DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed 3/11/2026 have been entered.
Claims 1-5, 12, 21, 28-30, 43-47, 75-77, 82, 93-97 are pending.
The outstanding rejection under 35 USC 112b is withdrawn in view of the amendments filed 3/11/2026.
Upon reconsideration and updated search, new ground of rejections are set forth below. Hence, the instant office action will be a non-final rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12, 21, 28-30, 43-47, 77, 82, and 93-96 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,390,626 (‘626).
‘626 teaches a genus of compounds that overlaps the herein claimed Pyrazolo[1,5-a]pyrimidine compounds. ‘626 teaches various aryl and/or heterocyclic rings can be attached to the main core Pyrazolo[1,5-a]pyrimidine structure (see claim 1). Among the ring structures that can be attached is phenyl and substituted pyridyl ( see for example, col. 23, lines 25-30; also col. 24, the compound of formula (B1.1a)). For compounds of formula (B1.1a) – see col. 18, lines 40-45, R25a and R25b can forma 5 or 6-member ring such as piperidine and then further substituted with further moieties; Z7 is CR7, where R7 is a substituted aryl, heteroaryl and substituted heteroaryl ( e.g. , phenyl , substituted phenyl , pyridyl or substituted pyridyl (see col. 18, line 67 bridging col. 19, line 2; col. 20, line 1-10; col. 23, lines 33-48; col. 24, lines 1-33). ‘626 teaches R3 is selected from aryl - alkyl , substituted aryl - alkyl , heteroaryl alkyl and substituted heteroaryl - alkyl . In certain cases , R ’ is 5 selected from aryl - C1-6alkyl , substituted aryl - C1-6alkyl , heteroaryl - C1-6alkyl and substituted heteroaryl - C1-6alkyl (see col. 19, line 3-7). ‘626 also teaches R12 and R16 as substituted aryl or substituted heteroaryl (see col. 20, lines 31-40).
‘626 teaches composition containing the same compounds (see col. 28, last paragraph for example). ‘626 teaches the compounds as effective in treating KRAS related cancer by inhibit the growth of those cancer cells (see the abstract, col. 39-41, Example 1).
‘626 does not expressly teach the herein claimed compounds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the herein claimed compound in the instant claimed composition and method of treatment.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the herein claimed compound in the instant claimed composition and method of treatment. As the compounds of ‘626 ae well-known to inhibit KRAS cancer progression, employing any compounds including the compounds of formula (B1.1a), would be reasonably expected to be effective in treating the KRAS related cancer. The examiner notes that R7, R6, R2, R3 of compound of formula (B1.1a) are corresponding to the R1, R3, R4, R5 of the instant compounds recited in the claims. The moieties represented by R7, R6, R2, R3 of compound of formula (B1.1a) can be hydrogen or alkyl, or in a moiety that meets the limitations -A-L-RB . For example, substituted phenyl with R12 or R16 would meet such limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/2026 averring the cited prior art’s failure to teach the moieties represented by L, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Upon reconsideration, as discussed above, the B1.1a compounds disclosed by ‘626 references would still render the compounds recited in the instant claims obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 97 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627