Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on 03/24/2026.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
With respect to the objections, 35 U.S.C. §112b and 101 rejections:
The claim amendments filed on 03/24/2026 overcame the claim objections, the 112b, and the 101 rejections as presented in the Office Action mailed on 11/24/2025.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §102 and 103 rejections:
Applicant’s remarks filed 03/24/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant states that during the interview with Examiner on February 12, 2026, it was agreed that Shamir does not teach “receiving from the server, data including a simplified description of an operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment unit”. See Remarks at 9.
Examiner disagrees. As set forth in the Interview Summary dated 02/17/2026, Examiner only agrees that amending claim 1 to add the subject matter of "a rune" representing an operation cycle for the electrically powered equipment unit would overcome the anticipated 102 rejections. “A rune” character cannot broadly be construed as equivalent to “a simplified” description/character. See attached NPL definitions for “rune” vs “simplified” description. As such, Shamir teaches “receiving, from the server, data including a simplified description of an operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment unit and includes performance boundaries for the power consumption signals” (Shamir: server 150 is configured with instructions in its memory that can perform the desired analytics by using the current threshold and extracts the cycle information from the current data to a simplified data stream which may include: number of cycles per unit time (cycles/hour, cycles/day, cycles/month); number of ‘short’ cycles per unit time (defined as cycles with length not greater than X minutes), and, duty cycle histograms. The data gathered can therefore be used to detect potential failure or maintenance alerts for cases having similar energy consumption profiles, [0021]). For this reason, Examiner will maintain the 102 and 103 rejections as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Shamir et al. (US 2015/0276829-A1).
With respect to claim 1, Shamir teaches a method comprising:
monitoring, by processing circuitry, power consumption signals for an electrically powered equipment unit (system 100 for monitoring energy consumption cycles, fig.1 and [0016] comprises monitors such as self-powered power sensors [SPPSs] 110-1, fig.1, that collect information from energy consuming equipment, [0015]; system 100 is configured to perform the method based on instructions stored in the memory of server 150 [0016], and the system 100 having the application program embodied in a CRM executed by a CPU [0024]);
sampling, by the processing circuitry, the power consumption signals (self-powered power sensors [SPPSs] 110-1, fig.1, to collect information from energy consuming equipment, [0015], periodically the data collected is processed respective of each monitor to determine the ratio between the total number of cycles, i.e., the number of times an equipment consumed energy, to the number of cycles in which the equipment consumed energy for a period of time that is shorter than a predetermined threshold of time [0015]; system 100 is configured to perform the method based on instructions stored in the memory of server 150 [0016], the memory of the management server 150 stores into or retrieves therefrom data and/or instructions [0016]);
sending, by the processing circuitry, the sampled power consumption signal to a server (store received measurements in a memory of the server 150 [0022]);
receiving, from the server, data including a simplified description of an operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment unit (Shamir: server 150 is configured with instructions in its memory that can perform the desired analytics by using the current threshold and extracts the cycle information from the current data to a simplified data stream which may include: number of cycles per unit time (cycles/hour, cycles/day, cycles/month); number of ‘short’ cycles per unit time (defined as cycles with length not greater than X minutes), and, duty cycle histograms. The data gathered can therefore be used to detect potential failure or maintenance alerts for cases having similar energy consumption profiles, [0021]) and includes performance boundaries for the power consumption signals (system 100 can get indications of failures or maintenance needs via presenting the cycle data in online charts, scheduled reports or real time alerts that are sent to the client nodes 160. Non-limiting examples for such indications are: number of short cycles per period of time, for example, per day, per hour, etc., exceeds a predetermined threshold which indicates of a potential set point problem which may result in shortage of oil flow, leading to equipment failure; for example more than four compressor starts per hour can reduce a compressor's life expectancy and reduce cooling system efficiency by up to 10%; equipment stopped cycling (number of cycles is zero for above a predetermined period of time) which may result in a conclusion of a potential power problem; total number of cycles from start, per month, per week, or any other defined period of time, exceeds a predetermined threshold value, which may predict a decrease in the life expectancy span of the equipment; and, equipment that is constantly on leading to a conclusion of a potential issue with set point or a control circuit, ratio of short cycles to total cycles on a daily basis higher than a threshold can indicate for example that the unit is oversized, [0021]);
storing, by the processing circuitry, the received data at a memory location operatively coupled to the processing circuitry (The memory may contain also data collected by the monitors 110…such data may also be stored in storage 140, [0016], location coupled to the application program embodied in a CRM executed by a CPU [0024]);
comparing the monitored power consumption signals to the received data (determine the ratio between the total number of cycles, i.e., the number of times an equipment consumed energy, to the number of cycles in which the equipment consumed energy for a period of time that is shorter than a predetermined threshold of time, fig.2 and [0015,0017,0021-0022]);
outputting an indication of a state of health of the electrically powered equipment unit based on the comparison (a result of an equipment about to fail, equipment already in a failure mode, or another problem that requires fixing…to provide an alarm [0017]).
