DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). At Page 5 line 5 of the originally filed Specification, Applicant states, “Figure 1 illustrates a flow chart of a conventional method of manufacturing Printed Circuit Heat Exchanges (PCHEs).” Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swift et al. (US 4,516,632 A).
The claims remain unamended and the text of the rejection remains unchanged. For convenience, the text of the rejections is provided below:
As to claim 1, Swift teaches a method of manufacturing an energy exchanging device (Title: “Microchannel crossflow fluid heat exchanger and method for its fabrication”), the method comprising: defining, a plurality of through slots in a major surface of a plurality of plates by a through cut machining process (slots 14a, 16a are formed in sheets 14 and 16 respectively as shown in Fig 5. The slots are formed by “chemical milling” as described at Col 2 line 37.), wherein, each of the plurality of through slot defines a flow channel (Col 2 lines 37-39: “The slots in the sheets are preferably formed by chemical milling so as to result in fluid flow channels of uniform cross-sectional dimension”); stacking (as shown in Fig 5, various sheets are stacked), the plurality of plates (sheets 14, 16) with at least one blanking member (sheet 12) positioned at both the major surfaces of each of the plurality of plates to form a plurality of fluid flow paths about the plurality of through slots (as shown in Fig 5, the sheets 12 are stacked between pairs of sheets 14, 16. This creates two separate flow paths from slots 14a, 16a); bonding, the at least one blanking member with the major surface of each of the plurality of plates, to form an energy exchanging core (the stack is bonded by brazing as described at Col 3 lines 58-62); and defining, at least two inlet ports (as shown in Fig 4, recesses 18, 18’, 20, and 20’ are ports. See also Col 4 lines 1-6: “The brazed stack of sheets is milled on all four sides to form opposing pairs of rectangular manifold recesses 18 and 18', and 20 and 20', shown in FIGS. 1, 2 and 4. The recesses 18 and 18' open onto the exposed opposite ends of the slots 14a, and the recesses 20 and 20' open onto the ends of slots 16a.” Recesses 18 and 20 may reasonably be interpreted as “inlet ports”) and at least two outlet ports in the energy exchanging core (recesses 18’ and 20’ may reasonably be interpreted as “outlet ports”), for flow of fluid along the plurality of fluid flow paths within the energy exchanging core (Col 4 lines 8-11: “The milled recesses form manifolds by which fluids can be admitted to and received from the channels formed by the slots 14a and 16a.”).
As to claim 3, Swift teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of through slots are defined on the major surface of each of the plurality of plates defining a marginal space at edges of the corresponding plate of the plurality of plates (as shown in Fig 4, any space denoted by 18, 18’, 20, 20’ is considered the claimed “marginal space.”).
As to claim 4, Swift teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the blanking member is at least one of a solid plate and a selective diffusion membrane (Swift teaches the sheet 12 is a solid plate).
As to claim 5, Swift teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of flow channels are defined profile including at least one of a straight profile, zig-zag profile, serpentine profile, non-geometric profile, and S-shaped profile (as shown in Fig 5, the slots 14a, 16a are defined by straight profiles.).
As to claim 6, Swift teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of plates spaced by the at least one blanking member is stacked such that, each plate of the plurality of plates on either side of the at least one blanking member is defined with the plurality of flow channels with at least one predetermined profile including at least one of a straight profile, zig-zag profile, serpentine profile, non-geometric profile and S-shaped profile (as shown in Fig 5, the slots 14a, 16a are defined by straight profiles.).
As to claim 7, Swift teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein stacking of the plurality of plates (as shown in Fig 5) comprises: disposing at least one blanking member to form a base for the energy exchanging core (solid end plate 17); interposing at least one plate of the plurality of plates between the plurality of blanking members (sheet 14 is between two sheets 12), wherein the plurality of plates and the at least one blanking member are progressively and relatively positioned such that, the at least one blanking member on both the major faces of each plate define the plurality of fluid flow path about the plurality of through slots for fluid flow through the energy exchanging core (because the sheet 14 has through slots, the side of the flow channel are defined by the sheet 14, and the top and bottom of the flow channel are defined by the sheets 12.).
