DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 1/29/2026, claims 1- 14, 20- 22 and 28- 30 are cancelled, claims 15-19, 23- 27 are amended. Claims 15- 19 and 23- 27 are pending for examinations.
Examiner Note
Please provide full form of word MSGA in the next response.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 1/29/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner has considered new reference Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0106128 A1). Lee states limitations, “in case that there is no medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU) of an MSGA buffer, and the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information is higher than a priority of uplink transmission”; Lee [0568] 1> if there is a MAC PDU to be transmitted for this duration in uplink, except a MAC PDU obtained from the Msg3 buffer, the MSGA buffer, or prioritized as specified in clause 5.4.2.2, and the sidelink transmission is prioritized over uplink transmission:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15- 19, 23- 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0217232 A1) in view of Ericsson ,“remaining aspects for discovery”, R2-2009228 see IDS filed on 10/16/2024 page 3 cite#2 and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0106128 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see [0117] second UE as a UE here…. a first UE 1002 and a second UE 1004 along with an exemplary first data structure 1028 and an exemplary second data structure 1030 according to some aspects of the disclosure. Each of the first data structure 1028 and the second data structure 1030 may include a parameter indicative of a discovery message according to some aspects of the disclosure. The discovery message may be a PC5 Discovery Message…..), the method comprising:
obtaining information for a priority of a sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information wherein the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information is set to 1 corresponding to a highest priority (see [0129] wherein second UE (here 1004) obtains a PC5 Discovery Message 1040 transported on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), as described herein, may have a lower priority than another message transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). According to one example, the PC5 Discovery Message transported on an PSSCH has a lowest priority among messages transmitted on an PSCCH. According to another example, a PC5 Discovery Message transported on a sidelink transport channel (STCH) has a lower priority than another message transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). According to another example, messages among sidelink traffic channels (STCHs) may be prioritized in at least one of two alternatives. According to a first alternative, prioritization may be performed in accordance with the priority of the logical channel (LCH) transporting the discovery message, for example as configured in RRC. According to a second alternative, the priority of the discovery message may be a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In some examples, the priority of the discovery message may be fixed as being a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In other words, the priority of a PC5 Discovery Message is at least one of: based on a logical channel (LCH) priority of a logical channel transporting the discovery message, or fixed to be a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In all examples and alternatives, the discovery message may be a PC5 Discovery Message..; further in same above context see #1602 regarding second UE receives over a user plane a discovery message…..including parameter indicative of the discovery message. ); and
transmitting a MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information (see #1604… At block 1604, the first UE may establish a one-to-one connection with a second UE that responds to the discovery message; see [0179]; further in context with [0138] (..A unique index number 1134 and LCID value 1136 are depicted in the seventh row of the table 1132; namely, the LCID value 1136 that may correspond to PC5 Discovery Message 1138 may be indexed to index number “61.” Accordingly, a transmission over the user plane of a MAC PDU having a MAC subheader with an index number “61” in the LCID field 1130 may be used to indicate that a PC5 Discovery Message (e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation discovery message) is being transmitted from a remote UE to neighboring UEs. Furthermore, a transmission over the user plane of a MAC PDU having a MAC subheader with an index number “61” in the LCID field 1130 may be used to indicate that a response PC5 Discovery Message 1138 is being transmitted from a relay UE to a soliciting remote UE…) pls refer to [0180]…a response discovery message as a unicast message that may be in response to a solicitation discovery message from the second UE; further see Fig. 10 #1032 (i.e. responsive to #1028 of Fig. 10) as a unicast response discovery message in response to a broadcast and/or groupcast solicitation discovery message of the Model B type; see [0123]; further see Fig. 10 based on #1028 message; transmitting responsive message 1030 having MAC PDU for sidelink discovery; further see [0149].).
Here Cheng is discussed about sidelink discovery information has a highest priority but silent about it is set to “1”. Further Cheng is silent about limitations, “in case that there is no medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU) of an MSGA buffer, and the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information is higher than a priority of uplink transmission”.
However Ericsson teaches in section 2.2 page5 first four lines regarding LCH priority as 1 as a highest priority. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Ericsson with the teachings of Cheng to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism of setting highest priority as “1”; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
But Cheng is silent about limitations, “in case that there is no medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU) of an MSGA buffer, and the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information is higher than a priority of uplink transmission”.
However Lee teaches in [0568] 1> if there is a MAC PDU to be transmitted for this duration in uplink, except a MAC PDU obtained from the Msg3 buffer, the MSGA buffer, or prioritized as specified in clause 5.4.2.2, and the sidelink transmission is prioritized over uplink transmission:
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Cheng in view of Ericsson to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein in case that there is no medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU) of an MSGA buffer, and the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information is higher than a priority of uplink transmission; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out regarding prioritization in the communication system.
