DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 9/28/2023 and 3/18/2024 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the second pharmaceutical ingredient is chemically incompatible with the first however, it is unclear what the metes and bounds are such that the second pharmaceutical would be considered “chemically incompatible”. The dependent claims are included because they do not cure this deficiency. For the purposes of examination the second pharmaceutical ingredient will be interpreted as those recited by claim 8.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (CN101816643A).
(CN101816643A) (hereinafter the ‘643 reference) discloses diclofenac sodium, acetaminophen, water and PEG 400 (examples and claims 1 and 5-6).
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (CN1483403).
(CN1483403) (hereinafter ‘403) disclose liquid fill for soft capsule comprising PEG-400, 50 % KOH (potassium hydroxide) aqueous solution, glycerin, water, ibuprofen, and pseudoephedrine hydrochloride.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN101816643A) in view of (WO 1988002625), (US 20130011470) and Gullapalli et al. “Soft gelatin capsules (softgels)”.
The ‘643 has been discussed supra in the 102 and does not disclose ibuprofen or naproxen or a softgel.
(WO 1988002625) (hereinafter ‘625) disclose softgels containing PEG and ibuprofen, naproxen or diclofenac ( Examples I-IV and VIII). (US 20130011470) (hereinafter ‘470) disclose NSAID formulations for soft gel capsules where the NSAID is naproxen ibuprofen or diclofenac (abstract). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute one known NSAID, the diclofenac of the ‘643 reference for another such as ibuprofen or acetaminophen as taught in the ‘625 and ‘470 references. One would have been motivated to do so because simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results as both are art recognized NSAIDs.
Gullapalli et al. “Soft gelatin capsules (softgels)” discloses that softgel dosage form offers several advantages over other dosage forms, such delivering a liquid matrix designed to solubilize and improve the oral bioavailability of a poorly soluble compound as a unit dose solid dosage form, delivering low and ultra-low doses of a compound, delivering a low melting compound, and minimizing potential generation of dust during manufacturing and thereby improving the safety of production personnel. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the dosage form be a softgel. One would have been motivated to do so because it improves the oral bioavailability of poorly soluble compounds.
DOUBLE PATENING
Claim 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18552980. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to liquid formulations the differences being the instant claims recite alkali metal salt however, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the same drugs in having alkali metal salt. One would have been motivated to do so because incorporation with alkali metal salt (e.g., potassium) would provide a more soluble form of the drug (ibuprofen).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615