DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive; Kao (US 20190224047 A1) does read on the new limitations. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to a device must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because device claims cover what a device is, not what a device does (MPEP 2114). Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, or elsewhere in a claim, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device/apparatus of Kao has interconnected fluid channels identical to the claimed invention and achieves the same purpose—draining aqueous humor flow. The intended purpose and function of Kao reads the functional language because by draining fluid through its channels to reduce the intraocular pressure; therefore, the channels are inevitably micro-tuned to achieve that purpose. Further, the flexibility of the plate is discussed (para. [0076, 0078]) therefore, the channels on the plate are inherently tuned to achieve at least one mechanical property of the plate to control the stiffness of the plate simply because the implant is placed in the same location as the claimed device, and similarly has the structural integrity for the fluid to be ushered through the channels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 13-16, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. (US 20190224047 A1) in view of Camras et al. (US 20160058615 A1), and in further view of Stegmann et al. (US 20120010702 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kao discloses a device for lowering intraocular pressure, the device (1) comprising: a plate comprising a first surface (211) opposite a second surface (212, para. [0046]); interconnected fluid channels (232, para. [0055]) formed in the plate and connected in-plane.
However, Kao fails to expressly disclose wherein the fluid channels have selected channel dimensions that are micro- tuned to produce a predetermined aqueous humor flow rate corresponding to a particular intraocular pressure demand for a patient, and tuned to achieve at least one mechanical property of the plate to control flexibility, stiffness and resistance to bending during implantation and in situ placement.
While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to a device must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because device claims cover what a device is, not what a device does (MPEP 2114). Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, or elsewhere in a claim, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device/apparatus of Kao has interconnected fluid channels identical to the claimed invention and achieves the same purpose—draining aqueous humor flow. The intended purpose and function of Kao reads the functional language because by draining fluid through its channels to reduce the intraocular pressure; therefore, the channels are inevitably micro-tuned to achieve that purpose. Further, the flexibility of the plate is discussed (para. [0076, 0078]) therefore, the channels on the plate are inherently tuned to achieve at least one mechanical property of the plate to control the stiffness of the plate simply because the implant is placed in the same location as the claimed device, and similarly has the structural integrity for the fluid to be ushered through the channels.
However, Kao fails to disclose a first coating on the first surface; and a second coating on the second surface.
Camras teaches a similar device in the same field of endeavor a first coating on the first surface (fig. 1, top side of head portion 36, para. [0075]); and a second coating on the second surface (fig. 1, bottom side of head portion 36, para. [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kao to have a coating as shown in Camras because it can enhance the device by adding an antimicrobial layer, antifibrotic layer, a therapeutic agent, or even a drug-eluting layer (para. [0075]).
However, Kao and Camras fails to disclose wherein at least one of the first surface or the second surface includes a marking that is visible under at least one of visible, ultraviolent, or infrared light for intraoperative or post-operative monitoring.
Stegmann teaches an ocular implant wherein at least one of the first surface or the second surface includes a marking that is visible under at least one of visible, ultraviolent, or infrared light for intraoperative or post-operative monitoring (para. [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kao and incorporate the marking of Stegmann to allow the medical practitioner to achieve the desired orientation and positioning of the device during implantation with a visual indicator to align the device as needed (para. [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1. Kao further discloses wherein the fluid channels form a hexagonal pattern (fig. 3).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1. However, Kao fails to disclose:
(Claim 3) wherein a first portion of the plate has a first thickness and a second portion of the plate has a second thickness;
(Claim 4) wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness.
Camras teaches:
(Claim 3) wherein a first portion of the plate (middle portion of head portion 36, fig. 1) has a first thickness and a second portion of the plate (either end portion of head portion 36, fig. 1) has a second thickness;
(Claim 4) wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness (fig. 1, para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kao and incorporate the variance in thicknesses of the plate as shown in Camras to create a smooth, continuous transition surface along the outer surface of the device to the surface of the eye (para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 3. Kao further discloses wherein the first portion includes an extension portion (250) and the second portion (240) includes a main body portion (para. [0083]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1. Kao further discloses wherein the interconnected fluid channels have dimensions between 10x14 and 12x18 micrometers (para. [0074]) and the plate includes a neck width between 2 and 5 millimeters (extension portion 250, para. [0089]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1. Kao further discloses wherein the plate is formed from a ceramic material selected from the group consisting of alumina, silicon nitride, silica, hafnium oxide, titanium nitride, and titanium carbide (para. [0076-0077]).
