DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, and 11, 14, 16-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 109168790 A) in view of Fang (CN 101647386 A) and Hancock (US 20180220595 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses an underground agriculture system, comprising:
a vertical farming shaft (vertical shaft 11; Fig. 1) comprising a void extending downwardly from an aperture on a surface of a body of land to a predetermined depth below the surface of the body of land (¶ 0012, lines 1-3, “The present invention adopts the following technical scheme: an agricultural planting method based on the vertical utilization of land, which starts from the surface of the land and extends to the interior of the land to form a space for plant planting”);
one or more mounting apparatuses attached proximate to an edge of the aperture (lifting mechanism 20; Fig. 1; ¶ 0043, “A lifting mechanism 20 is provided in FIG1, and the lifting mechanism is one of the transport systems described in the present invention. The lifting mechanism 20 can lower the supporting structure 4 from the surface to the underground space, or can lift it to the surface, so as to facilitate the following plant planting method, that is, the plants are moved from the surface to the plant growth space for growth, and other processes of plant planting, such as sowing, planting, harvesting, etc. are carried out on the surface”);
one or more retractable growing modules (supporting structures 4, plant cultivation devices 3; Fig. 1; ¶ 0041, lines 1 and 2, “As shown in FIG1, in the vertical shaft 11, there are a plurality of supporting structures 4, the supporting structures 4 contain plant cultivation devices 3, which contain plants 1”) attached to the one or more mounting apparatuses and extending downwardly into the void of the vertical farming shaft (¶ 0043);
a nutrient delivery system connecting to the one or more retractable growing modules (¶ 0038, lines 3 and 4, “The supporting structure 4 may also include a lighting system for assisting plant growth, a temperature and humidity control system, a spraying system [for spraying liquid medicine, nutrient solution, etc.]”);
The first embodiment of Yuan (Fig. 1), however, fails to specifically disclose wherein each retractable growing module is attached to a respective mounting apparatus via a respective cable and is configured to be independently raised from and lowered into the void through the respective mounting apparatus; a nutrient delivery system comprising a tank and one or more feeding tubes connecting the tank to the one or more retractable growing modules, a central utility module centrally positioned within the void and extending downwardly into the void of the vertical farming shaft, wherein the one or more retractable growing modules are arranged peripherally around and face toward the central utility module, and wherein the central utility module comprises: a lighting module configured to provide light radially outwardly from the central utility module toward the one or more retractable growing modules and a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning [HVAC] system, and an irrigation system comprising a reservoir at a distal end of the vertical farming shaft and a pump operatively connected to the reservoir.
The second embodiment of Yuan (Fig. 7) teaches an irrigation system comprising a reservoir at a distal end of the vertical farming shaft and a pump operatively connected to the reservoir (¶ 0052, lines 1 and 2, “FIG7 shows a hydroponic system, in which a liquid circulation system is provided, including a pump 72 and a spray pipe 71, so as to realize the recycling of the culture liquid;” ¶ 0053 discloses a groundwater reservoir).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of underground agriculture systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the first embodiment of Yuan to include an irrigation system comprising a reservoir at a distal end of the vertical farming shaft and a pump operatively connected to the reservoir, as taught by the HVAC and irrigation systems of the second embodiment of Yuan. This would allow the user to further control the environmental conditions of the system, which would improve overall growth characteristics. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Fang is in the field of vertical growth assemblies and teaches wherein each retractable growing module is attached to a respective mounting apparatus via a respective cable and is configured to be independently raised from and lowered into the void through the respective mounting apparatus (Fig. 1; ¶ 0029, lines 6-10, “At least one vertical conveying mechanism 71, such as a chain-driven crane, preferably a pair evenly arranged at both ends along the length of the cultivation trough 40. The vertical conveying mechanism 71 is provided with at least one claw 711 that can hold or release the cultivation trough 40, and can controllably transport the mature plant cultivation trough 40 off the shelf to the outlet 17 for harvesting”); a nutrient delivery system comprising a tank and one or more feeding tubes connecting the tank to the one or more retractable growing modules (Fig. 1; ¶ 0031, lines 4-9, “The aforementioned water pump device 141, such as an adjustable pump, can be controlled by a timer [not shown] to deliver the culture medium from the storage tank 14 through the inlet pipe 20a to the pipe 20 of each layer 12 at regular intervals and in quantitative amounts, and to squeeze it out from the branch pipe 21 and distribute it to each cultivation tank 40 under pressure. In this way, the flow rate or pressure of the pipe 20 can be controlled to achieve the effect of variable liquid output”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vertical agriculture systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan such that each retractable growing module is attached to a respective mounting apparatus via a respective cable and is configured to be independently raised from and lowered into the void through the respective mounting apparatus; a nutrient delivery system comprising a tank and one or more feeding tubes connecting the tank to the one or more retractable growing modules, as taught by the mounting and nutrient delivery systems of Fang. The mounting structures would improve conveyance of the growing modules throughout the system and the nutrient system would improve the delivery of plant nutrients, which would improve overall growth characteristics. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Hancock is in the field of vertical plant growth systems and teaches a central utility module centrally positioned within the void and extending downwardly into the void of the vertical farming shaft, wherein the one or more retractable growing modules are arranged peripherally around and face toward the central utility module, and wherein the central utility module comprises: a lighting module configured to provide light radially outwardly from the central utility module toward the one or more retractable growing modules and a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning [HVAC] system (lights 136, cooling tube, Figs. 3 and 11 show central utility module including radial lighting and HVAC, with growing modules arranged peripherally around the central utility module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vertical plant growth systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan in view of Fang to include a central utility module centrally positioned within the void and extending downwardly into the void of the vertical farming shaft, wherein the one or more retractable growing modules are arranged peripherally around and face toward the central utility module, and wherein the central utility module comprises: a lighting module configured to provide light radially outwardly from the central utility module toward the one or more retractable growing modules and a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning [HVAC] system, as taught by the central utility module of Hancock. The central location of the lighting and HVAC systems would result in more efficient and even distribution of light and air to plants, which would improve overall growth characteristics. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 1.
Yuan discloses wherein the one or more retractable growing modules include a plurality of plant cradles for holding a plurality of plants, fungi, or a combination thereof (¶ 0041, lines 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 1.
Yuan discloses further including an extraction system, comprising: a frame extending over the aperture on the surface of the body of land; a hoist system including an attachment means that is operatively connected to at least one of the one or more retractable growing modules and is configured to raise the growing modules out of the vertical farming shaft (lifting mechanism 20; Fig. 1; ¶ 0043).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 1.
Yuan discloses wherein the vertical farming shaft has a cross-section comprising a circular shape, a rectangular shape, a square shape, a trapezoidal shape, an oval shape, an obround shape, or a polygon shape (vertical shaft 11; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 6, however, the modified reference teaches fails to specifically disclose wherein the circular shape of the vertical farming shaft comprises a diameter in the range of 1-60 feet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the earliest effective filing date of the invention to have provided the device of Yuan in view of Fang with a shaft diameter in the range of 1-60 feet in order to provide sufficient space to accommodate growing operations. Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 1, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein the nutrient delivery system includes a nutrient pump operatively connected to the tank and the one or more feeding tubes and is configured to move nutrients from the tank to the one or more retractable growing modules (Fang; ¶ 0031, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 8, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein nutrients mixed into the tank of the nutrient delivery system comprise nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, water, or a combination thereof (Fang; ¶ 0031, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 1.
Yuan discloses further comprising a casing mated with a circumferential surface of the vertical farming shaft (Fig. 1 shows a casing surrounding shaft 11 and separating it from the land).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan discloses an underground agriculture system, comprising:
a cylindrical farming shaft (vertical shaft 11; Fig. 1) defining a cylindrical void extending downwardly from a surface of a body of land to a predetermined depth below the surface of the body of land (¶ 0012, lines 1-3);
a casing encircling a circumference of the cylindrical farming shaft and configured to segregate the cylindrical void from the body of land (Fig. 1 shows a casing surrounding shaft 11 and separating it from the land);
a mounting apparatus mounted externally to the cylindrical farming shaft and extending at least partially into the cylindrical void (lifting mechanism 20; Fig. 1; ¶ 0043);
a plurality of retractable growing modules (supporting structures 4, plant cultivation devices 3; Fig. 1; ¶ 0041, lines 1 and 2);
a nutrient delivery system connecting to the one or more retractable growing modules (¶ 0038, lines 3 and 4);
The first embodiment of Yuan (Fig. 1), however, fails to specifically disclose a plurality of mounting apparatuses, each mounted externally to the cylindrical farming shaft and extending at least partially into the cylindrical void wherein each retractable growing module is attached to a respective mounting apparatus and is configured to be lifted from the cylindrical void by cables pulled via the respective mounting apparatus via a respective cable; and is configured to be independently lifted from the cylindrical void by the respective cables pulled via the respective mounting apparatus; a nutrient delivery system comprising a tank and one or more feeding tubes connecting the tank to the one or more retractable growing modules, a utility module coaxially positioned within the cylindrical void and extending downwardly into the cylindrical void, wherein the plurality of retractable growing modules are arranged peripherally around and face toward the utility module, wherein the utility module comprises: a lighting module configured to provide light radially outwardly from the coaxially positioned utility module to the plurality of retractable growing modules; and an air delivery system configured to provide heated or cooled air into the cylindrical void of the cylindrical farming shaft, and an irrigation system comprising a reservoir at a lowermost end of the cylindrical farming shaft and a pump operatively connected to the reservoir.
