DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dasbach Gregor (DE – 102017202021 A1, from IDS, Examiner disclosed English machined translation for rejection reference).
As per claims 1 and 9, Gregor discloses Two-wheel Assembly, On Particular Bicycle Assembly With Improved Safety comprising:
a brake assistance device for a hydraulic brake system for a vehicle (Fig: 1-3, Title), the vehicle driven by muscle power and/or an electric motor (Abstract), the brake assistance device comprising:
a sensor (6, function as sensor) including a first piston (Attached figure and Fig: 2-3;
a compensation volume (Attached figure and Fig: 2-3) including a second piston (16, Fig: 2) and a pretensioning element (17, Fig: 2);
a 2/2-way valve (19, 21, The deactivation device 19 is a 2/2-way valve in this embodiment, Preferred embodiments of invention [0007], Fig: 2-3);
a brake piston (Gregor discloses “The wheel brake is preferably a disc brake” so that its inherently include piston, Disclosure of invention, [0003], Fig: 2-3); and
an actuator (15, Fig: 2-w3),
wherein the pretensioning element (17) is configured to exert a pressure onto the second piston and thus onto a hydraulic fluid of the hydraulic brake system (Preferred embodiments of invention [0006] and [0008], Fig: 2-3), and
wherein the actuator is configured to move the second piston selectively in a first direction or in a second direction oriented opposite the first direction (The actor 15 includes a piston 16 which is in a cylinder 18 is movable back and forth and a return element 17 , A piston surface of the piston 16 is via the hydraulic connection line 14 acted upon by hydraulic pressure, Preferred embodiments of invention, [0006], Fig: 2-3).
As per claim 3, Gregor discloses wherein the sensor comprises a hand lever (6, Fig: 2-3).
As per claim 4, Gregor discloses an exhaust valve located between the brake piston and the compensation volume; and
a check valve (29, Fig: 3) located (i) between the exhaust valve (30, Fig: 3) and the compensation volume (Attached figure and Fig: 3), and (ii) between the sensor (6, Fig: 3) and the 2/2-way valve on the other hand.
As per claim 5, Gregor discloses an exhaust valve located between the brake piston and the compensation volume, and
a check valve (29, Fig: 3) located (i) between the exhaust valve (30, Fig: 3) and the compensation volume (Attached figure and Fig: 3), and (ii) between the 2/2-way valve (21, Fig: 3) and the brake piston on the other hand (5, Fig: 3).
As per claim 8, Gregor discloses wherein the pretensioning element (17, fig: 2-3) comprises a spiral spring (It should also be noted that as a restoring element 17 either coil springs or disc springs can be used, Preferred embodiments of invention, [0011], Fig: 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dasbach Gregor (DE – 102017202021 A1, from IDS as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krisher (US – 2006/0228236 A1).
As per claim 2, Gregor discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the actuator comprises an electric motor with a spindle drive.
Krisher discloses Actuator Assembly comprising:
wherein the actuator (30, Fig: 1) comprises an electric motor (36, Fig: 1) with a spindle drive (20, [0015], Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Two-wheel Assembly, On Particular Bicycle Assembly With Improved Safety of the Gregor to use the actuator with an electric motor with a spindle drive as taught by Krisher in order to an exceptionally compact source for hydraulic fluid pressure in a convenient packaging.
As per claim 6, Krisher further discloses wherein a selectively separable connection is provided between the actuator and the second piston (via clutch assembly 18, [0026] and claim 17, Fig: 1).
As per claim 7, Gregor as modified by Krisher discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pretensioning element is configured to establish a hydraulic pressure of at least 40 bar.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the pretensioning element is configured to establish a hydraulic pressure of at least 40 bar, since it has been held that discovering and optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routines skill in the art. MPEP – 2144.05, III. C.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A: Reinartz et al. (US – 5,297,863),
B: Takata et al. (US – 4,693,521),
C: Hagspiel et al. (US – 2015/0344009 A1), and
D: Wienss Andreas (EP – 3345821 B1).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616