DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 21-27, drawn to an apparatus for positioning a medical device and the technical functions of outputting a notification to align a medical device based on an orientation sensor data.
Group II, claims 28-33, drawn to an apparatus for determining orientation of an instrument and the technical functions of receiving first and second inputs and displaying visual indicia that represents the three-dimensional orientation of the medical device.
Group III, claims 34-40, drawn to a method for determining orientation of an instrument and the technical functions of aligning an instrument according to a simulation.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I, II, and III lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature, as described above.
During a telephone conversation with Robert Ward on July 29, 2025 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 21-27. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 28-40 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and under 35 U.S.C. 365(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 21, line 7 (and 11), a “desired insertion angle” is considered to be subjective since it is not otherwise defined what is “desired” by the user. During examination, it is assumed this is a previously defined target insertion angle. See MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV).
Further regarding Claim 21, line 8, “determine an orientation” is indefinite because a frame of reference has not been defined for the orientation sensor. For example, is this orientation with respect to the patient and/or with respect to the image? During examination, it is assumed to be orientation with respect to the patient and also with respect to the image, so as to be able to register the sensor, image, and patient into the same frame of reference.
Further regarding Claim 21, two lines from the end, “positioned at or about the desired insertion angle” is not understood because “about” it is a subjective term of degree. For example, the disclosure teaches 20 degrees, 5 degrees, 1 degree in par. 0086. Upon reading this, one of ordinary skill would not understand what is considered to be “about” the angle, e.g. is 45 degrees close enough? 30 degrees? During examination, 20 degrees or less will be considered to meet the claim limitation. See MPEP 2173.05(b)(III)(A).
Regarding Claim 22, the scope is confusing because it cannot be determined if the list is open or closed. Further, an open list is indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(h)(I). One option to resolve the issue is to use Markush language, e.g. “selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C”, in particular “wherein the medical device is an implant selected from the group consisting of interbody cage, pedicle screw, steel rod, stent, and bone graft”. An alternate option to resolve the issue is “wherein the medical device is an implant”.
Regarding Claim 23, the claim limitation “other portion of the body” if selected from the list, does not limit the scope of the claim. Similar to claim 22, the claim is further confusing because it cannot be determined if the list is open or closed. Markush language is suggested as an option to resolve the issue, e.g. “wherein the image of at least a portion of the body is a portion of the body selected from the group consisting of spine, joint, rib cage, cranium, artery, lung, and combinations thereof”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20160235481 to Dorman.
Regarding Claim 21, Dorman discloses an apparatus for positioning a medical device in a body (shown in Figures 3A, 7, par. 0037), the apparatus comprising:
an electronic device (apparatus 300, Figure 3A; electronic device used in steps 502, 503, 508, 509, 511 of Figure 5A) configured to display an image of at least a portion of the body adjacent to where the medical device will be positioned (as shown in Figure 7, the apparatus 300 provides real-time measurement and display of the orientation of the attached medical equipment 702, par. 0038), the electronic device comprising:
an orientation sensor (gyroscope 332, Figure 3A; step 509, Figure 5A, par. 0049); and
one or more processors (processor 350, Figure 3A) configured to:
simulate a positioning of the medical device relative to the image to determine a desired [target] insertion angle of the medical device relative to a plane of the body (step 502, Figure 5A as shown in Figure 6C by the target 633 on the image 635, par. 0063);
determine an orientation [with respect to the patient, with respect to the image] of the electronic device using the orientation sensor (step 509, Figure 5A; Nav mode, Figure 6D, orientation of the apparatus 300, par. 0064); and
output a notification when the orientation of the electronic device is such that the electronic device is positioned at or about the desired [target] insertion angle of the medical device relative to the plane of the body (step 511, Figure 5A; Nav mode, Figure 6D, when the probe is within a threshold of 20 degrees from the target orientation, it changes to yellow, at 5 degrees, it changes to green, and when it is within 1 degree, a green line extends outward, par. 0064).
Regarding Claim 22, Dorman further discloses wherein the medical device is any medical hardware that includes one or more from a group that includes an interbody cage, a pedicle screw, a steel rod, a stent, a bone graft, or other implant (par. 0059, pedicle screw).
Regarding Claim 23, Dorman further discloses wherein the image of at least a portion of the body is one or more portions of the body from a group that includes a spine, a joint, a rib cage, a cranium, an artery, a lung, or other portion of the body to receive the medical device (spine is shown in at least Figure 7 as the guidance image).
Regarding Claim 24, Dorman further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to simulate the positioning of the medical device relative to the image by aligning at least one axis of the medical device with at least one plane of the body (as shown in Figures 5B, 5C, 5D, all three planes are utilized for the simulated positioning, i.e. transverse, coronal, sagittal planes; sagittal viewplane is shown in Figure 6C).
Regarding Claim 25, Dorman further discloses wherein the medical device is configured to be positioned between vertebral bodies (intended use of the pedicle screw implant, par. 0059).
