DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO2018/207940 to Nishino et al. For the purposes of examination, citations for Nishino are taken from the English translation equivalent of the document EP3636675.
Regarding Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-9, Nishino teaches a copolymer containing a chloroprene monomer units and unsaturated nitrile monomer unit [0086] wherein the unsaturated nitrile binding level is 8-20% by mass [0087].
Nishino is silent regarding any H-NMR spectrums, A, B, C, or D peak areas derived from the H-NMR spectrum, peak area ratios, and the formula (C-2A)/B ≤ 2.0/100 wherein these peaks are relevant for claims 1-3 and 7-9.
However, properties of H-NMR spectrums, A, B, C, or D peak areas derived from the H-NMR spectrum, peak area ratios, and the formula (C-2A)/B ≤ 2.0/100 are functions of the copolymer. Nishino teaches the same copolymer comprising a chloroprene monomer units and 8-20% by mass unsaturated nitrile as set forth in the rejection above wherein the copolymer is produced by a substantially identical process. Nishino’s process found in Example 1 has extreme similarities when compared to Applicant’s process found in polymer 1 [Instant specification, [0073]] of adding equal parts of chloroprene monomer and acrylonitrile monomer to a polymerization chamber fitted with a heating/cooling jacket and a stirrer, adding 0.5 parts by mass of diethylxanthogen disulfide, 200 parts by mass of a purified water, 5.00 parts by mass of potassium rosinate, 0.40 parts by mass of sodium hydroxide and 2.0 parts by mass of sodium salt of β-naphthalene sulfonic acid formalin. Next, 0.1 Parts by mass of potassium persulfate was added as a polymerization initiator, and an emulsion polymerization was conducted under a nitrogen flow. Portion-wise addition of the chloroprene monomer was started 20 seconds after polymerization initiation, and, based on the refrigerant calorimetric change for 10 seconds after polymerization initiation, the portion-wise addition flow rate was adjusted by an electromagnetic valve, and thereafter the flow rate was re-adjusted every 10 seconds. At the time point when the polymerization rate to the total quantity of the chloroprene monomer and the acrylonitrile monomer became 50%, phenothiazine as a polymerization inhibitor was added to terminate the polymerization, then by removing the unreacted monomer in the reaction solution under reduced pressure, the chloroprene-acrylonitrile statistical copolymer latex was obtained. Nishino further teaches polymerization of chloroprene and unsaturated nitrile at a temperatures of 0-59°C [0081] wherein instant application teaches the peak ratios are affected by temperature [instant application, 0047 and 0041] wherein ideal temperatures are 0-50°C [instant application 0032].
Therefore, the properties of H-NMR spectrums, A, B, C, or D peak areas derived from the H-NMR spectrum, peak area ratios, and the formula (C-2A)/B ≤ 2.0/100 in the copolymer of Nishino will be the same properties as required by the instant claims. Case law has held that claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position. In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Regarding Claim(s) 4 and 5, Nishino teaches the chloroprene polymer of claim 1, in a rubber composition or a vulcanized molded article containing said rubber composition [abstract].
Regarding Claim(s) 6 and 10-12, Nishino teaches a vulcanized molded article such as a rubber roll [0025] containing a rubber composition [0024] containing a statistical copolymer [0023] containing chloroprene monomer units and unsaturated nitrile monomer units [0086] wherein the unsaturated nitrile binding level is 8-20% by mass [0087].
Nishino is silent regarding any H-NMR spectrums, A, B, C, or D peak areas derived from the H-NMR spectrum, peak area ratios, and the formula (C-2A)/B ≤ 2.0/100 wherein these peaks are relevant for claims 1-3 and 7-9.
