DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 11,346,695 issued to Hirohata et al. (“Hirohata”) in view of U.S. Patent 6,851,309 issued to Lenzing et al. (“Lenzing”).
As for claims 1 and 9, Hirohata discloses a motor vehicle (Figs. 1 and 3; col. 2, line 66 - col. 3, line 4) comprising:
an internal combustion engine (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 23-26);
an air mass sensor (311) for determining an air mass flow rate, the sensor comprising:
a housing (100) defining a chamber (space for holding 310);
sensor electronics (310) at least partially located in the chamber (space for holding (310);
a duct (150) passing an air mass flow through the housing (100) to be measured by the sensor electronics, the duct comprising an inlet port (131) and an outlet port (132);
a branching of the duct into a measuring channel (152) and a bypass channel (151);
wherein the air mass flow through the measuring channel (152) exits (at 133) without rejoining the air mass flow through the bypass channel (see Fig. 3).
Hirohata does not disclose a compensation port, the compensation port connecting the duct to surroundings external to the housing.
However, Lenzing discloses a compensation port (18), the compensation port (18) connecting a duct (20) to surroundings external to a housing (6).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the air mass sensor of Hirohata to include a compensation port as disclosed by Lenzing in order to decrease pulsation so that air flow measurements will not be disturbed (Lenzing: col. 3, line 63 - col. 4, line 4).
Hirohata as modified by Lenzing does not explicitly disclose that the compensation port (Lenzing: 18) is arranged upstream of the branching as claimed.
However, Lenzing disclosed the need to include multiple compensation ports to decrease pulsation (col. 3, line 63 - col. 4, line 4). Lenzing disclosed that a compensation port 18 could be along a lower outer surface 21 of the housing 6 (col. 3, line 66 - col. 4, line 4), which corresponds to lower surface 125 of Hirohata that defines the bottom of first sub-passage groove 151 of Hirohata in Fig. 3. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a compensation port (18 of Lenzing) along lower surface 125 of Hirohata would be either upstream the branching, at the branching, or downstream the branching of Hirohata. Because, on the lower surface 125 of Hirohata, there are only three locations with respect to the branching at which to place the compensation port, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to try to pursue the known potential solutions, including placing at least one compensation port 18 of Lenzing upstream the branching of Hirohata, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As for claim 2, Hirohata as modified by Lenzing discloses that the compensation port (Lensing: 18) is formed between two parts (Hirohata: 125 and 215 in Fig. 7) of the housing (Hirohata: 100).
As for claim 3, Hirohata as modified by Lenzing discloses that the compensation port (Lenzing: 18) at least partially borders (Hirohata: at 125, 165) an adhesive (Hirohata: applied at 165; col. 9, lines 23-29) connecting the two housing parts.
As for claim 4, Hirohata as modified by and Lenzing discloses that the compensation port (Lenzing: 18) is defined by an interrupted adhesive seam (because the port is on the lower surface 125 of Hirohata that is sealed by the adhesive) or interrupted adhesive bead.
As for claim 5, Hirohata as modified by Lenzing discloses a seal (Hirohata: adhesive; col. 9, lines 23-29) between the two housing parts (Hirohata: 125, 215),
wherein the compensation port (Lenzing: 18) at least partially borders (Hirohata: at 125, 165) the seal.
As for claim 6, Hirohata as modified by Lenzing discloses that the compensation port (Lenzing: 18) is defined by the seal (because the port is on the lower surface 125 of Hirohata that is sealed by the adhesive) or the seal is at least partially interrupted to form the compensation port.
As for claim 8, Hirohata as modified by Lenzing discloses that the compensation port has a polygonal shape, or the compensation port (Lenzing: 18) has a circular or oval shape (Lenzing: see Fig. 2).
As for claim 10, Hirohata as modified by Lenzing discloses that the air mass sensor is arranged in an intake line of the internal combustion engine to measure an air mass flow within the intake line (Hirohata: see Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that since Lenzing does not disclose a split in a flow channel, Lenzing does not suggest the claimed invention. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that Applicant appears to be against Lenzing individually; however, the claimed invention was rejected over the combination of Hirohata and Lenzing as described in the rejection above. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853