DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/31/2025. Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-14, 16, 17, 19, 21-23, 26, and 31 remain pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 9/30/2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawings received on 12/31/2025 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 16, 23, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0122495 A1) (hereinafter Weng).
Regarding claim 1, Weng discloses a first device (Figure 3 and paragraph 0159 disclose a wireless device) comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device (Figure 3 and paragraphs 0159-0161 disclose in addition to the microprocessor 128, other parts of the mobile device 80 are shown schematically. These include: a communications subsystem 170; a short-range communications subsystem 102; the keyboard 114 and the display 126, along with other input/output devices including a set of LEDS 104, a set of auxiliary I/O devices 106, a serial port 108, a speaker 111 and a microphone 112; as well as memory devices including a flash memory 116 and a Random Access Memory (RAM) 118. Operating system software executed by the microprocessor 128 is in some embodiments stored in a persistent store, such as the flash memory 116, but may be stored in other types of memory devices, such as a read only memory (ROM) or similar storage element. In addition, system software, specific device applications, or parts thereof, may be temporarily loaded into a volatile store, such as the RAM 118. The microprocessor 128, in addition to its operating system functions, enables execution of software applications on the mobile device 80. A predetermined set of software applications that control basic device operations, such as a voice communications module 130A and a data communications module 130B, may be installed on the mobile device 80 during manufacture) to
in accordance with a determination that no early paging indication is received from a second device during a set of indication occasions, determine whether a paging-related condition is met, the early paging indication addressing a set of paging occasions, the second device serving the first device (Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion);
in accordance with a determination that the paging-related condition is met, refrain from monitoring for a paging message on the set of paging occasions (Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion); and
in accordance with a determination that the paging-related condition is not met, monitor for the paging message on the set of paging occasions (Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Weng further discloses wherein the paging-related condition comprises one of the following: a subgroup comprising the first device corresponding to a first assignment, a first paging scheme to be performed for the first assignment, the first device refraining from monitoring for the paging message on the set of paging occasions in accordance with receipt of no early paging indication according to the first paging scheme, or the subgroup comprising the first device corresponding to a second assignment different from the first assignment, a second paging scheme is to be performed for the second assignment, the first device monitoring for the paging message on the set of paging occasions in accordance with receipt of no early paging indication according to the second paging scheme (Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion).
Regarding claim 16, Weng discloses a second device (Figure 1A and paragraph 0085 disclose a method in a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page is potentially present in an upcoming paging occasion. An access node is an example of a network component in which some embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented. A base station and a relay node are each an example of an access node in which some embodiments of the present invention may be implemented. In some embodiments, as described later, the base station may be an eNB (evolved Node B) station in an E-UTRA network) comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device (Figures 1A-1C and paragraph 0100 disclose the network component determines if any of the UEs in the paging subgroup being considered have a pending page. If there is at least one pending page for at least one UE in the subgroup (Yes path from block 40), the method proceeds to block 42, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion which contains at least one page, the network component transmits an early paging indicator that indicates that at least one page for at least one UE in the paging subgroup is present in the associated paging occasion. Since Weng’s network component makes decisions and takes action based on the decisions, it inherently includes at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code) to:
determine whether a paging-related condition is met (Figures 1A-1C and paragraph 0108 disclose the early paging indicator is modulated using simple On-Off-Keying, and in this case the processing steps contained in block 46 of FIG. 1C or the processing steps contained in block 42 and 44 of FIG. 1C are not performed or are skipped. For On-Off-Keying, if a “positive” early paging indicator (indicative that a page is present in the associated paging occasion for an “ON” keyed condition) is to be sent, then only the steps contained in block 42 and block 44 of FIG. 1C are performed and the steps contained in block 46 of FIG. 1C are not performed (i.e., skipped). In contrast, for On-Off-Keying, if a “negative” early paging indicator (indicative that a page is not present in the associated paging occasion for an “ON” keyed condition) is to be sent, then only the steps contained in block 46 of FIG. 1C are performed and the steps contained in block 42 and block 44 of FIG. 1C are not performed (i.e., skipped));
