Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chak WO98/22348 in view of Menta et al. USPN 5,569,351 (hereinafter Menta).
Regarding Claim 1, Chak et al. discloses a packing method for a packing machine (10) including a sealing unit (16) that performs gripping (gripper 149), welding (by press platen 152 and heater blade 150), and cutting of a band (strap cutter 154), and a roller unit (guide rollers 111,151) that feeds the band (20) pulled out from a band roll (11;figs 2a,b; page 8 lines 11-30) to pass through the sealing unit (16; figs. 9a-c) and retracts the fed band (page 3 lines 17-23), the packing method comprising: using the band divided into blocks each having a length necessary for one packing of a package object in a longitudinal direction (control system 200 determines the position of the strap based on strap sensor 168; page 11 lines 5-16; strap sensor 166 page 13 lines 19-30), and providing a mark at a predetermined position in each of the block of the band so as to detect that a boundary portion between the block having the mark and its adjacent block is placed above a cutting blade (154) provided in the sealing unit (16) when the mark is detected at a predetermined detection position provided on a band feeding path of the packing machine (page 24 lines 1-15; position and proximity sensors are used to determine position of the strap for cutting and sealing by the control system 200); and a position alignment process of retracting the band by the roller unit (111,151) from a state of which the band is fed until when at least one of the boundary portions passes over the cutting blade (154), and terminating the retracting when the boundary portion is detected above the cutting blade by detecting the mark at the detection position (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap).
Chak discloses a control system and a plurality of sensors to determine position and alignment of the strap, and tension of the strap during automated operation, but fails to explicitly teach a mark that is sensed at each strap length.
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 2, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing method according to claim 1, further comprising: a band supply step of feeding the band pulled out from the band roll (11;figs 2a,b; page 8 lines 11-30) by the roller unit (111.151) so as to pass through the sealing unit (16); a band tightening step of causing the roller unit to retract the band to wind the band around an outer circumference of the package object (page 15 lines 9-30) while the package object is placed within a loop of the band formed by gripping a leading edge of the band by the sealing unit (16; page 15 lines 10-17); and a welding and cutting step of welding and cutting the band by the sealing unit after the band tightening step (page 15 line 29-page 16 line 8), wherein the band of which a leading edge starts at a starting edge of the block is used (control system 200 determines the position of the strap based on strap sensor 168; page 11 lines 5-16; strap sensor 166 page 13 lines 19-30), and the position alignment process is executed by retracting the band, so as to place the boundary portion above the cutting blade (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap).
Chak discloses a control system and a plurality of sensors to determine position and alignment of the strap, and tension of the strap during automated operation, but fails to explicitly teach the number of the marks detected at the detection position in the band supply step is counted until the number of the marks which is one less than the number of the marks counted in the band supply step is detected in the band tightening step.
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled and a potentiometer to sense the number of turns and a registration sensor to sense each band of material as it passes the registration sensor; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 3, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing method according to claim 1, further comprising a band reset process of matching the leading edge of the band with the starting edge of the block in a case that the leading edge of the band does not start at the starting edge of the block, wherein the band reset process (page 3 lines 10-22) includes the position alignment process and a cutting process of the band performed by using the cutting blade after the position alignment process (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap).
Regarding Claim 4, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing method according to claim 2, further comprising a band reset process of matching the leading edge of the band with the starting edge of the block in a case that the leading edge of the band does not start at the starting edge of the block (page 3 lines 10-22), wherein the band reset process includes the position alignment process and a cutting process of the band performed by using the cutting blade after the position alignment process (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap), the band reset process is performed before the band tightening step after the band supply step, retracting of the band in the position alignment process of the band reset process and the processes subsequent to the band supply step are executed again after the band reset process (page 15 line 29-page 16 line 8). But fails to explicitly teach the reset process is executed until the number of the marks which is one less than the count number of the marks detected in the band supply step is detected,
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled and a potentiometer to sense the number of turns and a registration sensor to sense each band of material as it passes the registration sensor; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 5, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing method according to claim 2, further comprising a band reset process of matching the leading edge of the band with the starting edge of the block in a case that the leading edge of the band does not start at the starting edge of the block (page 3 lines 10-22), wherein the band reset process includes the position alignment process and a cutting process of the band performed by using the cutting blade after the position alignment process (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap), the band reset process is performed before the band tightening step after the band supply step, retracting of the band in the position alignment process of the band reset process, and the processes subsequent to the band supply step are executed again after the band reset process (page 15 line 29-page 16 line 8). But fails to explicitly teach the reset process is executed until the number of the marks which is one less than the count number of the marks detected in the band supply step is detected,
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled and a potentiometer to sense the number of turns and a registration sensor to sense each band of material as it passes the registration sensor; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 6, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing method according to claim 3 wherein the band reset process is performed in a case that the band is placed at a predetermined position in the sealing unit (sealing unit 16; page 15 line 29-page 16 line 8).
