DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on December 24, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 7, 13, 15, 18-20 and 43 have been amended. Claims 5, 8, 10-11, 16 and 22-42 were previously canceled. Claim 14 is newly canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 12-13, 15, 17-21 and 43-46 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 13 and 43-46 being independent.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
--In claim 1, insert “and” between the updating and sending limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7 , 9, 12-13, 15, 17-21 and 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0046572), hereinafter referred to as Sengupta in view of Wang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0408389), hereinafter referred to as Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Sengupta teaches a method for updating a time offset value for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (See [0080] and [0099]-[0100]), performed by a base station (See Fig. 2, #110), comprising:
determining an update condition being satisfied (the satellite may receive an indication of a timing misalignment, between an uplink radio frame timing and a downlink radio frame timing associated with a UE, for communicating with the satellite and/or a request to update an offset for an uplink-downlink timing interaction associated with the UE; See [0099]);
updating the time offset value for the NTN (the satellite may update the offset; See [0100]);
sending an update notification of the time offset value to a user equipment (UE), wherein the sending comprises sending a higher-layer signaling carrying an updated time offset value to the UE (The satellite 110f may transmit the indication to use the updated offset in a downlink communication such as a DCI communication, a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a higher-layer communication such as a MAC-CE communication, and/or the like. In some aspects, the indication to use the updated offset is an explicit indication (e.g., a value in DCI field associated with the offset); See [0080]).
Sengupta fails to teach wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism.
Wang teaches wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value (after the base station determines to update the first timing offset, the base station may further send, to the UE by using a Msg4 message, the second timing offset, a variation between the second timing offset and a reference timing offset, or an adjustment parameter used to indicate the second timing offset. The base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information is used to indicate the effective time of the second timing offset, that is, a time at which the UE and the base station start to use the second timing offset. Correspondingly, the UE receives the effective information; See [0181] and [0337]) in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism (When the base station and the UE agree to calculate the effective time by using a formula: m=┌(RAR_window+RAR_offset)/slot_duration┐, the UE and the base station separately calculate a same value of m by substituting RAR_window and RAR_offset (which may be obtained from a broadcast message) into the formula, and use the value of m to obtain the effective time of the updated timing offset. An absolute time may also be used to specify the effective time. For example, the base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information includes an effective time, and the effective time indicates that the UE starts to use the updated timing offset in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for sending the signal. Correspondingly, the base station starts to use the updated timing offset to receive the signal in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for receiving the signal sent by the UE. The effective time of the absolute time may be sent to the UE in the foregoing manner of sending the value of m or n, wherein the effective time is interpreted as the current time; See [0359]-[0360]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Sengupta to include wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism taught by Wang in order to enable the terminal device to have enough time to make timing advance adjustments.
Regarding claim 2, Sengupta further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the update condition for updating the time offset value being satisfied comprises at least one of:
receiving an update request for requesting to update the time offset value reported by the UE (transmitting an indication of the timing misalignment and/or a request to update an offset; See [0089]);
a number of UEs that report an update request for requesting to update the time offset value reaching a predetermined number;
a ratio of a number of UEs that report an update request for requesting to update the time offset value to a total number of UEs within an NTN cell reaching a predetermined ratio value;
a current orbit of a satellite of the NTN being an orbit for which the time offset value needs to be updated; or
a current orbital position of a satellite of the NTN being a predefined update position.
Regarding claim 6, Sengupta further teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the update request comprises at least one of:
request information, for requesting to update the time offset value (transmitting an indication of the timing misalignment and/or a request to update an offset; See [0089]);
an update parameter, for determining an updated time offset value; or
a suggested value of the time offset value.
Regarding claim 7, Sengupta further teaches the method of claim 1,, wherein the sending further comprises at least one of:
sending a physical layer signaling carrying an updated time offset value (The satellite 110f may transmit the indication to use the updated offset in a downlink communication such as a DCI communication, a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a higher-layer communication such as a MAC-CE communication, and/or the like. In some aspects, the indication to use the updated offset is an explicit indication (e.g., a value in DCI field associated with the offset); See [0080]); or
sending a physical layer signal having a correspondence with an updated time offset value.
