1. This office action, in response to the request for continued examination (RCE) and the amendment filed 6/9/2026, is a non-final office action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment and Arguments
3. Independent claims 1, 24 and 29 are amended to add additional limitations. The amendments to the claims have necessitated the rejections of the claims stated below. Since the previous rejections are no longer recited, the arguments regarding the previous rejections under 35 USC 103 in the remarks on pages 6-8 are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3, 4, 24-26 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al (US 2024/0007970) in view of Yuan et al (US 2022/0377680). Yuan et al (US 2024/0007970) is referred to as Yuan3 in the rejections of the claims.
Regarding claims 1, 24 and 29, Yuan3 discloses a user equipment (UE), method and processor (Figures 4 and 5. Claim 42: an apparatus for wireless communication by a UE comprising: at least one processor and a memory.), the UE comprising:
a processor; and a memory coupled with the processor, wherein the processor is configured to cause the UE (Figures 4 and 5. Claim 42: an apparatus for wireless communication by a UE comprising: at least one processor and a memory.) to carry out the steps of:
detecting a single MPE event at an activated panel of the UE (Paragraph 0046: example uses of multiple active panels and MPE mitigation. Paragraph 0047: Figure 4 shows an example of utilizing two or more active antenna panels in a UE. As shown, when an MPE event occurs, such as when a subject is becoming too close to an active antenna panel, the UE may seek an alternative uplink that enable efficient transmission and avoiding the MPE event. Since the event occurs and the UE reacts to the occurrence of the MPE event, the MPE event has been detected.);
report multiple Power Management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR) values for all activated panels of the UE in response to detecting the single MPE event at the activated panel where the bits indicate whether a P-MPR value corresponds to an activated panel is reported (Paragraph 0047: figure 4 shows an example of utilizing two or more active antenna panels in a UE. Paragraph 0048: Figure 5 illustrates a wireless communication system with multiple active panels. In some cases, the multiple antenna panels may be localized within a single UE. For example, figure 5 illustrates an example of localized antenna panels within a wireless communication network 500. The UE 502 may include a plurality of co-located or localized antenna panels 506, 508 and 510, which may be used by the UE 104 to transmit/receive transmissions to/from the TRP 504 using the Uu interface. Paragraph 0049: the achieve MPE mitigation, the UE may report P-MPR regarding panel or beam level and a maximum reported number of panels, such that an alternative panel avoiding MPE may be configured for use. For example, the panel 506 is determined to cause MPE, the UE may report to the network entity for using the panel 508 or 510 that mitigates MPE. The UE may indicate alternative UE panels for uplink transmission. Therefore, the P-MPR report will include a value indicating panel 506 has caused the MPE event and values indicating panels 508 and 510 will mitigate the MPE. These are all of the active panels in UE 502 of figure 5.);
report multiple CSI-RS or SSB signals and panel IDS for the activated panels of the UE (Paragraph 0049: The UE may report SSBRIs or CRIs to identify beams associated with the panels. The reporting content may include in or more of P-MPR and L1-RSPR, SNR etc., with or without MPE effect. Paragraph 0058: this disclosure provides techniques for panel specific P-MPR. The calculation and report of PHR may be based on panel ID and panel specific P-MPR values. Paragraph 0075: The PHR includes a dedicated bit for identifying a panel identifier (ID) specific to the panel. In some cases, content reported for different panels is positioned in the report in a defined order. This shows that content is reported for multiple panels in the same single report.).
Yuan3 does not disclose reporting the P-MPR values via a MAC-CE containing a bitmap and reporting, via the MAC-CE, one or more channel state reference signal CSI-RS resource identifiers (IDs) or synchronization signal block SSB IDs.
