Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues:
That is, although Patil discloses the RNR element, it is not included in a frame for performing the FILS.
First, Patil discloses, “In some instances, the RNR element may include one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links associated with a respective AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0178). Also, The examiner calls attention to the prior art of PATIL. PATIL writes, “For ease of explanation, some information elements of the frame 1000 may also be referred to as a ‘field,’ a ‘subfield,’ an ‘element,’ or a ‘subelement,’ which may be considered interchangeable terms for purposes of discussion herein” (paragraph 0148). Therefore, PATIL suggests the RNR element is included in a frame.
Moreover, Patil's RNR element includes the unique link identifier (ID) that identifies the corresponding communication link, but Patil does not disclose "the RNRE comprises: a multi-link device identifier and a plurality of link identifiers." as recited in amended claim 13 (emphases added).
The examiner calls attention to the prior art of PATIL. PATIL writes, “…the RNR element may include one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links associated with a respective AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0178). PATIL indicates the RNR element may include multiple information fields, in which each information field includes a unique link identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link. Thus, the RNR element may comprise a plurality of link identifiers.
And so, the applicant’s arguments are found to be not persuasive. The rejection of independent claims, 1, 6, and 13, remains. Since the rejection of the independent claims remains, the rejection of the dependent claims, 4, 5, 9, 10, and 17-19, also persist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10, 13, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PATIL, et al. (US 20210014911 A1, hereinafter, "PATIL") in view of WANG, et al. (US 20220287122 A1, hereinafter, "WANG").
Regarding claim 6, PATIL teaches a communication method with multiple links, performed by a station that supports a multi-link communication, and comprising:
PATIL writes, “A wireless local area network (WLAN) may be formed by one or more access points (APs)
that provide a shared wireless communication medium for use by a number of client devices also
referred to as stations (STAs)” (paragraph 0003). PATIL adds, “To improve data throughput, the AP may
communicate with one or more STAs over multiple concurrent communication links” (paragraph 0004).
receiving a first message frame for performing a fast initial link-setup (FILS) with a first link in the multiple links supported by the station that supports the multi-link communication,
PATIL writes, “By using a first communication link to exchange discovery information and one or more of capability information or operating parameter information for other communication links, wireless communication devices that implement various aspects of the present disclosure may allow the wireless communication devices to associate with one another by exchanging communications on a single communication link. The exchanged ML information may also allow the wireless communication devices to quickly switch communications between different communication links, and to dynamically change mappings between TID values and a plurality of communication links” (paragraph 0073). PATIL adds, “...the capability information may indicate one or more of...fast initial link setup (FILS) parameters...” (paragraph 0136).
wherein the information comprises: a reduced neighbor report element (RNRE) configured to
identify relevant information of the multiple links supported by an access point that supports a multi-
link communication;
PATIL writes, “In some other implementations, the first portion may include a reduced neighbor report
(RNR) element. The RNR element may indicate one or more of a transmit power level, a critical update,
or an applicable amendment to the IEEE 802.11 family of standards for each AP of the first AP and the
one or more secondary APs. In some instances, the RNR element may include one or more neighbor AP
information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link
identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link of the first communication link or the
one or more secondary communication links associated with a respective AP of the first AP or the one or
more secondary APs” (paragraph 0178).
and performing a communication operation based on the first message frame;
PATIL writes, “For UL MU transmissions, an AP 102 can transmit a trigger frame to initiate and
synchronize an UL MU-OFDMA or UL MU-MIMO transmission from multiple STAs 104 to the AP 102.
Such trigger frames may thus enable multiple STAs 104 to send UL traffic to the AP 102 concurrently in
time. A trigger frame may address one or more STAs 104 through respective association identifiers
(AIDs), and may assign each AID (and thus each STA 104) one or more RUs that can be used to send UL
traffic to the AP 102” (paragraph 0097). PATIL indicates a trigger frame to initiate UL transmission from
multiple STAs to the AP.
wherein the RNRE comprises: a multi-link device identifier and a plurality of link identifiers,
PATIL writes, “In some instances, the RNR element may include one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links associated with a respective AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0178). PATIL adds, “In some implementations, the RNR element 1810 included one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link ID and one or more of an operating class, a channel number, a basic service set identifier (BSSID), or basic service set (BSS) parameters for a respective AP of the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0219).
wherein the multi-link device identifier is configured to identify an address of the access point that supports the multi-link communication;
PATIL writes, “In some instances, the RNR element may include one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links associated with a respective AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0178). PATIL adds, “In some implementations, the RNR element 1810 included one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link ID and one or more of an operating class, a channel number, a basic service set identifier (BSSID), or basic service set (BSS) parameters for a respective AP of the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0219).
and the plurality of link identifiers are respectively configured to identify the multiple links supported by the access point that supports the multi-link communication.
