Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows: claims 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, 15, 16, 21, 22, 26, 29 and 31 have been canceled and claims 1 – 3, 6, 8 – 10, 13, 14, 17 – 20, 23 – 25, 27, 28, 30 and 32 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 – 20, 23 – 25, 27, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the processor" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 19, 20, 23 – 25, 27, 28 and 30 are rejected for the same reason as they depend on the above rejected claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 6, 8 – 10, 13, 14, 17 – 20, 23 – 25, 27, 28, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Freda et al. (US 2024/0381485 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Freda teaches a communication method for a sidelink interface, performed by a transmitting terminal (Fig. 2; WTRU), comprising: determining that a previously selected resource is outside an active time of a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception/discontinuous transmission (DRX/DTX) corresponding to a sidelink interface destination Layer-2 ID (end of paragraph 678: Conversely, the TX WTRU may prioritize/restrict transmission of data to the second peer WTRU for grants which occur outside the active period of the first peer WTRU. Specifically, a TX WTRU may restrict selection of a L2 source/destination when the grant does not fall within the active time of that L2 source/destination, and that L2 source/destination is configured with DRX. Also described in paragraph 553, 596: DTX); determining to perform a resource selection or reselection (paragraph 659: a WTRU may perform transmission of the same data in different resources. Also described in paragraphs 786-787).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Freda teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the resource reselection is performed by executing a first operation as follows: selecting a resource within the active time of the SL DRX/DTX corresponding to the sidelink interface destination Layer-2 ID as a newly selected resource (end of paragraph 678: Conversely, the TX WTRU may prioritize/restrict transmission of data to the second peer WTRU for grants which occur outside the active period of the first peer WTRU. Specifically, a TX WTRU may restrict selection of a L2 source/destination when the grant does not fall within the active time of that L2 source/destination, and that L2 source/destination is configured with DRX; paragraph 659: a WTRU may perform transmission of the same data in different resources. Also described in paragraphs 786-787); notifying a physical layer of the active time of the SL DRX/DTX corresponding to the sidelink interface destination Layer-2 ID, and/or the newly selected resource and/or a resource reservation interval (end of paragraph 678: Conversely, the TX WTRU may prioritize/restrict transmission of data to the second peer WTRU for grants which occur outside the active period of the first peer WTRU. Specifically, a TX WTRU may restrict selection of a L2 source/destination when the grant does not fall within the active time of that L2 source/destination, and that L2 source/destination is configured with DRX; paragraph 659: a WTRU may perform transmission of the same data in different resources. Also described in paragraphs 786-787).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Freda teaches the communication method according to claim 2, wherein prior to the selecting the resource within the active time of the SL DRX/DTX corresponding to the sidelink interface destination Layer-2 ID as the newly selected resource, the method further comprises: wherein the first operation further comprises: setting the resource reservation interval (paragraph 382: A resource reservation period).
Regarding claim 6, Freda teaches the communication method according to claim 3, wherein, in case that the first operation further comprises setting the resource reservation interval, the resource reservation interval notified to the physical layer is a newly set resource reservation interval (paragraph 381-382: The presence or absence of, and/or the value of such field/parameter can consist of any or a combination of the following: [0382] A resource reservation period).
Regarding claims 8 and 23, the limitation is rejected based upon claim 3's exclusion of this limitation through use of the “or” statement.
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Freda teaches the communication method according to claim 8, wherein data transmission is performed in one cycle of the SL DRX/DTX corresponding to the sidelink interface destination Layer-2 ID by executing a second operation as follows: entering, by the transmitting terminal, the active time of the SL DRX/DTX corresponding to the sidelink interface destination Layer-2 ID after starting the first timer; performing the data transmission on the newly selected resource, and starting the second timer; starting the third timer after the data transmission; entering, by the transmitting terminal, the sleep period of the SL DRX/DTX corresponding to the sidelink interface destination Layer-2 ID in a case that the first timer, the second timer and the third timer all expire (paragraphs 257: L2 ID… timer.. active resource; paragraphs 519-522; 1314-1318: sleep).
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Freda teaches the communication method according to claim 9, wherein the starting the third timer comprises: starting a fourth timer; starting the third timer after the fourth timer expires (paragraph 110-112; 121-122, 900; paragraphs 174 and 254: start timers;).
Regarding claims 13 and 27, Freda teaches the communication method according to claim 1, further comprising: wherein the active time of the SL DRX/DTX corresponding to the sidelink interface destination Layer-2 ID is comprised in a time range of any one running timer of the following timers: a first timer, a second timer and a third timer (paragraph 110-112; 121-122, 257, 714, 900; paragraphs 174 and 254: start timers).
Regarding claims 14 and 28, the limitation is rejected based upon claim 13's exclusion of this limitation through use of the “or” statement.
Regarding claims 17 and 30, Freda teaches the communication method according to claim 8, wherein the first timer is an SL discontinuous reception on duration timer (drx-on duration TimerSL), the second timer is an SL discontinuous reception inactivity timer (drx-Inactivity TimerSL), the third timer is an SL discontinuous reception retransmission timer (drx-Retransmission TimerSL) (paragraphs 110 and 122: drx-onDurationTimer; paragraph 112 and 122: drx-Inactivity Timer; paragraph 122 and 136: DRX-RetransmissionTimer).
Regarding claim 18, Freda teaches the same limitations described above in the rejection of claim 1. Freda further teaches a terminal device (Figs. 1B and Fig 2; WTRU), comprising: a memory (Fig. 1B: memory 130/132), configured to store a computer program (paragraph 1328: computer program); a transceiver (transceiver 120), configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor (see Fig. 1B; paragraph 39); a processor (processor 118), configured to read the computer program in the memory (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 32, Freda teaches the same limitations described above in the rejection of claim 1. Freda further teaches a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory processor-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is configured to be executed by a processor of a transmitting terminal (paragraphs 1326 and 1331).
Conclusion
/RHONDA L MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462