Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 05, 2025 has been entered. No claims have been amended or canceled. Claims 1-37 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on p. 13, filed on December 05, 2025, with respect to rejection of claims 25-36 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 25-36 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on December 05, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp. 14 and 15 of Applicant’s response, Applicant appears to argue that Goyal does not teach “the first wireless reference signal comprises a cross-link interference (CLI) transmission, such that the first wireless reference signal arrives at the first mobile device at a time during which the first mobile device is configured to receive downlink (DL) transmissions from a network entity” of claim 1. In particular, Applicant argues that the cited portions of Goyal does not teach the limitation “the first wireless reference signal arrives at the first mobile device at a time during which the first mobile device is configured to receive downlink (DL) transmissions from a network entity” of claim 1. Examiner disagrees.
Goyal teaches a reference WTRU (for convenience referred to as WTRU 2) (i.e., second mobile device) transmitting a PRS [UL RS] (i.e., first reference signal) and a measuring WTRU (for convenience referred to as WTRU 1) (i.e., first mobile device) configured to “detect the PRS of the reference WTRU.” See ¶¶ [0107] and [0108]. The measuring WTRU (first mobile device) is also “configured to determine the slot timing of a BS, for example, by detecting the downlink PRS transmission of a BS [network entity] (e.g. serving or neighboring BS).” See ¶ [0112]. Therefore, the measuring WTRU (first mobile device) is configured to receive DL transmissions from a network entity at a certain time. Additionally, Goyal teaches that the reference signal transmitted by the measuring WTRU (first mobile device) “determine[s] the slot timing of the reference WTRU [second mobile device] by receiving transmission of the WTRU’s [second mobile device’s] uplink PRS transmission [first reference signal] in the contention based resource.” See ¶ [0112]. The measuring WTRU further determines whether there is collision of the uplink PRS (first reference signal) with other random access transmissions (i.e., DL transmissions from a network entity). Since a collision can occur at the measuring WTRU (first mobile device) of the uplink PRS (first reference signal) and other random access transmissions (DL transmissions from a network entity), the uplink PRS (first reference signal) is arriving at a time during which the measuring WTRU (first mobile device) is configured to receive DL transmissions from a network entity. Accordingly, Goyal teaches “the first wireless reference signal arrives at the first mobile device at a time during which the first mobile device is configured to receive downlink (DL) transmissions from a network entity” of claim 1.
On pp. 16 and 17 Applicant further argues that Ko does not teach “obtaining a first time difference, wherein the first time difference comprises a time difference between: a time a first wireless reference signal transmitted by a second mobile device arrives at the first mobile device; and a time the first mobile device transmits a second wireless reference signal....obtaining a second time difference, wherein the second time difference comprises a time difference between: a time the first wireless reference signal arrives at a base station of the wireless communication network, and a time the second wireless reference signal arrives at the base station", as recited, in part, in claim 1. Examiner disagrees.
As an initial matter, the Office Action cites to Goyal, and not Ko, to teach the limitation “obtaining a first time difference, wherein the first time difference comprises a time difference between: a time a first wireless reference signal transmitted by a second mobile device arrives at the first mobile device” of claim 1. See pp. 6 and 7, Office Action dtd. 9/26/25. Ko is cited for “a time the first mobile device transmits a second wireless reference signal” of claim 1. Ko teaches “transmission operation[s]” of UE (i.e., first mobile device) that “includes transmission of” SRS (reference signal) and Ko further teaches determining time difference of arrival that includes the reference signal transmitted by the UE. See ¶¶ [0121] and [0159]. Therefore, Ko teaches a time the first mobile device transmits a second wireless reference signal. Accordingly, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Goyal’s invention to have the measuring UE (first mobile device) to transmit SRS (i.e., the second reference signal) and modify the time difference of arrival operation to obtain the first time difference based in part on the transmitted second reference signal. Thus, the combination of Goyal in view of Ko teaches “obtaining a first time difference, wherein the first time difference comprises a time difference between: a time a first wireless reference signal transmitted by a second mobile device arrives at the first mobile device” of claim 1.