Regarding claim 9, Sengupta further teaches the method of claim 7, wherein sending the physical layer signaling carrying the updated time offset value comprises one of:
sending group common downlink control information carrying the updated time offset value; or
sending a UE-specific downlink control information carrying the updated time offset value (The satellite 110f may transmit the indication to use the updated offset in a downlink communication such as a DCI communication, a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a higher-layer communication such as a MAC-CE communication, and/or the like. In some aspects, the indication to use the updated offset is an explicit indication (e.g., a value in DCI field associated with the offset); See [0080]).
Regarding claim 12, Sengupta further teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the update notification comprises at least one of:
an update instruction, for indicating to update the time offset value (The satellite 110f may transmit the indication to use the updated offset in a downlink communication such as a DCI communication, a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a higher-layer communication such as a MAC-CE communication, and/or the like. In some aspects, the indication to use the updated offset is an explicit indication (e.g., a value in DCI field associated with the offset); See [0080]);
an update parameter, for determining an updated time offset time; or
an update value, for indicating an updated time offset time.
Regarding claim 13, Sengupta teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (See Fig. 2, #120), comprising:
updating a time offset value for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (receiving an indication from the satellite that the offset is to be used and communicating with the satellite using the offset based at least in part on receiving the indication, implying that the offset is updated; See [0090]-[0091]);
wherein the method further comprises: receiving an update notification for updating the time offset value from a base station, wherein receiving the update notification comprises: receiving a higher-layer signaling carrying an updated time offset value from the base station (The satellite 110f may transmit the indication to use the updated offset in a downlink communication such as a DCI communication, a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a higher-layer communication such as a MAC-CE communication, and/or the like. In some aspects, the indication to use the updated offset is an explicit indication (e.g., a value in DCI field associated with the offset); See [0080]).
Sengupta fails to teach wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism
Wang teaches wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value (after the base station determines to update the first timing offset, the base station may further send, to the UE by using a Msg4 message, the second timing offset, a variation between the second timing offset and a reference timing offset, or an adjustment parameter used to indicate the second timing offset. The base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information is used to indicate the effective time of the second timing offset, that is, a time at which the UE and the base station start to use the second timing offset. Correspondingly, the UE receives the effective information; See [0181] [0337]) in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism (When the base station and the UE agree to calculate the effective time by using a formula: m=┌(RAR_window+RAR_offset)/slot_duration┐, the UE and the base station separately calculate a same value of m by substituting RAR_window and RAR_offset (which may be obtained from a broadcast message) into the formula, and use the value of m to obtain the effective time of the updated timing offset. An absolute time may also be used to specify the effective time. For example, the base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information includes an effective time, and the effective time indicates that the UE starts to use the updated timing offset in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for sending the signal. Correspondingly, the base station starts to use the updated timing offset to receive the signal in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for receiving the signal sent by the UE. The effective time of the absolute time may be sent to the UE in the foregoing manner of sending the value of m or n, wherein the effective time is interpreted as the current time; See [0359]-[0360]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Sengupta to include wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism taught by Wang in order to enable the terminal device to have enough time to make timing advance adjustments.
Regarding claim 15, Sengupta further teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising:
sending an update request for requesting to update the time offset value (transmitting an indication of the timing misalignment and/or a request to update an offset; See [0089]).
Regarding claim 17, Sengupta further teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the update request comprises at least one of:
request information, for requesting to update the time offset value (transmitting an indication of the timing misalignment and/or a request to update an offset (e.g., a K.sub.offset); See [0072] and [0089]);
an update parameter, for determining an updated time offset value; or
a suggested value of the time offset value.
Regarding claim 18, Sengupta further teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the update notification comprises at least one of:
an update instruction, for indicating to update the time offset value (transmitting an indication to the UE that the offset is to be used based at least in part on updating the offset (block 630). For example, the satellite may transmit an indication to the UE that the offset is to be used based at least in part on updating the offset; See [0101]);
an update parameter, for determining an updated time offset time; or
an update value, for indicating an updated time offset time.
Regarding claim 19, Sengupta further teaches the method of claim 13, wherein receiving the update notification for updating the time offset value comprises:
determining an updated time offset value in response to the update notification carrying an update instruction (The satellite 110f may transmit the indication to use the updated offset in a downlink communication such as a DCI communication, a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a higher-layer communication such as a MAC-CE communication, and/or the like. In some aspects, the indication to use the updated offset is an explicit indication (e.g., a value in DCI field associated with the offset); See [0080]).