As to claim 9, Swift teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein defining the at least two inlet ports and the at least two outlet ports in the energy exchanging core includes machining a portion of the blanking member and the marginal space defined at the opposing ends of the plurality of plates by a material removal process including at least one of a milling, drilling, blanking, waterjet cutting, electrochemical etching, micro milling, and wire electrical discharge machining process (Swift teaches that manifold recesses 18, 18’, 20, 20’ are formed by “milling” and “electrical discharge milling.” See the resulting manifolds as shown in Fig 1.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swift et al. (US 4,516,632 A) in view of Tonkovich et al. (WO 2012054455 A2).
Claim 2 remains unamended and the text of the rejection remains unchanged. For convenience, the text of the rejections is provided below:
As to claim 2, Swift teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach the through cut machining process includes at least one of a laser machining, wire electrical discharge machining, waterjet cutting, electrochemical etching, micro milling, and spark erosion machining.
Rather, Swift teaches “chemical milling” but not specifically “electrochemical etching.” However, through slots used as flow channels in a stacked-sheet energy exchange device were known at the time the invention was effectively filed to be made by a process of electrochemical etching. See Tonkovich page 26 which teaches, “Each of the plates may be fabricated using known techniques including wire electrodischarge machining, conventional machining, laser cutting, photochemical machining, electrochemical machining, stamping, etching (for example, chemical, photochemical or plasma etching) and combinations thereof.” It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have formed the slots of Swift by the electrochemical etching of Tonkovich. Such a person would have understood that chemical milling and electrochemical etching were known analogues which were known to be advantageously swapped to achieve the same results. See MPEP § 2143 B.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swift et al. (US 4,516,632 A) in view of Anikiel (US 2019/0368829 A1).
Claim 2 remains unamended and the text of the rejection remains unchanged. For convenience, the text of the rejections is provided below:
As to claim 8, Swift teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the bonding includes: applying, an adhesive bond between the major surface of the plurality of plates and the at least one blanking member while stacking (Swift teaches brazing the plates together. Thus the braze material (copper) between the plates is considered the claimed “adhesive bond material.”); and heating, the stack of the plurality of plates and the at least one blanking member by a joining process (the braze described at Col 3 lines 58-63 is a joining process by heating). Swift does not teach the braze specifically includes: at least one of a vacuum brazing, diffusion bonding, adhesive bonding, soldering and welding, to form the energy exchanging core.
However, brazing and vacuum brazing were well known to be interchangeable to manufacture stacked plate heat exchanger devices. See Anikiel which teaches a heat exchanger formed of stacked plates. See Fig 4. Anikiel teaches at paragraph [0060]: “the plurality of stacked plates 30 arranged parallel to one another may be joined to each other by brazing, which involves placing filler material, for example copper or nickel, between each plate 30 in the stack, and then vacuum-brazing with copper or nickel.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have provided for a step of vacuum-brazing as described by Anikiel. Such a person would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to avoid oxidative issues of brazing under non-vacuum conditions, thereby improving the resulting product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 5, Applicant argues Figure 1 does not need the designation –Prior Art—because “Figure 1 is part of the claimed subject matter and is not prior art.” This is not convincing since at Page 5 line 5 of the originally filed Specification, Applicant has already admitted, “Figure 1 illustrates a flow chart of a conventional method of manufacturing Printed Circuit Heat Exchanges (PCHEs).” Thus even if the elements of Fig. 1 are part of the claimed subject matter, only that which is old is illustrated and the Figure must be designated --Prior Art--.
On Page 6, Applicant argues Swift does not anticipate claim 1 because Swift does not teach or suggest the “through cut machining process.” Applicant agrees Swift teaches “chemical milling” but states the slots formed by chemical milling are “not disclosed to be of through cut as recited in the claimed subject matter.”
Applicant points to the present application’s specification page 22: “the through cut machining process may include at least one of the processes such as, but not limited to, a laser machining, wire electrical discharge machining (wire EDM), and spart erosion machining or any other machining process.”