Regarding claims 9-11, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1, but Kao fails to disclose:
(Claim 9) wherein the first coating is a parylene polymer including at least one of parylene C, parylene D, parylene N, a derivative thereof, or a combination thereof;
(Claim 10) wherein the second coating is aluminum oxide or a parylene polymer (para. [0075]);
(Claim 11) wherein at least one of the first coating or the second coating includes at least one of a biocompatible film, a porous coating, or a lubricious coating.
Camras teaches:
(Claim 9) wherein the first coating is a parylene polymer including at least one of parylene C, parylene D, parylene N, a derivative thereof, or a combination thereof (para. [0075]);
(Claim 10) wherein the second coating is aluminum oxide or a parylene polymer (para. [0075]);
(Claim 11) wherein at least one of the first coating or the second coating includes at least one of a biocompatible film, a porous coating, or a lubricious coating (para. [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kao to have a coating as shown in Camras because it can enhance the device by adding an antimicrobial layer, antifibrotic layer, a therapeutic agent, or even a drug-eluting layer (para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1. Kao further discloses wherein the series of fluid channels includes a plurality of open-ended channels that are interconnected to form an intersecting grid pattern of fluid pathways (para. [0061, 0069], figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1. Kao further discloses wherein the plate has a core thickness between 300 and 800 nanometers (para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Heitzmann discloses the device of claim 1, but Kao fails to disclose wherein the plate structure includes at least one geometric feature for attachment to patient tissue (para. [0222]).
Heitzmann teaches wherein the plate structure includes at least one geometric feature for attachment to patient tissue (para. [0222]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kao and incorporate the geometric feature as shown in Heitzmann to securely anchor the implant to the intraocular tissue (para. [0222]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1. However, Kao fails to disclose wherein the markings include crossing lines.
Stegmann teaches markings on the implant (para. [0052]), but does not specify the exact shape or design of the marking.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the markings a crossed line since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. The markings of Stegmann and the claimed invention achieve the same purpose—being able to identify the positioning of the implant when implanted, and whether the markings are parallel lines, crossing lines, a single line, etc. the same purpose is achieved. MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1. Kao further discloses where the mechanical property of the plate includes tensile elasticity and bending stiffness (para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1. Kao further discloses wherein the selected channel dimensions include at least a channel rib width, hexagon diameter, channel height, and channel rib thickness (para. [0072, 0074]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao (US 20190224047 A1) in view of Camras (US 20160058615 A1), Stegmann et al. (US 20120010702 A1), and Heitzmann (US 20180333296 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kao, Camras, and Stegmann discloses the device of claim 1, but Kao fails to disclose wherein the plate structure includes at least one notch along a perimeter, the notch being indicative as to whether the first surface or the second surface is visible to a surgeon.
Heitzmann teaches an ocular implant wherein the plate structure includes at least one notch (positioning element 526, can be an indentation) along a perimeter (para. [0269]), the notch being indicative as to whether the first surface or the second surface is visible to a surgeon (para. [0269], rotating the implant so the proper side is facing outward or facing the eye).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kao and incorporate the notch as shown in Heitzmann to allow the medical practitioner to achieve the desired orientation of the device during implantation with a visual indicator to align the device as needed (para. [0269]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao (US 20190224047 A1) in view of Camras (US 20160058615 A1), Stegmann et al. (US 20120010702 A1) and in further view of Rodstrom et al. (US 20080181930 A1).
The combination of Kao and Camras discloses the device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first coating has a thickness of about 0.1 µm to about 10 µm.
Rodstrom teaches a similar ocular implant with a parylene coating wherein the first coating has a thickness of about 0.1 µm to about 10 µm (para. [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating thickness of Rodstrom from between 0.5 nanometers and 100 micrometers to between 0.1 and 10 micrometers since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP 2114.05. Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see para. [0074] of specification indicating the thickness “may” be within the claimed range).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao (US 20190224047 A1) in view of Camras (US 20160058615 A1), Stegmann et al. (US 20120010702 A1) and in further view of De Juan et al. (US 20070191863 A1).
The combination of Kao and Camras discloses the device of claim 1, but the combination fails to disclose wherein the biocompatible film includes polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or enhanced PTFE.
De Juan teaches a glaucoma treatment device wherein the biocompatible film includes polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or enhanced PTFE (para. [0100, 0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Kao and incorporate the biocompatible film as shown in De Juan to promote healing of the shunt into the surrounding tissue (para. [0100, 0103]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN A KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SUSAN S SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781 10 June 2026