DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 03/05/26.
3. Claims 1-29 are presented for examination.
4. Claims 1, 12, 18 & 25 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments and amendment filed on 03/05/26, regarding to 103 rejection (Claims 1-29) have been fully considered but they are moot with the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claims Objections
6. Claims 18-29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
7. Claim 18 recite, “….a same spatial filter..) in line 10. For consistency and clarification with “a same spatial filter” recited in claim 18, line 9, it is suggested to change “a same spatial filter” in line 10, to “the same spatial filter ”.
8. Claim 25 is also objected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 18.
9. Claims 19-24 & 26-29 are also objected since they are depend upon objected independent claims set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1, 4-7, 9-12, 18 & 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (hereinafter referred as Cirik) US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0105765 A1, in view of Li et al. (hereinafter referred as Li) International Publication No. WO 2021/027185 A1 (as disclosed in the IDS), further in view of GUO et al. (hereinafter referred as GUO) US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0138282 A1.
Regarding claim 1: Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0183; a wireless device (i.e., UE)) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0183; a wireless device (i.e., UE) includes a memory 1524); and
one or more processors (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0191; a wireless device (i.e., UE) includes a processing system comprises one or more controllers/processors), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
detect failure of a beam, wherein the beam is one of a first beam associated with a first transmit receive point (TRP) or a second beam associated with a second TRP (See Para. 0258; A per-TRP BFR procedure may be supported. A per-TRP BFR procedure may be supported, for example, such that if a TRP has a beam failure, the wireless device may recover the TRP before multiple TRPs have beam failures. the wireless device may initiate a BFR procedure for TRP-1. The wireless device may detect a beam failure and start a BFR procedure if the CORESET fails (e.g., the quality of CORESET is low) based on not receiving DCI. Also, Fig. 19 discloses the BFR procedure is per TRP, it means that the beam failure can be either for the first beam of the first TRP 1 or a second beam of the second TRP 2);
wherein the new beam is associated with a first group of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the first TRP if the beam is the first beam, or associated with a second group of PUCCH resources for the second TRP if the beam is the second beam (See FIG. 19 & Para. 0263; Fig. 19 PUCCH resource group 1 being associated with to TRP 1/CORESET group1 and PUCCH resource group 2 being associated with to TRP2/CORESET group 2. The wireless device may select/identify/determine a candidate RS among one or more second RSs, for example, for candidate beam selection/identification. The wireless device may complete a BFR procedure successfully, for example, based on receiving a BFR response in the CORESET (or in the recovery search space set). One or more configuration parameters may indicate a CORESET group index for the CORESET. The wireless device may select/determine a PUCCH resource group among a plurality of PUCCH resource groups, for example, based on a group index of the PUCCH resource group and the CORESET group index); and
reset the UE to the new beam after receiving a response to the recovery request (See Para. 0254 & 0263; the wireless device may send a PUCCH with a spatial domain transmission filter based on a candidate beam identified/indicated for the BFR procedure, for example, if the wireless device successfully completes the BFR procedure of the TRP-1. The wireless device may complete a BFR procedure successfully, for example, based on receiving a BFR response in the CORESET (or in the recovery search space set)).
Cirik discloses the wireless device may initiate/start/perform a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure, for example, based on detecting a beam failure. The wireless device may send/transmit a BFR request (e.g., a preamble, UCI, an SR, a MAC CE, and/or the like), for example, based on the initiating the BFR procedure) (See Para. 0147, 0254 & 0258), but does not explicitly discloses transmit a recovery request that indicates a new beam for a beam reset by the UE.
However, Li from the same field of endeavor discloses transmit a recovery request that indicates a new beam for a beam reset by the UE (See Page 5; Para. 0001; the UE 103 sends an uplink beam failure recovery request message to a gNB. The gNB may be a gNB connected to the TRPs 101 and 102. The uplink beam failure recovery request message may include an ID of a new beam, which is recommended by the UE 103 to the gNB for downlink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmit a recovery request that indicates a new beam for a beam reset by the UE as taught by Li in the system of Cirik for beam failure recovery (See Para. 0004; line 1).
