DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This Application filed on 09/27/2023, is a National Stage Entry of International Patent Application No. PCT/JP2022/014243, filed 03/25/2022, which claims the priority of Japan patent application JP2021-074318 filed on 04/26/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 09/27/2023, 03/31/2025, and 05/19/2025, complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits, except where noted.
Status of claims
The preliminary amendment filed on 05/27/2025, that canceled claims 1-7, and 9, and added claim 10, is acknowledged. Claims 8, and 10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
§ 102 Rejection over Beelman
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by R. Beelman et al. (US PG Pub 2010/076093 A1, 03/25/2010, “Beelman” cited in the IDS dated 09/27/2023). Claim 10 is rejected over Beelman as evidenced by Lucaris, (Jun 24, 2019, lucariscrystal.com/pouring-the-perfect-glass-of-wine).
Beelman discloses methods of maintaining and improving overall health of human by administration L-ergothioneine, [0015], [0019]. Beelman discloses that L-ergothioneine which naturally occurs in red wine, reduces the production of LDL, low density lipoprotein cholesterol and increasing HDL, high density lipoprotein cholesterol. [0021]. Therefore, Beelman anticipates claim 8.
With regard to claim 10, Beelman discloses that in the wine making process sulfur dioxide is added in an amount of 260 mg/lit to reduce oxidation and preserve wine during storage and fermentation. Beelman discloses that all sulfur dioxide added to wine are replaced with L-ergothioneine. [0029]. Thus, the amount of L-ergothioneine added is 260 mg/Lit. As evidenced by Lucaris, one cup of wine is equivalent to 150 mL. Therefore, The amount of L-ergothioneine in one cup of wine (150 mL cup) is calculated to be 39 mg (260mg/1000mL * 150 mL = 39 mg of L-ergothioneine).
39 mg L-ergothioneine anticipates the range recited in claim 10 of 2-50 mg L-ergothioneine per day.
§ 102 Rejection over Abidin
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by M. Abidin, et al. (2017), International Journal of Food Properties, 20(6), 1251–1261, “Abidin” cited in the IDS dated 03/31/2025).
Abidin discloses a method of reducing LDL, the bad cholesterol, and elevating the level of HDL, the good cholesterol by administering 5%(w/w) of Pleurotus ostreatus, wherein Pleurotus ostreatus is administered to human, [Pg. 1257, last para., pg. 1258, 2nd para.]. Abidin discloses that ergothioneine was identified in large amount in Pleurotus ostreatus with 118.91 mg/kg. [Pg. 1256, last para.]. Therefore, Abidin anticipates claim 8.
5%(w/w) of Pleurotus ostreatus = 5.95 mg of ergothioneine (5% w/w Pleurotus ostreatus of 1 kg Pleurotus ostreatus = 5/100 * 1000g = 50 kg Pleurotus ostreatus. 118.91 mg ergothioneine /1kg Pleurotus ostreatus * 50 kg Pleurotus ostreatus = 5.95 mg ergothioneine). Therefore, 5.95 mg ergothioneine anticipates claim 10 of 2-50 mg ergothioneine.
Conclusion
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/M.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622