Detail Action
This office action is a response to an amendment submitted on 07/20/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-11 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 09/27/2023 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 6, and 8 have been amended.
Claims 5, and 12- 14 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/20/2026 with respect to claim(s) have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are summarized as following: Prior Arts Oh does not teaches “determines a correspondence relation between a transmission position of a synchronization signal block and an index of the synchronization on signal block… “ [See. Remarks/ Arguments Pg. 5-6].
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. configuration in which an index of a received SS block is recalculated or reinterpreted using the SSB blocks; or correspondence relation itself between a transmission position of an SS block and an index of the SS block is changed between a first reception timing and a second reception timing. See Remarks/Arguments ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In this case, after considering the amended claims, Prior Art Oh discloses determining SS-block index x from an SS block index used for synchronization acquisition and the number N of transmitted SS blocks, for example, x = x’ mod N. This calculation defines a correspondence relation between x’, which is associated with the received/ transmitted SSB position, and the actual SS-block index x. Oh’s teaching of an unavailable SS block and transmission of other SS blocks confirms that the relationship between a received SS-Block position and the SS block identity used by the terminal is not fixed. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, Oh teaches this limitation.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a][2] as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US 20210144660 A1); hereinafter “Oh”.
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches A terminal, comprising:
reception circuitry, which, in operation, receives a synchronization signal[Oh: Figs. 12-13]; and control circuitry, which, in operation, determines a correspondence relation between a transmission position of a synchronization signal block and an index of the synchronization signal block [Oh: Figs. 7, 10-11; Par. 207- 209 teaches terminal determine the number N of the synchronization signal blocks through SIB information includes the signal block index used for synchronization acquisition and detected or obtained using the number N of the blocks], wherein
changes the correspondence relation between a first reception timing and a second reception timing of the synchronization signal block [Oh: Par. 152, 172- 175 teaches transmission period is set differently according to sync signal block transmission period, the signal block is transmitted in time period such as T1- 20ms; Fig. 11; Par. 216- 219 also teaches received an SS block transmitted through the method of the second embodiment of the disclosure, may determine an actual SS block index of the received SS block based on information transmitted through at least one field delivered through a PBCH, for example, half-frame information, subcarrier spacing for common control, DMRS type A position for PDSCH, or an identifier added for distinguishing between SS blocks]; the control circuitry changes the correspondence relation by inputting a system frame number into a pseudo-random number expression [Oh: Par. 112 teaches of configuration expressed by numbers in equation].
Regarding claim 2, Oh teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oh further teaches the control circuitry changes the correspondence relation by shifting the index of the synchronization signal block with respect to the transmission position of the synchronization signal block by a fixed amount [Oh: Par. 152, 172- 175 teaches transmission period is set differently according to sync signal block transmission period, the signal block is transmitted in time period such as T1- 20ms].
Regarding claim 3, Oh teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oh further teaches the control circuitry changes the correspondence relation by shifting the index of the synchronization signal block with respect to the transmission position of the synchronization signal block depending on a system frame number [Oh: par. 114 teaches of transmitting over frame number of block index].
Regarding claim 4, Oh teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oh further teaches the control circuitry reverses the correspondence relation of the index of the synchronization signal block with respect to the transmission position of the synchronization signal block between the first reception timing and the second reception timing [Oh: par. 57 teaches of scheduling information transmitted on transmitting timing indicators].
Regarding claim 6, Oh teaches A terminal, comprising:
reception circuitry, which, in operation, receives a synchronization signal[Oh: Figs. 12-13]; and control circuitry, which, in operation, determines a correspondence relation between a transmission position of a synchronization signal block and an index of the synchronization signal block [Oh: Figs. 7, 10-11; Par. 207- 209 teaches terminal determine the number N of the synchronization signal blocks through SIB information includes the signal block index used for synchronization acquisition and detected or obtained using the number N of the blocks], wherein
changes the correspondence relation between a first reception timing and a second reception timing of the synchronization signal block [Oh: Par. 152, 172- 175 teaches transmission period is set differently according to sync signal block transmission period, the signal block is transmitted in time period such as T1- 20ms; Fig. 11; Par. 216- 219 also teaches received an SS block transmitted through the method of the second embodiment of the disclosure, may determine an actual SS block index of the received SS block based on information transmitted through at least one field delivered through a PBCH, for example, half-frame information, subcarrier spacing for common control, DMRS type A position for PDSCH, or an identifier added for distinguishing between SS blocks]; control circuitry changes the correspondence relation using a system frame number with reference to a table indicating the correspondence relation for each system frame number [Oh: Fig. 2; Par. 91- 97 teaches value CWp of the contention window may be changed with reference to a time point at which the base station starts a channel access procedure, or a time point at which the base station selects a value of N 220 in order to perform a channel access procedure or a result of reception of a downlink data channel in a reference subframe or a reference slot in a downlink signal transmission period].
Regarding claim 7, Oh teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oh further teaches the control circuitry changes the correspondence relation using a cell identifier [Oh: Par. 112 teaches of including Cell ID].
Regarding claim 8, Oh teaches A terminal, comprising:
reception circuitry, which, in operation, receives a synchronization signal[Oh: Figs. 12-13]; and control circuitry, which, in operation, determines a correspondence relation between a transmission position of a synchronization signal block and an index of the synchronization signal block [Oh: Figs. 7, 10-11; Par. 207- 209 teaches terminal determine the number N of the synchronization signal blocks through SIB information includes the signal block index used for synchronization acquisition and detected or obtained using the number N of the blocks], wherein
changes the correspondence relation between a first reception timing and a second reception timing of the synchronization signal block [Oh: Par. 152, 172- 175 teaches transmission period is set differently according to sync signal block transmission period, the signal block is transmitted in time period such as T1- 20ms; Fig. 11; Par. 216- 219 also teaches received an SS block transmitted through the method of the second embodiment of the disclosure, may determine an actual SS block index of the received SS block based on information transmitted through at least one field delivered through a PBCH, for example, half-frame information, subcarrier spacing for common control, DMRS type A position for PDSCH, or an identifier added for distinguishing between SS blocks]; using a cell identifier or information included in a System Information Block (SIB), the control circuitry switches a changing method for changing the correspondence relation [Oh: Par. 114 teaches of transmitting through SIB PDCCH configuration].
Regarding claim 9, Oh teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oh further teaches based on information included in a System Information Block (SIB), the control circuitry changes the fixed amount of the shifting [Oh: Par. 162- 163 included acquired information through SIB, and determine he number N of SS blocks].
Regarding claim 10, Oh teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oh further teaches based on information included in a System Information Block (SIB), the control circuitry changes a shift amount of the shifting [Oh: Par. 162- 163 included acquired information through SIB, and determine he number N of SS blocks].
Regarding claim 11, Oh teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Oh further teaches the control circuitry changes the correspondence relation further based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [Oh: Par. 114 teaches of transmitting through SIB PDCCH configuration].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412