The combination of Cirik and Li disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam.
However, GUO from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam (See Para. 0040-0041; the terminal device performs PUCCH transmission and PUSCH transmission on the cell by using a same spatial filter as the one corresponding to the selected candidate beam (i.e., new beam)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam as taught by GUO in the combined system of Li and Cirik to perform PDCCH transmission and PDSCH transmission on the cell by using the selected candidate beam (See Para. 0009; lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 4: The combination of Cirik, Li and GUO disclose a user equipment (UE).
Furthermore, Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE), wherein the one or more processors, to reset the UE to the new beam, are configured to configure the UE, a quantity of symbols after receiving the response, with a spatial filter that corresponds to the new beam (See Para. 0243, 0254 & 0263; The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) a second uplink signal via PUCCH on the serving cell. The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) a second uplink signal via PUCCH on the serving cell, for example, based on a first number of symbols (e.g., 28 symbols) from a last symbol of a reception of the at least one PDCCH).
Regarding claim 5: The combination of Cirik, Li and GUO disclose a user equipment (UE).
Furthermore, Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE), wherein the quantity of symbols is 28 symbols (See Para. 0243, 0254 & 0263; The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) a second uplink signal via PUCCH on the serving cell, for example, based on a first number of symbols (e.g., 28 symbols) from a last symbol of a reception of the at least one PDCCH).
Regarding claim 6: The combination of Cirik, Li and GUO disclose a user equipment (UE).
Furthermore, Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE), wherein the UE is configured with the spatial filter until the UE receives an activation command to change beams for a PUCCH resource in the first group if the beam is the first beam, or receives an activation command to change beams for a PUCCH resource in the second group if the beam is the second beam (See Para. 0243 & 0333; The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) a second uplink signal via PUCCH on the serving cell, for example, until the wireless device receives an activation command (e.g., MAC CE) for a spatial relation (e.g., PUCCH-Spatialrelationinfo) or is provided a spatial relation (e.g., PUCCH-Spatialrelationinfo) for PUCCH resource(s) for the serving cell. the activation command may comprise a field comprising/indicating a BWP index (e.g., BWP-Id) of the uplink BWP for which the activation command applies. The activation command may comprise a field comprising/indicating a PUCCH resource index (e.g., a higher layer parameter PUCCH-ResourceId) of the PUCCH resource).
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Cirik, Li and GUO disclose a user equipment (UE).
Furthermore, Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE), wherein the UE is configured with the spatial filter until the UE receives an activation command to change beams for a PUCCH resource in the first group or the second group (See Para. 0243 & 0333; The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) a second uplink signal via PUCCH on the serving cell, for example, until the wireless device receives an activation command (e.g., MAC CE) for a spatial relation (e.g., PUCCH-Spatialrelationinfo) or is provided a spatial relation (e.g., PUCCH-Spatialrelationinfo) for PUCCH resource(s) for the serving cell. the activation command may comprise a field comprising/indicating a BWP index (e.g., BWP-Id) of the uplink BWP for which the activation command applies. The activation command may comprise a field comprising/indicating a PUCCH resource index (e.g., a higher layer parameter PUCCH-ResourceId) of the PUCCH resource).
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Cirik, Li and GUO disclose a user equipment (UE).
Furthermore, Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE), wherein the first group or the second group includes PUCCH resources of a stored radio resource control configuration (See Para. 0181; The base station may send/transmit configuration parameters to the wireless device for a plurality of PUCCH resource sets, for example, using an RRC message).
Regarding claim 10: The combination of Cirik, Li and GUO disclose a user equipment (UE).
Furthermore, Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE), wherein the first TRP is associated with a first one or more PUCCH groups and the second TRP is associated with a second one or more PUCCH groups, wherein a total quantity of PUCCH groups of the first one or more PUCCH groups and the second one or more PUCCH groups is 4 (See FIG. 19; TRP1 associated to PUCCH resource group 1, TRP 2 to PUCCH resource Group 2, each PUCCH resource group comprising 2 PUCCH resources, which is in total 4).
