DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Applicant's amendment and response, submitted July 2, 2026, has been reviewed by the examiner and entered of record in the file. Claims 1, 17, 18, 20, 21, 23, 24, and 26 are amended.
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 23-27 are under examination and are the subject of this office action.
Previous Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 20, 21, 23 and 24 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
This rejection has been modified as a result of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
7. Claim 1 was previously rejected as being unclear in the following aspects:
(a) Claim 1 previously recited “oxidizing the formed porphyrinogen” in step (c), which lacked antecedent basis for the limitation “formed porphyrinogen.”
(b) Claim previously recited: “wherein the porphyrin comprises a residue of the pyrrole or substituted pyrrole having an aliphatic group or an aromatic groups derived from the aliphatic or the aromatic aldehyde that are pendant from a heterocycle,” which is redundant and also confusing.
(c) Claim 1 previously recited “having an aliphatic group or an aromatic groups” which was confusing regarding the recitation of plural “groups.
In view of Applicant’s amendatory changes, the previous indefiniteness rejection of claim 1 is withdrawn.
8. The rejections of claims 2, 4-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 23-27 as being dependent upon and including all of the limitations of claim 1, are also withdrawn.
9. Claim 5 was rejected as being confusing regarding the recitation of the catalyst “boron trifluoride etherate,” i.e., the previous recitations of the same catalyst in claims 2 and 4 refer to the catalyst as “BF3-etherate.”
In view of Applicant’s amendment to claim to refer to the catalyst as “BF3-etherate,” the previous indefiniteness rejection is withdrawn.
10. Claim 17 was previously rejected regarding the recitation of the oxidizing agent “hydrogen peroxide” in lines 1-2. In view of Applicant’s amendment, the previous indefiniteness rejection is withdrawn.
11. Claim 18 wa previously rejected for reciting the limitation: “wherein the pyrrole or substituted pyrrole, the aliphatic or aromatic aldehyde, the salt, and solvent are mixed before the catalyst is added and the porphyrinogen is mixed with the catalyst.”
In view of Applicant’s amendment to delete the emphasized limitation above, the previous indefiniteness rejection is withdrawn.
11. Claim 20 was previously rejected regarding the duration that the porphyrinogen is mixed.
Applicant amended the claim such that the duration is now “about 5 minutes or more to about 15 minutes or less,” however, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 20, as amended, recites the broad recitation “about 5 minutes or more,” and the claim also recites “about 15 minutes or less” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. In this case, “or more” embraces any amount up to and beyond 5 minutes, including beyond 15 minutes, and “or less” embraces any amount less than 15 minutes, including less than 5 minutes.
It is recommended that the duration is recited as “a period of time of from about 5 minutes to about 15 minutes.”
Therefore, the previous indefiniteness rejection of claim 20 is maintained.
12. Claim 21 was previously rejected regarding the duration that the porphyrinogen is mixed with the oxidizing agent.
Applicant amended the claim such that the duration is “for 8 hours or more to about 24 hours or less,” however a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 21, as amended, recites the broad recitation “8 hours or more,” and the claim also recites “about 24 hours or less” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. In this case, “or more” embraces any amount beyond 8 hours, including beyond 24 hours,” and “or less” embraces any amount less than 24 hours, including less than 8 hours.
It is recommended that the duration is recited as “a period of time of from 8 hours to about 24 hours.”
Therefore, the previous indefiniteness rejection of claim 21 is maintained.
13. Claim 23 was previously rejected as being confusing regarding the oxidizing agent, and whether the oxidizing agent or the polar aprotic solvent is mixed with the porphyrinogen.
Applicant amended the claim to clarify the extraction step, however, as amended, it is not clear what is included or excluded in the organic phase, or when the extraction step and mixing step occur (during/ before/ after) relative to steps a), b), or c).
Therefore, the previous indefiniteness rejection of claim 23 is maintained.
Claim 23 has not been further treated on the merits, see In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859,134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962) (it is improper to rely on speculative assumptions regarding the meaning of a claim and then base a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 on these assumptions).
14. Claim 24 was previously rejected as being confusing because is not clear during/before/after which step the aqueous hydrogen peroxide solution is extracted.
In view of Applicant’s amendment to clarify that the step of claim 24 is conducted prior to step (c), the previous indefiniteness rejection is withdrawn.
