DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
4. Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment(s) filed 9/26/2023
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 18 recite the limitation "the magnets moving", since the applicant has not established movable magnets, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-17 and 19-20 are rejected based on their dependency of rejected claims 1 & 18.
Claims 16 & 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 16 & 20 the recitation an electrical signal responsive to a pressure input using the sensory system of claims 1 and / or 15, is repetitive in nature and does not add any new structural and / or functionality that further limits claims 1-15.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3, 6, 8, 9, 12-16 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 20150222166 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 16, 18 & 20 Kim et al teaches a diaphragm configured to be subjected to the pressure input; a microfluidic channel 110 with a first end thereof coupled to the diaphragm [0047][0067] such that the pressure input generates a corresponding pressure change in the microfluidic channel 110; one or more magnets 140 disposed in a carrier liquid 170 in the microfluidic channel 110 ; and one or more coils 160 figs. 1A – 1C)(Figs. 2A-2C) disposed along the microfluidic channel 110 (figs. 1A – 1C)(Figs. 2A-2C) and for (Intended use recitation) generating the electrical signal based on Faraday effect by the magnets moving, under the pressure change in the microfluidic channel 110, through the respective coils 160.
Regarding claim 3 Kim et al teaches the microfluidic channel 110 has an open second end for (Intended use recitation) ambient pressure invariant operation underwater.
Regarding claim 6 Kim et al teaches two or more coils 160 with terminals of the coils with the same polarity connected together (implied)(figs. 1A – 1C)(Figs. 2A-2C) for (Intended use recitation) distinguishing backward and forward movements of the magnets through the respective coils based on the generated electrical signal.
Regarding claim 8 Kim et al teaches the system is configured to be flexible (abstract).
Regarding claim 9 Kim et al teaches a processor unit (inherent for processing signals and / or sensing systems) for (Intended use recitation) analyzing the generated electrical signal.
Regarding claim 12 Kim et al teaches the generated electrical signal is applied to sensing applications and/or stimulation applications (Abstract)[0089][0090].
Regarding claims 13 & 19 Kim et al teaches a plurality of the systems [0089][0090] for (Intended use recitation) generating an electrical signal responsive to a pressure input.
Regarding claim 14 Kim et al teaches a configuration to identify which of the plurality of sensors has been subjected to the pressure [0089][0090](figs. 1A-1C].
Regarding claim 15 Kim et al teaches one or more coils of the different sensors are serially connected between a single conductor output and ground (Figs. 1A-1C).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 2, 4-5, 10-11 & 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2 the cited prior art of record does not anticipate nor render obvious a gas disposed in the microfluidic channel at a closed second end thereof such that the carrier liquid is disposed between the diaphragm and the gas, the second end being configured to prevent escape of the gas from the microfluidic channel during operation in an operating environment.
Regarding claims 4 & 17 the cited prior art of record does not anticipate nor render obvious the carrier liquid comprises water for the ambient pressure invariant operation underwater.
Regarding claim 5 the cited prior art of record does not anticipate nor render obvious magnets of different magnetization for distinguishing backward and forward movements of the magnets through the respective coils based on the generated electrical signal.
Regarding claim 10 the cited prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the processor unit is configured to identify different objects subjecting the diaphragm to the pressure input.
Claim 11 is objected too based on its dependency of objected claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2009098970 A1 Linear electric power generating apparatus has piston to reciprocate in cylinder to axial direction, by alternately applying fluid pressure in left and right pressure chambers, to induce power generation in electromotive coil band
US 20060174711 A1 Pressure sensor
US 6798090 B2 Electrical power generation by coupled magnets
US 6279406 B1 Passive solid-state magnetic field sensors and applications therefor
/ANDRE J ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855