Regarding claim 11: The combination of Cirik, Li and GUO disclose a user equipment (UE).
Furthermore, Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE), wherein at least one of the first PUCCH group or the second PUCCH group is dedicated to beam failure recovery (See Para. 0321; The BFR procedure may be PUCCH-based (e.g., BFR-PUCCH). The uplink signal may be a BFRQ (e.g., BFRQ, SR, SR-like) and the at least one uplink physical channel may be a PUCCH).
Regarding claim 12: Cirik discloses a base station (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0183; a base station 1504) for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memories (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0183; the base station includes a memory 1514); and
one or more processors (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0191; the base station includes a processing system comprises one or more controllers/processors), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a recovery request that indicates a failure of a beam (See Para. 0147, 0254 & 0258; The wireless device may monitor the CORESET-0 of the PCell or all of the CORESETs in the SCell with a candidate beam identified for the BFR procedure of the TRP-1. The candidate beam being indicated in the BFR procedure. The wireless device may initiate/start/perform a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure, for example, based on detecting a beam failure. The wireless device may send/transmit a BFR request (e.g., a preamble, UCI, an SR, a MAC CE, and/or the like), for example, based on the initiating the BFR procedure),
wherein the beam is one of a first beam associated with a first transmit receive point (TRP) or a second beam associated with a second TRP (Fig. 19 discloses the BFR procedure is per TRP, it means that the beam failure can be either for the first beam of the first TRP 1 or a second beam of the second TRP 2), and
wherein the recovery request indicates a new beam associated with a first group of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the first TRP if the beam is the first beam, or associated with a second group of PUCCH resources for the second TRP if the beam is the second beam (See FIG. 19 & Para. 0263; Fig. 19 PUCCH resource group 1 being associated with to TRP 1/CORESET group1 and PUCCH resource group 2 being associated with to TRP2/CORESET group 2. The wireless device may select/identify/determine a candidate RS among one or more second RSs, for example, for candidate beam selection/identification. The wireless device may complete a BFR procedure successfully, for example, based on receiving a BFR response in the CORESET (or in the recovery search space set). One or more configuration parameters may indicate a CORESET group index for the CORESET. The wireless device may select/determine a PUCCH resource group among a plurality of PUCCH resource groups, for example, based on a group index of the PUCCH resource group and the CORESET group index);
transmit a response to the recovery request (See FIG. 19 & Para. 0263; transmitting a BFR response to the wireless device); and
receive a communication using the new beam (See Figs 19-20 & Para. 0263-0264; The wireless device may select/identify/determine a candidate RS among one or more second RSs, for example, for candidate beam selection/identification. The wireless device may complete a BFR procedure successfully, for example, based on receiving a BFR response in a CORESET (or in the recovery search space set). The one or more configuration parameters may indicate a CORESET group index for the CORESET. The wireless device may transmit a PUCCH with the spatial filter via a PUCCH resource of one or more PUCCH resources in a PUCCH resource group with a PUCCH resource group index that is the same as the CORESET group index).
Cirik does not explicitly discloses wherein the recovery request indicates a new beam.
However, Li from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the recovery request indicates a new beam (See Page 5; Para. 0001; See Page 5; Para. 0001; then the UE 103 sends an uplink beam failure recovery request message to a gNB. The gNB may be a gNB connected to the TRPs 101 and 102. The uplink beam failure recovery request message may include an ID of a new beam, which is recommended by the UE 103 to the gNB for downlink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the recovery request indicates a new beam as taught by Li in the system of Cirik for beam failure recovery (See Para. 0004; line 1).
The combination of Cirik and Li disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam.
