DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species III in the reply filed on 12-26-2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction did not state why there is no single general inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because as seen in figures 1-8 of the present invention and indicated in the restriction of record, the application includes different embodiments; thereby, there is no single general inventive concept. Regarding the arguments that claim 2 should not had been part of species II, the claim has been moved to their own species group VI.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Newly submitted claim 38 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: claim belong to an already restricted species.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 38 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 8, 12, 35-37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) calculating cbr and determinations. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the calculation nor determination are been used for anything; thereby, the calculation can be performed mentally; even adding the generically recited terminal and its elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic device. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the terminal and its elements are making calculation and determination which are well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee 20240080805.
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a method of calculating a channel busy ratio, comprising: calculating a channel busy ratio of a target slot according to a first measurement result by a terminal performing partial sensing or periodic sensing [A UE performing partial sensing can efficiently measure the channel busy ratio (CBR)] (see abstract; par. 0015), wherein the first measurement result comprises:
measurement results of M partial sensing occasions or periodic sensing occasions, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 [measured at least one] (see par. 0188); wherein calculating the channel busy ratio of the target slot according to the first measurement result by the terminal performing partial sensing or periodic sensing comprises:
determining a sidelink received signal strength indicator SL-RSSI of each sub-channel according to the measurement results of the M partial sensing occasions or periodic sensing occasions [the slot/subchannel on which the SL RSSI measurement for deriving/calculating the CBR value is performed may include a slot/subchannel on which partial sensing is performed.] (see par. 0201);
determining that the channel busy ratio of the target slot is a ratio of a quantity of sub-channels of which SL-RSSIs exceed a first threshold to a quantity of all sub-channels in a resource pool [the slot/subchannel on which the SL RSSI measurement for deriving/calculating the CBR value is performed may include a slot/subchannel on which partial sensing is actually performed] (see par. 0199-202, 0222).
Regarding claims 12 and 37, they are the corresponding terminal claims of method claims 1 and 35, Thereby, claims 12 and 37 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above and fig. 18 and 21 shows the processor, memory and transceiver.
As to claim 35, Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first measurement result further comprises a measurement result of re-evaluation or short-term sensing within a second time period [in absence of any detail of the time period, the limitation becomes inherent] (see par. 0188).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
As to claims 8 and 36, Lee discloses the method/terminal according to claim 1/12, wherein determining the sidelink received signal strength indicator SL-RSSI of each sub- channel according to the measurement results of the M partial sensing occasions or periodic sensing occasions comprises:
using the SL-RSSI of the sub-channel is an average value of the measurement results of the M partial sensing occasions or periodic sensing occasions [multiplying the average value of at least one of the SL RSSI measurement value] (see par. 0196); or, using the SL-RSSI of the sub-channel is a maximum value of the measurement results of the M partial sensing occasions or periodic sensing occasions [multiplying the maximum value of at least one of the SL RSSI measurement value] (see par. 0197); wherein a measurement result of a partial sensing occasion or a periodic sensing occasion is: a SL-RSSI obtained through measurement by the terminal within the partial sensing occasion or the periodic sensing occasion (see par. 0199-202, 0222). Although Lee does not explicitly disclose determining the max or average SL-RSSI; is clearly required to determine the max or average SL-RSSI, before been able to use it. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that Lee determined the max and average SL-RSSI before using the values in other for the system to be enabled and work correctly.
Claim(s) 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hoang 20230084593.
As to claim 39, Lee discloses the terminal according to claim 12, wherein the first measurement result further comprises a measurement result of sensing within a first time period (see par. 0015, 0188). Lee fails to disclose continuous sensing. In an analogous art, Hoang discloses continuous sensing (see par. 0186-0187). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that to add continuous sensing to Lee for the simple purpose of a faster response.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647