Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10-11, 21, 27, and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (US 20230403687 A1, hereinafter, "LI") in view of (vivo, Enhancements for unlicensed band URLLC/IIoT, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1#104-e, R1- 2100438, Feb. 05, 2021. section 2.3, hereinafter, "VIVO").
Regarding claim 21, LI teaches a communication apparatus, comprising:
LI writes, “FIG. 16 is a schematic diagram of a structure of the communication apparatus in the foregoing embodiments according to an embodiment of this disclosure” (paragraph 1055; figure 16).
a transceiver configured to receive or transmit a signal (paragraph 1056; figure 16, transceiver: 1613);
a memory configured to store computer programs (paragraph 1056; figure 16, memory: 1612);
and a processor configured to invoke the computer programs stored in the memory (paragraph 1056; figure 16, processor: 1611);
determine a first time-domain resource unavailable for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition type B transmission,
LI writes, “Optionally, the communication apparatus may determine the P unavailable time units in a dynamic or static configured manner” (paragraph 0041).
and segment the time-domain resource for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission into a second time-domain resource and a third time-domain resource based on the first time- domain resource, the second time-domain resource being located before the first time-domain resource and the third time-domain resource being located after the first time-domain resource.
LI writes, “In the method, the communication apparatus first determines first indication information, where the first indication information indicates to send N repetitions on a first channel on a first time domain resource, and N is an integer greater than 1, and then sends M repetitions on the first channel on the first time domain resource when a second time domain resource and a third time domain resource overlap in time domain, where the second time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by the M repetitions on the first channel, the third time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by one or more second channels, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N” (paragraph 0457). LI adds, “It should be noted that, in the N consecutive time units, if P is equal to 1, or P is greater than 1 and the P unavailable time units are consecutive in time domain, the M time units may include at least one segment in a time unit before the P unavailable time units and a time unit after the P unavailable time units. If P is greater than 1 and the P unavailable time units are non-consecutive time units, that is, the P unavailable time units include a plurality of segments of unavailable time units, there may be at least one available time unit (for example, M time units) in the plurality of segments of unavailable time units, and the M consecutive time units may include one or more segments other than the P unavailable time units” (paragraph 0014). LI continues, “Optionally, the repetition type is a type A or a type B” (paragraph 0482). LI informs the reader, “...for example, when the N consecutive time units are configured for transmitting a transport block (TB) processing over multi-slot physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)...” (paragraph 0082). LI explains the apparatus first determines the first indication information where the indication information indicates to send N repetitions on a first channel on a first time domain resource, and then sends M repetitions on the first channel on the first time domain resource when a second time domain resource and a third time domain resource overlap in time domain. LI goes on to address segmentation in the time units. LI notes the repetition type is of type A or type B, and the N consecutive time units are processed over multi-slot PUSCH. LI mentions a first time resource, a second time resource and a third time resource, however, LI is mute on the order of the time resources. Still, it is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that LI teaches the claim, regardless of the order of the time resources.
LI fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “in response to a time-domain resource for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission overlapping an idle period in a fixed frame period for channel occupancy by a network device,” and “and the terminal device being unable to transmit an uplink channel in the idle period;”
However, in analogous art, VIVO teaches in response to a time-domain resource for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission overlapping an idle period in a fixed frame period for channel occupancy by a network device,
VIVO writes, “...the configuration of the UL transmission overlaps with the idle period of the FFP associated to either gNB or UE as shown in Figure 1. In this case, if PUSCH repetition type B is used, the PUSCH segmentation should take into account the idle period” (page 4, paragraph 1; figure 1).
