DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Re claim 3, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “between 26.5 degrees and 29.5 degrees”, and the claim also recites “preferably 27 degrees, and in particular 28 degrees” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In Re claim 4, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation “between 1.2mm and 1.3mm”, and the claim also recites “in particular 1.25mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 5-8 all recite the same broad limitation followed by a narrower limitation; and are therefore all considered indefinite. See above rejections and MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (WO 2021/045412 A1). The examiner notes that US 2022/0297657 is reference herein as an English translation equivalent.
In Re claim 1, Kim discloses an electric parking brake (see 110 and 120) comprising: a spindle (121) with an external thread (figs. 2-4); and a spindle nut (130) with an internal thread (figs. 5-7) in engagement with the external thread, wherein the external thread and internal thread have a symmetrical thread profile with a rounded portion in the crest and trough of the profile (see figs. 4 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2021/045412 A1).
In Re claims 2-9, Kim discloses the claimed electric parking brake actuator with a spindle and spindle nut each having a rounded thread profile/shape, but fails to specifically disclose the dimensions or said rounded thread profiles/shapes. However, the examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the co-mating threads of the spindle and spindle nut to have any profile/shape, including: a rounded portion radius between 0.23mm and 0.27mm; a thread flank angle between 26.5 degrees and 29.5 degrees; a pitch between 1.2mm and 1.3mm; a diameter between 8.3mm and 8.4mm; a core diameter between 6.35mm and 6.95mm, a flank diameter between 7.5mm and 7.9mm, and a flank width of 0.62mm and 0.63mm, as a matter of engineering design choice based on the operating conditions to provide a strong product while minimizing excess material and meeting sizing and packaging constraints, while also providing smooth and optimal performance.
The examiner notes that it has been held that a modification involving a mere change in size of a component is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). The examiner further notes that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2021/045412 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peric (US 2023/0003270).
In Re claim 9, Kim discloses the claimed invention, with the exception of teaching a rolling and heat treating method steps.
Peric is related to the art of automotive parking brake actuators. Peric teaches forming a spindle (11) and spindle nut (20) for a parking brake device (Abstract), and forming the spindle and nut threads (13, 23) via a thread rolling and heat treatment process (par. 0017). Thread rolling and heat treating creates stronger, more fatigue-resistant threads, with improved tensile strength and grain structure, by introducing beneficial compressive residual stresses into the thread roots, significantly improving performance over cut threads. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spindle and spindle nut threads of Kim to be formed by a rolling and heat treatment process, as taught by Peric, to produce stronger, more robust threads, enabling a longer service life expectancy, and allowing for greater force application during use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616