With respect to claim 2, Shamir teaches further comprising: determining whether the monitored power consumption signals are within the performance boundaries (determine the ratio between the total number of cycles, i.e., the number of times an equipment consumed energy, to the number of cycles in which the equipment consumed energy for a period of time that is shorter than a predetermined threshold of time, fig.2 and [0015,0017,0021-0022]); in response to determining that the monitored power consumption signals are within the performance boundaries, outputting the indication of the state of health that comprises an indication that the electrically powered equipment unit is operating as expected (FIG. 3B depicts the cycles derived from that current consumption profile. This is a binary state chart of l's and 0's, where a ‘1’ means an operating state (i.e., an on condition) and ‘0’ means not operating state (i.e., an off condition), [0020]).
With respect to claim 3, Shamir teaches wherein a first power consumption signal of the monitored power consumption signals is outside of the performance boundaries for a first received data associated with the first power consumption signal (The chart of FIG. 3B was generated using a 60 A threshold current, and determining the ‘on’ condition by a crossing of the threshold current from a low current to a current above the threshold, and the ‘off’ condition by a crossing of the threshold current from a current above the threshold current to a current that is below the threshold current, [0020]), and wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication that the electrically powered equipment unit needs attention (An alert may be sent, according to the principles of the invention, to draw the attention of an operator to this potentially problematic condition, [0020]).
With respect to claim 4, Shamir teaches wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication that a first component of the electrically powered equipment unit associated with the first received data is expected to fail and needs urgent attention (An alert may be sent, according to the principles of the invention, to draw the attention of an operator to this potentially problematic condition, [0020]).
With respect to claim 5, Shamir teaches wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication of a specific type of failure mode for the electrically powered equipment (a result of an equipment about to fail, equipment already in a failure mode, or another problem that requires fixing, [0017]).
With respect to claim 6, Shamir teaches wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication that a component of the electrically powered equipment unit operated out of sequence for the operational cycle described by the received data (generating from the plurality of time-stamped current measurements a total number of cycles for each of the at least an energy consuming equipment, a cycle being determined as an on/off sequence of the at least an energy consuming equipment; generating from the plurality of time-stamped current measurements a number of short cycles for each of the at least an energy consuming equipment, a short cycle determined as an on/off sequence of the at least an energy consuming equipment wherein the plurality of time-stamped current measurements indicated the at least an energy consuming equipment was on for a period of time that is shorter than a first threshold, claim 1 and [0018-0019]).
With respect to claim 7, Shamir teaches wherein operating out of sequence comprises an unexpected, repeated operation of the component during the operational cycle (a number of short cycles for each of the at least an energy consuming equipment, a short cycle determined as an on/off sequence of the at least an energy consuming equipment wherein the plurality of time-stamped current measurements indicated the at least an energy consuming equipment was on for a period of time that is shorter than a first threshold, claim 1 and [0018-0019]).
With respect to claim 10, Shamir teaches wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication at a first component of the electrically powered equipment unit was replaced by a second component, wherein: the first component is the same type of component as the second component, and the second component performs the same function as the first component (a result of an equipment about to fail, equipment already in a failure mode, or another problem that requires fixing [0017, 0020-0022] thus would render a replacement of the failed equipment with a replacement equipment that has the same function as the failed equipment).