However, GUO from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam (See Para. 0040-0041; the terminal device performs PUCCH transmission and PUSCH transmission on the cell by using a same spatial filter as the one corresponding to the selected candidate beam (i.e., new beam)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam as taught by GUO in the combined system of Li and Cirik to perform PDCCH transmission and PDSCH transmission on the cell by using the selected candidate beam (See Para. 0009; lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 18: Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0183; a wireless device (i.e., UE)) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0183; a wireless device (i.e., UE) includes a memory 1524); and
one or more processors (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0191; a wireless device (i.e., UE) includes a processing system comprises one or more controllers/processors), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
detect failure of a first beam for a first transmit receive point (TRP) and failure of a second beam for a second TRP (See Para. 0258; A per-TRP BFR procedure may be supported. A per-TRP BFR procedure may be supported, for example, such that if a TRP has a beam failure, the wireless device may recover the TRP before multiple TRPs have beam failures. he wireless device may initiate a BFR procedure for TRP-1. The wireless device may initiate a BFR procedure for TRP-1. The wireless device may detect a beam failure and start a BFR procedure if the CORESET fails (e.g., the quality of CORESET is low) based on not receiving DCI. Also, Fig. 19 discloses the BFR procedure is per TRP, it means that the beam failure can be either for the first beam of the first TRP 1 or a second beam of the second TRP 2);
transmit a recovery request that indicates a first new beam associated with the first TRP and a second new beam associated with the second TRP (See Para. 0147, 0254 & 0258; The wireless device may monitor the CORESET-0 of the PCell or all of the CORESETs in the SCell with a candidate beam identified for the BFR procedure of the TRP-1. The candidate beam being indicated in the BFR procedure. The wireless device may initiate/start/perform a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure, for example, based on detecting a beam failure. The wireless device may send/transmit a BFR request (e.g., a preamble, UCI, an SR, a MAC CE, and/or the like), for example, based on the initiating the BFR procedure. Fig. 19 discloses the BFR procedure is per TRP, it means that the beam failure can be either for the first beam of the first TRP 1 or a second beam of the second TRP 2); and
reset, after receiving a response to the recovery request, the UE to beam sweep with the first new beam and the second new beam (See FIG. 12A, Para. 0254, 0263 & 0145; Fig. 19 discloses the BFR procedure is per TRP, it means that the beam failure can be either for the first beam of the first TRP 1 or a second beam of the second TRP 2. The wireless device may send a PUCCH with a spatial domain transmission filter based on a candidate beam identified/indicated for the BFR procedure, for example, if the wireless device successfully completes the BFR procedure of the TRP-1. The wireless device may complete a BFR procedure successfully, for example, based on receiving a BFR response in the CORESET (or in the recovery search space set). In addition, FIG. 12A discloses Procedure P1 may enable a measurement (e.g., a wireless device measurement) on Tx beams of a TRP (or multiple TRPs) (e.g., to support a selection of one or more base station Tx beams and/or wireless device Rx beams). Beamforming (e.g., at a wireless device) may comprise an Rx beam sweep for a set of beams (e.g., the beam sweeps shown, in the bottom rows of P1 and P3, as ovals rotated in a clockwise direction indicated by the dashed arrows)).
Cirik does not explicitly discloses wherein the recovery request indicates a new beam.
However, Li from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the recovery request indicates a new beam (See Page 5; Para. 0001; Then the UE 103 sends an uplink beam failure recovery request message to a gNB. The gNB may be a gNB connected to the TRPs 101 and 102. The uplink beam failure recovery request message may include an ID of a new beam, which is recommended by the UE 103 to the gNB for downlink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the recovery request indicates a new beam as taught by Li in the system of Cirik for beam failure recovery (See Para. 0004; line 1).
The combination of Cirik and Li disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam and the second new beam is associated with a same spatial as the second beam.
