DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of JP 2021-061575 filed March 31, 2021 and of JP 2021-211501 filed December 24, 2021 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of WO 2022/210126, the WIPO publication of PCT/JP 2022/013281 filed March 22, 2022.
A voice message from Grace Kim on August 12, 2026 noted a foreign priority filing date for JP 2021-211501 of December 24, 2021. The May 5, 2026 Non-Final Rejection on Page 2 incorrectly stated this date was December 14, 2021.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Claims and Remarks filed August 3, 2026. The claims were not amended. Applicant’s arguments were persuasive. Upon further search and consideration a new grounds of rejection is made. This is a second Non-Final Rejection.
Claims Filing Date
August 3, 2026
Pending
1-20
Withdrawn
4, 5, 7, 8
Under Examination
1-3, 6, 9-20
Withdrawn Double Patenting Rejection
The following nonstatutory double patenting rejection is withdrawn due to filing and approval of a terminal disclaimer:
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-20 over claims 1-3, 6, and 9-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,595,527 (US ‘527; US App No 18/551,541).
The applicant persuasively argues a Terminal Disclaimer over U.S. Patent No. 12,595,527 has been filed (p. 13 para. 1).
The Terminal Disclaimer filed August 3, 2026 reference U.S. Patent No. 12,595,527 was approved on August 12, 2026.
Response to Remarks filed August 3, 2026
Sasaki in view of Kajiyama
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks para. spanning pp. 8-9, p. 9 paras. 2-3, p. 10 para. 2, and para. spanning pp. 10-11, filed August 3, 2026, with respect to Sasaki in view of Kajiyama have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Sasaki in view of Kajiyama has been withdrawn.
The applicant persuasively argues the present application heats from T2 to T3 at 75°C/hour to 160°C/hour, whereas Kajiyama heats above A1 at 50 to 150°C/min (3,000 to 9,000 °C/hour) (Kajiyama claim 1) (para. spanning pp. 8-9, p. 9 paras. 2-3, p. 10 para. 2) and that Sasaki’s 0.3 um minimum cementite size is not a controlled property of the steel wire, but an object of measurement (Sasaki [0030]) (para. spanning pp. 10-11).
New Grounds
In light of further search and consideration new grounds of rejection are made over Takeda (US 2016/0289787) in view of Ochi (US 5,252,153) and over Sasaki Yuki (JP 2017-106048 machine translation) in view of Takeda (US 2016/0289787).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (US 2016/0289787) in view of Ochi (US 5,252,153).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda discloses a steel for machine structural parts (automobile components) ([0002])
with a chemical composition that falls within the scope of that claimed (Table 1 Type AK),
Element
Claim 1 mass%
Takeda Table 1 Type AK mass%
Ochi %
2:39 to 3:7
C
0.05 to 0.60
0.62
0.1 to 1.5
Si
0.005 to 0.50
0.25
0.03 to 1.00
Mn
0.30 to 1.20
0.94
0.25 to 2.0
P
More than 0 to 0.050
0.0183
-
S
More than 0 to 0.050
0.0057
-
Al
0.001 to 0.10
0.005
0.015 to 0.05
Cr
More than 0 to 1.5
0.49
0.01 to 2.0
N
More than 0 to 0.02
0.0034
0.003 to 0.020
Fe
balance
Balance
Balance
wherein, when a total content of Cr and Mn (% by mass) in cementite in the metallurgical microstructure is expressed as {Cr + Mn}, a total content of Cr and Mn (% by mass) in steel is expressed as [Cr + Mn], and a C content (% by mass) of the steel is expressed as [C], a concentration ratio {Cr + Mn}/[Cr + Mn] is (0.5[C] + 0.040) or more ({Cr+Mn} is 5.40+3.88 = 9.28; [Cr+Mn] is 0.49+0.94 = 1.43; {Cr+Mn}/[Cr+Mn] = 6.5, which is (0.5[C] + 0.040) or more; (0.5*0.60 + 0.040) = 0.34) (Table 1 Type AK, Table 7 Sample No. 89 Steel Type AK).
Takeda’s Table 1 Type AK composition includes 0.62 mass% C.
Takeda discloses 0.60 to 0.90% C ([0098]-[0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention in the Table 1 Type AK steel of Takeda to vary the C content from 0.60 to 0.90 mass% to enhance strength, increase a quenching property, and improve a fatigue property ([0098]-[0099]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The court found that overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claim range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Takeda Table 1 Type AK with 0.60 to 0.90% C renders obvious a C content (% by mass) of a steel being expressed as [C], an average circular-equivalent diameter of all the cementite being (1.668 - 2.13[C]) um or more and 1.863 - 2.13[C]) um or less (cementite average particle diameter of 0.57 um is within the range of (1.668 – 2.13*0.90) = -0.3 um to (1.863 – 2.13*0.60) = 0.59 for a [C] of 0.60 to 0.90) ([0098]-[0099], Table 1 Type AK, Table 7 Sample No. 89 Steel Type AK).