Regarding claim 20, Sengupta fails to teach the method of claim 13, wherein updating the time offset value comprises at least one of: updating the time offset value in response to an orbit of a satellite of the NTN being an orbit for which the time offset value needs to be updated; or updating the time offset value in response to an orbital position of a satellite of the NTN being a predefined update position.
Wang teaches wherein updating the time offset value comprises at least one of: updating the time offset value in response to an orbit of a satellite of the NTN being an orbit for which the time offset value needs to be updated (An adjustment parameter being based on an orbital height of the network device (for example, the round-trip delay of the subsatellite point of the satellite). After the base station determines to update the first timing offset, the base station may further send, to the UE by using a Msg4 message, the second timing offset, a variation between the second timing offset and a reference timing offset, or an adjustment parameter used to indicate the second timing offset; See [0018], [0181], [0315], [0337]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Sengupta to include wherein updating the time offset value comprises at least one of: updating the time offset value in response to an orbit of a satellite of the NTN being an orbit for which the time offset value needs to be updated; or updating the time offset value in response to an orbital position of a satellite of the NTN being a predefined update position taught by Wang in order to enable the terminal device to have enough time to make timing advance adjustments.
Regarding claim 21, Sengupta further discloses the method of claim 19, wherein updating the time offset value comprises at least one of:
determining the updated time offset value based on predefined adjustment information; or
determining the updated time offset value based on a predefined correspondence between status information and time offset values, wherein the status information comprises at least one of current time information (the satellite 110f may transmit a DCI to the UE 120 that includes an NDI field associated with the uplink HARQ process over which the updated timing misalignment information, or the request for an updated offset was sent by the UE 120. The value in the NDI field may implicitly indicate to the UE 120 that the satellite correctly received the uplink transmission corresponding to the updated timing misalignment information or the request for an updated offset, and that the updated offset may be used for further communications (e.g., after a certain amount of time has elapsed); See [0081])) or orbital information of a satellite of the NTN.
Regarding claim 43, Sengupta teaches a communication device base station (See Fig. 2, #110), comprising:
a processor (one or more processors; See Fig. 2, #240);
a transceiver (antennas; See Fig. 2, #234a-234t); and
a memory (See Fig. 2, #242) storing an executable program,
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine an update condition being satisfied (the satellite may receive an indication of a timing misalignment, between an uplink radio frame timing and a downlink radio frame timing associated with a UE, for communicating with the satellite and/or a request to update an offset for an uplink-downlink timing interaction associated with the UE; See [0099]);
update a time offset value for anon-terrestrial network (NTN) (The satellite may update the offset; See [0100]);
send an update notification of the time offset value to a user equipment (UE),wherein the processor is configured to send the update notification by sending a higher- layer signaling carrying an updated time offset value to the UE (The satellite 110f may transmit the indication to use the updated offset in a downlink communication such as a DCI communication, a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a higher-layer communication such as a MAC-CE communication, and/or the like. In some aspects, the indication to use the updated offset is an explicit indication (e.g., a value in DCI field associated with the offset); See [0080]).
Sengupta fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to update the time offset value by updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism.
Wang teaches wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value (after the base station determines to update the first timing offset, the base station may further send, to the UE by using a Msg4 message, the second timing offset, a variation between the second timing offset and a reference timing offset, or an adjustment parameter used to indicate the second timing offset. The base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information is used to indicate the effective time of the second timing offset, that is, a time at which the UE and the base station start to use the second timing offset. Correspondingly, the UE receives the effective information; See [0181] [0337]) in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism (When the base station and the UE agree to calculate the effective time by using a formula: m=┌(RAR_window+RAR_offset)/slot_duration┐, the UE and the base station separately calculate a same value of m by substituting RAR_window and RAR_offset (which may be obtained from a broadcast message) into the formula, and use the value of m to obtain the effective time of the updated timing offset. An absolute time may also be used to specify the effective time. For example, the base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information includes an effective time, and the effective time indicates that the UE starts to use the updated timing offset in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for sending the signal. Correspondingly, the base station starts to use the updated timing offset to receive the signal in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for receiving the signal sent by the UE. The effective time of the absolute time may be sent to the UE in the foregoing manner of sending the value of m or n, wherein the effective time is interpreted as the current time; See [0359]-[0360]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Sengupta to include wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism taught by Wang in order to enable the terminal device to have enough time to make timing advance adjustments.
