DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 11, 13, 31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al (US 2020/0314885, hereinafter Cirik), in view of Chen et al (US 2019/0166529, hereinafter Chen) and in view of Rico Alvarino et al (US 2017/0111780, hereinafter Rico).
Regarding claim 1, Cirik discloses a method for activating a bandwidth part, applied to a user equipment (UE), wherein the method comprises: determining to use a reconfigured first bandwidth part wherein the first bandwidth part at least comprises a first DL bandwidth part and the first bandwidth part is shared by the narrowband UE and a non-narrowband UE, wherein said determining to use the reconfigured first bandwidth part comprises: receiving a first-type message within the first DL bandwidth part, wherein the first-type message comprises at least one of a system information block (SIB1) other system information (OS1) or a paging message or determining to use a second bandwidth part (UE devices switches from first BWP to second BWP, Para [0470]); wherein the second bandwidth part at least comprises a second DL bandwidth part (the second BWPs may comprise DL BWPs, Para [0460]), but not wherein said determining to use the second bandwidth part comprises receiving Msg2 or Msg4 within the second DL bandwidth part. Chen discloses a BWP switching operation can occur during the RA procedure, Para [0057], where UE can initiate an RA procedure on first BWP and continue the RA procedure on second BWP, Para [0061,63], meaning a later Msg (2, 3 or 4) would be using the second BWP. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Chen in the system of Cirik in order to effectively handle RA procedures with BWP switching operations; and does not explicitly disclose the second bandwidth part is dedicated to the narrowband UE. Rico discloses the narrowband is dedicated for use by narrowband UEs, Para [0075], in this case the second BWP is a narrowband. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rico in the system of Cirik in view of Chen in order to improve low-power discovery and transitioning between direct and relay communications.
Regarding claim 3, Cirik discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein said determining to use the reconfigured first bandwidth part or determining to use the second bandwidth part comprises: determining to use a reconfigured first DL bandwidth part and/or a reconfigured first UL bandwidth part based on a higher-layer parameter; or determining to use the second DL bandwidth part and/or the second UL bandwidth part based on a higher-layer parameter (BS configures the wireless device with one or more second BWPs by using configuration parameters, Para [0460], configuration parameters are in RRC messages, Para [0200], switching to second BWP, in one case by a BWP inactivity timer expiring which is configured by higher layer RRC, Para [0366]).
Regarding claim 4, Cirik discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein said determining to use the reconfigured first bandwidth part comprises: receiving a message 2 (Msg2) and/or a message 4 (Msg4) within the reconfigured first DL bandwidth part (optional limitation).
Regarding claim 10, Cirik discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising: activating or using the reconfigured first DL bandwidth part after sending a Msg1 (optional limitation).
Regarding claim 11, Cirik discloses the method according to claim 2, but not further comprising: activating or using the second DL bandwidth part after sending a Msg1. Chen discloses a BWP switching operation can occur during the RA procedure, Para [0057], where UE can initiate an RA procedure on first BWP and continue the RA procedure on second BWP, Para [0061,63].
Regarding claim 13, Cirik discloses the method according to claim 2, but not wherein said determining to use the second bandwidth part comprises: receiving a first-type message, a Msg2, and/or a Msg4 within the second DL bandwidth part. Chen discloses a BWP switching operation can occur during the RA procedure, Para [0057], where UE can initiate an RA procedure on first BWP and continue the RA procedure on second BWP, Para [0061,63].
Regarding claim 31, Cirik discloses an apparatus (wireless device, Fig. 3) for activating a bandwidth part, comprising: at least one processor and a memory (processor and memory, Fig. 3) configured to store instructions executable by the at least one processor: wherein the instructions cause the at least one processor to: determine to use a reconfigured first bandwidth part wherein the first bandwidth part at least comprises a first DL bandwidth part and the first bandwidth part is shared by the narrowband UE and a non-narrowband UE, wherein said determining to use the reconfigured first bandwidth part comprises: receiving a first-type message within the first DL bandwidth part, wherein the first-type message comprises at least one of a system information block (SIB1) other system information (OS1) or a paging message or determining to use a second bandwidth part or determine to use a second bandwidth part (UE devices switches from first BWP to second BWP, Para [0470]); but not wherein the second bandwidth part at least comprises a second DL bandwidth part, wherein said determining to use the second bandwidth part comprises receiving Msg2 or Msg4 within the second DL bandwidth part. Chen discloses a BWP switching operation can occur during the RA procedure, Para [0057], where UE can initiate an RA procedure on first BWP and continue the RA procedure on second BWP, Para [0061,63], meaning a later Msg (2, 3 or 4) would be using the second BWP. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Chen in the system of Cirik in order to effectively handle RA procedures with BWP switching operations; and does not explicitly disclose the second bandwidth part is dedicated to the narrowband UE. Rico discloses the narrowband is dedicated for use by narrowband UEs, Para [0075], in this case the second BWP is a narrowband. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rico in the system of Cirik in view of Chen in order to improve low-power discovery and transitioning between direct and relay communications.
Regarding claim 38, Cirik discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (computer readable media, Para [0217]), wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores computer program instructions thereon, the computer program instructions, when being executed by a processor, are configured to: determine to use a reconfigured first bandwidth part wherein the first bandwidth part at least comprises a first DL bandwidth part and the first bandwidth part is shared by the narrowband UE and a non-narrowband UE, wherein said determining to use the reconfigured first bandwidth part comprises: receiving a first-type message within the first DL bandwidth part, wherein the first-type message comprises at least one of a system information block (SIB1) other system information (OS1) or a paging message or determining to use a second bandwidth part or determine to use a second bandwidth part (UE devices switches from first BWP to second BWP, Para [0470]); but not wherein the second bandwidth part at least comprises a second DL bandwidth part, wherein said determining to use the second bandwidth part comprises receiving Msg2 or Msg4 within the second DL bandwidth part. Chen discloses a BWP switching operation can occur during the RA procedure, Para [0057], where UE can initiate an RA procedure on first BWP and continue the RA procedure on second BWP, Para [0061,63], meaning a later Msg (2, 3 or 4) would be using the second BWP. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Chen in the system of Cirik in order to effectively handle RA procedures with BWP switching operations; and does not explicitly disclose the second bandwidth part is dedicated to the narrowband UE. Rico discloses the narrowband is dedicated for use by narrowband UEs, Para [0075], in this case the second BWP is a narrowband. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rico in the system of Cirik in view of Chen in order to improve low-power discovery and transitioning between direct and relay communications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues the claim is directed towards narrowband UEs and Cirik does not disclose narrowband UEs. In response, arguments are moot in view of a new reference being used in the current office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461