Takeda is silent to the steel being a wire.
Ochi discloses a steel wire for machine structural parts (1:5-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention for the steel of Takeda to be in the form of a wire rod (wire) to manufacture an automobile part (Ochi 1:5-22), where the steel of Takeda is also for use automobile drive-line component (Takeda [0002]). Furthermore, Takeda’s Table 1 Type AK composition falls within the scope of the wire composition of Ochi (Ochi 2:39 to 3:7) and both Takeda and Ochi are directed to steels that undergo cold forming (working) (Takeda [0014]; Ochi 1:10-15).
Regarding claim 2, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, which satisfies one or more of the following (a) to (c):
further comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of:
Cu: more than 0% by mass and 0.25% by mass or less,
Ni: more than 0% by mass and 0.25% by mass or less,
Mo: more than 0% by mass and 0.50% by mass or less, and
B: more than 0% by mass and 0.01% by mass or less,
further comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of:
Ti: more than 0% by mass and 0.2% by mass or less,
Nb: more than 0% by mass and 0.2% by mass or less, and
V: more than 0% by mass and 0.5% by mass or less, and
further comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of:
Mg: more than 0% by mass and 0.02% by mass or less,
Ca: more than 0% by mass and 0.05% by mass or less (0.006) (Takeda Table 1 Type AK)
Li: more than 0% by mass and 0.02% by mass or less, and
REM: more than 0% by mass and 0.05% by mass or less.
Regarding claim 3, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, wherein an average ferrite grain size is 30 um or less (15.8 um) (Takeda Table 7 Sample No. 89 Steel Type AK).
Regarding claim 6, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 2 as cited above, wherein an average ferrite grain size is 30 um or less (15.8 um) (Takeda Table 7 Sample No. 89 Steel Type AK).
Regarding claim 11, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, having a Si content of 0.010% by mass to 0.40% by mass (0.25 mass%) (Takeda Table 1 Steel Type AK).
Regarding claim 12, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 11 as cited above, having a Si content of 0.050% by mass to 0.35% by mass (0.25 mass%) (Takeda Table 1 Steel Type AK.
Regarding claim 13, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, having a Mn content of 0.35% by mass to 1.10% by mass (0.94 mass%) (Takeda Table 1 Steel Type AK).
Regarding claim 14, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 13 as cited above, having a Mn content of 0.40% by mass to 1.00% by mass (0.94 mass%) (Takeda Table 1 Steel Type AK).
Regarding claim 15, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above.
Takeda’s Table 1 Steel Type AK is silent to having an Al content 0.010% by mass to 0.08% by mass.
Takeda discloses an Al content of 0.050 mass% or less ([0112]-[0113]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention in Takeda’s Table 1 Steel Type AK to vary the Al content to be 0.050 mass% or less for deoxidation without forming a coarse Al oxide that decreases a fatigue property after quenching and tempering (Takeda [0112]-[0113]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 16, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, having a Cr content of 0.01% by mass to 1.40% by mass (0.49 mass%) (Takeda Table 1 Steel Type AK).
Regarding claim 17, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 16 as cited above, having a Cr content of 0.10% by mass to 1.25% by mass (0.49 mass%) (Takeda Table 1 Steel Type AK).
Regarding claim 18, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 2 as cited above.
Takeda’s Table 1 Steel Type AK is silent to a Mo content of 0.05% by mass to 0.40% by mass.
Ochi discloses a Mo content of 0.01 to 1.0% (2:65 to 3:1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in Takeda’s Table 1 Steep Type AK to include 0.01 to 1.0% Mo to increase hardenability (Ochi 2:65 to 3:1). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 19, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 3 as cited above, wherein an average ferrite grain size is 25 um or less (15.8 um) (Takeda Table 7 Sample No. 89 Steel Type AK).
Regarding claim 20, Takeda in view of Ochi discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 19 as cited above, wherein an average ferrite grain size is 20 um or less (15.8 um) (Takeda Table 7 Sample No. 89 Steel Type AK).
