DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending, of which claims 8-9 have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-9 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/11/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4392992 (“Paulson”).
Regarding claim 1, Paulson teaches a resistor film comprising chromium and silicon (see e.g. col. 2, lines 56-65). The film can have chromium in an amount that is preferably 25-29% and silicon in an amount that is preferably 55-67%, which gives a value of Cr/(Cr+Si) of 0.27 to 0.35, the entirety of which is within the claimed range (see e.g. col. 3, lines 25-26). When 6% nitrogen is added, the TCR is constant with respect to temperature across the entire recited temperature range and is near 0 ppm/°C, which is within the claimed range (see e.g. FIG. 3 and col. 8, lines 47-52).
Regarding claim 2, Paulson teaches that, at least in certain embodiments, the TCR is constant with respect to temperature, which means that the difference between the minimum and maximum values would be less than 100 ppm/°C (see e.g. FIG. 3 and col. 8, lines 47-52).
Regarding claim 3, Paulson teaches that, at least in certain embodiments, the TCR is constant with respect to temperature and nearly 0, which means that the absolute values of TCR are less than 50 ppm/°C (see e.g. FIG. 3 and col. 8, lines 47-52).
Regarding claim 4, Paulson teaches that, at least in certain embodiments, the TCR is constant with respect to temperature and nearly 0, which means that the absolute value of an average TCR across the recited temperature range is less than 50 ppm/°C (see e.g. FIG. 3 and col. 8, lines 47-52).
Regarding claim 5, Paulson teaches that the film can have chromium in an amount that is preferably 25-29% and silicon in an amount that is preferably 55-67%, which gives a value of Cr/(Cr+Si) of 0.27 to 0.35 and overlaps significantly with the claimed range (see e.g. col. 3, lines 25-26).
Regarding claim 6, Paulson teaches that the film further comprises nitrogen (see e.g. col. 2, lines 56-65).
Regarding claim 7, Paulson teaches that the film can have silicon in an amount that is preferably 55-67% and nitrogen in an amount of preferably 8-16%, meaning that the value of Si – N is between 39-59%, the entirety of which is within the claimed range (see e.g. col. 3, lines 25-26).
Conclusion
/E.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736