The second embodiment of Yuan (Fig. 7) teaches an air delivery system configured to provide heated or cooled air into the cylindrical void of the cylindrical farming shaft (¶ 0053); and
an irrigation system comprising a reservoir at a lowermost end of the cylindrical farming shaft and a pump operatively connected to the reservoir (¶ 0052, lines 1 and 2, ¶ 0053 discloses a groundwater reservoir).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of underground agriculture systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the first embodiment of Yuan to include an air delivery system configured to provide heated or cooled air into the cylindrical void of the cylindrical farming shaft, and an irrigation system comprising a reservoir at a lowermost end of the cylindrical farming shaft and a pump operatively connected to the reservoir, as taught by the HVAC and irrigation systems of the second embodiment of Yuan. This would allow the user to further control the environmental conditions of the system, which would improve overall growth characteristics. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Fang teaches a plurality of mounting apparatuses, each mounted externally to the cylindrical farming shaft and extending at least partially into the cylindrical void wherein each retractable growing module is attached to a respective mounting apparatus and is configured to be lifted from the cylindrical void by cables pulled via the respective mounting apparatus via a respective cable; and is configured to be independently lifted from the cylindrical void by the respective cables pulled via the respective mounting apparatus (Fig. 1; ¶ 0029, lines 6-10); a nutrient delivery system comprising a tank and one or more feeding tubes connecting the tank to the one or more retractable growing modules (Fig. 1; ¶ 0031, lines 4-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vertical agriculture systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan to include a plurality of mounting apparatuses, each mounted externally to the cylindrical farming shaft and extending at least partially into the cylindrical void wherein each retractable growing module is attached to a respective mounting apparatus and is configured to be lifted from the cylindrical void by cables pulled via the respective mounting apparatus via a respective cable; and is configured to be independently lifted from the cylindrical void by the respective cables pulled via the respective mounting apparatus; a nutrient delivery system comprising a tank and one or more feeding tubes connecting the tank to the one or more retractable growing modules, as taught by the mounting and nutrient delivery systems of Fang. The mounting structures would improve conveyance of the growing modules throughout the system and the nutrient system would improve the delivery of plant nutrients, which would improve overall growth characteristics. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Hancock is in the field of vertical plant growth systems and teaches a utility module coaxially positioned within the cylindrical void and extending downwardly into the cylindrical void, wherein the plurality of retractable growing modules are arranged peripherally around and face toward the utility module, wherein the utility module comprises: a lighting module configured to provide light radially outwardly from the coaxially positioned utility module to the plurality of retractable growing modules (lights 136, cooling tube, Figs. 3 and 11 show central utility module including radial lighting and HVAC, with growing modules arranged peripherally around the central utility module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vertical plant growth systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan in view of Fang to include a utility module coaxially positioned within the cylindrical void and extending downwardly into the cylindrical void, wherein the plurality of retractable growing modules are arranged peripherally around and face toward the utility module, wherein the utility module comprises: a lighting module configured to provide light radially outwardly from the coaxially positioned utility module to the plurality of retractable growing modules, as taught by the central utility module of Hancock. The central location of the lighting and HVAC systems would result in more efficient and even distribution of light and air to plants, which would improve overall growth characteristics. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 14.