PATIL writes, “In some instances, the RNR element may include one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links associated with a respective AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0178). PATIL adds, “In some implementations, the RNR element 1810 included one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link ID and one or more of an operating class, a channel number, a basic service set identifier (BSSID), or basic service set (BSS) parameters for a respective AP of the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0219).
PATIL fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the first message frame comprises: information indicating that the FILS is performed with at least one link in the multiple links,”
However, in analogous art, WANG teaches wherein the first message frame comprises: information indicating that the FILS is performed with at least one link in the multiple links,
WANG writes, “Additionally, there may be multiple APs in multi-AP sets, and the STA and AP may need
to be notified of each other's capabilities and preferences and conduct the proper association
procedures for the optimal performance and for correct setting of the multi-link operation modes. In
one approach to address the above issue, there may be an efficient discovery and association procedure
to enable optimal performance for Multi-link operations. A multi-link AP, which may be a member of a
multi-AP set, may advertise one or more of its multi-link capabilities and multi-link operation
parameters in one or more of the elements in its beacon, short beacons, Fast Initial Link Setup (FILS)
Discovery frames, and unicast or broadcast probe responses, such as: a multi-link capabilities element; a
multi-link operation element; a real-time capabilities element; and/or, a real-time operation element”
(paragraphs 0085-0086). PATIL adds, “A multi-link operation element may indicate the current multi-link
operation parameters, such as: active bands; active channels; home/anchor channel/association/control
channel; virtual AP ID; multi-link BSS color; security mode; and/or, current multi-link channel sets”
(paragraph 0095). WANG explains that the STA and AP may need to be notified of each other's
capabilities and preferences. WANG states the AP may advertise one or more of its multi-link capabilities
and multi-link operation parameters in one or more of the elements including Fast Initial Link Setup
(FILS) Discovery frames.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PATIL to include aspects described by WANG, “disclosed herein, there may be systems, methods, and devices for enabling multi-link wireless local area networks (WLAN). There may be a procedure for one or more stations (STA) devices and one or more Access Points (AP) devices for establishing a multi-link association between the one or more devices...” WANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “...thereby establishing a multi-link connection that enables improved and more efficient wireless communication. There may be a multi-link channel feedback protocol for load balancing and optimal performance” (paragraphs 0003).
Regarding claim 13, PATIL teaches an access point that supports a multi- link communication,
comprising:
PATIL writes, “A wireless local area network (WLAN) may be formed by one or more access points (APs)
that provide a shared wireless communication medium for use by a number of client devices also
referred to as stations (STAs)” (paragraph 0003). PATIL adds, “To improve data throughput, the AP may
communicate with one or more STAs over multiple concurrent communication links” (paragraph 0004).
a processor (paragraph 0099; figure 5, 506: processor);
and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor,
PATIL writes, “The memory 504 also can store non-transitory processor- or computer-executable
software (SW) code containing instructions that, when executed by the processor 506, cause the
processor to perform various operations described herein for wireless communication, including the
generation, transmission, reception, and interpretation of MPDUs, frames or packets” (paragraph 0104).
wherein the processor is configured to: determine a first message frame for performing a fast initial link-setup (FILS) with a first link in multiple links supported by the access point that supports the multi-link communication,
PATIL writes, “By using a first communication link to exchange discovery information and one or more of capability information or operating parameter information for other communication links, wireless communication devices that implement various aspects of the present disclosure may allow the wireless communication devices to associate with one another by exchanging communications on a single communication link. The exchanged ML information may also allow the wireless communication devices to quickly switch communications between different communication links, and to dynamically change mappings between TID values and a plurality of communication links” (paragraph 0073). PATIL adds, “...the capability information may indicate one or more of...fast initial link setup (FILS) parameters...” (paragraph 0136).
wherein the information comprises: a reduced neighbor report element (RNRE) configured to identify relevant information of the multiple links;
PATIL writes, “In some other implementations, the first portion may include a reduced neighbor report
(RNR) element. The RNR element may indicate one or more of a transmit power level, a critical update,
or an applicable amendment to the IEEE 802.11 family of standards for each AP of the first AP and the
one or more secondary APs. In some instances, the RNR element may include one or more neighbor AP
information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link
identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link of the first communication link or the
one or more secondary communication links associated with a respective AP of the first AP or the one or
more secondary APs” (paragraph 0178).
and send the first message frame with the first link.
