DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 25 February 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 25 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “search and examination of the entire application can be made without serious burden”. This is not found persuasive because Applicant has only provided a conclusory statement and has not specifically explained why the different fields of search identified in the restriction requirement would not require undue burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 7, the curved line which should connect the label “520a” to the corresponding element in the figure is not positioned correctly, as it is too far down and to the left; it should be positioned similarly to that connecting label “520b” to its corresponding element. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claims 1 and 6
Claims 1 and 6 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f).
Claim 1
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “X-ray source device” uses the generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function, and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, this limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) as corresponding to an X-ray source, and a platform carrying the X-ray source; and wherein the platform is configured to position the X-ray source to irradiate the object based upon the sensing array (Applicant’s claim 9 as originally filed) and equivalents thereof. Regarding the interpretations of claims using generic placeholders, see MPEP § 2181(I)(A).
The limitation “image extraction device” uses the generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function, and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, this limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) as corresponding to a processor (Applicant’s specification, ¶ 35) and equivalents thereof.
Claim 6
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “clamp device” uses the generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function, and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, this limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) as corresponding to an adhesive strip layer, a spring-loaded clamp, or a hook and loop fastener (Applicant’s specification, ¶¶ 39, 43, 48) and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections — 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1 and 9
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102(a)(1)-(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marar (US 2008/0170665 A1).
Claim 1
Regarding claim 1, Marar discloses an x-ray radiation imaging system for imaging an object (20), the X-ray radiation imaging system comprising:
an X-ray source device (108, 106) configured to irradiate the object with X-ray radiation;
an X-ray detector (16) to be positioned adjacent the object (20) and comprising at least one carrier layer (1014), and
a plurality of X-ray sensing segments (within 1008) carried by the at least one carrier layer (1014) and defining a sensing array, the plurality of X-ray sensing segments to receive the X-ray radiation through the object (20); and
an image extraction device (36) configured to generate an image of the object (20) based upon the X-ray detector (16),
wherein the X-ray source device (108, 106) comprises an X-ray source (106), and a platform (108) carrying the X-ray source (106); and wherein the platform (108) is configured to position the X-ray source (106) to irradiate the object (20) based upon the sensing array (within 16),
wherein the image extraction device (36) is a processor (¶¶ 20-40, 57-58, Figs. 1-2, 13).
Claim 9
Regarding claim 9, see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections — 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 2
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Marar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mattson (US 6,553,092 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Marar discloses the X-ray radiation imaging system of claim 1, wherein the sensing array comprises an array.
Marar does not expressly disclose the array is rectangle-shaped.
Mattson discloses an array is rectangle-shaped (col. 3, ll. 39-50; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Marar in view of the teachings of Mattson so that the array is rectangle-shaped.
One would have been motivated to do so to use a conventional array shape, which would be more cost effective than using unconventional array shapes.
Claim 3
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Marar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MacLaughlin (US 2017/0031037 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Marar discloses the X-ray radiation imaging system of claim 1, including using photodiodes in conjunction with a scintillator (¶ 57), but does not expressly disclose each X-ray sensing segment comprises an X-ray phosphor plate.
MacLaughlin discloses using a phosphor plate as an alternative to scintillator-based detection (¶¶ 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Marar in view of the teachings of MacLaughlin to use X-ray phosphor plates. It is obvious to perform simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
One would have been motivated to use phosphor plates for increased maneuverability due to reduced size as compared to scintillator-based detectors.
Claim 4
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Marar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2003/0048938 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Marar discloses the X-ray radiation imaging system of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose each X-ray sensing segment in the sensing array comprises an identifier opaque to the X-ray radiation through the object; and wherein the image extraction device is configured to generate the image of the object based upon a known position of respective identifiers in the sensing array.
