DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP 2000-119068).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a setter comprising a boron nitride sintered plate with a porous structure, see abstract and [0001]. The reference further discloses that the porous boron nitride sintered body has a porosity of 40 to 60% by volume [0018]. Note that the disclosed range overlaps the claimed ranges and that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Additionally, the reference discloses the average pore diameter of the through holes is preferably 1 micron or less [0013]. Given the average pore diameter is 1 micron or less, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed proportion of pore having a pore diameter of 0.2 to 0.9 microns; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Lastly, it is noted that the claimed method of measuring the porosity does not structurally limit the claim.
Regarding claim 2, while the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed coefficient of thermal expansion, given the disclosed material and the claimed material have the same composition and microstructure (i.e. porous boron nitride), it is expected the disclosed and claimed setters will have the same coefficient of thermal expansion; see above discussion and MPEP 2112.01 II: “if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties.”
Regarding claim 3, given the reference discloses the porous structure as through-holes, the reference is considered to disclose all the pores as open pores [0013].
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the reference discloses the boron nitride as having a purity of 99% or more by weight, which is considered to render obvious the claimed content of iron and of calcium [0018].
Regarding claims 6 and 7, given the reference discloses the average pore diameter as 1 micron or less, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed value of the peak position in a distribution curve of the pore diameters [0013]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783