MICROCRYSTALLINE NANOSCALED SILICON PARTICLES AND USE THEREOF AS ACTIVE ANODE MATERIAL IN SECONDARY LITHIUM ION BATTERIES
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/552,551 Art Unit: 1727 October 13, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Response to Restriction filed on June 08, 2026 has been received. Claims 1-22 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on June 08, 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 8-21 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, each of claims 2-5 and 7 recite a first broad range, and the claim also recites “preferably” and/or “more preferably”, and/or “most preferably” ranges which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lang et al. (US 2018/0366722 A1).
As to Claims 1-4 and 22, Lang discloses silicon-containing particles comprising SiC; having a BET surface area of 65 m2/g; and a crystallite size of 2.5 nm (Table 2, Experiment 7). Lang further disclose a method of making the particles, comprising: providing a mixed gas stream of SiH4, Si2H6, and/or Si3H8; and ethene and heating the mixture to 900 ºC (Abstract), which is the same as the method taught in the present invention. Therefore, it is the position of the Office that the silicon-containing particles of Lang intrinsically comprise the claimed formula because the materials, method of making, surface area, and crystallite size are the same, see MPEP 2112.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al. (US 2018/0366722 A1) in view of Ishida et al. (US 2012/0107693 A1; as found in IDS dated 01/16/2024).
As to Claim 5, Lang does not specifically disclose the claimed carbon coating layer.
However, Ishida teaches silicon-containing particles, comprising SiCx, wherein 0.05 ≤ x ≤ 1.5 and further comprising a carbon coating layer that can have a thickness of 10 nm (Abstract and paragraphs [0019 and 0044]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed carbon layer because Ishida teaches that electrical conductivity can be improved (paragraph [0043]).
As to Claim 6, it is noted that the claim is a product-by-process claim. The courts have held that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2113. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed carbon layer because Ishida teaches that electrical conductivity can be improved (paragraph [0043]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al. (US 2018/0366722 A1) in view of Ishida et al. (US 2012/0107693 A1; as found in IDS dated 01/16/2024) as applied to claims 5-6 above and in further view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0162868 A1).
As to Claim 7, modified Lang does not specifically disclose the claimed thickness of the layer.
However, Kim teaches of a silicon particle having a carbon coating layer of 0.1-200 nm, which overlaps the claimed range (Abstract and paragraph [0021]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the thickness of the carbon layer of modified Lang to comprise the claimed thickness because Kim teaches that a high capacity anode material can be produced (Abstract).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727