and the terminal device being unable to transmit an uplink channel in the idle period;
VIVO writes, “As an example, gNB configures four nominal repetitions as indicated by the red dashed box. The nominal repetition 1 is aligned with the UE FFP boundary, while the nominal repetition 3 overlaps with the idle period of the FFP associated to UE. When UE initiates a COT, it cannot transmit all repetitions within one FFP. Therefore, segmentation regarding the idle period should be considered. As shown in Figure 1, the nominal repetition 3 is split into two parts, the one overlaps with idle period is dropped, the one within FFP 2 will be transmitted by using UE-initiated COT” (page 4, paragraph 1; figure 1). VIVO indicates that the terminal device is unable to transmit an uplink channel in the idle period, since repetitions are dropped that overlap with the idle period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LI to include aspects described by VIVO “for supporting UE-initiated COT for FBE mode and harmonizing UL configured-grant enhancements for URLLC/IIo T operation in unlicensed band with controlled environments.” VIVO provides the motivation for modification stating, “One of the motivations to support UE-initiated COT is that for configured UL transmission, let UE decide the transmission opportunity based on the configuration and its buffer status can reduce the latency and improve resource usage efficiency.” (page 3, paragraph 5).
Claim 27 is a memory claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 21 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 21. Claim 27 is rejected under the same rational as claim 21.
Regarding claim 29, LI and VIVO teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 27, wherein the computer-readable instructions are further operable with the communication apparatus to perform:
Additionally, LI teaches before segmenting, by the terminal device, the time-domain resource for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission into the second time-domain resource and the third time-domain resource based on the first time-domain resource, the method comprises:
LI writes, “In the method, the communication apparatus first determines first indication information, where the first indication information indicates to send N repetitions on a first channel on a first time domain resource, and N is an integer greater than 1, and then sends M repetitions on the first channel on the first time domain resource when a second time domain resource and a third time domain resource overlap in time domain, where the second time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by the M repetitions on the first channel, the third time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by one or more second channels, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N” (paragraph 0457). LI adds, “It should be noted that, in the N consecutive time units, if P is equal to 1, or P is greater than 1 and the P unavailable time units are consecutive in time domain, the M time units may include at least one segment in a time unit before the P unavailable time units and a time unit after the P unavailable time units. If P is greater than 1 and the P unavailable time units are non-consecutive time units, that is, the P unavailable time units include a plurality of segments of unavailable time units, there may be at least one available time unit (for example, M time units) in the plurality of segments of unavailable time units, and the M consecutive time units may include one or more segments other than the P unavailable time units” (paragraph 0014). LI continues, “Optionally, the repetition type is a type A or a type B” (paragraph 0482). LI informs the reader, “...for example, when the N consecutive time units are configured for transmitting a transport block (TB) processing over multi-slot physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)...” (paragraph 0082). LI explains the apparatus first determines the first indication information where the indication information indicates to send N repetitions on a first channel on a first time domain resource, and then sends M repetitions on the first channel on the first time domain resource when a second time domain resource and a third time domain resource overlap in time domain. LI goes on to address segmentation in the time units. LI notes the repetition type is of type A or type B, and the N consecutive time units are processed over multi-slot PUSCH. LI mentions a first time resource, a second time resource and a third time resource, however, LI is mute on the order of the time resources. Still, it is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that LI teaches the claim, regardless of the order of the time resources.
padding, by the terminal device, a target slot symbol in response to existence of the target slot symbol, wherein the target slot symbol is a slot symbol between two adjacent PUSCH transmissions in a plurality of PUSCH transmissions, or the target slot symbol is a slot symbol before a first PUSCH transmission in one or the plurality of PUSCH transmissions, or the target slot symbol is a slot symbol after a last PUSCH transmission in the one or the plurality of PUSCH transmissions;
LI writes, “Optionally, the N repetitions on the first channel include a MAC PDU repeated for N times, and the MAC PDU may be a padding MAC PDU. For example, the communication apparatus is configured to send a message on the first time domain resource on the first channel. However, when the communication apparatus determines that no data needs to be sent, the communication apparatus may send the padding MAC PDU” (paragraph 0834).
wherein the plurality of PUSCH transmissions are obtained by segmenting a PUSCH and the PUSCH repetition type B transmission.