Yuan discloses wherein the one or more retractable growing modules include a plurality of plant cradles for holding a plurality of plants, fungi, or a combination thereof (¶ 0041, lines 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 14, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein the nutrient delivery system includes a nutrient pump operatively connected to the tank and the one or more feeding tubes and is configured to move nutrients from the tank to the one or more retractable growing modules (Fang; Fig. 1; ¶ 0031, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 14.
Yuan discloses further comprising a control unit that is configured to control the plurality of mounting apparatuses, the nutrient delivery system, the utility module, and the irrigation system (¶ 0044, “In FIG. 1, the extended space inside the land may also have additional operating systems to operate the plants in the supporting structure 4 or the supporting structure 4 itself. The operation system can be a maintenance operation system, a sowing system, a harvesting system, a planting system or an integrated comprehensive system”).
Regarding claim 20, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 14.
Yuan discloses wherein the air delivery system is configured to inject a particular amount of carbon-dioxide, nitrogen, oxygen, or a combination thereof into the cylindrical farming shaft (¶ 0021, “Furthermore, a sealing device is installed on the connection port between the space and the ground surface, which can seal the space; the system also has a CO2 supply device, which provides CO2 to the space when the space is sealed”).
Regarding claim 21, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 14.
Yuan discloses wherein the utility module further comprises turbulence fans, motorized drivers, and electronic components configured to operate the lighting module, air delivery system, turbulence fans, and motorized drivers (¶ 0056, lines 1-5, “In addition, the system described in the present invention can also be configured with an energy storage system, such as a battery storage system, a heat storage system or a cold storage system. The energy of the energy storage system can come from the outside. The electricity from the energy storage system can be used to drive LEDs or other devices, such as fans, water pumps, etc.; it can also be used to provide heat or cold, or to improve temperature and humidity regulation for the plant growth environment”).
Claims 2, 3, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 109168790 A) in view of Fang (CN 101647386 A) and Hancock (US 20180220595 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 14, and further in view of Kop (WO 2016147195 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 1, including a top cover for the vertical shaft (Yuan; Figs. 7 and 8 show a top housing that covers the aperture of the shaft), however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose a retractable lid for covering the aperture on the surface of the body of land.
Kop is in the field of plant cultivation and teaches a retractable lid for covering the aperture on the surface of the body of land (page 16, lines 7-9, “Each tower 2a-d may be configured with one or more access hatches 199 that cover a corresponding opening formed in the periphery of a tower. The hatches 199 enable maintenance workers to access the hollow core of a tower”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of plant growth systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock to include a retractable lid, as taught by the lid of Kop. This would allow the user to more easily clean or repair the tower periphery and the irrigation elements, which would improve overall operation of the system. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 1, however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein the pump is configured to pump water and plant byproduct from the reservoir at the distal end of the vertical farming shaft to a location outside of the vertical farming shaft.
Kop teaches wherein the pump is configured to pump water and plant byproduct from the reservoir at the distal end of the vertical farming shaft to a location outside of the vertical farming shaft (page 23, lines 13-17, “The surplus irrigation fluid not consumed by the plant roots 81 is collected in a reservoir 101 at the bottom of tower 2. A condensate pump, upon being commanded by controller 135 at a predetermined time, delivers the collected irrigation fluid via conduit 146 to used fluid storage tank 142, which also receives condensate delivered from dehumidifier 139 via conduit 147”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of plant growth systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock such that the pump is configured to pump water and plant byproduct from the reservoir at the distal end of the vertical farming shaft to a location outside of the vertical farming shaft, as taught by the irrigation system of Kop. This would allow the user to further utilize excess water from the system, which would improve overall system efficiency. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 14, however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein the pump is configured to pump water and plant byproduct from the reservoir at the lowermost end of the cylindrical farming shaft to a location outside of the cylindrical farming shaft.
Kop teaches wherein the pump is configured to pump water and plant byproduct from the reservoir at the lowermost end of the cylindrical farming shaft to a location outside of the cylindrical farming shaft (page 23, lines 13-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of plant growth systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock such that the pump is configured to pump water and plant byproduct from the reservoir at the lowermost end of the cylindrical farming shaft to a location outside of the cylindrical farming shaft, as taught by the irrigation system of Kop. This would allow the user to further utilize excess water from the system, which would improve overall system efficiency. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 109168790 A) in view of Fang (CN 101647386 A) and Hancock (US 20180220595 A1), as applied to claim 10, and further in view of (Kuhns (WO 2019191048 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 10, however, the modified reference fails to teach wherein the casing is made from, steel, stainless-steel, aluminum, polypropylene, a non-corrosive environmentally-stable material, or a combination thereof.