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki Yuki (JP 2017-106048 machine translation) in view of Takeda (US 2016/0289787).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki Yuki discloses a steel wire for machine structural parts ([0001])
with an overlapping chemical composition ([0012]-[0013], [0031]-[0041])
Element
Claim 1 mass%
Sasaki Yuki
Mass %
Sasaki Yuki
C
0.05 to 0.60
0.3 to 0.6
[0032]
Si
0.005 to 0.50
0.05 to 0.5
[0033]
Mn
0.30 to 1.20
0.2 to 1.7
[0034]
P
More than 0 to 0.050
Greater than 0 to 0.03
[0035]
S
More than 0 to 0.050
0.001 to 0.05
[0036]
Al
0.001 to 0.10
0.005 to 0.1
[0037]
Cr
More than 0 to 1.5
Greater than 0 to 0.5
[0040]-[0041]
N
More than 0 to 0.02
0 to 0.015
[0038]
Fe
balance
Remainder
[0039]
wherein, when a C content (% by mass) of a steel is expressed as [C], an average circular-equivalent diameter of all the cementite is (1.668 - 2.13[C]) um or more and (1.863 - 2.13[C]) um or less (average particle size of cementite is 0.5 to 2.0 um, [C] is 0.3 to 0.6 mass%, where 0.5 to 2.0 um overlaps with the range of 0.39 to 1.224 um ((1.668-2.13*0.6) to (1.863-2.13*0.3))) ([0028]-[0029], [0032]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Sasaki Yuki is silent to a total content of Cr and Mn (% by mass) in cementite.
Takeda discloses a steel for machine structural parts ([0002]) with a total content of Cr and Mn (% by mass) in cementite of 4% or more and 16% or less (2 to 8 mass% Mn in cementite and 2 to 8 mass% Cr in cementite) ([0128]-[0130]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention for the cementite of Sasaki Yuki to include 2 to 8 mass% Mn and 2 to 8 mass% Cr to suppress the generation of voids in cementite during cold-working, which improves the fatigue property after quenching and tempering (Takeda [0128]-[0130]).
Therefore, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses in the cementite 2 to 8 mass% Mn, in the cementite 2 to 8 mass% Cr (Takeda [0128]-[0130]), greater than 0 to 0.5 mass% Cr in the steel (Sasaki Yuki [0035]), 0.2 to 1.7 mass% Mn in the steel (Sasaki Yuki [0034]), and 0.3 to 0.6 mass% C in the steel (Sasaki Yuki [0032]), such that a concentration ratio {Cr + Mn}/[Cr + Mn] is (0.5[C] + 0.040) or more is rendered obvious by the disclosure of the prior art:
{Mn+Cr}/[Mn+Cr] = 1.9 to 80 ((2+2)/(1.7+0.5) to (8+8)/(0+0.2)); and
0.5[C] + 0.040 is 0.19.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, which satisfies one or more of the following (a) to (c):
further comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of:
Cu: more than 0% by mass and 0.25% by mass or less (greater than 0 to 0.25%) (Sasaki Yuki [0040]-[0041]),
Ni: more than 0% by mass and 0.25% by mass or less (greater than 0 to 0.25%) (Sasaki Yuki [0040]-[0041]),
Mo: more than 0% by mass and 0.50% by mass or less (greater than 0 to 0.25%) (Sasaki Yuki [0040]-[0041]), and
B: more than 0% by mass and 0.01% by mass or less (greater than 0 to 0.01%) (Sasaki Yuki [0040-[0041]),
further comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of:
Ti: more than 0% by mass and 0.2% by mass or less,
Nb: more than 0% by mass and 0.2% by mass or less, and
V: more than 0% by mass and 0.5% by mass or less, and
further comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of:
Mg: more than 0% by mass and 0.02% by mass or less,
Ca: more than 0% by mass and 0.05% by mass or less,
Li: more than 0% by mass and 0.02% by mass or less, and
REM: more than 0% by mass and 0.05% by mass or less.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above.
Sasaki Yuki discloses controlling the ferrite (bcc-Fe crystal) grain size ([0043]-[0045]).
Takeda discloses an average ferrite grain size is 30 um or less (10 um to 50 um) ([0035], [0139]-[0141]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the ferrite (bcc-Fe crystal) grain size in Sasaki Yuki to be 10 um to 50 um to prevent the generation of void during cold-working in cementite on the ferrite grain boundary while also preventing matting and disfiguration of the steel sheet surface after shaping (Takeda [0140]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 2 as cited above.
Sasaki Yuki discloses controlling the ferrite (bcc-Fe crystal) grain size ([0043]-[0045]).
