Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group II. Claims 17-19, 21, 26, 28, 47, 53 and 54 in reply filed on 4/14/2026. Remaining claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/14/2026. Applicant reserves right to rejoinder.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. The application claims foreign priority date of 04/01/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/22/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by “CATT” (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #104-e January 25th - February 5th, 2021, R1-210xxxx, Title: FL Summary #5 for accuracy improvements by mitigating UE Rx/Tx and/or gNB Rx/Tx timing delays.
17. CATT teaches An information processing method (p. 7, 8, 87, methods taught), applied to a terminal (as applied to UE), comprising:
[and for claim 47 terminal comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs; the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under a control of the processor; the processor is configured to read the computer programs in the memory (D1, p.7: "UE” implicitly contains processor memory transceiver)] to perform:
obtaining information of a measurement time window (p. 87 “Support LMF to configure a time window for UE/gNB measurements (RSTD, RTOA, UE/gNB Rx-Tx time difference)”);
measuring a first positioning signal within the corresponding measurement time window according to the information of the measurement time window, to obtain at least one measured value instance (p.7: "within the same measurement window"; p.8: "Each measurement instance is reported with its own timestamp within a [configured] measurement time window"); and
sending the at least one measured value instance to a first network-side device (p.7: "UE to report multiple measurements (including RSTD, DL RSRP, UE Rx-Tx time difference measurements) in a single measurement report to LMF");
wherein the information of the measurement time window comprises terminal measurement time window information (p. 87 “Support LMF to configure a time window for UE/gNB measurements (RSTD, RTOA, UE/gNB Rx-Tx time difference)”);
the first network-side device is a positioning server or other network element capable of determining position information of the terminal except the positioning server (D1, p.7: "LMF"; p.32: "location server").
18. CATT teaches The information processing method according to claim 17, wherein the sending the at least one measured value instance to the first network-side device comprises: sending at least one measurement report to the first network-side device within a measurement time window corresponding to the terminal measurement time window information (p.7: "within the same measurement window"; p.8: "Each measurement instance is reported with its own timestamp within a [configured] measurement time window"); wherein the measurement report carries at least one measured value instance (p.7: "UE to report multiple measurements (including RSTD, DL RSRP, UE Rx-Tx time difference measurements) in a single measurement report to LMF").
19. CATT teaches The information processing method according to claim 17, wherein the obtaining the information of the measurement time window comprises:
receiving the information of the measurement time window sent by the first network-side device (p. 87 “Support LMF to configure a time window for UE/gNB measurements (RSTD, RTOA, UE/gNB Rx-Tx time difference)”); or configuring the information of the measurement time window autonomously by the terminal (p.9: “a [ configured] measurement time window” open and implied could be by network or UE).
Examiner cites additional art though not required for the rejection since the limitation is not positively recited. See US 20160050575 A1 SEO; Inkwon et al. ([0127] In addition, the user equipment may calculate an average value of measurement results of subframes included in a measurement window based on an interference set generated according to the embodiment. In this case, the measurement window may be signaled by a base station or be autonomously configured by the corresponding user equipment.) See also US 20210298039 A1 YUAN; Pu.
Claim 53 is taught for the same reasons as claim 19.
21. CATT teaches The information processing method according to claim 17, wherein the terminal measurement time window information comprises time window information for the terminal to measure a Downlink Positioning Reference Signal (DL-PRS) and/or time window information for the terminal to measure other downlink reference signals for positioning except the DL-PRS; the first positioning signal comprises a DL-PRS and/or the other downlink reference signals for positioning (p. 5 “DL PRS resources” p. 6 “. . . same set of DL PRS resources to LMF in a single measurement report”); or
the sending the at least one measured value instance to the first network-side device comprises: sending the at least one measured value instance and a time stamp corresponding to the measured value instance to the first network-side device p.7: "UE to report multiple measurements (including RSTD, DL RSRP, UE Rx-Tx time difference measurements) in a single measurement report to LMF"); or
the at least one measured value instance comprises a terminal measured value instance; wherein the terminal measured value instance comprises: a Downlink Reference Signal Time Difference (DL-RSTD), a Downlink Reference Signal Received Power (DL-RSRP), and/or a terminal sending and receiving time difference p.7: "UE to report multiple measurements (including RSTD, DL RSRP, UE Rx-Tx time difference measurements) in a single measurement report to LMF"); or
the information of the measurement time window comprises a duration of the measurement time window; or
the information of the measurement time window comprises a duration and a start time of the measurement time window; or
the information of the measurement time window comprises a start time and an end time of the measurement time window; or
the information of the measurement time window comprises Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) information; and/or the information of the measurement time window comprises System Frame Number (SFN) information and slot number information.