LI writes, “In the method, the communication apparatus first determines first indication information, where the first indication information indicates to send N repetitions on a first channel on a first time domain resource, and N is an integer greater than 1, and then sends M repetitions on the first channel on the first time domain resource when a second time domain resource and a third time domain resource overlap in time domain, where the second time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by the M repetitions on the first channel, the third time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by one or more second channels, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N” (paragraph 0457). LI adds, “It should be noted that, in the N consecutive time units, if P is equal to 1, or P is greater than 1 and the P unavailable time units are consecutive in time domain, the M time units may include at least one segment in a time unit before the P unavailable time units and a time unit after the P unavailable time units. If P is greater than 1 and the P unavailable time units are non-consecutive time units, that is, the P unavailable time units include a plurality of segments of unavailable time units, there may be at least one available time unit (for example, M time units) in the plurality of segments of unavailable time units, and the M consecutive time units may include one or more segments other than the P unavailable time units” (paragraph 0014). LI continues, “Optionally, the repetition type is a type A or a type B” (paragraph 0482). LI informs the reader, “...for example, when the N consecutive time units are configured for transmitting a transport block (TB) processing over multi-slot physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)...” (paragraph 0082). LI explains the apparatus first determines the first indication information where the indication information indicates to send N repetitions on a first channel on a first time domain resource, and then sends M repetitions on the first channel on the first time domain resource when a second time domain resource and a third time domain resource overlap in time domain. LI goes on to address segmentation in the time units. LI notes the repetition type is of type A or type B, and the N consecutive time units are processed over multi-slot PUSCH. LI mentions a first time resource, a second time resource and a third time resource, however, LI is mute on the order of the time resources. Still, it is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that LI teaches the claim, regardless of the order of the time resources.
Regarding claim 30, LI and VIVO teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 29,
Additionally, LI teaches wherein the target slot symbol is the slot symbol between the first time-domain resource and the second time-domain resource, or the target slot symbol is the slot symbol between the first time- domain resource and the third time-domain resource;
LI writes, “In the method, the communication apparatus first determines first indication information, where the first indication information indicates to send N repetitions on a first channel on a first time domain resource, and N is an integer greater than 1, and then sends M repetitions on the first channel on the first time domain resource when a second time domain resource and a third time domain resource overlap in time domain, where the second time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by the M repetitions on the first channel, the third time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by one or more second channels, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N” (paragraph 0457). LI adds, “It should be noted that, in the N consecutive time units, if P is equal to 1, or P is greater than 1 and the P unavailable time units are consecutive in time domain, the M time units may include at least one segment in a time unit before the P unavailable time units and a time unit after the P unavailable time units. If P is greater than 1 and the P unavailable time units are non-consecutive time units, that is, the P unavailable time units include a plurality of segments of unavailable time units, there may be at least one available time unit (for example, M time units) in the plurality of segments of unavailable time units, and the M consecutive time units may include one or more segments other than the P unavailable time units” (paragraph 0014). LI continues, “Optionally, the repetition type is a type A or a type B” (paragraph 0482). LI informs the reader, “...for example, when the N consecutive time units are configured for transmitting a transport block (TB) processing over multi-slot physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)...” (paragraph 0082). LI explains the apparatus first determines the first indication information where the indication information indicates to send N repetitions on a first channel on a first time domain resource, and then sends M repetitions on the first channel on the first time domain resource when a second time domain resource and a third time domain resource overlap in time domain. LI goes on to address segmentation in the time units. LI notes the repetition type is of type A or type B, and the N consecutive time units are processed over multi-slot PUSCH. LI mentions a first time resource, a second time resource and a third time resource, however, LI is mute on the order of the time resources. Still, it is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that LI teaches the claim, regardless of the order of the time resources.
and in terms of padding, by the terminal device, the target slot symbol, the computer-readable instructions are further operable with the communication apparatus to perform:
LI writes, “Optionally, the N repetitions on the first channel include a MAC PDU repeated for N times, and the MAC PDU may be a padding MAC PDU. For example, the communication apparatus is configured to send a message on the first time domain resource on the first channel. However, when the communication apparatus determines that no data needs to be sent, the communication apparatus may send the padding MAC PDU” (paragraph 0834).
padding, by the terminal device, the target slot symbol by using an extended cyclic prefix (CP) of a first slot symbol in the third time-domain resource.