in accordance with a determination that the paging-related condition is met, perform a paging procedure with a first device based on a first paging scheme where no early paging indication is transmitted on a set of indication occasions in response to a determination by the first device that a paging channel between the first device and the second device is not to be monitored on a set of paging occasions corresponding to the early paging indication, the second device serving the first device (Figures 1A-1C and paragraphs 0100, 0105, and 0106 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion. At block 40, in which the network component determines if any of the UEs in the paging subgroup being considered have a pending page. If there is at least one pending page for at least one UE in the subgroup (Yes path from block 40), the method proceeds to block 42, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion which contains at least one page, the network component transmits an early paging indicator that indicates that at least one page for at least one UE in the paging subgroup is present in the associated paging occasion. Following block 42, the method proceeds to block 44, in which the network component transmits the page during the paging occasion. If there is no pending page for any of the UEs in the paging subgroup (No path from block 40), the method proceeds to block 46, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion which does not contain a page for the paging subgroup, the network component transmits an early paging indicator which indicates that a page is not expected to be present in the associated paging occasion, and the method for the paging subgroup concludes in preparation for either processing another paging subgroup for the same paging occasion or else waiting for the next paging occasion. Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion); and
in accordance with a determination that the paging-related condition is not met, perform the paging procedure with the first device based on a second paging scheme where no early paging indication is transmitted on the set of indication occasions in response to a determination by the first device that the paging channel is to be monitored on the set of paging occasions (Figures 1A-1C and paragraphs 0100, 0105, and 0106 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion. At block 40, in which the network component determines if any of the UEs in the paging subgroup being considered have a pending page. If there is at least one pending page for at least one UE in the subgroup (Yes path from block 40), the method proceeds to block 42, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion which contains at least one page, the network component transmits an early paging indicator that indicates that at least one page for at least one UE in the paging subgroup is present in the associated paging occasion. Following block 42, the method proceeds to block 44, in which the network component transmits the page during the paging occasion. If there is no pending page for any of the UEs in the paging subgroup (No path from block 40), the method proceeds to block 46, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion which does not contain a page for the paging subgroup, the network component transmits an early paging indicator which indicates that a page is not expected to be present in the associated paging occasion, and the method for the paging subgroup concludes in preparation for either processing another paging subgroup for the same paging occasion or else waiting for the next paging occasion. Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion).
Regarding claim 23, as applied to claim 16 above, Weng further discloses wherein the paging-related condition comprises one of the following: a subgroup comprising the first device corresponding to a first assignment, a first paging scheme to be performed for the first assignment, the first device refraining from monitoring for the paging message on the set of paging occasions in accordance with receipt of no early paging indication according to the first paging scheme, or the subgroup comprising the first device corresponding to a second assignment different from the first assignment, a second paging scheme is to be performed for the second assignment, the first device monitoring for the paging message on the set of paging occasions in accordance with receipt of no early paging indication according to the second paging scheme (Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion).
Regarding claim 31, Weng discloses a method comprising:
in accordance with a determination that no early paging indication is received from a second device during a set of indication occasions, determining, at a first device, whether a paging-related condition is met, the early paging indication addressing a set of paging occasions, the second device serving the first device (Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion);
in accordance with a determination that the paging-related condition is met, refraining from monitoring for a paging message on the set of paging occasions (Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion); and
in accordance with a determination that the paging-related condition is not met, monitoring for the paging message on the set of paging occasions (Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-7, 10-14, 17, 19, 21, 22, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Considering claim 2, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of receive, from the second device, a configuration message for configuring the paging-related condition in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 2.
Considering claim 4, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of receive, from the second device, an indication message for indicating a paging scheme to be performed for monitoring for the paging message in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 4.
Considering claim 5, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the paging-related condition comprises one of the following: a number of the set of paging occasions not exceeding a threshold number of paging occasions, or the number of the set of paging occasions exceeding the threshold number of paging occasions in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 5.
Considering claim 6, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the paging-related condition comprises one of the following: a paging probability of the first device being below a threshold paging probability; or the paging probability of the first device being not below the threshold paging probability, and wherein the threshold paging probability is configured by the second device in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 6.