(elements are not positively recited).
Examiner notes prior art though not required or used for this rejection.
WO 2020191646 A1 TAO TAO et al. ¶51: “The location server 110 generates 215 a configuration of a measurement window at least in part based on the positioning assistance information. Specifically, the location server 110 determines a time window for the terminal device 130 to measure a PRS (s) from the positioning reference device 120. The time window may be defined by a reference point of the measurement window, such as a start point of the measurement window, an end point of the measurement window, or an intermediate point of the measurement window, duration of the measurement window and a relationship between the reference point and the duration of the measurement window.”
Claim 54 is taught for the same reasons as claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT, cited supra, in view of WO 2020191646 A1 TAO TAO et al.
26. CATT teaches The information processing method according to claim 17 (supra).
CATT does not teach wherein the information of the measurement time window comprises a measurement time window index number;
wherein the measurement time window index number corresponds to a set of parameter information of the measurement time window;
the parameter information comprises
a duration of the measurement time window, or
a duration and a start time of the measurement time window, or
a start time and an end time of the measurement time window.
Tao Tao teaches wherein the information of the measurement time window comprises a measurement time window index number;
wherein the measurement time window index number corresponds to a set of parameter information of the measurement time window;
the parameter information comprises
a duration of the measurement time window, or
a duration and a start time of the measurement time window, or
a start time and an end time of the measurement time window (Tao Tao ¶51: “The location server 110 generates 215 a configuration of a measurement window at least in part based on the positioning assistance information. Specifically, the location server 110 determines a time window for the terminal device 130 to measure a PRS (s) from the positioning reference device 120. The time window may be defined by a reference point of the measurement window, such as a start point of the measurement window, an end point of the measurement window, or an intermediate point of the measurement window, duration of the measurement window and a relationship between the reference point and the duration of the measurement window.”). See also: WO 2021006803 A1 SHREEVASTAV RITESH et al.
Examiner notes the following claim elements are not positively recited: or
the information of the measurement time window comprises at least one of:
a parameter J, wherein the parameter J represents a quantity of terminal measured value instances within one terminal measurement time window, J≥1;
a parameter N.sub.i, wherein the parameter N.sub.i represents a quantity of DL-PRS resource set instances or DL-PRS measurement occasions configured for an i-th terminal measured value instance, N.sub.i≥1;
a parameter K, wherein the parameter K represents a quantity of second network-side device measured value instances within one second network-side device measurement time window, K≥1; and
a parameter M.sub.i, wherein the parameter M.sub.i represents a quantity of SRS-Pos resource set instances or SRS-Pos measurement occasions configured for an i-th second network-side device measured value instance, M.sub.i≥1.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of CATT to include the noted teachings of Tao in order the power consumption of the terminal device will be saved and the positioning accuracy will be improved. (Tao ¶107).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT, cited supra, in view of US 20200228381 A1 MANOLAKOS; Alexandros et al.
28. CATT teaches The information processing method according to claim 17, (see above).
CATT does not teach wherein the terminal measurement time window information comprises a measurement time window duration MTW.sub.UE for periodic or semi-persistent DL-PRS;
wherein MTW.sub.UE=PD.sub.DL-PRS×Σ.sub.i=1.sup.J.sup.PN.sub.Pi; PD.sub.DL-PRS represents a period of DL-PRS; J.sub.P represents a quantity of terminal measured value instances within one terminal measurement time window, J.sub.P≥1; and N.sub.Pi represents a quantity of DL-PRS resource set instances or DL-PRS measurement occasions configured for an i-th terminal measured value instance, N.sub.Pi≥1.