LI writes, “The slot is a time domain unit of data scheduling. In a normal cyclic prefix, one slot has 14 symbols. In an extended cyclic prefix, one slot has 12 symbols. There is a plurality of scheduling time units in 5G NR, for example, a frame, a subframe, the slot, and a symbol. It should be noted that the slot defined in embodiments of this disclosure may be the slot including the 14 (or 12) symbols in a general sense, or may be a mini-slot (mini-slot)” (paragraph 0612). LI indicated above the use of padding MAC PDU. LI states, here, in embodiments of this disclosure the slot may include 12 symbols, wherein an extended cyclic prefix, one slot has 12 symbols.
Regarding claim 31, LI and VIVO teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 29,
Additionally, LI teaches wherein in terms of padding, by the terminal device, the target slot symbol, the computer-readable instructions are further operable with the communication apparatus to perform:
LI writes, “Optionally, the N repetitions on the first channel include a MAC PDU repeated for N times, and the MAC PDU may be a padding MAC PDU. For example, the communication apparatus is configured to send a message on the first time domain resource on the first channel. However, when the communication apparatus determines that no data needs to be sent, the communication apparatus may send the padding MAC PDU” (paragraph 0834).
padding, by the terminal device, the target slot symbol by using an extended CP of a next slot symbol to the target slot symbol; or padding, by the terminal device, the target slot symbol by using an extended CP of a previous slot symbol to the target slot symbol.
LI writes, “Optionally, the N repetitions on the first channel include a MAC PDU repeated for N times, and the MAC PDU may be a padding MAC PDU. For example, the communication apparatus is configured to send a message on the first time domain resource on the first channel. However, when the communication apparatus determines that no data needs to be sent, the communication apparatus may send the padding MAC PDU” (paragraph 0834).
Claims 1 and 6-8 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 21 and memory claims 29-31 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 21 and 29-31. Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under the same rational as claims 21 and 29-31.
Regarding claim 5, LI and VIVO teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Additionally, LI teaches padding, by the terminal device, a target slot symbol in response to existence of the target slot symbol, wherein the target slot symbol is a slot symbol between the first time-domain resource and the second time-domain resource, or the target slot symbol is a slot symbol between the first time-domain resource and the third time-domain resource, or the target slot symbol is a slot symbol before or after a slot boundary in the second time-domain resource, or the target slot symbol is a slot symbol before or after a slot boundary in the third time-domain resource.
LI writes, “Optionally, the N repetitions on the first channel include a MAC PDU repeated for N times, and the MAC PDU may be a padding MAC PDU. For example, the communication apparatus is configured to send a message on the first time domain resource on the first channel. However, when the communication apparatus determines that no data needs to be sent, the communication apparatus may send the padding MAC PDU” (paragraph 0834).
Regarding claim 10, LI and VIVO teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining, by the terminal device, the first time-domain resource unavailable for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission comprises:
Additionally, VIVO teaches determining, by the terminal device, the idle period as the first time-domain resource unavailable for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission.
VIVO writes, “...the configuration of the UL transmission overlaps with the idle period of the FFP associated to either gNB or UE as shown in Figure 1. In this case, if PUSCH repetition type B is used, the PUSCH segmentation should take into account the idle period” (page 4, paragraph 1; figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, LI and VIVO teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining, by the terminal device, the first time-domain resource unavailable for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission comprises:
Additionally, LI teaches receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates a time-domain resource unavailable for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission;
LI writes, “Optionally, the communication apparatus may determine the P unavailable time units in a dynamic or static configured manner” (paragraph 0041). LI adds, “In a possible implementation of the eleventh aspect of embodiments of this disclosure, the method may further include determining second indication information, where the second indication information indicates a repetition type on the first channel. In this case, sending M repetitions carried on the first channel on the first time domain resource includes sending, on the first time domain resource based on the repetition type, the M repetitions carried on the first channel” (paragraph 0480).
and determining, by the terminal device, the first time-domain resource unavailable for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission based on the second indication information.
