DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on 1/12/2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because claim 13 (introduced in preliminary amendment) has been omitted from the listing of the claims. If the applicant intends to cancel claim 13, it should still appear in the listing as 13. (Canceled). See (4)(i) and (ii) below. Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
Since the reply filed on 01/12/2026 appears to be bona fide, the claims have been treated on their merits.
As the intended disposition of claim 13 is unclear, a rejection thereof appears below.
Also, multiple dependency of claim 11 was introduced in the amendment dated 01/12/2026. Applicant should ensure that this is intentional and that the appropriate fees for multiple dependent claims are paid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat 9, 657,516 – Graybar.
Regarding claim 1.
Graybar discloses a driving device for an electric curtain (100, fig 1), wherein the driving device comprises
a main box (102, fig 2) and a secondary box (at 120, fig 2) connected to an end of the main box (See fig 2);
a motor (202, fig 5) and a planetary gear set (302, fig 8) in transmission connection with the motor (See fig 8) are disposed inside the main box (See figs 8, 4, and 2);
a horizontal gear set (including 132 and 134, fig 4) is disposed inside the secondary box (See fig 4);
the planetary gear set (302, fig 8) is in transmission connection with the horizontal gear set (See figs 8 and 4), and
a transmission shaft (110, fig 2) in transmission connection with the horizontal gear set (via 136, fig 4) is disposed outside the secondary box (See fig 2).
Regarding claim 2.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses the main box (102, fig 2) is transversely disposed (Disposed transversely in the window frame, see fig 1) and the secondary box (at 120, fig 2) is vertically disposed (Disposed vertically in the main box, See fig 3).
Regarding claim 3.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses the transmission shaft (110, fig 2) and the main box (102, fig 2) are disposed at the same side of the secondary box (at 120, fig 2) (See fig 2).
Regarding claim 4.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses the horizontal gear set (including 132 and 134, fig 4) comprises at least a first gear (132, fig 4) and a second gear (134, fig 4) in transmission connection (See fig 4);
the first (132, fig 4) is in transmission connection (See figs 8 and 4) with the planetary gear set (302, fig 8) and the second gear (134, fig 4) is in transmission connection (via 136, fig 4) with the transmission shaft (110, fig 2).
Regarding claim 5.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses the planetary gear set (302, fig 8) comprises a planetary carrier (310, fig 9), a sun gear (250, fig 9) and an external ring gear (332, fig 20);
an end of the planetary carrier (310, fig 9) is connected to at least three planetary gears (314, 316, and 318, fig 9) which are all meshed with the sun gear (250, fig 9) and the external ring gear (310, fig 9);
the sun gear (250, fig 9) is connected with the motor (202, fig 5; See figs 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 6.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 5.
Graybar further discloses a transmission gear (348, fig 9);
an end of the transmission gear (347, fig 9) is in transmission connection (via at least 304 and 306, fig 9) with the horizontal gear set (including 132 and 134, fig 4) and the other end is connected to the planetary carrier (310, fig 9) in a circumferential limiting connection or fixed connection (Column 8, lines 28-31; Planet gear carrier 310 includes a plate 340 having legs 342, 344, 346 projecting outwardly from one surface thereof and an integral sun gear 348 projecting from the opposite surface thereof.).
Regarding claim 7.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 6.
Graybar further discloses a connection housing (308, fig 5);
an end of the connection housing (at 174, fig 5) is connected with the motor (202, fig 5), and the other end is fitted to the secondary box (Via 490, fig 5; see column 9, lines 55-58; Motor and drive assembly isolator 490 is of resilient material and positions and retains motor and drive assembly 130 within a shaped cavity provided by the assembled upper housing 122 and lower housing 124);
the external ring gear (332, fig 20) is disposed on an inner wall of the connection housing (308, fig 20), and the connection housing (308, fig 20) is provided with a hole (336, fig 20 into central cavity, see fig 8) for the transmission gear (348, fig 9) to penetrate through (See fig 8).
Regarding claim 8.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 7.
Graybar further discloses an end of the connection housing (308, fig 10) is provided with a fitting block (490, fig 5) and a support block (124, fig 4) abutted against the fitting block (490, fig 5) is disposed on the secondary box (Column 9, lines 55-58; Motor and drive assembly isolator 490 is of resilient material and positions and retains motor and drive assembly 130 within a shaped cavity provided by the assembled upper housing 122 and lower housing 124).
Regarding claim 9.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 8.
Graybar further discloses an elastic block (Column 9, lines 55-58; a shaped cavity provided by the assembled upper housing 122 and lower housing 124) is disposed on the support block (124, fig 4), and a recess (See recesses on either side of 490, fig 5; see also fig 6.) matching the elastic block (Column 9, lines 55-58; a shaped cavity provided by the assembled upper housing 122 and lower housing 124) is disposed on the fitting block (490, fig 5).
Regarding claim 10.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 9.
Graybar further discloses the secondary box (120, fig 4) comprises a cover body (122, fig 4), and a limiting block (Column 9, lines 55-58; a shaped cavity provided by the assembled upper housing 122 and lower housing 124) for circumferential limitation with the fitting block (490, fig 5) is disposed on the cover body (122, fig 4).
Regarding claim 11.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses an electric curtain (100, fig 1), wherein the curtain comprises a curtain assembly (106, fig 1) and the driving device of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above), which is disposed at least at an end of the curtain assembly (See fig 1);
the transmission shaft (110, fig 2) is in transmission connection with the curtain assembly (via 108, fig 2).
Regarding claim 12.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 11.
Graybar further discloses an upper beam (Portion of window frame above 102, fig 1);
an insertion groove (Between vertical portions of window frame at either end of 102, fig 1) for accommodating the main box (102, fig 1) is disposed respectively at both ends of the upper beam (Portion of window frame above 102, fig 1).
Regarding claim 13.
Graybar discloses all limitations of claim 2.
Graybar further discloses the transmission shaft (110, fig 2) and the main box (102, fig 2) are disposed at the same side of the secondary box (120, fig 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant is reminded that the claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a one-stage planetary gear set) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634