Regarding claim 44, Sengupta teaches a non-transitory computer-readable computer storage medium (See [0011]) having stored thereon an executable program that, when executed by a processor of a base station, causes the base station to perform the method of claim 1 (The satellite may receive an indication of a timing misalignment, between an uplink radio frame timing and a downlink radio frame timing associated with a UE, for communicating with the satellite and/or a request to update an offset for an uplink-downlink timing interaction associated with the UE. The satellite may update the offset. The satellite 110f may transmit the indication to use the updated offset in a downlink communication such as a DCI communication, a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a higher-layer communication such as a MAC-CE communication, and/or the like. In some aspects, the indication to use the updated offset is an explicit indication (e.g., a value in DCI field associated with the offset); See [0080] and [0099]-[0100]).
Sengupta fails to teach wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism.
Wang teaches wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value (after the base station determines to update the first timing offset, the base station may further send, to the UE by using a Msg4 message, the second timing offset, a variation between the second timing offset and a reference timing offset, or an adjustment parameter used to indicate the second timing offset. The base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information is used to indicate the effective time of the second timing offset, that is, a time at which the UE and the base station start to use the second timing offset. Correspondingly, the UE receives the effective information; See [0181] [0337]) in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism (When the base station and the UE agree to calculate the effective time by using a formula: m=┌(RAR_window+RAR_offset)/slot_duration┐, the UE and the base station separately calculate a same value of m by substituting RAR_window and RAR_offset (which may be obtained from a broadcast message) into the formula, and use the value of m to obtain the effective time of the updated timing offset. An absolute time may also be used to specify the effective time. For example, the base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information includes an effective time, and the effective time indicates that the UE starts to use the updated timing offset in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for sending the signal. Correspondingly, the base station starts to use the updated timing offset to receive the signal in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for receiving the signal sent by the UE. The effective time of the absolute time may be sent to the UE in the foregoing manner of sending the value of m or n, wherein the effective time is interpreted as the current time; See [0359]-[0360]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Sengupta to include wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism taught by Wang in order to enable the terminal device to have enough time to make timing advance adjustments.
Regarding claim 45, Sengupta teaches a user equipment (See Fig. 2, #120), comprising:
a processor (one or more processors; See Fig. 2, #280);
a transceiver (antennas; See Fig. 2, #252a-252r); and
a memory (memory; See Fig. 2, #282) storing an executable program, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 13 (The satellite 110f may transmit the indication to use the updated offset in a downlink communication such as a DCI communication, a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a higher-layer communication such as a MAC-CE communication, and/or the like. In some aspects, the indication to use the updated offset is an explicit indication (e.g., a value in DCI field associated with the offset)/. Receiving an indication from the satellite that the offset is to be used and communicating with the satellite using the offset based at least in part on receiving the indication, implying that the offset is updated; See [0080] and [0090]-[0091]).
Sengupta fails to teach wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism.
Wang teaches wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value (after the base station determines to update the first timing offset, the base station may further send, to the UE by using a Msg4 message, the second timing offset, a variation between the second timing offset and a reference timing offset, or an adjustment parameter used to indicate the second timing offset. The base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information is used to indicate the effective time of the second timing offset, that is, a time at which the UE and the base station start to use the second timing offset. Correspondingly, the UE receives the effective information; See [0181] [0337]) in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism (When the base station and the UE agree to calculate the effective time by using a formula: m=┌(RAR_window+RAR_offset)/slot_duration┐, the UE and the base station separately calculate a same value of m by substituting RAR_window and RAR_offset (which may be obtained from a broadcast message) into the formula, and use the value of m to obtain the effective time of the updated timing offset. An absolute time may also be used to specify the effective time. For example, the base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information includes an effective time, and the effective time indicates that the UE starts to use the updated timing offset in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for sending the signal. Correspondingly, the base station starts to use the updated timing offset to receive the signal in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for receiving the signal sent by the UE. The effective time of the absolute time may be sent to the UE in the foregoing manner of sending the value of m or n, wherein the effective time is interpreted as the current time; See [0359]-[0360]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Sengupta to include wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism taught by Wang in order to enable the terminal device to have enough time to make timing advance adjustments.