LI writes, “Optionally, the communication apparatus may determine the P unavailable time units in a dynamic or static configured manner” (paragraph 0041). LI adds, “In a possible implementation of the eleventh aspect of embodiments of this disclosure, the method may further include determining second indication information, where the second indication information indicates a repetition type on the first channel. In this case, sending M repetitions carried on the first channel on the first time domain resource includes sending, on the first time domain resource based on the repetition type, the M repetitions carried on the first channel” (paragraph 0480).
Claim(s) 2, 4, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI and VIVO as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of MA et al. (US 20210204285 A1, hereinafter, "MA").
Regarding claim 28, LI and VIVO teach the communication apparatus of claim 21, wherein the processor is further configured to invoke the computer programs stored in the memory to:
Additionally, LI teaches perform the PUSCH repetition type B transmission in the second time-domain resource;
LI writes, “Optionally, the repetition type is a type A or a type B” (paragraph 0482).
and perform the PUSCH repetition type B transmission in the third time-domain resource,
LI writes, “Optionally, the repetition type is a type A or a type B” (paragraph 0482).
LI and VIVO fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “in response to receiving a downlink channel transmission.”
However, in analogous art, MA teaches in response to receiving a downlink channel transmission.
MA writes, “After receiving the PDCCH, on the time domain resource indicated by the DCI, the terminal device sends a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to the network device…” (paragraph 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LI and VIVO to include aspects described by MA “relate to the field of mobile communications technologies, and in particular, to a data transmission method and a communications apparatus.” MA provides the motivation for modification stating, “In this way, the network device repeatedly sends the downlink data channel for R times, and the terminal device repeatedly receives the downlink data for R times. Therefore, data transmission reliability is improved” (paragraph 0008). MA also specifies, “Therefore, compared with sending R pieces of indication information to separately indicate R and the indication information of the 1.sup.st first time domain resource, this solution can reduce signaling overheads. Further, because the signaling overheads are reduced, signaling transmission reliability is improved” (paragraphs 0010).
Claim 2 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 28 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 28. Claim 2 is rejected under the same rational as claim 28.
Regarding claim 4, LI, VIVO, and MA teach the method of claim 2,
Additionally, MA teaches wherein the downlink channel transmission is first indication information, and the first indication information indicates the terminal device to perform the PUSCH repetition type B transmission in the third time-domain resource.
MA writes, “In this solution, the terminal device determines one piece of third time domain resource information in the at least one piece of third time domain resource information, and determines the R first time domain resources based on one piece of first indication information included in the third time domain resource information” (paragraph 0012). MA adds, “...the PUSCH mapping type exists in the time domain resource table used for downlink data scheduling, where the mapping type has two candidate values: a type A and a type B...” (paragraph 0117).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI, VIVO, and MA as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of TALARICO et al. (US 20220038211 A1, hereinafter, "TALARICO").
Regarding claim 3, LI, VIVO, and MA teach the method of claim 2, further comprising:
LI, VIVO, and MA fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “performing, by the terminal device, the PUSCH repetition type B transmission in the third time-domain resource and in a clear channel, in response to not receiving any downlink channel transmission and the clear channel being detected.”
However, in analogous art, TALARICO teaches performing, by the terminal device, the PUSCH repetition type B transmission in the third time-domain resource and in a clear channel, in response to not receiving any downlink channel transmission and the clear channel being detected.