Wang discloses each X-ray sensing segment in a sensing array (of storage phosphor screens) comprises an identifier (reference maker) opaque (imposes shadows) to X-ray radiation through an object; and wherein an image extraction device is configured to generate an image of the object based upon a known position of respective identifiers in the sensing array (i.e., reconstructing a full image from sub-images using the reference markers; ¶¶ 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Marar in view of the teachings of Wang so that each X-ray sensing segment in the sensing array comprises an identifier opaque to the X-ray radiation through the object; and wherein the image extraction device is configured to generate the image of the object based upon a known position of respective identifiers in the sensing array.
One would have been motivated to do so to gain an advantage recited in Wang of combining multiple sub-images into one full image (Wang, ¶ 3).
Claim 5
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Marar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stein (US 6,282,258 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Marar discloses the X-ray radiation imaging system of claim 1, wherein the X-ray detector comprises an arm (104) coupled to the at least one carrier layer (within detector 16), the arm extending transverse to the at least one carrier layer (¶ 38, Fig. 2).
Marar does not expressly disclose the arm is further configured to engage the object.
Stein discloses an arm (20, 42) coupled to a detector (24), the arm extending transvers to the detector (24) and engaging (via straps 46) an object (34; col. 5, l. 9 - col. 6, l. 3; col. 7, ll. 5-23; col. 10, ll. 3-20; Figs. 1-3)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Marar in view of the teachings of Stein so that the arm is further configured to engage the object.
One would have been motivated to do so to gain an advantage recited in Stein of improving stability of the object during imaging (Stein, col. 10, ll. 3-20).
Claim 6
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Marar in view of Stein as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Eaton (US 4,674,110 A).
Regarding claim 6, Marar modified teaches the X-ray radiation imaging system of claim 5 wherein the arm comprises a clamp device (straps 46; Stein, col. 10, ll. 3-20; Figs. 2-3).
Marar modified does not expressly disclose the clamp device is an adhesive strip layer, a spring-loaded clamp, or a hook and loop fastener. However, straps commonly comprised hook and loop fasteners. For example, Eaton discloses a support board for X-ray imaging (col. 2, l. 61 - col. 3, l. 6) comprising straps (6) for positioning an object (arm) to be imaged comprise a hook and loop fastener (Velcro; col. 3, ll. 23-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the invention of Marar in view of the teachings of Eaton to specifically use a hook and loop fastener.
One would have been motivated to do so to gain an advantage recited in Eaton of facilitating “quick and easy fastening and unfastening” (Eaton, col. 3, ll. 23-31; i.e., the well-known advantage of hook and loop fasteners).
Claims 7-8
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Marar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keeve (US 2013/0230137 A1).
Claim 7
Regarding claim 7, Marar discloses the X-ray radiation imaging system of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose the at least one carrier layer comprises a plurality of carrier layers, and a plurality of fasteners coupling the plurality of carrier layers together.
Keeve discloses an x-ray imaging system comprises a plurality of carrier layers (1’, 1’’, 1’’’), and a plurality of fasteners (hinges 19) coupling the plurality of carrier layers (1’, 1’’, 1’’’) together (¶ 43; Fig. 4a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Marar in view of the teachings of Keeve so that the at least one carrier layer comprises a plurality of carrier layers, and a plurality of fasteners coupling the plurality of carrier layers together.
One would have been motivated to do so to gain an advantage recited in Keeve of generating 3D image data (Keeve, Abstract).
Claim 8
Regarding claim 8, Marar modified teaches the X-ray radiation imaging system of claim 7 wherein the plurality of carrier layers (1’,1’’,1’’’) is arranged in a three-dimensional shape (Keeve, ¶ 43; Fig. 4a; see rejection of claim 7 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Polichar (US 5,909,478 A) discloses a portable X-ray imaging system comprising an X-ray source, an X-ray sensor, and a controller configured to generate X-ray images (Abstract).
Freytag (US 2004/0066891 A1) discloses an X-ray imaging system comprising an X-ray source, an X-ray detector, and means to generate a 3D image (Abstract).
Blake C. Riddick, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/BLAKE C RIDDICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884