DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 4/29/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 7,201,046 issued to Kikawa et al. (“Kikawa”).
As for claims 1 and 9, Kikawa discloses a motor vehicle (col. 3, lines 18-21) comprising:
an internal combustion engine (col. 3, lines 18-21);
an air mass sensor for determining an air mass flow rate, the sensor comprising:
a housing (4, 5) defining a chamber (col. 3, lines 43-44);
sensor electronics at least partially located in the chamber (14 and col. 3, lines 43-44);
a duct (6) passing an air mass flow through the housing to be measured by the sensor electronics, the duct comprising an inlet port (7) and an outlet port (8); and
a compensation port (9) arranged upstream of the sensor electronics (see Fig. 1), the compensation port (9) connecting the duct (6) to surroundings external to the housing (see Figs. 1 and 2).
As for claim 2, Kikawa discloses that the compensation port (9) is formed between two parts (left portion of 4 in Fig. 1 and right portion of 4 in Fig. 1) of the housing.
As for claim 8, Kikawa discloses that the compensation port (9) has a polygonal shape (see Fig. 3), or the compensation port (9) has a circular or oval shape (col. 4, lines 29-32).
As for claim 10, Kikawa discloses that the air mass sensor is arranged in an intake line of the internal combustion engine to measure an air mass flow within the intake line (col. 3, lines 18-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 7,201,046 issued to Kikawa et al. (“Kikawa”) in view of U.S. Patent 11,346,695 issued to Hirohata et al. (“Hirohata”).
As for claim 3, Kikawa discloses the air mass sensor as claimed in claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above).
Kikawa does not disclose an adhesive connecting the two housing parts.
However, Hirohata discloses an adhesive (applied at 160B, 166 and 167; col. 9, lines 23-29) connecting two housing parts (i.e. the circuit chamber and the duct).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the air mass sensor of Kikawa by including the adhesive as disclosed by Hirohata in order to reliably seal the boundary between the circuit chamber and the duct (Hirohata: col. 12, lines 43-48).
Kikawa as modified by Hirohata discloses that the compensation port (Kikawa: 9) at least partially borders an adhesive (Hirohata: col. 9, lines 23-29) connecting the two housing parts (i.e. the adhesive is applied at the portion between duct 6 of Kikawa and the chamber beneath 5 of Kikawa).
As for claim 4, Kikawa as modified by Hirohata discloses that the compensation port (Kikawa: 9) is defined by an interrupted adhesive seam or interrupted adhesive bead (Kikawa: see the space between 9 and 5 in Fig. 3).
As for claim 5, Kikawa as modified by Hirohata discloses a seal (Hirohata: adhesive; col. 9, lines 23-29) between the two housing parts (Kikawa: see the space between 9 and 5 in Fig. 3),
wherein the compensation port (Kikawa: 9) at least partially borders (Kikawa: see the space between 9 and 5 in Fig. 3) the seal.
As for claim 6, Kikawa as modified by Hirohata discloses that the compensation port (Kikawa: 9) is defined by the seal or the seal is at least partially interrupted to form the compensation port (Kikawa: see the space between 9 and 5 in Fig. 3)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853