Yuan et al (US 2022/0377680) discloses the communication system shown in figure 4. Paragraph 0006 discloses the UE may determine the maximum permissible exposure (MPE) condition. Paragraph 0066 discloses the UE 120 may transmit information indicating the one or more duty cycles. Additionally, the UE may transmit information regarding the maximum output power reduction value. Figures 5-8 are diagrams illustrating example messaging structures. The information indicating one or more duty cycles values may be provided in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE). Paragraph 0069 discloses the per beam duty cycle report may indicate a duty cycle. The information indicating the duty cycle may indicate a spatial RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS resource ID or an SSB ID). Paragraph 0071 discloses a messaging structure for reporting a maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) for a beam. In figure 7, the P-MPR relates to a transmit beam C4, as indicated by a bit of a bitmap in a position corresponding to a transmit beam C4 as shown by reference number 710. Since Yuan discloses the UE may transmit duty cycle information, such as the SSB-ID, as stated in paragraph 0069, discloses the UE may transmit duty cycle information and additionally transmit P-MPR value provided in a MAC-CE in paragraph 0066 and discloses the P-MPR is transmitted in a bitmap in paragraph 0071, Yuan discloses the report will include all of this information in the same transmit information. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Yuan into the UE, method and processor of Yuan3. By transmitting all necessary information, P-MPR values and SSB-IDs via a MAC-CE containing a bitmap, in the same transmit information, the receiver can receive all the necessary information quickly, improving the efficiency and effectiveness of the communication system.
Regarding claims 3, 25 and 30, the combination discloses wherein, in response to the Maximum Permissible Exposure (MPE) event being detected on any activated panel that can be used for UL transmission by the UE, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to report P-MPR values corresponding to all activated panels on which the MPE event is detected (Yuan3: Paragraph 0047: figure 4 shows an example of utilizing two or more active antenna panels in a UE. Paragraph 0048: Figure 5 illustrates a wireless communication system with multiple active panels. In some cases, the multiple antenna panels may be localized within a single UE. For example, figure 5 illustrates an example of localized antenna panels within a wireless communication network 500. The UE 502 may include a plurality of collocated or localized antenna panels 506, 508 and 510, which may be used to by the UE 104 to transmit/receive transmissions to/from the TRP 504 using the Uu interface. Paragraph 0049: the achieve MPE mitigation, the UE may report P-MPR regarding panel or beam level and a maximum reported number of panels, such that an alternative panel avoiding MPE may be configured for use. For example, the panel 506 is determined to cause MPE, the UE may report to the network entity for using the panel 508 or 510 that mitigates MPE. The UE may indicate alternative UE panels for uplink transmission. Therefore, the P-MPR report will include a value indicating panel 506 has caused the MPE event and values indicating panels 508 and 510 will mitigate the MPE. These are all of the active panels in UE 502 of figure 5. Paragraph 0075: The PHR includes a dedicated bit for identifying a panel identifier (ID) specific to the panel. In some cases, content reported for different panels is positioned in the report in a defined order. This shows that content is reported for multiple panels in the same single report.).
Regarding claims 4, 26 and 31, the combination discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to: report panel IDs of the activated panels on which the MPE event is detected (Yuan3: Paragraph 0047: figure 4 shows an example of utilizing two or more active antenna panels in a UE. Paragraph 0048: Figure 5 illustrates a wireless communication system with multiple active panels. In some cases, the multiple antenna panels may be localized within a single UE. For example, figure 5 illustrates an example of localized antenna panels within a wireless communication network 500. The UE 502 may include a plurality of collocated or localized antenna panels 506, 508 and 510, which may be used to by the UE 104 to transmit/receive transmissions to/from the TRP 504 using the Uu interface. Paragraph 0049: the achieve MPE mitigation, the UE may report P-MPR regarding panel or beam level and a maximum reported number of panels, such that an alternative panel avoiding MPE may be configured for use. For example, the panel 506 is determined to cause MPE, the UE may report to the network entity for using the panel 508 or 510 that mitigates MPE. The UE may indicate alternative UE panels for uplink transmission. Therefore, the P-MPR report will include a value indicating panel 506 has caused the MPE event and values indicating panels 508 and 510 will mitigate the MPE. These are all of the active panels in UE 502 of figure 5. Paragraph 0049: The UE may report SSBRIs or CRIs to identify beams associated with the panels. The reporting content may include in or more of P-MPR and L1-RSPR, SNR etc., with or without MPE effect. Paragraph 0058: this disclosure provides techniques for panel specific P-MPR. The calculation and report of PHR may be based on panel ID and panel specific P-MPR values.)
