DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 18 December 2023 and 28 April 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2010/0294988 to Stueven et al. (“Stueven”).
With regard to Claims 1-2, Stueven teaches a method for producing water-absorbent resin particles comprising forming a coating layer on a surface of water-absorbent polymer particles, heat-treating the coated particles at a temperature i) higher than a glass transition temperature of a polymer component of which the coating is comprised; and ii) sufficiently low so as to yield a weight-loss of less than 10% (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0017], [0024], [0123]; Examples 2 and 5 at ¶¶ [0151]-[0153] and ¶¶ [0158]-[0159], respectively). To wit, in each of Examples 2 and 5, the coating material is an aqueous polymer featuring a glass transition temperature of 3°C (see ¶ [0151]). Heat treatment is conducted at 130°C, rendering a water content of 0.1% by weight less than heat-treated uncoated polymer particles (compare ¶¶ [0149] and [0153]).
Stueven teaches usage of film-forming polymer in coating compositions wherein the polymer features elongation properties resistant to breaking (see ¶¶ [0035], [0123]). Although Stueven does not expressly remark upon the resulting absolute value of change in elongation rate of the coating polymer component before and after heat treatment, the claimed feature is understood to be inherent within the Stueven’s disclosed process since the reference conducts the process steps as claimed using the claimed parameters, particularly in view of Stueven’s instruction to employ break-resistant coatings.
With regard to Claims 3-4, Stueven teaches coating material comprising an aqueous polymer comprising a copolymer of alkyl methacrylate and methacrylic acid units (see ¶¶ [0045], [0151]). Stueven also teaches coating compositions comprising polyalkylene glycol, polyolefins, and polymer mixtures (see ¶¶ [0019], [0035]-[0046], [0058]-[0061]).
With regard to Claim 6, Stueven teaches ratios of coating material to polymer particles at amounts within the claimed range (see Examples 2 and 5 at ¶¶ [0151]-[0152] and [0158]-[0159], respectively).
With regard to Claim 7, Stueven teaches concentrations of coating material in a coating liquid at amounts within the claimed range (see Examples 2 and 5 at ¶¶ [0151]-[0152] and [0158]-[0159], respectively).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stueven, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2008/0124551 to Daniel et al. (“Daniel”).
With regard to Claim 5, Stueven teaches usage of film-forming polymer coating materials (see ¶¶ [0035], [0050]-[0057], [0123]). To the extent that the reference’s disclosed dropping point temperatures do not contemplate claimed glass transition temperatures of polymer components, Daniel is similarly directed to a process for producing water-absorbing materials via coating particles with an elastic film-forming polymer and subsequently heat-treating the coated particles, and teaches the glass transition temperature of the polymer coating component governs the duration of heat treatment (see Abstract; ¶ [0257]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed a polymer component featuring a glass transition temperature within the claimed range in the method of Stueven throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in pursuit of a desired heat-treatment duration as taught by Daniel.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712