With respect to claim 11, Shamir teaches a device configured to monitor electrically powered equipment (a system and device for monitoring energy consumption cycles, fig.1 and [0016] comprises monitors such as self-powered power sensors [SPPSs] 110-1, fig.1, that collect information from energy consuming equipment, [0015]; application program embodied in a CRM executed by a CPU of a machine connected to the SPPS 110 [0024]), the device comprising:
a sensor configured measure electrical power consumed by the electrically powered equipment (SPPS 110 to collect information from energy consuming equipment, [0015], periodically the data collected is processed respective of each monitor to determine the ratio between the total number of cycles, i.e., the number of times an equipment consumed energy, to the number of cycles in which the equipment consumed energy for a period of time that is shorter than a predetermined threshold of time [0015]);
a memory comprising computer readable storage media; processing circuitry operatively coupled to the sensor and the memory (application program embodied in a CRM executed by a CPU of a machine embodied with the SPPS 110 [0024]), the processing circuitry configured to:
receive information from the sensor (receive current measurements from at least an SPPS, S410, fig.4);
store power consumption measurements at the memory based on information received from the sensor (store received measurements in a memory, S420, fig.4);
store data describing an operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment, which includes performance boundaries for the power consumption data (various SPPS status information…phase information, average current, temperature, time duration information, power off indication, e.g., upon identification that the load was turned off, and other system parameters. Such parameters may be saved until such time of transmission in memory 230 [0027]).
compare the power consumption measurements to the stored data (determine the ratio between the total number of cycles, i.e., the number of times an equipment consumed energy, to the number of cycles in which the equipment consumed energy for a period of time that is shorter than a predetermined threshold of time, fig.2 and [0015,0017,0021-0022]; compare analyze data for each SPPS to the predetermined threshold of time, S450, fig.4); and
output an indication of a state of health of the electrically powered equipment based on the comparison (a result of an equipment about to fail, equipment already in a failure mode, or another problem that requires fixing…to provide an alarm [0017]; generate an alarm for at least the SPPS, S460, fig.4).
With respect to claim 12, Shamir teaches wherein the device is configured to output the indication of the state of health only when the power consumption data is outside the performance boundaries (a display for displaying results of data collection made by the monitors 110, data analyzed by the server 150, data stored in storage 140, or to receive alerts or period reports sent from the server 150 [0016]; provide an alarm, as close as possible to real time so that preventive action may take place. In some cases, it would be beneficial for the system to store past data for the purpose of being used to automatically determine threshold values, or, manually configure the server 150 to override an alert that is actually a false alarm [0017]; generate alarm for at least the SPPS when change is above threshold, S450-S460 of fig.4).
With respect to claim 13, Shamir teaches wherein the power consumption data is outside of the performance boundaries for a first received data associated with a first component of the electrically powered equipment (The chart of FIG. 3B was generated using a 60 A threshold current, and determining the ‘on’ condition by a crossing of the threshold current from a low current to a current above the threshold, and the ‘off’ condition by a crossing of the threshold current from a current above the threshold current to a current that is below the threshold current, [0020]), and wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication that the electrically powered equipment needs attention (An alert may be sent, according to the principles of the invention, to draw the attention of an operator to this potentially problematic condition, [0020]).
With respect to claim 15, Shamir teaches wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication that a component of the electrically powered equipment operated out of sequence for the operational cycle described by the received data (generating from the plurality of time-stamped current measurements a total number of cycles for each of the at least an energy consuming equipment, a cycle being determined as an on/off sequence of the at least an energy consuming equipment; generating from the plurality of time-stamped current measurements a number of short cycles for each of the at least an energy consuming equipment, a short cycle determined as an on/off sequence of the at least an energy consuming equipment wherein the plurality of time-stamped current measurements indicated the at least an energy consuming equipment was on for a period of time that is shorter than a first threshold, claim 1 and [0018-0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamir et al. (US 2010/0264906-A1) “hereinafter (Sharmir ‘906)” in view of Shamir et al. (US 2015/0276829-A1) “hereinafter (Sharmir ‘829)”.
