1. This office action, in response to the amendment filed 12/30/2025, is a final office action.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
2. Independent claims 1, 24 and 29 are amended to add additional limitations.
Applicant states, there is no disclosure in VIVO of a UE reporting multiple P-MPR values in response to determining an MPE event in an active panel as stated in the remarks on pages 7-8. The examiner disagrees. As stated in the previous rejection of the claims and in the response to amendments and arguments of the non-final office action mailed 9/30/2025, the Vivo reference, cited in the rejections of the claims, discloses this feature. Vivo discloses “after the UE declares MPE event and transmits panel specific P-MPR report… the gNB selects an optimal UE panel and schedules data transmission” in heading 6 under proposal 22. The MPE event is detected before the declare MPE event. Therefore, the P-MPR report is transmitted in response to the detected and declared MPE event.
Applicant states VIVO does not discloses reporting, via a bitmap in a MAC-CE, multiple P-MPR values and CSI-RS IDS or SSBIDs as stated in page 8 of the remarks. The rejections stated below of VIVO in view of Yuan et al (US 2022/0377680) addresses the newly added features of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3, 4, 24-26 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIVO, "Discussion on multi-beam enhancement" 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e R1-2005363, August 28, 2020; pp. 1-21 in view of Yuan et al (US 2022/0377680).
Regarding claims 1, 24 and 29, Vivo discloses a user equipment (UE), method and processor (heading 5: Beam selection for multi-panel UE. MPUE-Assumption 2: multiple panels are implemented on a UE and multiple panels can be activated at a time and one or more panels can be used for transmission.), the UE comprising:
a processor; and a memory coupled with the processor, wherein the processor is configured to cause the UE (A user equipment inherently comprises a processor and a memory to store the programs executed by the processor.) to carry out the steps of:
detecting a MPE event at an activated panel of the UE (Heading 6- MPE issue for multi-panel UE: in Rel-16, Ran4 provides some solution for MPE issue by introducing P-MPR report. After the UE declares MPE event and transmits panel specific P-MPR report, based on the tradeoff between performance of DL beam link and the performance of the UL beam link, the gNB selects an optimal UE panel and schedules data transmission. Prior to the UE declaring an MPE event, the MPE event is detected.)
report multiple Power Management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR) values in response to detecting a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event at an active panel where the bits indicate whether a P-MPR value corresponds to an activated panel (Heading 6- MPE issue for multi-panel UE: in Rel-16, Ran4 provides some solution for MPE issue by introducing P-MPR report. After the UE declares MPE event and transmits panel specific P-MPR report, based on the tradeoff between performance of DL beam link and the performance of the UL beam link, the gNB selects an optimal UE panel and schedules data transmission. Heading 6- MPE issue for multi-panel UE under proposal 23: the gNB determines the UL quality for the different panels based on the panel specific P-MPR report including P-MPR values and panel IDs. Therefore, the gNB will receive the plural P-MPR values as well as multiple P-MPR reports, one for each of the different panels and each of the reports will comprise P-MPR values.).
Vivo does not disclose reporting the P-MPR values via a MAC-CE containing a bitmap and reporting, via the MAC-CE, one or more channel state reference signal CSI-RS resource identifiers (IDs) or synchronization signal block SSB IDs.
Yuan discloses the communication system shown in figure 4. Paragraph 0006 discloses the UE may determine the maximum permissible exposure (MPE) condition. Paragraph 0066 discloses the UE 120 may transmit information indicating the one or more duty cycles. Additionally, the UE may transmit information regarding the maximum output power reduction value. Figures 5-8 are diagrams illustrating example messaging structures. The information indicating one or more duty cycles values may be provided in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE). Paragraph 0069 discloses the per beam duty cycle report may indicate a duty cycle. The information indicating the duty cycle may indicate a spatial RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS resource ID or an SSB ID). Paragraph 0071 discloses a messaging structure for reporting a maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) for a beam. In figure 7, the P-MPR relates to a transmit beam C4, as indicated by a bit of a bitmap in a position corresponding to a transmit beam C4 as shown by reference number 710. Since Yuan discloses the UE may transmit duty cycle information, such as the SSB-ID, as stated in paragraph 0069, discloses the UE may transmit duty cycle information and additionally transmit P-MPR value provided in a MAC-CE in paragraph 0066 and discloses the P-MPR is transmitted in a bitmap in paragraph 0071, Yuan discloses the report will include all of this information in the same transmit information. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Yuan into the UE, method and processor of Vivo. By transmitting all necessary information, P-MPR values and SSB-IDs via a MAC-CE containing a bitmap, in the same transmit information, the receiver can receive all the necessary information quickly, improving the efficiency and effectiveness of the communication system.