Considering claim 7, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the paging-related condition comprises one of the following: a paging cycle length of the first device being below a threshold paging cycle length; or the paging cycle length being not below the threshold paging cycle length, and wherein the threshold paging cycle length is received by the second device in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 7.
Considering claim 10, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the paging-related condition comprises a type of the first device comprising at least one of the following: a reduced capability device, a device supporting enhanced mobile broadband, or a device supporting MultiSIM in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 10.
Considering claim 11, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the paging-related condition comprises one of the following: paging downlink control information received from the second device with a target indicator, or the paging downlink control information received from the second device without the target indicator in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 11.
Considering claim 12, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the paging-related condition comprises one of the following: a reception mode of the first device comprises a discontinuous reception mode, or the reception mode of the first device comprises an extended discontinuous reception mode in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 12.
Considering claim 13, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the first device operates in an extended discontinuous reception mode, and the paging-related condition comprises the early paging indication being not associated with a paging time window of an extended discontinuous reception cycle, and the set of paging occasions is within the paging time window in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 13.
Considering claim 17, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of transmit, to the first device, a configuration message for configuring the paging-related condition in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 17.
Considering claim 19, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of transmit, to the first device, an indication message for indicating a paging scheme to be performed for monitoring for the paging message, the paging scheme selected from the first paging scheme and the second paging scheme in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 19.
Considering claim 21, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the paging-related condition comprises one of the following: a paging probability of the first device being below a threshold paging probability; or the paging probability of the first device being not below the threshold paging probability, and wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: transmit, to the first device, a configuration message for configuring the threshold paging probability in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 21.
Considering claim 22, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the paging-related condition comprises one of the following: a paging cycle length of the first device being below a threshold paging cycle length; or the paging cycle length being not below the threshold paging cycle length, and wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: transmit, to the first device, a configuration message for configuring the threshold paging cycle length in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 22.
Considering claim 26, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Weng, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of transmit, to the first device, paging downlink control information with a target indicator for indicating the paging procedure performed based on the first paging scheme; or transmit, to the first device, the paging downlink control information without a target indicator for indicating the paging procedure performed based on the second paging scheme in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 16.
Claim 14 also includes allowable subject matter by virtue of its dependency on claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 13-15 in the Remarks, Applicant argues that Weng dies not disclose in accordance with a determination that no early paging indication is received from a second device during a set of indication occasions, determine whether a paging-related condition is met, the early paging indication addressing a set of paging occasions. Applicant states that Weng discloses integral counterpart steps 202 and 212 "Receive early paging indicator." Because steps 202 and 212 receive an early paging indicator, any subsequent steps cannot disclose a determination that no early paging indication is received.
While figures 18A and 18B both include a step of receiving early paging indicator, paragraph 0291 explicitly discloses if a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe and also explicitly discloses if a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Furthermore, paragraph 0291 equates receiving a negative indicator with not receiving a positive indicator as they both indicate that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Also paragraph 0291 equates detecting a positive early paging indicator with not detecting a negative indicator as they both indicate that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and the UE will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe.
Accordingly, Weng discloses in accordance with a determination that no early paging indication is received from a second device during a set of indication occasions, determine whether a paging-related condition is met, the early paging indication addressing a set of paging occasions, the second device serving the first device (Figures 18A and 18B and paragraph 0291 disclose the UE will check for an early paging indicator in each of its early paging indicator occasions. If a negative indicator is received or a positive indicator is not received, the UE can conclude that there is no relevant paging message in the next paging occasion and therefore the UE does not have to decode the PDCCH in that paging occasion subframe. Conversely, if a positive early paging indicator is detected or a negative indicator is not detected, the UE will conclude that there is a potentially relevant paging message in the next paging occasion for that UE and will therefore decode the PDCCH and perform the remainder of the PCH-related receiver processing in that paging occasion subframe. Figure 1C and paragraph 0100 disclose a network component for providing an early paging indicator indicative of when a page or paging message is potentially present or is expected to be absent in an upcoming paging occasion).
Consequently, in view of the above reasons and having addressed each of Applicant’s arguments, the previous rejection is maintained and made FINAL by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642