Previous Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
15. Claims 2, 4-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 23-27 remain rejected and claim 1 is newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of preparing the tetraphenylporphyrin disclosed in Example 1, comprising combining dichloromethane, sodium chloride, 1H-pyrrole, and benzaldehyde in a vessel, charging the vessel with the catalyst boron trifluoride etherate to form a porphyrinogen, followed by oxidizing the porphyrinogen with hydrogen peroxide (see paragraph [0102]), is not considered enabled for a method of preparing any porphyrin compound comprising the combination of any solvent, any salt, any pyrrole, any aldehyde, and any peroxide oxidizing agent, wherein the porphyrin is free of hydroquinone byproducts, as presently recited. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
16. It is noted that claim 1 was inadvertently omitted from the previous written description rejection.
17. The standard for determining whether the Specification meets the enablement requirement was cast in the Supreme Court decision of Mineral Separation v. Hyde, 242 U.S. 261 (1916) which postured the question: is the experimentation needed to practice the invention undue or unreasonable? As recognized by the court in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731 (Fed. Cir. 1988), that is still the standard to be applied, determined by consideration of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(A)); namely, nature of the invention, breadth of the claims, guidance of the specification, the existence of working examples, state of the art, predictability of the art and the amount of experimentation necessary. All of the Wands factors have been considered, with the most relevant factors discussed below:
1) the quantity of experimentation necessary,
2) the amount of direction or guidance provided,
3) the presence or absence of working examples,
4) the nature of the invention,
5) the state of the prior art,
6) the relative skill of those in the art,
7) the predictability of the art, and
8) the breadth of the claims.
These factors are always applied against the background understanding that scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability involved. In re Fisher, 57 CCPA 1099, 1108, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (1970). Keeping that in mind, the Wands factors are relevant to the instant fact situation for the following reasons.
18. Nature of the Invention: As stated in MPEP 2164.05(a), “[t]he initial inquiry” for determining whether the Specification is enabling “is into the nature of the invention, i.e., the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains.”
In the instant case, the claims as presently written embrace a method of preparing any porphyrin compound comprising the combination of any solvent, any salt, any pyrrole, any aliphatic or aromatic aldehyde, and any peroxide oxidizing agent, wherein the porphyrin is free of hydroquinone byproducts.
19. The state of the prior art, level of predictability and relative skill level: As stated in MPEP 2164.05(a), “[t]he state of the prior art is what one skilled in the art would have known, at the time the application was filed, about the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains” and, as stated in MPEP 2164.05(b), “[t]he relative skill of those in the art refers to the skill of those in the art in relation to the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains at the time the application was filed.”
As discussed above, the instantly claimed invention embraces a method of preparing any porphyrin compound comprising the combination of any solvent, any salt, any pyrrole, any aliphatic or aromatic aldehyde, and any peroxide oxidizing agent, wherein the porphyrin is free of hydroquinone byproducts.
20. The relative skill of those in the art is high, that of an MD or PhD.
21. The state of the art regarding porphyrins is that they are large, ring-shaped macrocyclic compounds that are compose of four modified pyrrole rings that are connected via methine links. Regarding porphyrin synthesis, their yield is unpredictable and can be influenced by several reaction parameters, including acidity of the medium, nature of the catalyst, and the substituents on the aldehyde component, i.e. “[i]t was found that the acidity (pKa) of the medium and the nature of acid catalyst (organic acid, Lewis acid) are crucial for the efficient cyclotetramerization of pyrrole with aldehyde [102]…. In almost any of these methods, the yield of meso-tetraarylporphyrins strongly depends on the substituent in the benzaldehyde component, including its elec-tronic effect and steric factor (Table 2). Numerous studies have shown that there is virtually no effect of steric factor in reactions with para- and meta-substi-tuted benzaldehydes; therefore, only electronic effects of substituents can be taken into account. In the case of tetraarylporphyrins with ortho substituents at the phenyl rings, the steric factor prevails over the elec-tronic one [107]. However, the rate of the condensation of pyrrole with aromatic aldehydes does not always correlate with the yield of porphyrin. Linear polymers or stable condensation products of pyrrole and alde-hyde can be formed as by-products which do not undergo cyclotetramerization with the formation of tetrapyrrole macroheterocycle. For example, the con-densations of p-nitro and p-aminobenzaldehydes with pyrrole gave tetrakis(4-nitrophenyl)porphyrin and tetra-kis(4-aminophenyl)porphyrin in as low yields as 7 and 1%, respectively [107]. (Koifman et al., Russian Journal of Organic Chemistry 2022, page 450, right column, second and third paragraphs).