TALARICO writes, “In some embodiments, for the CG PUSCH type B repetition scheme, the number of consecutive repetitions is reinterpreted as the number of transmission occasions over which a UE could attempt LBT” (paragraph 0081). TALARICO continues “In other embodiments, for the CG PUSCH type B repetition scheme, the number of back-to-back consecutive repetitions is reinterpreted as the maximum number or the number of repetitions per TB, which can be performed over the time domain resources allocated per each period through parameter Cg-nrofSlots-r16” (paragraph 0083). TALARICO adds, “...a device would be mandated to perform a Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) before transmitting...” (paragraph 0067). TALARICO mentions CG PUSCH type B repetition which does not receive a DCI and the CCA checks for the clear channel before transmitting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LI, VIVO, and MA to include aspects described by TALARICO “pertain to next generation wireless communications. In particular, some embodiments relate to repetition schemes for Ultra-Reliable Low-Latency Communication (URLLC) communications in the unlicensed spectrum.” TALARICO provides the motivation for modification stating, “As above, the achievable latency and reliability performance of 5G systems is to be improved to support use cases with tighter requirements. Rel-16 NR evolved to support use cases, including the following: Release 15 enabled use case improvements, AR/VR (Entertainment industry), NR 16 use cases with higher requirements, factory automation, transport industry, and electrical power distribution. However, in some of the scenarios, one of the major limiting factors is still the availability of spectrum. To mitigate this, one of the objectives of Rel.17 is to identify potential enhancements to ensure Release 16 feature compatibility with unlicensed band Ultra-Reliable Low-Latency Communication (URLLC)/industrial internet of things (IIoT) operation in controlled environment” (paragraph 0062). TALARICO also specifies, “One of the challenges is that the 5G system must comply with the regulatory requirements dictated for the sub-6 GHz band, where a LBT procedure is to be performed in some parts of the world to acquire the medium before a transmission can occur as described in ETSI EN 301 893, while still being able to guarantee the requirements in terms of reliability and latency identified for the design of URLLC/IIoT to meet the aforementioned use cases. Additional design considerations are therefore made in this regard. In fact, when operating URLLC/IIoT in the unlicensed spectrum, due to the LBT procedure and its aleatory nature, additional latency and loss in reliability may be introduced depending on the medium contention when the LBT fails” (paragraphs 0063).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI and VIVO as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of LIN et al. (US 20200404674 A1, hereinafter, "LIN").
Regarding claim 9, LI and VIVO teach the method of claim 5, wherein padding, by the terminal device, the target slot symbol comprises:
LI and VIVO fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “padding, by the terminal device, the target slot symbol by using data in a first slot symbol for a next PUSCH repetition type B transmission; or padding, by the terminal device, the target slot symbol by using data in a last slot symbol for a previous PUSCH repetition type B transmission.”
However, in analogous art, LIN teaches padding, by the terminal device, the target slot symbol by using data in a first slot symbol for a next PUSCH repetition type B transmission; or padding, by the terminal device, the target slot symbol by using data in a last slot symbol for a previous PUSCH repetition type B transmission.
LIN writes, “Based on the first and second modes in the scenario 2, the method may further include the following processing: when the n-th uplink transmission channel starts to be transmitted at the starting position of the m+1-th slot, the method further includes: a reference signal or a padding signal is transmitted in the remaining time domain resources of the m-th slot...” (paragraph 0061). LIN adds, “The continuous time domain resources may be continuous time domain symbols. The uplink transmission channel may be a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH)” (paragraph 0044). LIN states that the uplink transmission channel may be a PUSCH and that transmitting begins at the m+1-th slot and that reference signal or padding is transmitted in the remaining time domain resource of the m-th slot. Therefore, LIN indicates the use of padding in the slot which may include padding the target slot symbol.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LI and VIVO to include aspects described by LIN “relates to the technical field of information processing, in particular to a method for repeatedly transmitting information, a terminal device, a network device, a chip, a computer readable storage medium, a computer program product, and a computer program.” LIN provides the motivation for modification stating, “It can be seen that by adopting the solution, it is determined how to repeatedly transmit target data through K transmission channels in continuous time domain resources of at least one continuous time sequence. By adopting the solution, the problem of increasing LBT opportunities caused by discontinuous transmission channels in time may be particularly avoided, thereby improving a success ratio of transmission” (paragraphs 0084).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI and VIVO as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of MA, MI et al. (WO 2020199031 A1, hereinafter, "MI"), and LIU (WO 2021030974 A1, hereinafter, "LIU").