PATIL writes, “By using a first communication link to exchange discovery information and one or more of capability information or operating parameter information for other communication links, wireless communication devices that implement various aspects of the present disclosure may allow the wireless communication devices to associate with one another by exchanging communications on a single communication link. The exchanged ML information may also allow the wireless communication devices to quickly switch communications between different communication links, and to dynamically change mappings between TID values and a plurality of communication links” (paragraph 0073). PATIL adds, “...the capability information may indicate one or more of...fast initial link setup (FILS) parameters...” (paragraph 0136).
wherein the RNRE comprises: a multi-link device identifier and a plurality of link identifiers,
PATIL writes, “In some instances, the RNR element may include one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links associated with a respective AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0178). PATIL adds, “In some implementations, the RNR element 1810 included one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link ID and one or more of an operating class, a channel number, a basic service set identifier (BSSID), or basic service set (BSS) parameters for a respective AP of the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0219).
wherein the multi-link device identifier is configured to identify an address of the access point that supports the multi-link communication;
PATIL writes, “In some instances, the RNR element may include one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links associated with a respective AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0178). PATIL adds, “In some implementations, the RNR element 1810 included one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link ID and one or more of an operating class, a channel number, a basic service set identifier (BSSID), or basic service set (BSS) parameters for a respective AP of the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0219).
and the plurality of link identifiers are respectively configured to identify the multiple links supported by the access point that supports the multi-link communication.
PATIL writes, “In some instances, the RNR element may include one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link identifier (ID) that identifies a corresponding communication link of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links associated with a respective AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0178). PATIL adds, “In some implementations, the RNR element 1810 included one or more neighbor AP information fields, each field of the one or more neighbor AP information fields including a unique link ID and one or more of an operating class, a channel number, a basic service set identifier (BSSID), or basic service set (BSS) parameters for a respective AP of the one or more secondary APs” (paragraph 0219).
PATIL fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the first message frame comprises: information indicating that the FILS is performed with at least one link in multiple links,”
However, in analogous art, WANG teaches wherein the first message frame comprises: information indicating that the FILS is performed with at least one link in multiple links,
WANG writes, “Additionally, there may be multiple APs in multi-AP sets, and the STA and AP may need
to be notified of each other's capabilities and preferences and conduct the proper association
procedures for the optimal performance and for correct setting of the multi-link operation modes. In
one approach to address the above issue, there may be an efficient discovery and association procedure
to enable optimal performance for Multi-link operations. A multi-link AP, which may be a member of a
multi-AP set, may advertise one or more of its multi-link capabilities and multi-link operation
parameters in one or more of the elements in its beacon, short beacons, Fast Initial Link Setup (FILS)
Discovery frames, and unicast or broadcast probe responses, such as: a multi-link capabilities element; a
multi-link operation element; a real-time capabilities element; and/or, a real-time operation element”
(paragraphs 0085-0086). PATIL adds, “A multi-link operation element may indicate the current multi-link
operation parameters, such as: active bands; active channels; home/anchor channel/association/control
channel; virtual AP ID; multi-link BSS color; security mode; and/or, current multi-link channel sets”
(paragraph 0095). WANG explains that the STA and AP may need to be notified of each other's
capabilities and preferences. WANG states the AP may advertise one or more of its multi-link capabilities
and multi-link operation parameters in one or more of the elements including Fast Initial Link Setup
(FILS) Discovery frames.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PATIL to include aspects described by WANG, “disclosed herein, there may be systems, methods, and devices for enabling multi-link wireless local area networks (WLAN). There may be a procedure for one or more stations (STA) devices and one or more Access Points (AP) devices for establishing a multi-link association between the one or more devices...” WANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “...thereby establishing a multi-link connection that enables improved and more efficient wireless communication. There may be a multi-link channel feedback protocol for load balancing and optimal performance” (paragraphs 0003).
Regarding claim 18, PATIL and WANG teach the access point according to claim 13,
Additionally, WANG teaches wherein the information further comprises: a FILS discovery
information field, wherein the FILS discovery information field comprises an identification bit
configured to indicate that the access point supports the multi-link communication.