Regarding Claim 7, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing method according to claim 1, wherein Chak fails to explicitly teach the mark is a registration mark provided on the band.
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 8, Chak discloses a packing machine (10) provided with a sealing unit (16) that performs gripping (gripper 149), welding (by press platen 152 and heater blade 150), and cutting of a band (strap cutter 154); and a roller unit (guide rollers 111,151) that feeds the band pulled out from a band roll (11;figs 2a,b; page 8 lines 11-30) to pass through the sealing unit (16; figs. 9a-c) and retracts the fed band (page 3 lines 17-23); the packing machine comprising: and a controller that controls operations of the roller unit (control system 200 determines the position of the strap based on strap sensor 168; page 11 lines 5-16; strap sensor 166 page 13 lines 19-30), the controller causing the roller unit to execute a position alignment process in which the band is retracted until at least one of the marks is detected at the detection position from a state of which the band is fed until at least one of the marks passes through the detection position (page 24 lines 1-15; position and proximity sensors are used to determine position of the strap for cutting and sealing by the control system 200).
Chak discloses strap sensors 166 and 168 interpreted as a mark detection means provided at a predetermined detection position on a feeding path but fails to explicitly teach detecting a mark provided on the band;
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 9, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing machine according to claim 8, wherein the controller (200) causes the roller unit (111,151) to perform a band supply process of feeding the band pulled out from the band roll (11;figs 2a,b; page 8 lines 11-30) to pass through the sealing unit (16), and a band tightening process of retracting the band to wind the band around an outer circumference of a package object (page 15 lines 9-30) while the package object is placed within a loop of the band formed by gripping a leading edge of the band by the sealing unit (16; page 15 lines 10-17), and the sealing unit to perform a welding and cutting step of welding and cutting the band after the band tightening process of the roller unit (page 15 line 29-page 16 line 8), and the controller: counts and stores the number of the marks detected at the detection position on the basis of a detection signal of the mark detection means in the course of the band supply process of the roller unit (control system 200 determines the position of the strap based on strap sensor 168; page 11 lines 5-16; strap sensor 166 page 13 lines 19-30); and terminates retracting of the band by the roller unit, so that the band tightening process is terminated while the position alignment process is completed (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap).
Chak discloses a control system and a plurality of sensors to determine position and alignment of the strap, and tension of the strap during automated operation, but fails to explicitly teach the number of the marks detected at the detection position in the band supply step is counted until the number of the marks which is one less than the number of the marks counted in the band supply step is detected in the band tightening step.
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled and a potentiometer to sense the number of turns and a registration sensor to sense each band of material as it passes the registration sensor; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 10, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing machine according to claim 8, further comprising a shooter for guiding the band toward the sealing unit, wherein the shooter includes a plate-shaped inlet guide (track guide 132; page 7 lines 1-15), a plate-shaped guide cover (cover slide 153) that covers the inlet guide (fig 9c), and a band passage formed in a gap between the inlet guide and the guide cover (track 14) , through-holes are provided in each of corresponding positions of the inlet guide and the guide cover (slot 132’), the positions of the through-holes are set as the detection positions, the mark detection means is provided so as to face the through-hole of any one of the inlet guide and the guide cover (strap sensors 120,166,168), and the through hole is blocked with a glass cover.
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled and a potentiometer to sense the number of turns and a registration sensor to sense each band of material as it passes the registration sensor; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 11, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing machine according to claim 8, wherein the controller is configured to execute a band reset process in which the band is cut at a predetermined position in response to a band reset instruction signal (page 3 lines 10-22), and the controller causes the roller unit to perform the position alignment process (control system 200 determines the position of the strap based on strap sensor 168; page 11 lines 5-16; strap sensor 166 page 13 lines 19-30) in the band reset process and causes the sealing unit to cut the band after the position alignment process of the roller unit (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap).