Regarding claim 16, Cheng in view of Ericsson and Lee teaches as per claim 15, further comprising: based on the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information, configuring the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information (Cheng already discussed above see Fig. 10 based on #1028 message; transmitting responsive message 1030 having MAC PDU for sidelink discovery; further see [0149] about priority handling message).
Regarding claim 17, Cheng in view of Ericsson and Lee teaches as per claim 15, wherein the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information is configured not to include sidelink data for non-discovery (Cheng #1030 does not have sidelink data for non-discovery).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng in view of Ericsson and Lee teaches as per claim 15, further comprising:
based on the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information, determining a priority of the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information (Cheng see [0129] wherein second UE (here 1004) obtains a PC5 Discovery Message 1040 transported on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), as described herein, may have a lower priority than another message transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). According to one example, the PC5 Discovery Message transported on an PSSCH has a lowest priority among messages transmitted on an PSCCH. According to another example, a PC5 Discovery Message transported on a sidelink transport channel (STCH) has a lower priority than another message transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). According to another example, messages among sidelink traffic channels (STCHs) may be prioritized in at least one of two alternatives. According to a first alternative, prioritization may be performed in accordance with the priority of the logical channel (LCH) transporting the discovery message, for example as configured in RRC. According to a second alternative, the priority of the discovery message may be a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In some examples, the priority of the discovery message may be fixed as being a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In other words, the priority of a PC5 Discovery Message is at least one of: based on a logical channel (LCH) priority of a logical channel transporting the discovery message, or fixed to be a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In all examples and alternatives, the discovery message may be a PC5 Discovery Message..; further in same above context see #1602 regarding second UE receives over a user plane a discovery message…..including parameter indicative of the discovery message); and
based on the priority of the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information, transmitting the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information (Cheng see #1604… At block 1604, the first UE may establish a one-to-one connection with a second UE that responds to the discovery message; see [0179]; further in context with [0138] (..A unique index number 1134 and LCID value 1136 are depicted in the seventh row of the table 1132; namely, the LCID value 1136 that may correspond to PC5 Discovery Message 1138 may be indexed to index number “61.” Accordingly, a transmission over the user plane of a MAC PDU having a MAC subheader with an index number “61” in the LCID field 1130 may be used to indicate that a PC5 Discovery Message (e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation discovery message) is being transmitted from a remote UE to neighboring UEs. Furthermore, a transmission over the user plane of a MAC PDU having a MAC subheader with an index number “61” in the LCID field 1130 may be used to indicate that a response PC5 Discovery Message 1138 is being transmitted from a relay UE to a soliciting remote UE…) pls refer to [0180]…a response discovery message as a unicast message that may be in response to a solicitation discovery message from the second UE; further see Fig. 10 #1032 (i.e. responsive to #1028 of Fig. 10) as a unicast response discovery message in response to a broadcast and/or groupcast solicitation discovery message of the Model B type; see [0123]; further see Fig. 10 based on #1028 message; transmitting responsive message 1030 having MAC PDU for sidelink discovery; further see [0149].).
Regarding claim 19, Cheng in view of Ericsson and Lee teaches as per claim 15, wherein transmitting the MAC PDU comprises at least one of:
determining that there is no uplink message transmission;
determining that an uplink message transmission and the transmission of the sidelink discovery information can be simultaneously performed; or
determining that there is no MAC PDU of an Msg3 buffer, or
uplink MAC PDU having a high priority for an uplink transmission; Lee teaches in [0565] 1> if there is no uplink transmission; or [0566] 1> if the MAC entity is able to simultaneously perform uplink transmission(s) and sidelink transmission at the time of the transmission;….. [0568] 1> if there is a MAC PDU to be transmitted for this duration in uplink, except a MAC PDU obtained from the Msg3 buffer, the MSGA buffer, or prioritized as specified in clause 5.4.2.2..