Ko further describes the first device “information on reference signal time difference (RSTD) [second time difference] values for differences between times when the plurality of servers [i.e., LCS servers] received” the reference signals (i.e., the first wireless reference signal and the second wireless reference signal), and base station may “transmit a reception time of the [reference signals] transmitted from the UE to the LCS server.” See ¶¶ [0017] and [0160]. Therefore, Ko teaches “obtaining a second time difference, wherein the second time difference comprises a time difference between: a time the first wireless reference signal arrives at a base station of the wireless communication network, and a time the second wireless reference signal arrives at the base station” of claim 1.
Accordingly, Goyal in view of Ko teaches all of the limitations of the claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0295442) in view of Ko et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0326335).
Regarding claim 1, Goyal teaches “[a] method of determining a position of a first mobile device, the method comprising: obtaining a first time difference” (see ¶¶ [0002], [0006], [0095], and [0115], and FIGS. 3 and 4; the measuring WRTU (i.e., first mobile device) measures (i.e., obtains) RTT (i.e., a time difference)),
Goyal further teaches “wherein the first time difference comprises a time difference between: a time a first wireless reference signal transmitted by a second mobile device arrives at the first mobile device” (see ¶¶ [0002], [0006], [0095], and [0115], and FIGS. 3 and 4; the measuring WRTU (i.e., first mobile device) measures (i.e., obtains) RTT of UL RS (i.e., a first wireless reference signal) from WTRU2 (i.e. a second mobile device); RTT includes a time arriving at the first mobile device; thus, RTT of the UL RS (the first wireless reference signal) includes a time a first wireless reference signal arrives at the first mobile device); and
Goyal further teaches “wherein: the first mobile device and the second mobile device are communicatively linked to a wireless communication network . . .” (see ¶ [0050] and FIG. 3; WTRUs 1 and 2 (first mobile device and second mobile device) are communicatively linked to wireless communication network; and WTRUs may include full duplex and/or half-duplex radio, and interference management units to handle interference; thus, the first mobile device and the second mobile device are communicatively linked to a wireless communication network) and
Goyal also teaches “the first wireless reference signal comprises a cross-link interference (CLI) transmission, such that the first wireless reference signal arrives at the first mobile device at a time during which the first mobile device is configured to receive downlink (DL) transmissions from a network entity” (see ¶¶ [0101], [0105], [0108], and [0111], and FIGS. 3 and 4; WTRUs may perform neighbor assisted positioning and may be configured with SRS pattern; Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) measurements may be performed, where the measurements may include reference signals (e.g., UL RS (the first wireless reference signal) and DL RS) transmitted by neighboring WTRU's and/or serving/neighboring BSs; thus, the first wireless reference signal comprises a cross link interference transmission; further, BS schedules the WTRU for the interference configuration and the UL RS from WTRU 2 (i.e., the first wireless reference signal) arrives at WTRU 1 at a time during which the WTRU 1 (i.e., the first wireless device) is configured to receive the DL transmission from BS (network entity); thus, the first wireless reference signal arrives at the first mobile device at a time during which the first mobile device is configured to receive downlink (DL) transmissions from a network entity);
Goyal also teaches “obtaining a second time difference” (see ¶¶ [0096], [0097], and [0111]; WTRU may determine (i.e., obtaining) reference signal time difference (RSTD) (i.e., second time difference); the WTRU may perform uplink time difference of arrival (UTDOA); the UTDOA may be performed using the measured timing at multiple network location measurement units (LMU), which may be based on uplink signals transmitted from the WTRU);
Goyal further teaches “determining the position of the first mobile device based on the first time difference and the second time difference” (see ¶ [0115]; the WTRU calculates positioning of the WTRU (the first mobile device) using one or more measurements including RTT (the first time difference) and RSTD (the second time difference)); and
Goyal further teaches “providing the position of the first mobile device” (see ¶ [0115] and FIG. 4; the WTRU may be configured to send (i.e., provide) a report that includes the positioning measurement).