Regarding Claim 12, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing machine according to claim 9, wherein the controller (200) is configured to stop the roller unit (111,151) and the sealing unit (16) until a packing start instruction is received after the band supply process, so as to set the packing machine in a standby state (page 15 lines 9-15), perform a band reset process in which the band is cut at a predetermined position when a band reset instruction is received in the standby state, cause the roller unit to perform the position alignment process in the band reset process and cause the sealing unit to cut the band having been subjected to the position alignment process of the roller unit (page 15 line 29-page 16 line 8), execute the position alignment process of the band reset process on the basis of a detection signal of the mark detection means by causing the roller unit to retract the band until detection position in the band supply process is detected, and cause the roller unit to perform the band supply process again after the band reset process, so as to return to the standby state (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap).
Chak discloses a control system and a plurality of sensors to determine position and alignment of the strap, and tension of the strap during automated operation, but fails to explicitly teach the number of the marks detected at the detection position in the band supply step is counted until the number of the marks which is one less than the number of the marks counted in the band supply step is detected in the band tightening step.
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled and a potentiometer to sense the number of turns and a registration sensor to sense each band of material as it passes the registration sensor; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 13, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing machine according to claim 9, wherein the controller (200) is configured to stop the roller unit (111,151) and the sealing unit (16) until a packing start instruction is received after the start of the packing machine, so as to set the packing machine in a standby state (page 15 lines 9-15), perform a band reset process in which the band is cut at a predetermined position when a band reset instruction is received in the standby state, cause the roller unit (page 15 line 29-page 16 line 8) to perform the position alignment process in the band reset process and cause the sealing unit to cut the band having been subjected to the position alignment process of the roller unit, execute the position alignment process of the band reset process by causing the roller unit to retract the band unit and cause the roller unit and the sealing unit to perform processes subsequent to the band supply process after executing the band reset process (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap).
Chak discloses a control system and a plurality of sensors to determine position and alignment of the strap, and tension of the strap during automated operation, but fails to explicitly teach the number of the marks detected at the detection position in the band supply step is counted until the number of the marks which is one less than the number of the marks counted in the band supply step is detected in the band tightening step.
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled and a potentiometer to sense the number of turns and a registration sensor to sense each band of material as it passes the registration sensor; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 14, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing machine according to claim 12, wherein the sealing unit includes a band detection mechanism for detecting the band, and the controller executes the band reset process (page 3 lines 10-22) in a case that a detection signal is received from the band detection mechanism, and the band reset instruction is received (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap).
Regarding Claim 15, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing machine according to claim 9, wherein Chak fails to explicitly teach the mark detected by the mark detection means is a registration mark provided on the band.
Chak discloses a control system and a plurality of sensors to determine position and alignment of the strap, and tension of the strap during automated operation, but fails to explicitly teach a mark that is sensed at each strap length.
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 16, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing method according to claim 4, wherein the band reset process is performed in a case that the band is placed at a predetermined position in the sealing unit (sealing unit 16; page 15 line 29-page 16 line 8).
Regarding Claim 17, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing method according to claim 5, wherein the band reset process is performed in a case that the band is placed at a predetermined position in the sealing unit (sealing unit 16; page 15 line 29-page 16 line 8).
Regarding Claim 18, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing method according to claim 2, wherein Chak fails to explicitly teach the mark is a registration mark provided on the band.
Chak discloses a control system and a plurality of sensors to determine position and alignment of the strap, and tension of the strap during automated operation, but fails to explicitly teach a mark that is sensed at each strap length.
However Menta discloses a banding machine including an indicator film registration system able to recognize indicia 82 on each band of material as seen in fig 8, specifically a sensor 120 that detects a color registration mark printed onto the material to be labeled; col.6 lines 20-38.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the control system and position sensors as taught by Chak with the registration sensor system for detecting a registration mark in order to package shrink banded tamper resistant packaging in a cost effective way; col.1 lines 25-30.
Regarding Claim 19, Chak as modified by Menta discloses the packing machine according to claim 13, wherein the sealing unit includes a band detection mechanism for detecting the band (sealing unit 16; page 15 line 29-page 16 line 8), and the controller executes the band reset process in a case that a detection signal is received from the band detection mechanism, and the band reset instruction is received (page 16 lines 4-16; once detection is made and band is cut and sealed, termination of the feed sequence completes the strap application cycle and the machine is ready to apply another strap).
Conclusion
/MARY C HIBBERT-COPELAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731