Regarding claim 12, LI and VIVO the method of claim 11,
Additionally, LI teaches and segmenting, by the terminal device, the time-domain resource for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission into the second time-domain resource and the third time-domain resource based on the first time-domain resource comprises:
LI writes, “In the method, the communication apparatus first determines first indication information, where the first indication information indicates to send N repetitions on a first channel on a first time domain resource, and N is an integer greater than 1, and then sends M repetitions on the first channel on the first time domain resource when a second time domain resource and a third time domain resource overlap in time domain, where the second time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by the M repetitions on the first channel, the third time domain resource is a time domain resource occupied by one or more second channels, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N” (paragraph 0457). LI adds, “It should be noted that, in the N consecutive time units, if P is equal to 1, or P is greater than 1 and the P unavailable time units are consecutive in time domain, the M time units may include at least one segment in a time unit before the P unavailable time units and a time unit after the P unavailable time units. If P is greater than 1 and the P unavailable time units are non-consecutive time units, that is, the P unavailable time units include a plurality of segments of unavailable time units, there may be at least one available time unit (for example, M time units) in the plurality of segments of unavailable time units, and the M consecutive time units may include one or more segments other than the P unavailable time units” (paragraph 0014). LI continues, “Optionally, the repetition type is a type A or a type B” (paragraph 0482). LI informs the reader, “...for example, when the N consecutive time units are configured for transmitting a transport block (TB) processing over multi-slot physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)...” (paragraph 0082). LI explains the apparatus first determines the first indication information where the indication information indicates to send N repetitions on a first channel on a first time domain resource, and then sends M repetitions on the first channel on the first time domain resource when a second time domain resource and a third time domain resource overlap in time domain. LI goes on to address segmentation in the time units. LI notes the repetition type is of type A or type B, and the N consecutive time units are processed over multi-slot PUSCH. LI mentions a first time resource, a second time resource and a third time resource, however, LI is mute on the order of the time resources. Still, it is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that LI teaches the claim, regardless of the order of the time resources.
LI and VIVO fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the PUSCH repetition type B transmission is a dynamically scheduled PUSCH repetition transmission or a scheduled and granted PUSCH repetition transmission activated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH);”
However, in analogous art, MA teaches wherein the PUSCH repetition type B transmission is a dynamically scheduled PUSCH repetition transmission or a scheduled and granted PUSCH repetition transmission activated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH);
MA writes, “After receiving the PDCCH, on the time domain resource indicated by the DCI, the terminal device sends a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to the network device…” (paragraph 0003). MA adds, “...the PUSCH mapping type exists in the time domain resource table used for downlink data scheduling, where the mapping type has two candidate values: a type A and a type B...” (paragraph 0117). MA continues, “The SFI is used to indicate uplink symbols, downlink symbols, and flexible symbols (which may be used to transmit an uplink data channel or a downlink data channel during dynamic scheduling) in one slot” (paragraph 0221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LI and VIVO to include aspects described by MA “relate to the field of mobile communications technologies, and in particular, to a data transmission method and a communications apparatus.” MA provides the motivation for modification stating, “In this way, the network device repeatedly sends the downlink data channel for R times, and the terminal device repeatedly receives the downlink data for R times. Therefore, data transmission reliability is improved” (paragraph 0008). MA also specifies, “Therefore, compared with sending R pieces of indication information to separately indicate R and the indication information of the 1.sup.st first time domain resource, this solution can reduce signaling overheads. Further, because the signaling overheads are reduced, signaling transmission reliability is improved” (paragraphs 0010).