22. The amount of direction or guidance provided and the presence or absence of working examples: The amount of direction provided by the Applicant is considered to be determined by the Specification and the working examples. In the instant case, the Specification provides no direction or guidance for the use of the full scope of the aforementioned reactants/solvents/catalysts etc, for preparing any porphyrin. The Specification discloses only one working example of the preparation of any porphyrin: Example 1 discloses the preparation of a tetraphenylporphyrin comprising combining the solvent dichloromethane, the salt sodium chloride, 1H-pyrrole, and the aromatic aldehyde benzaldehyde in a vessel, charging the vessel with the catalyst boron trifluoride etherate to form a porphyrinogen, followed by oxidizing the porphyrinogen with hydrogen peroxide (see paragraphs [0101]- [0102] at page 31).
No reasonably specific guidance is provided concerning methods of preparing any porphyrin comprising mixing any other solvent(s), salt(s), pyrrole(s), aldehyde(s), catalyt(s), or oxidizing agent(s).
23. The breadth of the claims: For purposes of enablement, the relevant concern is whether the scope of enablement provided to one skilled in the art by the disclosure is commensurate in scope with the protection sought by the claims. Thus, while “a patent application is entitled to claim his invention generically” it is necessary that “he provide a disclosure sufficient to enable one skilled in the art to carry out the invention commensurate with the scope of his claims." Amgen, Inc., v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. (Fed. Cir. 1991). As noted by the court in In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833 (CCPA 1970), the scope of enablement must bear a “reasonable correlation” to the scope of the claims. See also Ak Steel Corp. v. Sollac, 344 F.3d 1234 (Fed. Cir. 2003) and In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232 (CCPA 1971). As stated in MPEP 2164.08, resolution of this concern requires two stages of inquiry: “[t]he first is to determine how broad the claim is with respect to the disclosure. The entire claim must be considered. The second inquiry is to determine if one skilled in the art is enabled to make and use the entire scope of the claim without undue experimentation”.
24. As to the first inquiry, as discussed above, it is evident that the claims are very broad insofar as they are directed to the preparation of any porphyrin compound, comprising: combining any solvent, any salt, any pyrrole, any aliphatic or aromatic aldehyde, with the oxidizing agent peroxide, wherein the resulting porphyrin is free of hydroquinone byproducts. Considering that the possible combinations of all of the recited reactants/ ingredients encompasses hundreds of thousands of possible syntheses, it is evident that the claims are broad. It is also noted that the claims presently embrace the preparation of any porphyrin within the class of porphyrins, including any future porphyrin. Yet, as discussed above, the instant Specification discloses only one working example (Example 1). While certain of the dependent claims limit the salt, catalyst, or solvent employed, none of the claims limit more that one ingredient. No claim is directed to the preparation of a tetraphenylporphyrin comprising combining the solvent dichloromethane, the salt sodium chloride, 1H-pyrrole, and the aromatic aldehyde benzaldehyde in a vessel, charging the vessel with the catalyst boron trifluoride etherate to form a porphyrinogen, followed by oxidizing the porphyrinogen with hydrogen peroxide
As such, the claim is extremely broad with respect to the disclosure. The second inquiry is discussed in detail below.
25. The amount of experimentation necessary: In view of all of the foregoing, at the time the invention was made, it would have required undue experimentation to practice the entire scope of the invention as claimed. As discussed above, the claims presently embrace the preparation of any porphyrin compound, comprising the combination of any solvent, any salt, any pyrrole, any aliphatic or aromatic aldehyde, with an oxidizing agent that is a peroxide, wherein the resulting porphyrin is free of hydroquinone byproducts.