Kuhns is in the field of vertical agriculture systems and teaches wherein the casing is made from, steel, stainless-steel, aluminum, polypropylene, a non-corrosive environmentally-stable material, or a combination thereof (page 10, lines 6 and 7, “The silo may be made from a variety of materials, such as concrete, steel, and combinations thereof”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vertical agriculture systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock such that the casing is made from, steel, stainless-steel, aluminum, polypropylene, a non-corrosive environmentally-stable material, or a combination thereof, as taught by the steel casing of Kuhns. This would ensure that the structure is constructed out of a high-strength material, which would improve the durability of the system. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 109168790 A) in view of Fang (CN 101647386 A) and Hancock (US 20180220595 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Carpenter et al. (US 20170291616 A1), hereinafter Carpenter.
Regarding claim 12, Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 1, including a holster suspended from one or more cables at a position within the vertical farming shaft (Yuan; supporting structures 4; Fig. 1; ¶ 0041, lines 1 and 2). The modified reference, however, fails to specifically disclose a hooking mechanism.
Carpenter is in the field of plant growing systems and teaches a hooking mechanism (hook 126; Fig. 12; ¶ 0045, lines 8-10, “the roller hooks 32 move the plant vines V along the circuit 30 via the twine strands T that are engaged through the hooks 126”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of plant growth systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock to include a hooking mechanism, as taught by the hooking mechanism of Carpenter. This would allow the user to more easily attach and detach growing modules, which would improve overall operation of the system. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, Yuan in view of Fang, Hancock, and Carpenter discloses the device of claim 12, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein the holster receives a lowermost end of the one or more retractable growing modules (Yuan; Fig. 1; ¶ 0041, lines 1 and 2) and the hooking mechanism receives an extraction cable connected to the one or more retractable growing modules (Carpenter; ¶ 0045, lines 8-10).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 109168790 A) in view of Fang (CN 101647386 A) and Hancock (US 20180220595 A1), as applied to claim 14, and further in view of DeJong (US 11304391 B1).
Regarding claim 19, Yuan in view of in view of Fang and Hancock discloses the device of claim 14, however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose the lighting module is configured to produce light with a wavelength in the range of 100-280 nanometers to sanitize interior surfaces of the cylindrical farming shaft.
DeJong is in the field of plant growing systems and teaches wherein the lighting module is configured to produce light with a wavelength in the range of 100-280 nanometers to sanitize interior surfaces of the cylindrical farming shaft (Col. 2, lines 1-6, “the sanitizing device 23 is a lamp emitting light in the ultraviolet [“UV”] spectrum [approximate wavelength 100 nm-400 nm]. UV light has antimicrobial properties. In the illustrated example, the sanitizing device 23 is shown as being submerged, but could be placed anywhere in the chamber 12 where there is a line of sight to the water reservoir 26”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of plant growth systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan in view of Fang and Hancock such that the lighting module is configured to produce light with a wavelength in the range of 100-280 nanometers to sanitize interior surfaces of the cylindrical farming shaft, as taught by the light module of Carpenter. This would allow the user to sanitize surfaces within the device, which would improve overall operation of the system. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument on page 10 that “Yuan's void must remain clear to allow the entire stack of supporting structures to be raised and lowered through it. Installing a permanent central column in this space would prevent the supporting structures from being transported, rendering Yuan's bulk-lift mechanism inoperable. It is well established that a proposed modification that would render the primary reference inoperable for its intended purpose cannot support an obviousness rejection. See In re Ratti, 270 F.2d 810, 813 (C.C.P.A. 1959) (MPEP § 2143.01(VI)); In re Gordon, 733 F.2d 900, 902 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (reversing an obviousness rejection where the proposed modification would render the prior art device inoperable). Here, the proposed insertion of Hancock's central column into Yuan's open void would fundamentally alter Yuan's principle of operation, a modification that the prior art neither teaches nor suggests,” the Examiner submits that there is no evidence that providing the central utility module of Hancock would render the device of Yuan inoperable, as Fig. 1 of Yuan shows that the growing modules do not occupy the entirety of the void, as there is empty space in the central shaft. Additionally, the claims do not require the mounting apparatuses to specifically be located on the sides of the void and away from the center, nor is Yuan relied upon to teach a central positioning of the mounting apparatus as it relates to the claims. However, it is noted that Hancock is now provided to Yuan in view of Fang, wherein Fang demonstrates a structure where mounting apparatuses are located on the sides of a shaft with central utilities. Fang also demonstrates that utility modules and plant growth modules may be centrally located simultaneously as evidenced by Fig. 1.