Regarding Claim 26, Dorman does not specify that the medical device is an interbody cage. Instead, Dorman teaches pedicle screw as the implant and also suggests other instruments may be selected (par. 0059, 0069). As such, Dorman is capable of being used with an interbody cage as the medical device. Further, the system of Dorman is capable of aligning an interbody cage in the simulation to align a first side of the interbody cage with a first surface of a first vertebral body and a second side of the interbody cage opposite the first side with a second surface of a second vertebral body. For example, the user would select the desired target trajectory to be between the first and second vertebral surfaces in the transverse viewplane using the process outlined in Figure 5B. Examiner notes that the claim does not directly include the medical device as part of the claimed apparatus. Rather, the claim includes the medical device in the preamble of claim 21. As such, the claim requires an electronic device that is intended to be used with the medical device and structurally capable of being used with such medical device. However, specifying the medical device as an interbody cage does not change the structure of Dorman’s device, since it is already structurally configured for use with such an implant (similar to the pedicle screw). See MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding Claim 27, Dorman does not teach a threaded opening configured to threadedly couple to a surgical instrument. However, Dorman teaches pedicle screw as the implant and also suggests other instruments may be selected (par. 0059, 0069). As such, Dorman is capable of being used with the medical device including a threaded opening configured to threadedly couple to a surgical instrument. Examiner notes that the claim does not directly include the medical device or the surgical instrument as part of the claimed apparatus. Rather, the claim includes the medical device in the preamble of claim 21. As such, the claim requires an electronic device that is intended to be used with the medical device and structurally capable of being used with such medical device. However, specifying the medical device as having a threaded opening configured to threadedly couple to a surgical instrument does not change the structure of Dorman’s device, since it is already structurally configured for use with such a medical device (for example, to engage the pedicle screw). See MPEP 2111.02.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12440279 in view of US 20160235481 to Dorman. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims are narrower in scope than the instant claims and therefore necessarily anticipate the claimed invention for the claim 21 features of an orientation sensor, and processor configured to simulate, determine an orientation, and output a notification. In particular, patent claim 1 maps to instant claim 21, except for the feature of being configured to “display an image”. Dorman teaches an identical device to that claimed (as described in the USC 102 rejection above) and clearly teaches a display of image guidance (e.g. Figure 7). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine a guidance display of Dorman in the claimed invention of 12440279 to provide an intuitive display for guiding the implant to the target location. Patent claim 5 includes a pedicle screw as the implant, thereby implicitly teaching the instant dependent claims since the context is spinal surgery. The features of the dependent claims are also taught by Dorman, as indicated in the USC 102 rejection above.
Claims 21-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11737828. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims are narrower in scope than the instant claims and therefore necessarily anticipate the claimed invention. Patent claim 1 teaches “insertion angle” instead of the instant claim “orientation”; however, “insertion angle” is a subtype of broader “orientation”. Patent claim 6 includes a pedicle screw as the implant, thereby implicitly teaching the instant dependent claims since the context is spinal surgery.
Claims 21-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11000335 in view of US 20160235481 to Dorman. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims are narrower in scope than the instant claims and therefore necessarily anticipate the claimed invention. Patent claim 1 teaches “display a representation of the bone” instead of the instant claim “image”; however, “representation of the bone” is a subtype of broader “image”. The features of the dependent claims are taught by Dorman, as indicated in the USC 102 rejection above. While patent claim 6 includes a “screw” as the implant, Dorman’s teachings make it clear this is a pedicle screw, thereby giving the context of spinal surgery lacking from the 11000335 claims.
Claims 21-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10123840 in view of US 20160235481 to Dorman. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims are narrower in scope than the instant claims and therefore necessarily anticipate the claimed invention for the claim 21 features of an orientation sensor, and processor configured to simulate, determine an orientation, and output a notification. In particular, patent claim 1 maps to instant claim 21, except for the feature of being configured to “display an image”. Dorman teaches an identical device to that claimed (as described in the USC 102 rejection above) and clearly teaches a display of image guidance (e.g. Figure 7). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine a guidance display of Dorman in the claimed invention of 10123840 to provide an intuitive display for guiding the implant to the target location. Patent claim 8 includes a vertebra as the body location and claim 7 teaches “screw” as the implant, thereby implicitly teaching the instant dependent claims since the context is spinal surgery. The features of the dependent claims are also taught by Dorman, as indicated in the USC 102 rejection above.
Claims 21-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19028765 (reference application, published as US 20250160959). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims are commensurate in scope than the instant claims and therefore necessarily anticipate the claimed invention. Conflicting claim 6 includes a pedicle screw as the implant, thereby implicitly teaching the instant dependent claims since the context is spinal surgery.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12213740, 20240197411, 12433690, 20240090950, 20250049514, 20240407847, 12064186, 20240406547, 12063433, 12400355 to Dorman teaches the claimed invention but are not available as prior art.
ANGELA M. HOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/Angela M Hoffa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799