, Col. 9: lines 43-44); and determining the target cell is performed by at least one of: determining N cells … of the cell reselection (Lu, Col. 9: lines 42-52).
Lu in view of Yiu and Niu does not disclose: based on an R criterion; selecting a cell with a smallest distance from the terminal from the N cells as the target cell; or determining N cells based on an R criterion of the cell reselection, and selecting a cell with a minimum ratio from the N cells as the target cell, wherein the ratio is a ratio of the distance between the terminal and the cell to a cell coverage radius.
However, You discloses: selecting a cell with a smallest distance from the terminal from the N cells as the target cell (You, Fig. 6, steps 620 and 640; ¶0097-104); or determining N cells based on an R criterion of the cell reselection, and selecting a cell with a minimum ratio from the N cells as the target cell, wherein the ratio is a ratio of the distance between the terminal and the cell to a cell coverage radius.
Additionally, Fujishiro discloses: based on an R criterion (Fujishiro, ¶0073).
Lu, Yiu, Niu, You, and Fujishiro are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: control signaling for completing the handoff, including determination of parameters used for handoff and/or hand-off measurements; access point selection and/or reselection, including reselection being triggered by location data; and/or network topologies, including hierarchically pre-organized networks, large scale networks, airborne and/or satellite networks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu in view of Yiu and Niu to incorporate the teachings of You to include: selecting a cell with a smallest distance from the terminal from the N cells as the target cell; or determining N cells based on an R criterion of the cell reselection, and selecting a cell with a minimum ratio from the N cells as the target cell, wherein the ratio is a ratio of the distance between the terminal and the cell to a cell coverage radius. Doing so would allow "the time that the cell can provide services for the UE [to be] relatively longer, thereby avoiding additional mobility (handover/BWP handover/beam handover, etc.)" (You, ¶0104).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu in view of Yiu and Niu to incorporate the teachings of Fujishiro to include: based on an R criterion. Doing so would allow for "properly perform[ing] the load distribution of the respective cells. In other words, it [would be] possible to appropriately distribute the user terminals in the RRC idle state to the respective cells" (Fujishiro, ¶0030).
As to claim 29, Lu in view of Yiu and Niu and further in view of Fujishiro and You discloses the method according to claim 28, wherein the N cells determined based on the R criterion (Fujishiro, ¶0073) of the cell reselection (Lu, Col. 9: lines 42-52) satisfy one of: a cell selection level being greater than 0 and a cell selection quality being greater than 0;the distance between the terminal and the cell being less than a distance threshold value, or a ratio of the distance between the terminal and the cell to the cell coverage radius being less than a ratio threshold value (You, ¶0132); or the distance between the terminal and the cell being less than the distance threshold value, or the ratio of the distance between the terminal and the cell to the cell coverage radius being less than the ratio threshold value, and a cell selection level being greater than 0 and a cell selection quality of the cell being greater than 0.
References Cited
Fujishiro, Masato et al. (2018). User terminal (US 2018/0035346 A1). Filed 2017-10-06.
Lu, Qianxi et al. (2025). Ephemeris information-based serving cell reselection method and apparatus, and storage medium (US 12,199,736 B2). Filed 2022-04-04.
Niu, Li et al. (2022). Efficient signaling in non-terrestrial and terrestrial network deployment (US 2022/0322184 A1). Filed 2022-06-23.
You, Xin et al. (2023). Cell selection method and apparatus, device and medium (US 2023/0189136 A1). Filed 2023-02-03.
Yao, Chuting et al. (2021). Measurement configuration determining method, message processing method, and apparatus (US 2021/0329507 A1). Filed 2019-02-14.
Yiu, Candy et al. (2016). Load balancing schemes for idle mode user equipment (US 2016/0044539 A1). Filed 2015-03-26.
Other Pertinent References
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Awad, Yassin Aden et al. (2013). Cell selection (US 2013/0130682 A1). Filed 2011-08-12.
Axmon, Joakim et al. (2013). Methods and nodes supporting cell change (US 2013/0150054 A1). Filed 2012-05-04.
Choi, Yoon-Suk (2006). Method of efficiently reselecting cell in mobile station using gps (US 2006/0234757 A1). Filed 2006-03-29.
Cui, Zhi et al. (2015). Enhancement of a cell reselection parameter in heterogeneous networks (US 2015/0312805 A1). Filed 2014-04-25.
Deshpande, Manoj M. et al. (2010). System and method for cell search and selection in a wireless communication system (US 2010/0029274 A1). Filed 2009-07-29.
Gulati, Vikas et al. (2015). Handling cell reselection to intra-frequency, inter-frequency, and inter-rat cells of home plmn (US 2015/0195755 A1). Filed 2014-06-24.
Hu, Rongyi (2022). Measurement control methods and network device (US 2022/0338074 A1). Filed 2022-06-29.
Ishii, Atsushi (2023). Area scope of band associations for network slicing (US 2023/0308963 A1). Filed 2021-08-04.
Jung, Sung Hoon et al. (2014). Method for supporting mobility of user equipment based on selective mobility counting in a wireless communication system and apparatus for the same (US 2014/0024360 A1). Filed 2012-04-04.
Lei, Hongyan et al. (2016). Facilitating load balancing in wireless heterogeneous networks (US 2016/0302106 A1). Filed 2015-04-09.
Li, Xu et al. (2016). System and method for downlink machine-to-machine communications (US 2016/0150349 A1). Filed 2015-11-23.
Salim, Umer et al. (2019). Communication terminal and method for performing a cell search (US 10,285,118 B2). Filed 2016-11-21.
Sharma, Vivek et al. (2024). Communications with non-terrestrial networks (US 12,010,575 B2). Filed 2019-08-15.
Song, Yi et al. (2013). Mobility parameter adjustment and mobility state estimation in heterogeneous networks (US 2013/0244664 A1). Filed 2012-03-16.
Venkataraman, Vijay et al. (2025). Network slice aware cell selection (US 12,262,314 B2). Filed 2020-02-12.
Yiu, Candy et al. (2015). Load balancing in a wireless cellular network based on user equipment mobility (US 2015/0312826 A1). Filed 2014-11-07.
Zhang, Huimin et al. (2017). Method, apparatus, and terminal for position guidance based on radio signal quality (US 2017/0215093 A1). Filed 2017-04-10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL H. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649