DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application CN202111669905.4 filed in People's Republic of China on December 30, 2021.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application CN202210635848.6 filed in People's Republic of China on June 7, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)- (d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0131090 A1) in view of Cha et al. (WO2022102992 relying on English Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a host compound N-179
that only differs from Formula 1 of instant application in that the heteroaryl group is missing the tetrahydronaphthalene group (
) in
of Formula 1.
However, Lee teaches that N-179 is a specific compound of Formula 2,
. In N-179, Ar5 is a heterocyclic group, specifically a dibenzofuran (para. 0086). Lee teaches that the heterocyclic group may be substituted with one or more substituents and that the substitution may be a saturated or unsaturated ring (para. 0095).
Cha teaches triazine compounds with tetrahydronaphthalene group substitutions,
. In Table 1, Cha shows that triazine compounds with tetrahydronaphthalene group substituents present better voltage, efficiency, and lifespan then compounds that do not possess the group (para. 361).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound N-179 of Lee to have a tetrahydronaphthalene group attached via the meta- position to the C6 position of the dibenzofuran, because it would have been choosing one of ortho-, meta-, para- of the tetrahydronaphthalene and one of C1-C9 positions of the dibenzofuran, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the host in the emitting layer of the OLED device of Lee and possessing the benefits taught by Cha. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds comprising a compound with a tetrahydronaphthalene having the benefits taught by Cha in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).Modified compound of Lee reads on Formula 1 of instant application.
where in Formula 1
X1 to X3 are each an N atom
p is 1
L1 and L2 are the same and are a single bond
m is 2
One of L is a single bond and another L is an unsubstituted heteroarylene having 12 carbon atoms
Ar1 and Ar2 are the same and an unsubstituted aryl having 10 carbon atoms
n3 is 0
Regarding claims 3, 4, and 5, modified Lee further teaches wherein L1 and L2 are the same and are a single bond.
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches that L1 is a single bond and the instant claim is dependent on claim 1. Claim 1 does not require L1 to be a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group, thus the limitation wherein
is selected from the group consisting of the following groups:
is not required.
Regarding claim 7, modified Lee further teaches wherein m represents 2, one of two L is a single bond and the other L is an unsubstituted heteroarylene having 12 carbon atoms.
Regarding claim 8, modified Lee further teaches wherein m represents 2, one of the two L is a single bond and the other L is an unsubstituted
of group V.
Regarding claim 9, modified Lee further teaches wherein
is
.
Regarding claim 10, modified Lee further teaches wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are the same and an unsubstituted aryl having 10 carbon atoms.
Regarding claim 11, modified Lee further teaches wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are
.
Regarding claim 12, modified Lee further teaches wherein modified compound N-179
is compound 510
of instant claim.
Regarding claim 13, modified Lee further teaches an organic electroluminescent device (para. 0013, abstract) comprising an anode (first electrode, para. 0013, anode, abstract) and a cathode (second electrode, para. 0013, cathode, abstract) that are disposed opposite to each other, and a functional layer (organic material layer, para. 0013, abstract) disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the functional layer comprises the organic compound according to claim 1 (organic material layer/emitting layer comprises a host represented by Formula 2, para. 0013, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use modified N-179, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Lee according to known methods to yield predictable results of an OLED device with a lower driving voltage and improved luminous efficiency and lifetime (abstract, para. 0012), as taught by Lee. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Regarding claim 14, modified Lee further teaches wherein the functional layer comprises an organic emissive layer (emitting layer, para. 0013), the organic emissive layer comprising the organic compound (compound of Formula 2, para. 0013).
Regarding claim 15, modified Lee further teaches an electronic apparatus (electronic device, para. 0014), comprising the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 13 (comprising the electronic element with the compound of Formula 2, para. 0013 and 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the electroluminescent device of claim 13 in an electronic apparatus, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Lee according to known methods to yield predictable results of an electronic device with an organic electronic element with a lower driving voltage and improved luminous efficiency and lifetime (abstract, para. 0012), as taught by Lee. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches that L1 and L2 are a single bond and the instant claim is dependent on claim 1. Claim 1 does not require L1 or L2 to have substituents, thus the limitations wherein the substituents in L1 and L2 are each independently selected from the group consisting of deuterium, fluorine, cyano, alkyl having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, fluoroalkyl having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, deuterated alkyl having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, trialkylsilyl are not required.
Conclusion
/APCV/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789