Manolakos teaches wherein the terminal measurement time window information comprises a measurement time window duration MTW.sub.UE for periodic or semi-persistent DL-PRS;
wherein MTW.sub.UE=PD.sub.DL-PRS×Σ.sub.i=1.sup.J.sup.PN.sub.Pi; PD.sub.DL-PRS represents a period of DL-PRS; J.sub.P represents a quantity of terminal measured value instances within one terminal measurement time window, J.sub.P≥1; and N.sub.Pi represents a quantity of DL-PRS resource set instances or DL-PRS measurement occasions configured for an i-th terminal measured value instance, N.sub.Pi≥1 (Manolakos ¶99—¶101 PRS periodic configuration taught for periodic PRS including parameters for period, index, offset, subframe, frame, slot etc. that are equivalent of or render obvious the claimed parameters).
Manolokos further teaches limitations not positively recited in the claim including:
or
the terminal measurement time window information comprises a measurement time window duration MTW′.sub.UE for aperiodic DL-PRS (Manolokos ¶132 “ the base station (e.g., gNB) may configure multiple {RSTD search window, Resolution}, or just {RSTD search window}, parameters. The gNB may signal (e.g., using downlink control information (DCI) or MAC control element (MAC-CE)) which RSTD search window to apply in a specific PRS configuration, or PRS occasion, or PRS occasion group. Aperiodic PRS or semi-persistent PRS can be allowed to be configured with different {RSTD search window, Resolution} or {RSTD search window} parameters, or multiple such options, whereas the periodic PRS may use the default specified values.“);
wherein MTW′.sub.UE=LH.sub.DL-PRS×Σ.sub.i=1.sup.J.sup.AN.sub.Ai; LH.sub.DL-PRS represents a duration or a quantity of time slots occupied by an aperiodic DL-PRS resource set or DL-PRS measurement occasion; J.sub.A represents a quantity of UE measured value instances within one terminal measurement time window, J.sub.A≥1; and N.sub.Ai represents a quantity of DL-PRS resource set instances or DL-PRS measurement occasions configured for an i-th terminal measured value instance, N.sub.Ai≥1 (Manolakos ¶99—¶101 and ¶132-¶136 Table 4 and 5, parameters taught are equivalent or render obvious the parameters claimed);
or
the measurement time window corresponding to the terminal measurement time window information comprises at least two DL-PRS resource set instances located in different frequency layers (Manolakos ¶¶135-136 “ the size of the RSTD search window may depend on the frequency band (or subband). In an aspect, each frequency band may have a different size search window. . . . the size of the RSTD search window may depend on the frequency range (e.g., FR1, FR2). In an aspect, each frequency range may have a different size search window having different parameters from other search windows. The parameters for each search window may be selected from Tables 5 and 6 above. . .”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of CATT to include the noted teachings of Manolokos in order to provide configurable reference signal time difference (RSTD) search windows for observed time difference of arrival (OTDOA) and multi-round trip time (RTT) based positioning (Manolokos ¶2).
Lastly examiner notes Examiner cites additional art though not required for the rejection since the limitation is not positively recited.
or
when the terminal measurement time window information comprises measurement window information for aperiodic DL-PRS, the configuring the information of the measurement time window autonomously by the terminal comprises: configuring the measurement window information for aperiodic DL-PRS according to first information; wherein the first information comprises aperiodic DL-PRS resource information, aperiodic DL-PRS resource set information and/or aperiodic DL-PRS resource set instance information;
wherein one aperiodic DL-PRS resource set comprises at least one aperiodic DL-PRS resource; and/or one aperiodic DL-PRS resource set instance comprises at least one aperiodic DL-PRS resource set, and when a quantity of the aperiodic DL-PRS resource set is more than one, all of the aperiodic DL-PRS resource sets are the same, and the aperiodic DL-PRS resource sets are sent at different times.
See US 20160050575 A1 SEO; Inkwon et al. ([0127] In addition, the user equipment may calculate an average value of measurement results of subframes included in a measurement window based on an interference set generated according to the embodiment. In this case, the measurement window may be signaled by a base station or be autonomously configured by the corresponding user equipment.) See also US 20210298039 A1 YUAN; Pu.
Conclusion
/UMAIR AHSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647