However, GUO from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam and the second new beam is associated with a same spatial as the second beam (See Para. 0040-0041; the terminal device performs PUCCH transmission and PUSCH transmission on the cell by using a same spatial filter as the one corresponding to the selected candidate beam (i.e., new beam)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam and the second new beam is associated with a same spatial as the second beam as taught by GUO in the combined system of Li and Cirik to perform PDCCH transmission and PDSCH transmission on the cell by using the selected candidate beam (See Para. 0009; lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 25: Cirik discloses a base station (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0183; a base station 1504) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0183; the base station includes a memory 1514); and
one or more processors (See FIG. 15A & Para. 0191; the base station includes a processing system comprises one or more controllers/processors), coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a recovery request that indicates a first new beam associated with a first transmit receive point (TRP) and a second new beam associated with a second TRP (See Para. 0147, 0254 & 0258; The wireless device may monitor the CORESET-0 of the PCell or all of the CORESETs in the SCell with a candidate beam identified for the BFR procedure of the TRP-1. The candidate beam being indicated in the BFR procedure. The wireless device may initiate/start/perform a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure, for example, based on detecting a beam failure. The wireless device may send/transmit a BFR request (e.g., a preamble, UCI, an SR, a MAC CE, and/or the like), for example, based on the initiating the BFR procedure. Fig. 19 discloses the BFR procedure is per TRP, it means that the beam failure can be either for the first beam of the first TRP 1 or a second beam of the second TRP 2);
transmit a response to the recovery request (See FIG. 19 & Para. 0263; transmitting a BFR response to the wireless device); and
configure the first TRP and the second TRP to receive communications using the first new beam and the second new beam in a beam sweep (See Figs 12A, 19-20, Para.0254, 0263-0264 & 0145; Fig. 19 discloses the BFR procedure is per TRP, it means that the beam failure can be either for the first beam of the first TRP 1 or a second beam of the second TRP 2. The wireless device may send a PUCCH with a spatial domain transmission filter based on a candidate beam identified/indicated for the BFR procedure, for example, if the wireless device successfully completes the BFR procedure of the TRP-1 and TRP-2. The wireless device may select/identify/determine a candidate RS among one or more second RSs, for example, for candidate beam selection/identification. The wireless device may complete a BFR procedure successfully, for example, based on receiving a BFR response in a CORESET (or in the recovery search space set). The one or more configuration parameters may indicate a CORESET group index for the CORESET. The wireless device may transmit a PUCCH with the spatial filter via a PUCCH resource of one or more PUCCH resources in a PUCCH resource group with a PUCCH resource group index that is the same as the CORESET group index).
Cirik does not explicitly disclose receive, from a user equipment (UE), a second new beam associated with a second TRP.
However, Li from the same field of endeavor discloses receive, from a user equipment (UE), a recovery request that indicates a first new beam associated with a first transmit receive point (TRP) and a second new beam associated with a second TRP (See Para. 0007; transmitting a first beam failure recovery request message associated with the first CORESET group 1D when the first beam failure event is detected, and a second beam failure recovery request message associated with the second CORESET group ID when the second beam failure event is detected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include second new beam associated with a second TRP as taught by Li in the system of Cirik for beam failure recovery (See Para. 0004; line 1).
The combination of Cirik and Li disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam and the second new beam is associated with a same spatial as the second beam.
However, GUO from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam and the second new beam is associated with a same spatial as the second beam (See Para. 0040-0041; the terminal device performs PUCCH transmission and PUSCH transmission on the cell by using a same spatial filter as the one corresponding to the selected candidate beam (i.e., new beam)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the new beam is associated with a same spatial filter as the beam and the second new beam is associated with a same spatial as the second beam as taught by GUO in the combined system of Li and Cirik to perform PDCCH transmission and PDSCH transmission on the cell by using the selected candidate beam (See Para. 0009; lines 5-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 2-3, 8, 13-17, 19-24 & 26-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A. Lindstorm et al. 2010/0285809 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for resource management in a multi-carrier telecommunication) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Zhou et al. 2021/0153040 A1 (Title: Beam reset rules in case of group component carrier based beam update..) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Park et al. 2020/0221448 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving uplink control information ) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469