With respect to claim 16, Shamir ‘906 teaches a system configured to monitor electrically powered equipment (system of figs.1-2 to measure power consumption of circuit breakers and machines, abstract and fig.2), the system comprising:
a server comprising first processing circuitry (processing circuitry of management server 1050, fig.10; The management server is equipped with a transceiver enabling the communication with the plurality of SPPS 1010 [0043]);
a performance monitoring device (circuit 200/1100 of self-powered power sensor {SPPS}, figs.1-2, figs.10-11 and [0023] to measure power consumption of circuit breakers and machines, abstract and fig.2) comprising:
a sensor configured measure electrical power consumed by the electrically powered equipment (SPPS 110/1110 to measure power consumption of circuit breakers and machines, abstract and fig.10);
a memory comprising computer readable storage media (memory 230 is coupled to the MCU 220…for storage of the plurality of instructions that when executed by the MCU 220 executes the methods, fig.10 and [0024]);
second processing circuitry operatively coupled to the sensor and the memory (MCU 220 coupled to memory 230 of SPPS, fig.2 and [0024]);
the second processing circuitry configured to:
receive information from the sensor (current to pulse converter (C2PC) 214 is used to generate periodically a pulse that is provided to the microcontroller unit (MCU) 220 and enables the measurement of the power consumption, [0023]);
store power consumption data at the memory based on information received from the sensor (The value in the counter 227, as well as other parameters, are saved in the system's memory 230 [0026]; various SPPS status information…phase information, average current, temperature, time duration information, power off indication, e.g., upon identification that the load was turned off, and other system parameters. Such parameters may be saved until such time of transmission in memory 230 [0027]);
output an indication of a state of health to the server of the electrically powered equipment unit (management server coupled to the network and adapted to receive information from the communication link respective of the at least one SPPS, claim 12, [SPPS] via a transmitter 240 enabled to periodically transmit information respective of the power consumption to [management server], claim 12).
Shamir ‘906 does not appear to teach: store data describing an operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment, which includes performance boundaries for the power consumption measurements; compare the power consumption measurements to the stored word; and output an indication of a state of health to the server of the electrically powered equipment unit based on the comparison.
However, it is known by Shamir ‘829 to teach: store data describing an operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment, which includes performance boundaries for the power consumption measurements; compare the power consumption measurements to the stored word (Shamir ‘829: various SPPS status information…phase information, average current, temperature, time duration information, power off indication, e.g., upon identification that the load was turned off, and other system parameters. Such parameters may be saved until such time of transmission in memory 230 [0027]); and output an indication of a state of health to the server of the electrically powered equipment unit based on the comparison (Shamir ‘829: a result of an equipment about to fail, equipment already in a failure mode, or another problem that requires fixing…to provide an alarm [0017]).
Because Shamir ‘829 is also directed to monitoring power consumption signals for an electrically powered equipment unit (Shamir ‘829: monitoring system of fig.1; Shamir ‘906: figs.1-2, figs.10-11), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of “store data describing an operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment, which includes performance boundaries for the power consumption measurements; compare the power consumption measurements to the stored word; and output an indication of a state of health to the server of the electrically powered equipment unit based on the comparison” as taught by Shamir ‘829 with the monitoring power consumption signals for an electrically powered equipment unit as taught by Shamir ‘906 for the purpose of energy savings as well as failure detection, preventative maintenance and prediction in cycling equipment (Shamir ‘829: [0007]).
With respect to claim 18, Shamir ‘906 and Shamir ‘829 combined teaches wherein the device is configured to output the indication of the state of health only when the power consumption data is outside the performance boundaries (Shamir ‘829: a display for displaying results of data collection made by the monitors 110, data analyzed by the server 150, data stored in storage 140, or to receive alerts or period reports sent from the server 150 [0016]; provide an alarm, as close as possible to real time so that preventive action may take place. In some cases, it would be beneficial for the system to store past data for the purpose of being used to automatically determine threshold values, or, manually configure the server 150 to override an alert that is actually a false alarm [0017]; generate alarm for at least the SPPS when change is above threshold, S450-S460 of fig.4).