WANG writes, “Additionally, there may be multiple APs in multi-AP sets, and the STA and AP may need
to be notified of each other's capabilities and preferences and conduct the proper association
procedures for the optimal performance and for correct setting of the multi-link operation modes. In
one approach to address the above issue, there may be an efficient discovery and association procedure
to enable optimal performance for Multi-link operations. A multi-link AP, which may be a member of a
multi-AP set, may advertise one or more of its multi-link capabilities and multi-link operation
parameters in one or more of the elements in its beacon, short beacons, Fast Initial Link Setup (FILS)
Discovery frames, and unicast or broadcast probe responses, such as: a multi-link capabilities element; a
multi-link operation element; a real-time capabilities element; and/or, a real-time operation element”
(paragraphs 0085-0086). PATIL adds, “A multi-link operation element may indicate the current multi-link
operation parameters, such as: active bands; active channels; home/anchor channel/association/control
channel; virtual AP ID; multi-link BSS color; security mode; and/or, current multi-link channel sets”
(paragraph 0095). WANG explains that the STA and AP may need to be notified of each other's
capabilities and preferences. WANG states the AP may advertise one or more of its multi-link capabilities
and multi-link operation parameters in one or more of the elements including Fast Initial Link Setup
(FILS) Discovery frames.
Regarding claim 19, PATIL teaches a station that supports multiple links, comprising:
PATIL writes, “A wireless local area network (WLAN) may be formed by one or more access points (APs)
that provide a shared wireless communication medium for use by a number of client devices also
referred to as stations (STAs)” (paragraph 0003). PATIL adds, “To improve data throughput, the AP may
communicate with one or more STAs over multiple concurrent communication links” (paragraph 0004).
a processor (paragraph 0099; figure 5, 506: processor);
and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor,
PATIL writes, “The memory 504 also can store non-transitory processor- or computer-executable
software (SW) code containing instructions that, when executed by the processor 506, cause the
processor to perform various operations described herein for wireless communication, including the
generation, transmission, reception, and interpretation of MPDUs, frames or packets” (paragraph 0104).
wherein the processor is configured to perform the communication method according to claim
6.
Claim 6 has already been rejected above by PATIL and WANG. The applicant’s attention is directed to
the rejection of claim 6. This portion of claim 19 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
Claims 1, 5, and 10 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 13 and 18 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 13 and 18. Claims 1, 5, and 10 are rejected under the same rational as claims 13 and 18.
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PATIL and WANG as applied to claims 2, 7, and 15 above, and further in view of STACEY, et al. (US 20200221545 A1, hereinafter, "STACEY").
Regarding claim 17, PATIL and WANG teach the access point according to claim 13,
Additionally, WANG teaches a plurality of offset time identifiers, wherein each of the offset
time identifiers is configured to identify a time offset of a target beacon transmission time (TBTT)
beacon frame sent by the access point with a corresponding link.
WANG writes, “A multi-link AP device may announce in its beacon, short beacon, FILS discovery frames,
or other frames, the schedule of these sounding frames. For example, a multi-link AP device may include
offsets for beacon or short beacons or FILS Discovery frames. The offset may be using the same TSF
timer or using the individual TSF timer on the channel or may be relative to the current Targets Beacon
Transmit Time (TBTT), or Target transmit time of the FILS Discovery frame on the current channel”
(paragraph 0161).
PATIL and WANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the RNRE further comprises:”
However, in analogous art, STACEY teaches wherein the RNRE further comprises:
STACEY writes, “In some embodiments, the multi-link AP device 510 may encode the RNR element to
include, for each of the neighbor AP information fields, for each of the APs 502 operating on the channel
corresponding to the neighbor AP information field, one or more of: a target beacon transmission time
(TBTT) information field that includes a TBTT offset of the AP 502” (paragraph 0109).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PATIL and WANG to include aspects
described by STACEY, “Embodiments pertain to wireless networks and wireless communications. Some
embodiments relate to wireless local area networks (WLANs) and Wi-Fi networks including networks
operating in accordance with the IEEE 802.11 family of standards. Some embodiments relate to
Extremely High Throughput (EHT) protocols. Some embodiments relate to methods, computer readable
media, and apparatus for multi-link discovery signaling in EHT systems.” STACEY provides the motivation
for modification stating, “Since EHT STAs 504 may be equipped with multiple receive chains to support
more than 2 spatial streams and multi-band operations, one or more of the techniques, operations
and/or methods described herein may improve the power save for EHT STAs 504 in some cases”
(paragraphs 0121).
Claims 4 and 9 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 17 that has already
been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 17. Claims 4 and 9 are
rejected under the same rational as claim 17.
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 11-12 and 14-16 have been cancelled by the applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 2/23/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475