Applicant argues, “Chemical milling is a subtractive chemical process that removes material through chemical dissolution, which is fundamentally different from the mechanical through cut machining processes recited in claim 1 and enumerated in claim 2.”
In response, Examiner asserts that Swift’s “chemical milling” produces “through cuts” as “slots” in the otherwise unperforated stainless steel sheets, see Col 3 lines 43-45. The slots are useful for conveying fluid therethrough and are therefore not blind holes but are “through” holes. The term “cut” is interpreted reasonably broadly as any perforation of the sheet, met by the term “slot.” The question is thus reduced to whether “chemical milling” is a “machining process.”
Applicant wishes the term “machining process” to be read in light of the Specification as one of “laser machining ... wire EDM ... spark erosion machining” or as introduced in the last paragraph of Remarks page 6 as a “mechanical” process. The claim limitation “through cut machining process” does not invoke 112(f) and reading limitations from the Specification or arguments into the claim is improper. The claim must be interpreted according to the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI).
It is clear that even Applicant’s machining processes are not limited to purely mechanical machining processes as Applicant’s “machining process” includes examples such as laser machining (thermal energy based machining process), wire EDM (electrothermal machining process), and spark erosion machining (also an electrothermal process). Applicant’s specification also teaches waterjet cutting and micro milling (which are each mechanical machining processes) and electrochemical etching (which is not a mechanical machining process). Thus, even by Applicant’s own admission, the term “machining process” must be broad enough to encompass all of these different processes.
Examiner asserts that “machining process” also includes Swift’s “chemical milling.”
Chemical milling is a “machining process” under Applicant’s definition: “Chemical milling is a subtractive chemical process that removes material through chemical dissolution.” Yet Applicant argues this is “fundamentally different from the mechanical through cut machining recited in claim 1 and enumerated in claim 2.”
In response, Examiner asserts that “material removal through chemical dissolution” is a “machining process” even if it is by a “fundamentally different” mechanism than a mechanical machining process. Operating by a “fundamentally different” mechanism does not preclude being grouped together under the term “machining process.” For example, laser machining and electrochemical etching are machining processes by Applicant’s own admission but which operate by fundamentally different mechanisms.
Examiner’s BRI of “machining process” is the controlled removal of material from a workpiece. Swift’s “chemical milling” by which material removal is controlled by masks, choice of chemical, temperature and time, meets this definition.
Last, according to chapter 7 of the Manufacturing Process Selection Handbook, “Non-traditional Machining Processes” chemical milling is considered a machining process. See Page 217.
On Page 7, Applicant mistakenly asserts that the Office’s admission that Swift does not anticipate claim 2 “undermines the anticipation rejection of claim 1.” Rather, claim 2 is necessarily more narrow than claim 1 from which it depends. Swift anticipates the “machining process” of claim 1 but not the narrower list of machining processes of claim 2.
Applicant’s arguments on page 7 regarding orthogonal or in-line configurations are not commensurate in scope with the claims as no such configurations are claimed.
Applicant’s arguments on page 7 regarding variable slot lengths and dimensions are not commensurate in scope with the claims as no such configurations are claimed.
Applicant’s arguments on page 7 regarding symmetrical sheets are not commensurate in scope with the claims as no such configurations are claimed.
Applicant’s arguments on page 7 regarding variable marginal spaces on the sheets are not commensurate in scope with the claims as no such configurations are claimed.
On pages 8 and 9, Applicant’s arguments against the rejection of claims 2 and 8 are not convincing.
Applicant acknowledges that Tonkovich is relied upon to teach electrochemical etching as a species of the through cut machining process as claimed. However, instead of addressing Tonkovich’s teachings, Applicant merely argues Swift doesn’t teach the machining process of claim 1. This is not convincing since Tonkovich is relied upon to teach a narrower limitation than found in claim 1. That Tonkovich teaches both electrochemical etching and chemical milling is further evidence that chemical milling is in fact a “machining process.”
Similarly, Applicant provides no substantive reasons for how Anikiel does not obviate the limitations of claim 8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB J CIGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 13 August 2026