26. In the instant case, the claimed synthesis is complex and is exacerbated by the broadness of the recited any porphyrin compound, comprising the combination of any solvent, any salt, any pyrrole, any aliphatic or aromatic aldehyde, with respect to the disclosure since the possible combinations of said reactants/ingredients/ catalysts encompasses hundreds of thousands of alternatives, whereas the instant Specification discloses only one working example. Although the relative skill of those in the art to which the invention pertains is high, the state of the art and unpredictability within the art is such that even the most talented artisan could not reasonably predict which of the reactants/ ingredients/ catalysts etc that are encompassed by the claims could be combined to prepare the desired porphyrin product. Although the skilled artisan would have known that certain chemical modifications to the disclosed compounds may predictably provide structurally related compounds having similar activity, the skilled artisan would have also known that even minor changes in reaction conditions can and frequently will drastically alter the yield of said reaction, as evidenced by Koifman et al., above. That is, the only way one skilled in the art is enabled to use the entire scope of the claim based on the instant disclosure entails undue experimentation.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant should narrow the scope of the claims such that they bear a reasonable correlation with the disclosure, i.e., limit the genus of porphyrins and reactants, ingredients, etc embraced by the claims.
Response to Arguments
27. Applicant traverses the previous enablement rejection, arguing that claim 1 was excluded from the rejection, and while some of the dependent claims list 24 different catalysts and 17 different salts, and do not limit the solvent, pyrrole, or aldehyde, the claims do not have extremely large ranges and do not require undue experimentation.
28. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1, which was previously inadvertently omitted from the rejection, currently embraces the preparation of any porphyrin within the class of porphyrins, including any future porphyrin.
While certain of the dependent claims limit the salt (claims 6-9), catalyst (claims 2, 4 and 5), or solvent (claims 14 and 25) employed, none of the dependent claims limit more than one category of ingredient, such that the range of solvents, salts, pyrroles or substituted pyrroles, aldehydes, catalysts, and alternatives thereof is still extremely broad with respect to the support provided in the disclosure. The instant Specification demonstrates support in only one working example (Example 1, i.e., the preparation of a tetraphenyl-porphyrin). Yet, no claim is directed to the preparation of a tetraphenylporphyrin comprising combining the solvent dichloromethane, the salt sodium chloride, 1H-pyrrole, and the aromatic aldehyde benzaldehyde in a vessel, charging the vessel with the catalyst boron trifluoride etherate to form a porphyrinogen, followed by oxidizing the porphyrinogen with hydrogen peroxide.
As such, the previous enablement rejection is maintained.
Previous Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
31. Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 26 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arja et al., Chemistry Open, Supplement: Supporting Information (2018), in view of Serra et al., Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology B (2008, cited on Applicant’s IDS of September 27, 2023).
32. This rejection has been modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Claim 1, as amended, is drawn to a method comprising:
(a) combining a solvent (more specifically, dichloromethane (claim 14)), a salt (more specifically, NaCl (claims 6-9 and 11), pyrrole or substituted pyrrole, and an aliphatic or aromatic aldehyde in a vessel;
(b) charging the vessel with a catalyst (more specifically, boron trifluoride etherate (BF3-etherate)(claims 2, 4 and 5) to form a porphyrinogen of the pyrrole or substituted pyrrole; and
(c) oxidizing the formed porphyrinogen of the pyrrole or substituted pyrrole with an oxidizing agent in the absence of acetic acid to form a porphyrin, wherein the oxidizing agent is peroxide (more specifically, hydrogen peroxide (claims 16 and 17);
wherein the porphyrin comprises a residue of the pyrrole or substituted pyrrole having an aliphatic group or an aromatic group, (more specifically, wherein the porphyrin comprises tetraphenylporphyrin (claim 26)); and
wherein the porphyrin is free of hydroquinone byproducts, and
wherein the pyrrole or substituted pyrrole, the aliphatic or aromatic aldehyde, the salt, and solvent are mixed before the catalyst is added (claim 18), wherein the porphyrin is mixed for a period of time of from about 5 minutes or more to about 15 minutes or less (claim 20).
33. Arja et al. teach the preparation of the tetraphenylporphyrin of Compound 8:
methyl-mono-(p-carboxy)-tetraphenylporphyrin (Me-pcTPP):
, wherein an aldehyde (benzaldehyde), pyrrole, and a salt (sodium chloride) were added to a solvent (dichloromethane (DCM)), degassed and stirred at room temperature for 10 minutes. The catalyst boron trifluoride etherate was then added and the reaction mixture and stirred for another 30 minutes. The oxidizing agent DDQ was then added and the reaction was let continue for an hour. Regarding the limitation of “in an absence of acetic acid” required by claim 1c., Arja et al. do not teach the presence of acetic acid.