Regarding claim 23, Cheng teaches a user equipment (UE) operating as a sidelink relay UE or a sidelink remote UE in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: (see [0117] second UE as a UE here…. a first UE 1002 and a second UE 1004 along with an exemplary first data structure 1028 and an exemplary second data structure 1030 according to some aspects of the disclosure. Each of the first data structure 1028 and the second data structure 1030 may include a parameter indicative of a discovery message according to some aspects of the disclosure. The discovery message may be a PC5 Discovery Message…..), the method comprising:
obtaining information for a priority of a sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information, wherein the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information is set to 1 corresponding to a highest priority (see [0129] wherein second UE (here 1004) obtains a PC5 Discovery Message 1040 transported on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), as described herein, may have a lower priority than another message transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). According to one example, the PC5 Discovery Message transported on an PSSCH has a lowest priority among messages transmitted on an PSCCH. According to another example, a PC5 Discovery Message transported on a sidelink transport channel (STCH) has a lower priority than another message transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). According to another example, messages among sidelink traffic channels (STCHs) may be prioritized in at least one of two alternatives. According to a first alternative, prioritization may be performed in accordance with the priority of the logical channel (LCH) transporting the discovery message, for example as configured in RRC. According to a second alternative, the priority of the discovery message may be a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In some examples, the priority of the discovery message may be fixed as being a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In other words, the priority of a PC5 Discovery Message is at least one of: based on a logical channel (LCH) priority of a logical channel transporting the discovery message, or fixed to be a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In all examples and alternatives, the discovery message may be a PC5 Discovery Message..; further in same above context see #1602 regarding second UE receives over a user plane a discovery message…..including parameter indicative of the discovery message. ); and
transmit a MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information (see #1604… At block 1604, the first UE may establish a one-to-one connection with a second UE that responds to the discovery message; see [0179]; further in context with [0138] (..A unique index number 1134 and LCID value 1136 are depicted in the seventh row of the table 1132; namely, the LCID value 1136 that may correspond to PC5 Discovery Message 1138 may be indexed to index number “61.” Accordingly, a transmission over the user plane of a MAC PDU having a MAC subheader with an index number “61” in the LCID field 1130 may be used to indicate that a PC5 Discovery Message (e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation discovery message) is being transmitted from a remote UE to neighboring UEs. Furthermore, a transmission over the user plane of a MAC PDU having a MAC subheader with an index number “61” in the LCID field 1130 may be used to indicate that a response PC5 Discovery Message 1138 is being transmitted from a relay UE to a soliciting remote UE…) pls refer to [0180]…a response discovery message as a unicast message that may be in response to a solicitation discovery message from the second UE; further see Fig. 10 #1032 (i.e. responsive to #1028 of Fig. 10) as a unicast response discovery message in response to a broadcast and/or groupcast solicitation discovery message of the Model B type; see [0123]; further see Fig. 10 based on #1028 message; transmitting responsive message 1030 having MAC PDU for sidelink discovery; further see [0149].).
Here Cheng is discussed about sidelink discovery information has a highest priority but silent about it is set to “1”. Further Cheng is silent about limitations, “in case that there is no medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU) of an MSGA buffer, and the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information is higher than a priority of uplink transmission”.
However Ericsson teaches in section 2.2 page5 first four lines regarding LCH priority as 1 as a highest priority. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Ericsson with the teachings of Cheng to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism of setting highest priority as “1”; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
But Cheng is silent about limitations, “in case that there is no medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU) of an MSGA buffer, and the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information is higher than a priority of uplink transmission”.
However Lee teaches in [0568] 1> if there is a MAC PDU to be transmitted for this duration in uplink, except a MAC PDU obtained from the Msg3 buffer, the MSGA buffer, or prioritized as specified in clause 5.4.2.2, and the sidelink transmission is prioritized over uplink transmission:
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Cheng in view of Ericsson to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein in case that there is no medium access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU) of an MSGA buffer, and the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information is higher than a priority of uplink transmission; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out regarding prioritization in the communication system.
Regarding claim 24, Cheng in view of Ericsson and Lee teaches as per claim 23, wherein the instructions executable by the at least one processor further cause the UE: based on the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information, configuring the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information; and transmit the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information (Cheng already discussed above see Fig. 10 based on #1028 message; transmitting responsive message 1030 having MAC PDU for sidelink discovery; further see [0149] about priority handling message).
Regarding claim 25, Cheng in view of Ericsson and Lee teaches as per claim 23, wherein the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information is configured not to include sidelink data for non-discovery (#1030 does not have sidelink data for non-discovery).