Regarding claims 3, 25 and 30, the combination discloses wherein, in response to the Maximum Permissible Exposure (MPE) event being detected on any activated panel that can be used for UL transmission by the UE, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to report P-MPR values corresponding to all activated panels on which the MPE event is detected (Vivo: Heading 6- MPE issue for multi-panel UE: in Rel-16, Ran4 provides some solution for MPE issue by introducing P-MPR report. After the UE declares MPE event and transmits panel specific P-MPR report, based on the tradeoff between performance of DL beam link and the performance of the UL beam link, the gNB selects an optimal UE panel and schedules data transmission. MPUE-Assumption 2: multiple panels are implemented on a UE and multiple panels can be activated at a time and one or more panels can be used for transmission.).
Regarding claims 4, 26 and 31, the combination discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to: report panel IDs of the activated panels on which the MPE event is detected (Vivo: Heading 6- MPE issue for multi-panel UE: in Rel-16, Pan4 provides some solution for MPE issue by introducing P-MPR report. After the UE declares MPE event and transmits panel specific P-MPR report, based on the tradeoff between performance of DL beam link and the performance of the UL beam link, the gNB selects an optimal UE panel and schedules data transmission. MPUE-Assumption 2: multiple panels are implemented on a UE and multiple panels can be activated at a time and one or more panels can be used for transmission.).
4. Claims 5, 27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIVO, "Discussion on multi-beam enhancement" 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e R1-2005363, August 28, 2020; pp. 1-21 in view of in view of Yuan et al (US 2022/0377680) further in view of Yuan et al (US 2023/0422185), referred to as Yuan2.
Regarding claims 5, 27 and 32, the combination of Vivo and Yuan discloses the UE, method and processor stated above. The combination does not disclose wherein the panel IDs are represented by the bitmap contained in the MAC-CE.
Yuan2 discloses beam-specific MPE reporting as stated in the abstract. The abstract discloses, detecting a MPE event and, upon detecting the MPE event, a PHR including at least one of a MPE value and at least one panel ID corresponding to the UE panels. Figures 7A and 7B show the bitmap comprising panel ID fields. Figure 9 shows the communication from the UE to the base station. Paragraph 0093 discloses PHR 944 may be associated with a bitmap of a MAC-CE, the bitmap includes a second bit for indicating the at least one panel ID. Two or more panel IDs may be indicated by a bit in a bitmap associated with the PHR, e.g., PHR 944, where the bit is set to a value of 1.
The use of a bitmap to convey information is well known. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Yuan2 into the UE, the method and the processor of the combination of Vivo and Yuan to utilize well known and efficient manners of conveying information like the PHR MAC CE.
5. Claims 11, 28 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIVO, "Discussion on multi-beam enhancement" 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e R1-2005363, August 28, 2020; pp. 1-21 in view of Yuan et al (US 2022/0377680) further in view of Gao et al (US 2021/0022130).
Regarding claims 11, 28 and 33, the combination of Vivo and Yuan discloses a UE side, the UE measures L1-RSRP/L1-SINR of SSB or CSI-RS resources through different panels and selects the best SSBRIs/CRIs as well as the best panels. The panel which is indicated explicitly or implicitly in beam report can be known by gNB for scheduling UE to measure CSI and data transmission. The indicated panels are identified and associated as active panels as disclosed in heading 4 of VIVO and the per beam duty cycle report may indicate a duty cycle. The information indicating the duty cycle may indicate a spatial RS ID (e.g., a CSI-RS resource ID or an SSB ID) as stated in paragraph 0069 of Yuan. The combination does not disclose these CSI-RS resource ID or an SSB ID are group IDs.
Gao discloses the communication system shown in figure 1. Gao discloses the UE comprises antenna panels 1-4 (paragraph 0033). Gao discloses, after the UE performs its measurements and generates a report, the UE sends or reports to the gNB the generated report associated with or linked to the CSI resource settings. In some embodiments, the report generated includes at least one of the following for beam management: CSI-RS resource index (CRI); CSI-RS resource set identifier (ID), resource-RS setting ID, a SSB resource indicator and information about grouping the one or more reference signal indexes. Each reference signal index is associated with any one or more CSI resource setting index, a reference signal resource set index, a reference signal resource index and a reporting configuration index. Since Gao discloses reporting the CSI-RS resource set identifier (ID), resource-RS setting ID, a SSB resource indicator and information about grouping the one or more reference signal indexes, Gao discloses wherein the panel ID is identified by a CSI-RS Resource indicator (CRI) group ID, an SS/PBCH Block Indication (SSBRI} group ID, a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS} resource set ID, an Uplink (UL}Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state group ID, or a joint TCI state group ID.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Gao into the UE, method and processor of the combination of Vivo and Yuan. Information regarding the grouping the one or more reference signal resource index and configuration index will allow a proper representation of the IDs that are transmitted to be receiver to be provided so that all of the transmitted IDs can be utilized at the receiver. By identifying the proper information and elements, the receiver will carry out the subsequent functions in an effective manner, reducing cost and complexity at the receiver.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 3/5/2026