DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1, 3, 5, 10-16 and the species of SEQ ID 21, and leucine in the reply filed on 1/5/26 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 7/17/26 has been fully considered except where references have been lined through.
Response to Amendment
The objections the drawings are overcome by amendment.
The rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112(a) and (b) is overcome by amendment.
Amended claims 1, 3, 5, 10-16 are under examination herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the sixth amino acid substitution" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner believes this “the sixth” is intended to refer to “the second” and will be examined as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Modified rejection necessitated by amendment. Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Balumuri (WO 20151811192A, of record).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Balumuri teaches lipase variants (title) Balumuri teaches a match to claimed SEQ ID NO 2 (appendix). Balumuri teaches the lipase can be substituted at position 204 with alanine (claim 9; p15 9th paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balumuri as applied to claims 1 and 5, above, and further in view of Balumuri (WO 20151811192A, of record).
Regarding claims 3, 5, 10-11, while Balumuri does not explicitly teach the substituents at the claimed positions, Balumuri teaches that high throughput screening and site directed mutagenesis can be used to easily and rapidly determine the importance of individual amino acids (p18 paragraphs 1-2). Therefore, it is prima facia obvious to incorporate conservative substitutions at any position along SEQ ID NO 2 in the absence of new or unexpected results. There is a reasonable expectation of success as Balumuri teaches that high throughput screening and site directed mutagenesis can be used to easily and rapidly determine the importance of individual amino acids.
Regarding claim 12, Balumauri teaches that one or more substitutions (third) can be made at position 156 (claim 9).
Regarding claim 13, Balumauri teaches the additional substitutions can be at position 237 and 239 (abstract)
Regarding claims 14, Balumuri teaches a 99.6% match to claimed SEQ ID NO 3, comprising the S237N substitution, only missing a L239T mutation (appendix). Balumuri teaches that substitutions at one or more positions including 239 can be incorporated (six or more substitutions) (claim 1). Balumuri teaches that high throughput screening and site directed mutagenesis can be used to easily and rapidly determine the importance of individual amino acids (p18 paragraphs 1-2).
It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts to experiment within the inventive confines of Balumuri to mutate position L239T in SEQ ID NO 3. All of the claimed components were known in the arts at the time of filing of instant invention and would be yield nothing more than predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the arts. Balumuri further teaches that individual amino acid importance can be quickly and easily determined.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Balumuri teaches the substitutions can be at position 243 with asparagine (p15 10th paragraph). Balumuri teaches the substitution can additionally be at position 245 (p31-32 bridging paragraph). While while Balumuri does not explicitly teach the threonine at the claimed position 245, Balumuri teaches that high throughput screening and site directed mutagenesis can be used to easily and rapidly determine the importance of individual amino acids (p18 paragraphs 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the 102 should be withdrawn in view of the claim amendments (p10 paragraphs 3-5). This is not persuasive, see the 102 rejection above.
Applicant argues that Balumuri does not teach the claimed point mutations required by amended claim 1 (p11 2nd full paragraph). This is not persuasive, see the rejection of claim 1 above. Applicant argues improper hindsight reasoning (p11 2nd full paragraph). In response to Applicant's argument that the Examiner's conclusion of obviousness, is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392; 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues a variety of features that are not reflected in the claims regarding improved activities (p11-12 birding paragraph). MPEP 716.01(c) makes clear that arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. Further, MPEP 2145 teaches that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. Applicant can amend the claims to recite the desired functional limitations or provide a declaration regarding unexpected results to give this argument additional weight.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR KANE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/ROBERT J YAMASAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657