LI and VIVO fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “segmenting, by the terminal device, the time-domain resource for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission into the second time-domain resource and the third time-domain resource based on the first time-domain resource, in response to receiving third indication information and downlink control information (DCI) from the network device, the third indication information indicating existence of fourth indication information in the DCI,” and “wherein the third indication information indicates whether the fourth indication information exists in the DCI,”
However, in analogous art, MI teaches segmenting, by the terminal device, the time-domain resource for the PUSCH repetition type B transmission into the second time-domain resource and the third time-domain resource based on the first time-domain resource, in response to receiving third indication information and downlink control information (DCI) from the network device, the third indication information indicating existence of fourth indication information in the DCI,
MI writes, “In a possible design, the method further includes: the DCI further includes at least one of the following indication information: third indication information, the third indication information is used to instruct the terminal device to retransmit the uplink data The index of the occupied subcarrier; fourth indication information, the fourth indication information is used to indicate the number of resource units RU occupied by one transport block TB when the terminal device retransmits the uplink data...” (page 3, lines 18-23). MI indicates that the DCI includes at least one of the following indication information including third indication information. Since the third indication contains used to instruct the terminal device to retransmit the uplink date, and the fourth indication is used to indicate the number of RUs occupied during retransmit, therefor, MI suggests that receiving a third indication information indicates a fourth indication exists in the DCI. LI discussed above, segmentation in regards to the first-, second-, and third- time domain resource.
wherein the third indication information indicates whether the fourth indication information exists in the DCI,
MI writes, “In a possible design, the method further includes: the DCI further includes at least one of the following indication information: third indication information, the third indication information is used to instruct the terminal device to retransmit the uplink data The index of the occupied subcarrier; fourth indication information, the fourth indication information is used to indicate the number of resource units RU occupied by one transport block TB when the terminal device retransmits the uplink data...” (page 3, lines 18-23). MI indicates that the DCI includes at least one of the following indication information including third indication information. Since the third indication contains used to instruct the terminal device to retransmit the uplink date, and the fourth indication is used to indicate the number of RUs occupied during retransmit, therefor, MI suggests that receiving a third indication information indicates a fourth indication exists in the DCI.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LI and VIVO to include aspects described by MI “relates to the field of wireless communication technology, and in particular to a communication method and device.” MI provides the motivation for modification stating, “In the embodiment of the present application, the existing DCI format can also be used to transmit the first indication information, etc., so that the compatibility of the system can be improved and the complexity of blind detection of the terminal device can be reduced” (page 7, lines 15-18).
LI and VIVO fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and the fourth indication information indicating validity of the second indication information;” and “and the fourth indication information indicates whether the second indication information is valid.”
However, in analogous art, LIU teaches and the fourth indication information indicating validity of the second indication information;
LIU writes, “When the access configuration information carrying the fourth indication information is received, the target paging configuration indicated by the second indication information is not valid” (page 4, lines 24-25). LIU suggests that the fourth indication information indicates if the second indication information is not valid. Therefore, the fourth indication information can also indicate if the second indication information is valid.
and the fourth indication information indicates whether the second indication information is valid.
LIU writes, “When the access configuration information carrying the fourth indication information is received, the target paging configuration indicated by the second indication information is not valid” (page 4, lines 24-25). LIU suggests that the fourth indication information indicates if the second indication information is not valid. Therefore, the fourth indication information can also indicate if the second indication information is valid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of LI and VIVO to include aspects described by LIU “relates to the field of wireless communication technology, in particular to a paging configuration method, device, communication equipment and storage medium.” LIU provides the motivation for modification stating, “The paging configuration method, device, communication device, and storage medium provided by the embodiments of the present disclosure send first indication information indicating a paging configuration set, where the paging configuration set includes: supplementary paging configuration; different The terminal types have different said supplementary paging configurations. In this way, on the one hand, the base station can provide different supplementary paging configurations for different types of terminals to meet the requirements of different types of terminals for different paging configurations, and improve the adaptability and flexibility of the paging configuration” (page 8, lines 22-25; page 9, line 1).
Claims 15-20 and 22-26 have been cancelled by the applicant, respectfully.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2472 10/3/2025
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475