Goyal does not appear to explicitly disclose “a time the first mobile device transmits a second wireless reference signal,” “employing time-division duplexing (TDD),” and “wherein the second time difference comprises a time difference between: a time the first wireless reference signal arrives at a base station of the wireless communication network, and a time the second wireless reference signal arrives at the base station” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations are well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Ko teaches “a time the first mobile device transmits a second wireless reference signal” (see ¶¶ [0121] and [0159]; UE (the first mobile device) transmits a SRS (i.e., second reference signal) to the network entity; thus, the UE can determine a time at which the first mobile device transmits a second wireless reference signal), Ko further teaches “employing time-division duplexing (TDD)” (see ¶ [0104]; UE is configured with a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration; thus, the communication network employs a time division duplex (TDD)), and Ko also teaches “wherein the second time difference comprises a time difference between: a time the first wireless reference signal arrives at a base station of the wireless communication network, and a time the second wireless reference signal arrives at the base station” (see ¶ [0017]; first device receives information on reference signal time difference (RSTD) (i.e., the second time difference) values for differences between times when the plurality of servers received the PRSs (i.e., a time the first reference signal arrives at a base station and a time the second reference signal arrives at the base station); thus, the second time difference comprises a time difference between a time the first wireless reference signal arrives at a base station of the wireless communication network, and a time the second wireless reference signal arrives at the base station). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Goyal to incorporate the teachings of Ko to determine a time the first mobile device transmits a second wireless reference signal, to employ TDD, and where the second time difference based on arrival times of reference signals at base station. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance determining location of a device in communication network (see ¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “sending a first configuration to the first mobile device, wherein the first configuration configures the first mobile device to receive the DL transmissions, and sending a second configuration to the second mobile device, wherein the second configuration configures the second mobile device to transmit the first wireless reference signal such that the first wireless reference signal arrives at the first mobile device at the time during which the first mobile device is configured to receive the downlink DL transmissions” (see ¶¶ [0101], [0106], and [0107] of Goyal; the measuring WTRU (first device) may receive a positioning configuration a sounding reference signal (SRS) pattern and an indication of the resource allocation for the SRS transmission for a reference WTRU (second device); WTRUs may be configured to perform neighbor assisted WTRU positioning; configuration of a reference WTRU (second device) may be provided; a WTRU (e.g., a reference WTRU, as used herein) may be configured to transmit a PRS (e.g., SRS); thus, the second configuration configures the second mobile device to transmit the first wireless reference signal such that the first wireless reference signal arrives at the first mobile device at the time during which the first mobile device is configured to receive the downlink DL transmissions)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 3, and further teaches “wherein sending the first configuration, sending the second configuration, or both, is performed by a location server or the base station” (see ¶¶ [0101], [0106], and [0107] of Goyal; the measuring WTRU (first device) may receive a positioning configuration (the first configuration) a sounding reference signal (SRS) pattern from BS).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the position of the first mobile device is determined by the base station, and wherein: obtaining the first time difference comprises receiving the first time difference at the base station from the first mobile device; obtaining the second time difference comprises measuring the second time difference by the base station; and providing the position of the first mobile device comprises sending information indicative of the position of the first mobile device to the first mobile device or a location server” (see ¶¶ [0085] and [0115], and FIG. 4; WTRU-assisted positioning and WTRU-based positioning may include measurements and provide the measurements to the network (i.e., receiving the first time difference at the base station from the first mobile device and obtaining the second time difference comprises measuring the second time difference by the base station), and network (e.g., the enhanced serving mobile location center (E-SMLC)) may use the measurements to calculate the WTRU's position (i.e., wherein the position of the first mobile device is determined by the base station); the WTRU may be configured to send (i.e., provide) a report that includes the positioning measurement to the BS or location server via the BS).