Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows: claims 1 – 32 have been canceled and claims 33 – 52 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33 – 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2023/0389049 A1).
Regarding claims 33 and 43, Kim teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Fig. 3: UE 302; Fig. 21: terminal 2100), comprising a transceiver (Fig. 21: processor 2100; paragraph 781) and one or more processors (Fig. 21: processor 2100; paragraph 781), configured to: receive a configuration for reception of a multicast-broadcast service (MBS) service (paragraph 161: the base station or the network may configure, to a terminal, at least one of bearer configuration information for the MBS service), wherein the configuration indicates: a value for a variable to be processed at a Packet Data Convergence (PDCP) layer (paragraph 201: The RX_DELIV variable may be initialized to the initialized RX_NEXT value or the combination of the PDCP serial number of the data (the PDCP data PDU or the PDCP SDU)), and one or more logical channels associated with the MBS service (paragraph 161: a logical channel identifier for each MBS service); initialize, based on the value, the variable (paragraph 201: The RX_DELIV variable may be initialized to the initialized RX_NEXT value or the combination of the PDCP serial number of the data (the PDCP data PDU or the PDCP SDU)); receive a transport block comprising MBS traffic (paragraph 171: FIGS. 4A to 4D describe a structure of a bearer which a terminal establishes for receiving an MBS service or which a base station or a network may configure to the terminal for the MBS service. Also described in paragraph 176); decode the received transport block comprising the MBS traffic (paragraph 176: If a unicast bearer or a multicast bearer for the MBS service is established with the second bearer structure 401b, a terminal may configure an RLC layer device which corresponds to an MBS control data channel, an MBS user data channel, or a logical channel identifier (or an MBS service) of the MBS user data channel and which is connected to a MAC layer device… in the second bearer structure 401b, the terminal may transfer MBS data (MBS control data or MBS user data) received via a physical layer device or the MAC layer device to a upper MBS application layer device via the RLC layer device. Also described in paragraph 782: decodes a baseband signal provided from the RF processor 2110); and based on decoding the received transport block: discard, at a medium access control (MAC) layer, data not associated with the one or more logical channels associated with the MBS service (paragraph 176: Transmission of HARQ ACK or NACK, or a HARQ retransmission procedure or a HARQ processing procedure of a MAC layer device may not be applied to the second bearer in the second bearer structure 401b…. In the second bearer structure 401b, the MBS data may not include a MAC header), and process, at the PDCP layer and based on the initialized variable, data associated with the one or more logical channels associated with the MBS service (paragraph 188: if HARQ retransmission, a HARQ ACK/NACK indication procedure, or a HARQ processing procedure is not performed or configured not to be performed, or if an RLC UM mode (or an RLC TM mode) is configured, a PDCP layer device is configured to basically (for example, an out-of-order delivery indicator is always set to True) performs an out-of-order delivery function or to set a PDCP reordering timer value to 0).
Regarding claims 34 and 44, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 33, wherein the variable is RX_DELIV (paragraph 201: The RX_DELIV variable may be initialized to the initialized RX_NEXT value or the combination of the PDCP serial number of the data (the PDCP data PDU or the PDCP SDU)).
Regarding claims 35 and 45, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 33, wherein the MBS traffic comprises broadcast traffic, groupcast traffic, or unicast traffic (paragraph 176: a unicast bearer or a multicast bearer for the MBS service is established).
Regarding claims 36 and 46, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 33, wherein the decoding comprises: demultiplexing, at the MAC layer, the transport block (paragraph 220: demultiplexing MBS data in MAC layer device).
Regarding claims 37 and 47, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 33, wherein the decoding comprises: disassembling, at the MAC layer, the transport block (paragraph 220: demultiplexing MBS data in MAC layer device).
Regarding claims 38 and 48, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 33, wherein RX_DELIV indicates a COUNT value of a last PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) that was delivered by the PDCP layer to a higher layer (paragraph 201: RX_DELIV (a variable indicating a COUNT value of first data (a PDCP SDU); also described in paragraph 609).
Regarding claims 39 and 49, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 33, wherein the configuration comprises a PDCP layer configuration (paragraph 188: a PDCP layer device is configured).
Regarding claims 40 and 50, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 33, wherein the configuration comprises a MAC layer configuration (paragraph 178: the MAC layer device is performed or configured).
Regarding claims 41 and 51, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 33, wherein the MBS service is multiplexed over a single Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI) (paragraph 720: G-RNTI).
Regarding claims 42 and 52, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 33, wherein Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback is not sent for the discarded data (paragraph 176: Transmission of HARQ ACK or NACK, or a HARQ retransmission procedure or a HARQ processing procedure of a MAC layer device may not be applied to the second bearer in the second bearer structure 401b…. In the second bearer structure 401b, the MBS data may not include a MAC header).
Conclusion
/RHONDA L MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462