With respect to claim 18, Shamir ‘906 and Shamir ‘829 combined teaches wherein the power consumption data is outside of the performance boundaries for a first received data associated with a first component of the electrically powered equipment, and wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication that the electrically powered equipment needs attention (Shamir ‘829: The chart of FIG. 3B was generated using a 60 A threshold current, and determining the ‘on’ condition by a crossing of the threshold current from a low current to a current above the threshold, and the ‘off’ condition by a crossing of the threshold current from a current above the threshold current to a current that is below the threshold current, [0020]), and wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication that the electrically powered equipment needs attention (An alert may be sent, according to the principles of the invention, to draw the attention of an operator to this potentially problematic condition, [0020]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamir et al. (US 2010/0264906-A1) “hereinafter (Sharmir ‘906)” in view of Shamir et al. (US 2015/0276829-A1) “hereinafter (Sharmir ‘829)” and further in view of Moon (US 2014/0052302-A1).
With respect to claim 17, Shamir ‘906 and Shamir ‘829 combined teaches: the communication between the performance monitoring device and the server (Shamir ‘906: communication between the SPPS and the management server 1050 via communication bridge 1020, figs.10-11 and [0043]) comprises: the server (Shamir ‘906: the management server 1050, figs.11-12) receives the indication of the state of health from the performance monitoring device; the server receives the output indication of the state of health (Shamir ‘906: management server coupled to the network and adapted to receive information from the communication link respective of the at least one SPPS, claim 12, [SPPS] via a transmitter 240 enabled to periodically transmit information respective of the power consumption to [management server], claim 12); the performance monitoring device receives the data describing the operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment from the server (Shamir ‘906: management unit which is enabled to provide finer granularity power consumption profiles [0021]); and output the data to the performance monitoring device (Shamir ‘829: communicating back…to the communication bridge 120 that command a control circuit (not shown) that turns the respective unit off, [0022]).
Shamir ‘906 and Shamir ‘829 combined teaches of a communication bridge (Shamir ‘906: communication bridge 1020, figs.10-11 and [0043]; Shamir ‘829: communication bridge 1020, fig.1) but does not appear to teach a gateway device.
However, it is known by Moon to teach of a method and sensor for managing power consumption and power consumption information collection apparatus (Moon: title, abstract and figs.1-2 and 4), particularly, a gateway device configured to communicate with the performance monitoring device (Moon: gateway 130 communicate with power management system 150 and sensor 120 that senses the power consumption of the corresponding power consuming devices, fig.1 and [0024]).
Because Moon is also directed to a system configured to monitor electrically powered equipment (Moon: fig.1; Shamir ‘906: system of figs.1-2 to measure power consumption of circuit breakers and machines, abstract and fig.2; Shamir ‘829: fig.1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of a gateway as taught by Moon with the system configured to monitor electrically powered equipment of Shamir ‘906 and Shamir ‘829 combined for a well-known purpose that the gateway connects networks with different protocols, while a bridge connects networks with the same protocols. Gateways translate data and act as a border checkpoint, enabling communication between dissimilar networks like a private home network and the public internet. Bridges simply forward data between two similar network segments, reducing collisions and expanding the local network.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious, which makes the following claims allowable over the prior art:
With respect to claim 8/1, wherein the received data describing the operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment is in the form of a word comprising runes, wherein comparing the monitored power signals to the received data comprises: parsing the power consumption signals into predetermined portions; identifying a respective rune of the runes comprising the word, corresponding to each respective predetermined portion; comparing each respective rune, at a first scale, to the corresponding respective predetermined portion.
With respect to claim 9/8/1, further comprising; in response to comparing a first rune at the first scale to a corresponding first respective portion; comparing the first rune at a second scale to the corresponding first respective portion.
With respect to claim 14/11, wherein the received data describing the operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment is in the form of a word comprising runes, wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication that a first component of the electrically powered equipment associated with a first rune of the word was replaced by a second component, wherein: the first component is the same type of component as the second component, and the second component performs the same function as the first component; and wherein the device is configured to receive an updated word, wherein the updated word comprises a second rune, and wherein the second rune replaced the first rune in the updated word.
With respect to claim 20/16, wherein the received data describing the operational cycle for the electrically powered equipment is in the form of a word comprising runes, wherein the indication of the state of health comprises an indication at a first component of the electrically powered equipment associated with a first rune of the word was replaced by a second component, wherein: the first component is the same type of component as the second component, and the second component performs the same function as the first component; and wherein the device is configured to receive an updated word, wherein the updated word comprises a second rune, and wherein the second rune replaced the first rune in the updated word.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIEN D KHUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 June 16, 2026