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the position of the first mobile device is determined by a location server, and wherein: obtaining the first time difference comprises receiving the first time difference at the location server from the first mobile device; obtaining the second time difference comprises receiving the second time difference at the location server from the base station; and providing the position of the first mobile device comprises sending information indicative of the position of the first mobile device from the location server to a requesting entity” ” (see ¶¶ [0085] and [0115], and FIG. 4 of Goyal; WTRU-assisted positioning and WTRU-based positioning may include measurements and provide the measurements to the network (i.e., receiving the first time difference at the base station from the first mobile device and obtaining the second time difference comprises measuring the second time difference by the base station), and network (e.g., the enhanced serving mobile location center (E-SMLC)) may use the measurements to calculate the WTRU's position (i.e., wherein the position of the first mobile device is determined by the base station); the WTRU may be configured to send (i.e., provide) a report that includes the positioning measurement to the BS or location server via the BS).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the position of the first mobile device is determined by the first mobile device, and wherein: obtaining the first time difference comprises measuring the first time difference at the first mobile device; obtaining the second time difference comprises receiving the second time difference at the first mobile device from the base station; and providing the position of the first mobile device comprises providing information indicative of the position of the first mobile device via a user interface of the first mobile device, to an application executed by the first mobile device, or both” (see ¶¶ [0085], [0096], [0097], [0111], and [0115] of Goyal and see ¶ [0017] of Ko; the WTRU (the first mobile device) calculates positioning of the WTRU (the first mobile device) using one or more measurements including RTT (the first time difference) and RSTD (the second time difference); the first device receives information from BS on reference signal time difference (RSTD) (i.e., the second time difference) values for differences between times when the plurality of servers received the PRSs; WTRU-assisted positioning and WTRU-based positioning may include measurements and provide the measurements to the network and the WTRU configured with different interfaces (i.e., user interfaces) to transmit the BS).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the first wireless reference signal comprises a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)” (see ¶ [0101] and FIG. 3; WTRU 1 detects SRS transmission for reference WTRU (second mobile device); thus, the first wireless reference signal comprises SRS).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the second wireless reference signal comprises an uplink (UL) transmission comprising: a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble, or an SRS, or a combination thereof” (see ¶¶ [0121] and [0159] of Ko; UE (the first mobile device) transmits a SRS (i.e., second reference signal) to the network entity). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Goyal to incorporate the teachings of Ko to have a second wireless reference signal comprising SRS. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance determining location of a device in communication network (see ¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “determining a difference between an Angle of Arrival (AoA) of the first wireless reference signal at the base station and an AoA of the second wireless reference signal at the base station, wherein determining the position of the first mobile device is further based on the AoA” (see ¶ [0115] of Goyal; the positioning measurement (the position of the first mobile device) report may include one or more measurements that may be used (i.e., position based on) for the calculation of WTRU positioning (e.g., received PRS power, RSTD, RTT, BS angle-of-arrival, reference WTRU angle-of-arrival, etc.); thus a difference between AoA of the first wireless reference signal at the base station and an AoA of the second wireless reference signal at the base station is determined, where the position of the WTRU (the first mobile device) based on the AoA).
Regarding claims 14, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, they are device claims corresponding to the method claims of 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims of 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11. Claims 14, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23 are rejected under the same rationale of claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11.
Regarding claims 25, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, they are apparatus claims corresponding to the method claims of 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims of 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11. Claims 25, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34are rejected under the same rationale of claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11.
Regarding claim 37, it is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to the method claim of 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim of 1. Claim 37 is rejected under the same rationale of claim 1.