5. Claims 27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al (US 2024/0007970) in view of Yuan et al (US 2022/0377680) further in view of Yuan et al (US 2023/0422185), referred to as Yuan2. Yuan et al (US 2024/0007970) is referred to as Yuan3 in the rejections of the claims.
Regarding claims 27 and 32, the combination of Yuan3 and Yuan discloses the UE, method and processor stated above. The combination does not disclose wherein the panel IDs are represented by the bitmap contained in the MAC-CE.
Yuan2 discloses beam-specific MPE reporting as stated in the abstract. The abstract discloses, detecting a MPE event and, upon detecting the MPE event, a PHR including at least one of a MPE value and at least one panel ID corresponding to the UE panels. Figures 7A and 7B show the bitmap comprising panel ID fields. Figure 9 shows the communication from the UE to the base station. Paragraph 0093 discloses PHR 944 may be associated with a bitmap of a MAC-CE, the bitmap includes a second bit for indicating the at least one panel ID. Two or more panel IDs may be indicated by a bit in a bitmap associated with the PHR, e.g., PHR 944, where the bit is set to a value of 1.
The use of a bitmap to convey information is well known. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Yuan2 into the UE, the method and the processor of the combination of Yuan3 and Yuan to utilize well known and efficient manners of conveying information like the PHR MAC CE.
6. Claims 11, 28 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al (US 2024/0007970) in view of Yuan et al (US 2022/0377680) further in view of Gao et al (US 2021/0022130). Yuan et al (US 2024/0007970) is referred to as Yuan3 in the rejections of the claims.
Regarding claims 11, 28 and 33, the combination of Yuan3 and Yuan discloses a UE side, the UE measures L1-RSRP/L1-SINR of SSB or CSI-RS resources through different panels and selects the best SSBRIs/CRIs as well as the best panels. The panel which is indicated explicitly or implicitly in beam report can be known by gNB for scheduling UE to measure CSI and data transmission. The indicated panels are identified and associated as active panels as disclosed in heading 4 of VIVO and the per beam duty cycle report may indicate a duty cycle. The information indicating the duty cycle may indicate a spatial RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS resource ID or an SSB ID) as stated in paragraph 0069 of Yuan. The combination does not disclose these CSI-RS resource ID or an SSB ID are group IDs.
Gao discloses the communication system shown in figure 1. Gao discloses the UE comprises antenna panels 1-4 (paragraph 0033). Gao discloses, after the UE performs its measurements and generates a report, the UE sends or reports to the gNB the generated report associated with or linked to the CSI resource settings. In some embodiments, the report generated includes at least one of the following for beam management: CSI-RS resource index (CRI); CSI-RS resource set identifier (ID), resource-RS setting ID, a SSB resource indicator and information about grouping the one or more reference signal indexes. Each reference signal index is associated with any one or more CSI resource setting index, a reference signal resource set index, a reference signal resource index and a reporting configuration index. Since Gao discloses reporting the CSI-RS resource set identifier (ID), resource-RS setting ID, a SSB resource indicator and information about grouping the one or more reference signal indexes, Gao discloses wherein the panel ID is identified by a CSI-RS Resource indicator (CRI) group ID, an SS/PBCH Block Indication (SSBRI} group ID, a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS} resource set ID, an Uplink (UL}Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state group ID, or a joint TCI state group ID.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Gao into the UE, method and processor of the combination of Yuan3 and Yuan. Information regarding the grouping the one or more reference signal resource index and configuration index will allow a proper representation of the IDs that are transmitted to be receiver to be provided so that all of the transmitted IDs can be utilized at the receiver. By identifying the proper information and elements, the receiver will carry out the subsequent functions in an effective manner, reducing cost and complexity at the receiver.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 6/18/2026