Takeda discloses an average ferrite grain size is 30 um or less (10 um to 50 um) ([0035], [0139]-[0141]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the ferrite (bcc-Fe crystal) grain size in Sasaki Yuki to be 10 um to 50 um to prevent the generation of void during cold-working in cementite on the ferrite grain boundary while also preventing matting and disfiguration of the steel sheet surface after shaping (Takeda [0140]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, having a C content of 0.10% by mass to 0.55% by mass (0.3 to 0.6 mass%) (Sasaki Yuki [0032]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 9 as cited above, having a C content of 0.15% by mass to 0.50% by mass (0.3 to 0.6 mass%) (Sasaki Yuki [0032]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 11, Saski Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, having a Si content of 0.010% by mass to 0.40% by mass (0.05 to 0.5 mass%) (Sasaki Yuki [0033]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 11 as cited above, having a Si content of 0.050% by mass to 0.35% by mass (0.05 to 0.5 mass%) (Saski Yuki [0033]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, having a Mn content of 0.35% by mass to 1.10% by mass (0.2 to 1.7 mass%) (Sasaki Yuki [0034]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 13 as cited above, having a Mn content of 0.40% by mass to 1.00% by mass (0.2 to 1.7 mass%) (Sasaki Yuki [0033]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 15, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, having an Al content 0.010% by mass to 0.08% by mass (0.005 to 0.1 mass%) (Sasaki Yuki [0037]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 16, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 1 as cited above, having a Cr content of 0.01% by mass to 1.40% by mass (greater than 0 to 0.5 mass%) (Sasaki Yuki [0040]-[0041]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 17, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 16 as cited above, having a Cr content of 0.10% by mass to 1.25% by mass (greater than 0 to 0.5 mass%) (Sasaki Yuki [0040]-[0041]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 18, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 2 as cited above, having a Mo content of 0.05% by mass to 0.40% by mass (greater than 0 to 0.25 mass%) (Sasaki Yuki [0040]-[0041]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 19, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 3 as cited above, wherein an average ferrite grain size is 25 um or less (10 um to 50 um) (Takeda [0035], [0139]-[0141]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 20, Sasaki Yuki in view of Takeda discloses the steel wire for machine structural parts according to claim 19 as cited above, wherein an average ferrite grain size is 20 um or less (10 um to 50 um) (Takeda [0035], [0139]-[0141]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Related Art
Sasaki ‘459 (JP 2017-048459 machine translation)
Sasaki ’459, cited by applicant, discloses steel wire for mechanical structure components ([0001]) with an overlapping composition ([0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0034]), a bcc-Fe (ferrite) grain size of 1 um to 15 um ([0017]) and a cementite equivalent circular diameter of 0.1 um or more ([0019]). Sasaki ‘459 discloses a substantially similar spheroidizing annealing process ([0035], [0044]-[0053]).
Yamashita (JP 2015-094005 machine translation)
Yamashita, cited by applicant, discloses spheroidizing alloy steel ([0001]) wire rod ([0030]) with an overlapping composition ([0007]-[0009], [0031]-[0042]) and a substantially similar spheroidizing process ([0007], [0015]-[0019]).
Kanisawa (US 2003/0015264)
Kanisawa discloses a hot rolled steel wire rod ([0002]) with an overlapping composition ([0014]-[0028], [0050]-[0006]) and a ferrite grain size number defined under JIS G 0552 of 11 or higher ([0018], Table 3) that is softened as a result of granular carbide formed by spheroidizing ([0046]). In Kanisawa the carbide has a circle-equivalent diameter of 2 um or less ([0047]).
Sumitomo (JP S55-012082 machine translation)
Sumitomo discloses cementite spheroidizing heat treatment of repeatedly heating and cooling immediately above and below the A1 transformation point of the steel to obtain a good spheroidized structure in a relatively short time (Description, Fig. 1).
Tejima (JP 2016-172888 machine translation)
Tejima discloses a medium-high carbon steel wire rod in which it is possible to omit spheroidizing annealing ([0001], [0012], [0035]-[0050]) including an overlapping composition, 1 to 15 um ferrite particle size, and 1.5 um or less spheroidized cementite particle size ([0007]-[0010]). XXX discloses a long spheroidizing annealing ensures ductility, but places a heavy burden on productivity ([0018]).
Yasumoto (JP H11-256233 machine translation)
Yasumoto discloses spheroidizing annealing steel wire rods ([0001]) with an overlapping composition ([0012], [0015]-[0020]) manufactured by heating to (Ae1+20°C) to (Ae1+180°C), holding for 10 minutes or less, cooling to Ae1 to (Ae1-100°C) and holding for 5 to 120 minutes ([0012]), which shortens spheroidizing time ([0013], [0021]-[0025]).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735