Claims 2, 7, 12, 13, 15, 19, 24, 26, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal in view of Ko and further in view of Saur (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0230618).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose “obtaining a position of the base station and a position of the second mobile device, wherein determining the position of the first mobile device is further based on the position of the base station and the position of the second mobile device” of claim 2. However, the foregoing limitations are well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Saur teaches “obtaining a position of the base station and a position of the second mobile device, wherein determining the position of the first mobile device is further based on the position of the base station and the position of the second mobile device” (see ¶ [0028] of Saur; position of BS and may maintain a list of S-UEs, such as S-UE1 121 (e.g., e.g., first mobile device), S-UE2 122 (e.g., second mobile device), and may transmit S-PRS to support T-UE localization; thus, the first device may determine the position of the first mobile device is further based on the position of the base station and the position of the second mobile device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Goyal in view of Ko to incorporate the teachings of Saur to determine a position of mobile device based on position of BS and other mobile devices. The suggestion to do so would have been to positional accuracy of a device in communication network (see ¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose “receiving, at the location server, a request for the position of the first mobile device from the requesting entity prior to obtaining the first time difference or the second time difference” of claim 7. However, the foregoing limitations are well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Saur teaches “receiving, at the location server, a request for the position of the first mobile device from the requesting entity prior to obtaining the first time difference or the second time difference” (see ¶¶ [0039] and [0063], and FIG. 2; a request to LS 204 for positioning information of the UE (e.g., first device) is received at the location server; thus, a requesting entity transmits a request for the position of the mobile device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Goyal in view of Ko to incorporate the teachings of Saur to receive a request for the position of the device at a location server. The suggestion to do so would have been to positional accuracy of a device in communication network (see ¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Goyal and Ko teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 12. However, the Saur teaches “wherein determining the position of the first mobile device comprises using multilateration to determine the position of the first mobile device based on: distances of the first mobile device from the base station and the second mobile device determined using the first time difference and the second time difference; and distances of the first mobile device from the base station and a plurality of additional mobile devices determined from wireless reference signals transmitted by the additional mobile devices and one or more wireless reference signals transmitted by the first mobile device” (see ¶¶ [0023]–[0025] of Saur; an insufficient number of hearable base stations may cause a bad performance of the multilateration algorithm, which may be used to determine the UE position; as the standard deviation of the multilateration-based positioning is proportional to the GDOP, the positioning error increases significantly as the UE moves away from the center (i.e., distances of the first mobile device from the base station and the second mobile device); to help improve positional accuracy of the T-UE, certain embodiments may utilize a set of S-UEs sending S-PRSs to the T-UE via sidelink resources; thus, the position is based on distances of the first mobile device from the base station and the second mobile device determined using the first time difference and the second time difference; and distances of the first mobile device from the base station and a plurality of additional mobile devices determined from wireless reference signals transmitted by the additional mobile devices and one or more wireless reference signals transmitted by the first mobile device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Goyal in view of Ko to incorporate the teachings of Saur to determine the position of the device based on multilateration. The suggestion to do so would have been to positional accuracy of a device in communication network (see ¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Goyal, Ko, and Saur teaches the method of claim 12, and further teaches “wherein the one or more wireless reference signals transmitted by the first mobile device comprises the second wireless reference signal” (see ¶¶ [0121] and [0159]; UE (the first mobile device) transmits a SRS (i.e., second reference signal) to the network entity). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Goyal to incorporate the teachings of Ko to have the first device transmit second wireless signal. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance determining location of a device in communication network (see ¶ [0017]).
Regarding claims 15, 19, and 24, they are device claims corresponding to method claims of 2, 7, and 12 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims of 2, 7, and 12. Claims 15, 19, and 24 are rejected under the same rationale of claims 2, 7, and 12.
Regarding claims 26, 35, and 36, they are apparatus claims corresponding to method claims of 2, 12, and 13 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims of 2, 12, and 13. Claims 26, 35, and 36 are rejected under the same rationale of claims 2, 12, and 13.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475