However, properties of H-NMR spectrums, A, B, C, or D peak areas derived from the H-NMR spectrum, peak area ratios, and the formula (C-2A)/B ≤ 2.0/100 are functions of the copolymer. Nishino teaches the same copolymer comprising a chloroprene monomer units and 8-20% by mass unsaturated nitrile as set forth in the rejection above wherein the copolymer is produced by a substantially identical process. Nishino’s process found in Example 1 has extreme similarities when compared to Applicant’s process found in polymer 1 [Instant specification, [0073]] of adding equal parts of chloroprene monomer and acrylonitrile monomer to a polymerization chamber fitted with a heating/cooling jacket and a stirrer, adding 0.5 parts by mass of diethylxanthogen disulfide, 200 parts by mass of a purified water, 5.00 parts by mass of potassium rosinate, 0.40 parts by mass of sodium hydroxide and 2.0 parts by mass of sodium salt of β-naphthalene sulfonic acid formalin. Next, 0.1 Parts by mass of potassium persulfate was added as a polymerization initiator, and an emulsion polymerization was conducted under a nitrogen flow. Portion-wise addition of the chloroprene monomer was started 20 seconds after polymerization initiation, and, based on the refrigerant calorimetric change for 10 seconds after polymerization initiation, the portion-wise addition flow rate was adjusted by an electromagnetic valve, and thereafter the flow rate was re-adjusted every 10 seconds. At the time point when the polymerization rate to the total quantity of the chloroprene monomer and the acrylonitrile monomer became 50%, phenothiazine as a polymerization inhibitor was added to terminate the polymerization, then by removing the unreacted monomer in the reaction solution under reduced pressure, the chloroprene-acrylonitrile statistical copolymer latex was obtained. Nishino further teaches polymerization of chloroprene and unsaturated nitrile at a temperatures of 0-59°C [0081] wherein instant application teaches the peak ratios are affected by temperature [instant application, 0047 and 0041] wherein ideal temperatures are 0-50°C [instant application 0032].
Therefore, the properties of H-NMR spectrums, A, B, C, or D peak areas derived from the H-NMR spectrum, peak area ratios, and the formula (C-2A)/B ≤ 2.0/100 in the copolymer of Nishino will be the same properties as required by the instant claims. Case law has held that claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position. In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/274,281 (hereinafter ‘281). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application 18/274,281 teaches A chloroprene-based polymer, wherein: a1H-NMR spectrum of the chloroprene-based polymer measured in a deuterochloroform solvent has a peak at 5.80 to 6.00 ppm; when an area of the peak at 5.80 to 6.00 ppm is A and an area of a peak at 4.05 to 6.10 ppm is B, A/B is 1.20/100 or less [claim 1] reasonably reading on instant claim 1’s A/B ratio of 0.9/100 to 1.0/100.
Though application 18/274,281 does not specify the chloroprene-based polymer being a copolymer of chloroprene with unsaturated nitrile used in amount of more than 0%wt to 23%wt, Nishino (EP3636675) discloses a copolymer of a chloroprene and an unsaturated nitrile monomer, the content of the unsaturated nitrile is preferably 8-20%mass [Nishino 0087] , produced by emulsion polymerization in the presence of emulsifying/dispersing agent, polymerization initiator, chain transfer agent [0075-0076], wherein Nishino explicitly teaches said copolymer being used for making vulcanized molded bodies including rolls [Nishino 0023-0025].
Since the chloroprene copolymers with nitrile are taught in the art as being used for making vulcanized molded articles including rolls, as shown by Nishino'087, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nishino and the application 18/274,281, and to form, or obvious to try to form the copolymer of chloroprene with nitrile as chloroprene-based polymer in the application 18/274,281 and further to use said copolymer for making vulcanized molded articles such as rolls, since it would be obvious to choose material based on its suitability, thereby arriving at the present invention. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045).
Though application 18/274,281 does not specify the formula (C-2A)/B≤2.0/100, 18/274281 in view of Nishino teaches this limitation is inherently present as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 and 6.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
should be directed to Devin Darling whose telephone number is (703) 756-5411. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-5:00.
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ARRIE L REUTHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764