DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/8/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiya (JP2011044303A).
With regard to claim 1, Toshiya teaches, as shown in figures 1-10 and taught on page 2 lines 8-11: “A connector assembly 10, 30, and 50 comprising: a connector 30; and a connector cover 10 fitted around the connector to cover the connector, wherein the connector includes: a connector body 31 extending in an axial direction (top-to-bottom in figure 3) between a base end portion and a tip end portion, a lever 40 disposed radially outward of the connector body 31 and extending in the axial direction; an elastically deformable coupling portion 41 integrally coupling an intermediate portion of the lever 40 to the connector body 31, the coupling portion 41 serving as a rotation center of the lever 40; an engaging portion 42 provided at a tip end portion of the lever 40 and configured to be engaged with a mating connector 50; and an operation surface 43 provided on a base end portion of the lever 40 and directed radially outward of the connector body 31 in order to rotate the lever 40, the connector cover 10 includes an abutment portion (portion of 10 abutted against 43 in figure 4) abutted against the operation surface 43… the abutment portion is made of an elastic material (page 2 lines 8-11 teach the abutment surface being an elastic material), and the abutment portion is pushed by the operation surface 43 to be elastically recessed (figures 5 and 6 show the operation portion pushing against the elastic abutment portion), and abutment portion is in surface contact with the operation surface”.
Toshiya does not teach: “the operation surface is a flat surface”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention change the shape of the operation surface to a flat surface in order to increase the area of the operation surface to make it easier to operate. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to claim 3, Toshiya teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Toshiya also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10 and taught on page 3 line 16 of the translation: “wherein a whole of the connector cover 10 is made of an elastic material”.
With regard to claim 4, Toshiya teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Toshiya also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein a radial gap 32 is formed between the base end portion of the lever 40 and the connector body 31, and no portion of the connector cover 10 exists in the gap 32”.
With regard to claim 5, Toshiya teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Toshiya also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein a radial gap 32 is formed between the base end portion of the lever 40 and the base end portion of the connector body 31, and the base end portion of the lever 40 is radially rotatable around the coupling portion 41”.
With regard to claim 6, Toshiya teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Toshiya also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein the lever 40 is configured such that, when the operation surface 43 receives a pressing force via the connector cover 10, the 31 around the coupling portion 41”.
With regard to claim 7, Toshiya teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Toshiya also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein the abutment portion of the connector cover 10 is abutted against the operation surface 43 of the lever 40, and prevents the base end portion of the lever 40 from radially outward rotating around the coupling portion 41”.
With regard to claim 8, Toshiya teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Toshiya also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein a radial gap S is formed between the tip end portion of the lever 40 and the connector cover 10”.
With regard to claim 9, Toshiya teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Toshiya also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10 and taught on page 1 lines 23-25 of the translation: “wherein the connector 30 is configured to be connected to a mating connector 50 of a component attached to an engine”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to claim 1, the Applicant argues that the cited reference Toshiya does not teach the limitations “the operation surface is a flat surface, the abutment portion is made of an elastic material, and the abutment portion is pushed by the operation surface to be elastically recessed, and abutment portion is in surface contact with the operation surface”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, since Toshiya teaches the abutment portion being made of an elastic material and the operation surface pressed against the elastic material of the abutment portion, which would elastically recess the operation surface in the abutment portion. Further, changing the shape of the operation surface is an obvious modification of the shape of the operation surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831