Regarding the argument on pages 12 and 13 that “The Final Rejection asserts that the proposed combinations ‘would allow the user to further control the environmental conditions of the system, which would improve overall growth characteristics.’ (Final Rejection, pp. 5-6.) Applicant submits that this generic rationale does not satisfy the requirement for articulated reasoning under KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). While KSR broadened the framework for assessing obviousness, it did not eliminate the requirement for ‘some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’ In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988 (Fed. Cir. 2006); see also In re NuVasive, Inc., 842 F.3d 1376, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2016). The Examiner's reasoning does not address several threshold questions. First, why would a person of ordinary skill look to Hancock's above-ground central column as a modification for Yuan's underground bulk-lift system, given that these systems operate in different environments and on different principles? Second, how would such a person reconcile the fundamental incompatibility between Yuan's requirement for an open central void and Hancock's permanent central column? Third, what in the prior art would motivate a person of ordinary skill to abandon Yuan's bulk-lift approach in favor of individually retractable modules arranged around a centrally positioned utility core? Without reasoned answers to these questions, the rejection rests on hindsight informed by Applicant's disclosure rather than on teachings found in the prior art itself,” the Examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Yuan in view of Fang with the central utility module of Hancock, as the central location of the lighting and HVAC systems would result in more efficient and even distribution of light and air to plants, which would improve overall growth characteristics. This is a clear benefit which is found in the Hancock reference itself. Furthermore, the Examiner recognizes that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding the argument on pages 13 and 14 that “Kop's ‘access hatches 199’ are peripheral service openings on the tower wall (Kop, page 16, lines 7-9), not a retractable lid covering the primary surface aperture of an underground shaft as claimed. For claim 3/15, Kop's disclosure of pumping ‘surplus irrigation fluid’ does not encompass pumping ‘water and plant byproduct’ as claimed, which requires a pump capable of handling solid and semi-solid organic materials, which represents a different engineering requirement. Claims 12-13 (holster and hooking mechanism): Carpenter's hooks 126 are designed for guiding lightweight plant vines along a horizontal circuit (Carpenter, 0045), which is a fundamentally different application from a hooking mechanism that receives an extraction cable connected to a retractable growing module to support and lift the module from the shaft. Claim 19 (UV sanitization lighting): DeJong's UV lamp is a standalone sanitizing device positioned with line of sight to a water reservoir (DeJong, Col. 2, lines 1-6), not a lighting module integrated into a coaxially positioned utility module that provides radially outward UV light to sanitize the interior of an underground farming shaft as required by claims 14 and 19 together,” the Examiner maintains that Kop teaches the lid structure, as claim 2 requires a “retractable lid for covering the aperture on the surface of the body of land.” Claim 2 does not recite any structure positively reciting an attachment to an aperture on the surface of land, and instead is interpreted as being configured for covering the aperture on the surface of the body of land. Accordingly, the hatches 199 of Kop are retractable lids that are configured for covering the aperture on the surface of the body of land. The argument that Kop fails to teach the pumping of plant byproduct is also incommensurate with the scope of the claims, as the claims require “wherein the pump is configured to pump water and plant byproduct,” and does not positively recite plant byproduct, biomass, waste nutrients, or other materials resulting from the plant growth process itself as required structural components. With respect to the hooking mechanism, the claims require “a hooking mechanism” and “the hooking mechanism receives an extraction cable connected to the one or more retractable growing modules,” structures which are taught by the hooking mechanism of Carpenter as the hooks 126 receive the extraction cable T connected to growing modules 22 as shown in Figs. 1 and 12, and described in ¶ 0045, lines 8-10. Furthermore, it is noted that DeJong is not relied upon to disclose “a lighting module integrated into a coaxially positioned utility module,” instead, Hancock is relied upon to teach the coaxial positioning features as demonstrated in the rejection above.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Feuz, US 7549250 B2, discusses a walk-in device for growing plants.
/S.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642