DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-11 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 09/28/2023 & 06/27/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A) In Claims 1 & 10, line 6, “a direction close to” renders the claims indefinite because “close” is a relative term. For the purposes of examination, “close to” has been construed to be more vertical than horizontal.
B) Claims 2-9 & 11 are also rejected due to their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 & 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 4,597,323 to Mordau.
A) As per Claims 1 & 10, Mordau teaches a vehicle (Mordau: Figure 1) comprising an engine compartment, a passenger compartment (Mordau: Figure 1, area to left and right side, respectively, of dotted line separating portions of the housing between Items 13 & 20) and a separation wall between said engine compartment and said passenger compartment, said vehicle further comprising a heating, ventilation and/or air-conditioning device for a motor vehicle, said device having a vertical dimension defined along a vertical direction, said heating, ventilation and/or air-conditioning device including
a housing (Mordau: Figure 1, Item 13 extending to housing surrounding Item 20) and, inside the housing,
a first heat exchanger (Mordau: Figure 1, Item 20) and
a unit (Mordau: Figure 1, Item 19) for generating an air flow,
said first exchanger extending in a direction close to said vertical direction to define a vertical dimension of the first heat exchanger and also extending in a transverse direction, along a transverse axis, perpendicular to the vertical direction (Mordau: Figure 1, Item 20),
said unit for generating the air flow including a blower wheel configured to rotate about an axis of rotation, oriented substantially in said transverse direction, and to generate the air flow tangentially in the direction of said first exchanger, said blower wheel being arranged so as to remain within the vertical dimension of said first exchanger when viewed perpendicularly to the vertical direction (Mordau: Figure 1, Item 19),
said housing being configured to extend on either side of a wall separating an engine compartment from a passenger compartment of the motor vehicle, a first part of the housing accommodating the unit for generating the air flow being intended to be situated on the engine compartment side and a second part of the housing accommodating the first exchanger being intended to be situated on the passenger compartment side (Mordau: Figure 1, dotted line separating portions of the housing between Items 13 & 20 with passenger side on right and engine side on left of wall show at dotted line).
B) As per Claims 2 & 11, Mordau teaches that the vertical dimension of said housing is maximum in a zone for guiding the air flow toward said first exchanger or in line with said first exchanger (Mordau: Figure 1, housing is tallest at Item 20).
C) As per Claim 3, Mordau teaches that said unit for generating the air flow is substantially centered along said transverse axis with respect to said first exchanger (Mordau: Figure 1, Item 19 is centered).
D) As per Claim 4, Mordau teaches that said first exchanger includes a heat exchange bundle extending mainly in a first direction at an angle with respect to said vertical direction, and in the transverse direction (Mordau: Figure 1, Item 20).
E) As per Claim 5, Mordau teaches that said first exchanger has transverse sides extending in said transverse direction and in a direction, referred to as bundle thickness direction, perpendicular to said first direction and to said transverse direction (Mordau: Figure 1, Item 20).
F) As per Claim 6, Mordau teaches that said housing has a chamber for supplying air to said first exchanger that has a divergent shape in the direction of flow of the air flow along said bundle thickness direction (Mordau: Figure 1, duct leading up to Item 20 is divergent shape).
G) As per Claim 8, Mordau teaches that said first exchanger has lateral sides extending in said first direction and said bundle thickness direction (Mordau: Figure 1, Item 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mordau in view of US Patent Publication Number 2021/0213799 A1 to Zhang.
A) As per Claims 7 & 9, Mordau teaches all the limitations except explicitly that said unit for generating the air flow is substantially centered in said transverse direction between two planes extending said lateral sides of the first exchanger.
However, Zhang teaches said unit for generating the air flow is substantially centered in said transverse direction between two planes extending said lateral sides of the first exchanger (Zhang: Figures 1-2, Item 108 is centered on Item 109).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Mordau by locating the fan laterally, as taught by Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mordau with these aforementioned teachings of Zhang since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the transverse fan location of Zhang for the transverse fan location of Mordau.
Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762