Triethylamine solvent was added to the reaction mixture and the solvent was reduced in vacuo. The crude mixture was filtered, followed by purification to isolate the resulting tetraphenyl porphyrin, Compound 8 aka methyl mono-(p-carboxy)-tetraphenylporphyrin (Me-pcTPP) (see pages 4-5).
34. As such, Arja et al. teach a process of preparing a porphyrin comprising mixing the same solvent, salt, pyrrole, aldehyde and catalyst that are instantly recited, but do not teach that the oxidizing agent is a peroxide.
35. However, Serra et al. specifically teach the replacement of DDQ with hydrogen peroxide in the oxidative step of the preparation of porphyrins: “[o]ur approach, replacement of DDQ by hydrogen peroxide in the oxidative step of porphyrinogens [20], allows to obtain the hydroxyphenylporphyrins directly from the hydroxylated aldehydes,” (page 61, right column, last paragraph, and Scheme 1). And, Serra et al. disclose Porphyrin Synthesis 2.3.2, wherein a benzaldehyde and pyrrole are added to dichloromethane solvent, followed by addition of the catalyst boron trifluoroboroetherate (aka boron trifluoride etherate), and the reaction is allowed to continue overnight. The reaction is stopped with triethylamine followed by addition of the oxidizing agent hydrogen peroxide, resulting in tetraphenylporphyrin PS1, (page 60, left column, section 2.3.2). Acetic acid is not present in the synthesis of PS1, and PS1 does not contain a hydroquinone byproduct.
36. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tetraphenylporphyrin synthesis taught by Arja et al. by substituting DDQ with hydrogen peroxide, as explicitly guided by Serra et al., with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20 and 26 are prima facie obvious.
Claim 21 is drawn to claim 1 and limits wherein the porphyrinogen is mixed with the oxidizing agent for a period of time of from 8 hours or more to about 24 hours or less.
36. Serra et al. teach that the porphyrinogen is mixed with hydrogen peroxide and stirred until complete oxidation for 1 to 3 hours (page 60, left column, under 2.3.2.). And, discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Therefore one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to optimize the time period for mixing the oxidizing agent, starting from 3 hours as guided by Serra et al., in order to achieve full oxidation, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, claim 21 is prima facie obvious.
37. Claim 25 was previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arja et al., Chemistry Open, Supplement: Supporting Information (2018), in view of Serra et al., Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology B (2008), as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 26, and further in view of Mamardashvili and Golubchikov, Russian Chemical Reviews (2000).
38. In view of Applicant’s persuasive arguments, the previous obviousness rejection is withdrawn.
39. Claim 27 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arja et al., Chemistry Open, Supplement: Supporting Information (2018), in view of Serra et al., Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology B (2008), as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 26, above, and further in view of Zhuo et al., Chinese J Polym Sci (2018).
Claim 1 is addressed in detail, above.
Claim 27 is drawn to claim 1, and further comprises the step of contacting the porphyrin with a metalating agent that includes an aluminum compound or a chromium compound.
40. Arja et al. in view of Serra et al. teach the synthesis of tetraphenylporphyrin wherein a benzaldehyde and pyrrole are added to dichloromethane solvent, followed by addition of the catalyst boron trifluoride etherate, and then oxidizing the resulting porphyrinogen with the oxidizing agent hydrogen peroxide, wherein said tetraphenylporphyrin is free of hydroquinone byproducts, but do not teach the step of contacting the porphyrin with a metalating agent that includes an aluminum compound or a chromium compound.
41. Yet, Zhuo et al. teach the advantages of Aluminum porphyrin complexes, i.e., they are environmentally friendly, heavy-metal-free and soil-tolerant green catalysts for the copolymerization of CO2 and propylene oxide (PO) (see abstract). Zhou et al. teach the preparation of Aluminum tetraphenylporphyrin compounds in Schemes 2 and 3, comprising mixing pyrrole with benzaldehyde in a dichloromethane solvent at room temperature and adding the catalyst BF3etherate, followed by an oxidizing agent and further comprising adding the metalating agent diethylaluminum chloride (Et2AlCl) (see page 254 and page 255, left column, under “Synthesis of 5,10,15,20-Tetra(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8-octahydro- 1,4:5,8-dimethanoanthracen-9-yl)porphyrin (e)” and under “General Procedure for Aluminum Porphyrin Complex”).