Regarding claim 46, Sengupta teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (See [0010]) having stored thereon an executable program that, when executed by a processor of a user equipment, causes the user equipment to perform the method of claim 13 (The satellite 110f may transmit the indication to use the updated offset in a downlink communication such as a DCI communication, a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a higher-layer communication such as a MAC-CE communication, and/or the like. In some aspects, the indication to use the updated offset is an explicit indication (e.g., a value in DCI field associated with the offset)/. Receiving an indication from the satellite that the offset is to be used and communicating with the satellite using the offset based at least in part on receiving the indication, implying that the offset is updated; See [0080] and [0090]-[0091]).
Sengupta fails to teach wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism.
Wang teaches wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value (after the base station determines to update the first timing offset, the base station may further send, to the UE by using a Msg4 message, the second timing offset, a variation between the second timing offset and a reference timing offset, or an adjustment parameter used to indicate the second timing offset. The base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information is used to indicate the effective time of the second timing offset, that is, a time at which the UE and the base station start to use the second timing offset. Correspondingly, the UE receives the effective information; See [0181] [0337]) in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism (When the base station and the UE agree to calculate the effective time by using a formula: m=┌(RAR_window+RAR_offset)/slot_duration┐, the UE and the base station separately calculate a same value of m by substituting RAR_window and RAR_offset (which may be obtained from a broadcast message) into the formula, and use the value of m to obtain the effective time of the updated timing offset. An absolute time may also be used to specify the effective time. For example, the base station sends effective information to the UE, where the effective information includes an effective time, and the effective time indicates that the UE starts to use the updated timing offset in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for sending the signal. Correspondingly, the base station starts to use the updated timing offset to receive the signal in the first slot of the 98.sup.th frame for receiving the signal sent by the UE. The effective time of the absolute time may be sent to the UE in the foregoing manner of sending the value of m or n, wherein the effective time is interpreted as the current time; See [0359]-[0360]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the non-transitory computer-readable medium of Sengupta to include wherein updating the time offset value comprises: updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism of the time offset value in response to a current time being an update time defined by the predefined update mechanism taught by Wang in order to enable the terminal device to have enough time to make timing advance adjustments.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Singh et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0361128), hereinafter referred to as Singh.
Regarding claim 3, while Sengupta teaches receiving the update request (See [0099]), it fails to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of: sending a trigger signaling for triggering an update request for requesting to update the time offset value; or sending a trigger condition for triggering an update request for requesting to update the time offset value. Wang also fails to teach of the limitation.
Singh teaches the concept of sending a trigger condition for triggering an update request for requesting to update a value (the step of determining that a propagation delay compensation procedure for the wireless device is to be initiated or has been initiated, as shown at block 410. The illustrated method further includes the step of sending an indication of a network system clock time to the wireless device in association with the propagation delay compensation procedure, as shown in block 420. By “in association with” is meant that the sending of the indication of the network system clock time is triggered because of the propagation delay compensation procedure, or the propagation delay compensation procedure is triggered because of the sending of the indication of the network system clock time; See [0110]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Sengupta in view of Wang to include sending a trigger condition for triggering an update request for requesting to update the time offset value taught by Singh in order to minimize delays in connectivity.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yao et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0313855), hereinafter referred to as Yao.
Regarding claim 4, Sengupta in view of Wang fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein a trigger condition for updating the time offset value is predefined.
Yao teaches wherein a trigger condition for updating the time offset value is predefined (the BS 302 is triggered to update the first time offset Koffset1, based on the changes in propagation delays; See [0063]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Sengupta in view of Wang to include wherein a trigger condition for updating the time offset value is predefined taught by Singh in order to minimize delays in connectivity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13 and 43-46 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On pages 10-16 of the Applicants’ Response, Applicants indicate that Sengupta et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0046572), hereinafter referred to as Sengupta fails to teach updating the time offset value based on a predefined update mechanism in response to a current time being an update time indicated by the predefined update mechanism.
Examiner agrees and has thus introduced Wang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0408389), hereinafter referred to as Wang which teaches of an effective time used to indicate the effective time of the second timing offset, that is, a time at which the UE and the base station start to use the second timing offset (See [0181] and [0337]). Wang further teaches that the effective time can be based on a predetermined formula used to calculate it or be an absolute time (See [0359]-[0360]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 4/25/2026