Regarding claim 26, Cheng in view of Ericsson and Lee teaches as per claim 23, wherein the instructions executable by the at least one processor further cause the UE to:
based on the priority of the sidelink logical channel associated with sidelink discovery information, determining a priority of the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information (Cheng see [0129] wherein second UE (here 1004) obtains a PC5 Discovery Message 1040 transported on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), as described herein, may have a lower priority than another message transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). According to one example, the PC5 Discovery Message transported on an PSSCH has a lowest priority among messages transmitted on an PSCCH. According to another example, a PC5 Discovery Message transported on a sidelink transport channel (STCH) has a lower priority than another message transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). According to another example, messages among sidelink traffic channels (STCHs) may be prioritized in at least one of two alternatives. According to a first alternative, prioritization may be performed in accordance with the priority of the logical channel (LCH) transporting the discovery message, for example as configured in RRC. According to a second alternative, the priority of the discovery message may be a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In some examples, the priority of the discovery message may be fixed as being a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In other words, the priority of a PC5 Discovery Message is at least one of: based on a logical channel (LCH) priority of a logical channel transporting the discovery message, or fixed to be a highest priority among messages transported on the STCH. In all examples and alternatives, the discovery message may be a PC5 Discovery Message..; further in same above context see #1602 regarding second UE receives over a user plane a discovery message…..including parameter indicative of the discovery message); and
based on the priority of the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information, transmitting the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information (Cheng see #1604… At block 1604, the first UE may establish a one-to-one connection with a second UE that responds to the discovery message; see [0179]; further in context with [0138] (..A unique index number 1134 and LCID value 1136 are depicted in the seventh row of the table 1132; namely, the LCID value 1136 that may correspond to PC5 Discovery Message 1138 may be indexed to index number “61.” Accordingly, a transmission over the user plane of a MAC PDU having a MAC subheader with an index number “61” in the LCID field 1130 may be used to indicate that a PC5 Discovery Message (e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation discovery message) is being transmitted from a remote UE to neighboring UEs. Furthermore, a transmission over the user plane of a MAC PDU having a MAC subheader with an index number “61” in the LCID field 1130 may be used to indicate that a response PC5 Discovery Message 1138 is being transmitted from a relay UE to a soliciting remote UE…) pls refer to [0180]…a response discovery message as a unicast message that may be in response to a solicitation discovery message from the second UE; further see Fig. 10 #1032 (i.e. responsive to #1028 of Fig. 10) as a unicast response discovery message in response to a broadcast and/or groupcast solicitation discovery message of the Model B type; see [0123]; further see Fig. 10 based on #1028 message; transmitting responsive message 1030 having MAC PDU for sidelink discovery; further see [0149].).
Regarding claim 27, Cheng in view of Chen teaches as per claim 23, for transmitting the MAC PDU including the sidelink discovery information wherein the instructions executable by the at least one processor further cause the UE to:
determining that there is no uplink message transmission;
determining that an uplink message transmission and the transmission of the sidelink discovery information can be simultaneously performed; or
determining that there is no MAC PDU of an Msg3 buffer, or
uplink MAC PDU having a high priority for an uplink transmission; Lee teaches in [0565] 1> if there is no uplink transmission; or [0566] 1> if the MAC entity is able to simultaneously perform uplink transmission(s) and sidelink transmission at the time of the transmission;….. [0568] 1> if there is a MAC PDU to be transmitted for this duration in uplink, except a MAC PDU obtained from the Msg3 buffer, the MSGA buffer, or prioritized as specified in clause 5.4.2.2..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0039149 A1) teaches in [0156- 0165] regarding To generate a transmission, the Sidelink process shall: [0157] if there is no uplink transmission; or if the MAC entity is able to perform uplink transmissions and transmissions on SL-SCH simultaneously at the time of the transmission; or if there is a MAC PDU to be transmitted in this TTI in uplink, except a MAC PDU obtained from the Msg3 buffer and transmission of V2X sidelink communication is prioritized over uplink transmission; and [0158] if there is no Sidelink Discovery Gap for Transmission or no transmission on PSDCH at the time of the transmission; or, in case of transmissions of V2X sidelink communication, if the MAC entity is able to perform transmissions on SL-SCH and transmissions on PSDCH simultaneously at the time of the transmission: [0159] instruct the physical layer to generate a transmission according to the stored sidelink grant with the redundancy version corresponding to the CURRENT_IRV value. [0160] increment CURRENT_IRV by 1; [0161] if this transmission corresponds to the last transmission of the MAC PDU: [0162] decrement SL_RESOURCE_RESELECTION_COUNTER by 1, if available.
The transmission of V2X sidelink communication is prioritized over uplink transmission if the following conditions are met: [0163] if the MAC entity is not able to perform uplink transmissions and transmissions of V2X sidelink communication simultaneously at the time of the transmission; and [0164] if uplink transmission is not prioritized by upper layer according to [15]; and [0165] if the value of the highest priority of the sidelink logical channel(s) in the MAC PDU is lower than thresSL-TxPrioritization if thresSL-TxPrioritization is configured.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479