42. As such, one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the synthesis suggested by Arja et al. in view of Serra et al. by introducing an aluminum metalating agent, in order to prepare an improved tetraphenylporphyrin complex comprising aluminum, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Thus claim 27 is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
43. Applicant traverses the previous obviousness rejection over Arja et al. in view of Serra et al., and argues that the Office does not demonstrate why or how one skilled in the art would combine the two references. Applicant amends claim 1 to recite: "oxidizing the porphyrinogen of the pyrrole or the substituted pyrrole with an oxidizing agent, in an absence of acetic acid, to form a porphyrin, wherein the oxidizing agent is peroxide,” and alleges that the Office does not demonstrate where the art of record teaches the preparation of a porphyrin in an absence of acetic acid.
44. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Serra et al. specifically teach the replacement of DDQ with hydrogen peroxide in the oxidative step of the preparation of porphyrins: “[o]ur approach, replacement of DDQ by hydrogen peroxide in the oxidative step of porphyrinogens [20], allows to obtain the hydroxyphenylporphyrins directly from the hydroxylated aldehydes,” (page 61, right column, last paragraph). And, Serra et al. disclose Porphyrin Synthesis 2.3.2, wherein a benzaldehyde and pyrrole are added to dichloromethane solvent, followed by addition of the catalyst boron trifluoroboroetherate (aka boron trifluoride etherate), and the reaction is allowed to continue overnight. The reaction is stopped with triethylamine followed by addition of the oxidizing agent hydrogen peroxide, resulting in tetraphenylporphyrin PS1, (page 60, left column, section 2.3.2). It is noted that acetic acid is not present in the synthesis of PS1 in section 2.3.2. Therefore Applicant’s amendment does not sufficiently distinguish the instantly recited porphyrin synthesis from that suggested by Arja et al. in view of Serra et al., and the previous obviousness rejection is maintained.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
45. Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arja et al., Chemistry Open, Supplement: Supporting Information (2018), in view of Serra et al., Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology B (2008), as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 26, above, and further in view of Dove and Riddick, Canadian Journal of Chemistry (1968).
Claim 1 is addressed in detail, above.
Claim 24 is drawn to claim 1, further comprising, prior to step (c), extracting an aqueous hydrogen peroxide solution with a polar aprotic solvent to remove water to find an anhydrous peroxide solution, and wherein the anhydrous peroxide solution is used as the oxidizing agent in step (c).
Claim 25 is drawn to claim 24 and limits the solvent to ether or diethyl ether.
46. Arja et al. in view of Serra et al. teach the synthesis of tetraphenylporphyrin wherein a benzaldehyde and pyrrole are added to dichloromethane solvent, followed by addition of the catalyst boron trifluoride etherate, and then oxidizing the resulting porphyrinogen with the oxidizing agent hydrogen peroxide, wherein said tetraphenylporphyrin is free of hydroquinone byproducts, but do not teach the step of
extracting an aqueous hydrogen peroxide solution with a polar aprotic solvent (more specifically, diethyl ether solvent), to remove water to find an anhydrous peroxide solution, and wherein the anhydrous peroxide solution is used as the oxidizing agent in step (c).
47. However, Dove teaches a procedure for extracting an aqueous hydrogen peroxide solution:
“[t]his procedure involves adding 100 cc of pure diethyl ether to 10 g of a 90 % to 98 % aqueous solution of hydrogen peroxide and dry- ing the separated ether layer by gently shaking for several minutes with granular calcium chloride. Dehydration of the ethereal solution is completed by two successive treatments with phosphorus pentoxide, and anhydrous hydrogen peroxide is then recovered by distillation under vacuum.” (page 330, left column, second paragraph).
48. As such, one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to extract aqueous hydrogen peroxide with diethyl ether in order to obtain anhydrous hydrogen peroxide, for use as the peroxide oxidizing agent in step (c) of the porphyrin syntheses suggested by Arja et al. in view of Serra et al., with a reasonable expectation of success.
Thus, claims 24 and 25 are prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
49. Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 23-27 are pending in the application, and all claims are rejected. No claim is presently allowed.
/JANET L COPPINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/AMY L CLARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1628