DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to application number 18/553,097 filed on February 6th 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS), submitted on October 2nd 2025 and May 13th 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 ,11-14 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220303097 A1) in view of Moles et al. (CA 3082587 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Zhang et al. disclose a method for transmitting information, performed by user equipment (UE), and comprising: obtaining a target demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port associated with uplink transmission for phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS), wherein the target DMRS port is used for PT-RS transmission at a first transmission occasion of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0044 discloses “The association between a PTRS port and a DMRS port may be provided through control signaling that provides the grant information. For example, for DG-PUSCH, the association between a PTRS and a DMRS port may be indicated by a DCI field PTRS-DMRS association with reference to Table 1 for one PTRS port and Table 2 for two PTRS ports.”); determining a target DMRS port associated with each subsequent transmission occasion for a PT-RS transmission, wherein one PT-RS port corresponds to one target DMRS port at each transmission occasion, the target DMRS port is comprised in a DMRS port group associated with the corresponding PT-RS port, and target DMRS ports corresponding to two adjacent transmission occasions are different (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0102 discloses “configuration information may indicate that the PTRS-to-DMRS association is to be based on PTRS port cycling. For example, if the DG-PUSCH transmission is associated with N DMRS ports, where N is an integer, the PTRS-to-DMRS association may be determined for each repetition of a repetition set based on a repetition index (k) among the one or more repetitions. For example, a PTRS port may be associated with DMRS port k mod N. In this embodiment, k=0 for a first repetition of particular repetition set and is incremented by one for subsequent repetitions of the repetition set.” Additionally paragraph 0160); and mapping a PT-RS port to a corresponding target DMRS port at each transmission occasion for the PT-RS transmission (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0045 discloses “… if one PTRS port is enabled, and value ‘0’ is indicated in DCI, then, based on Table 1, the one PTRS port, e.g., PTRS port 0, is associated with the first scheduled DMRS port.”)
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose sending UE capability information to a base station, wherein the UE capability information is used for indicating whether the UE has a sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping; obtaining an alternate mapping configuration instruction sent by the base station when the UE capability information indicates that the UE has the sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping, wherein the alternate mapping configuration instruction is used for indicating the UE to transmit the PT-RS according to PT-RS alternate mapping.
However in an analogous art Moles et al. teaches sending UE capability information to a base station, wherein the UE capability information is used for indicating whether the UE has a sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping (CA 3082587 A1 Page 30 Lines 14-21 discloses “In NR, phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) can be configured for downlink and uplink transmissions in order for the receiver to correct phase noise related errors. The PT-RS configuration is UE-specific and it is agreed that the PT-RS is associated with one of the DM-RS ports used for the transmission, meaning that DM -RS and its associated PT-RS are transmitted using the same precoder and meaning that the modulated symbol used for the PT-RS is taken from the DM -RS, whatever DM -RS sequence is configured. It means that there is no specific configuration of the PT-RS sequence as it borrows from the DM -RS.” The fact that PT-RS configuration from the BS indicates that that BS is aware of UE PTRS capabilities. Additionally Page 49 Bullet 14 discloses “For chunk- based pre - OFT PTRS insertion for DFTsOFDM with X chunks of size K= {2 , 4 }, support the following: For K=2 , the samples in OFT domain are divided in X intervals , and the chunks are located in each interval in samples n to n+K- 1 where then is FFS.For K=4 , the samples in OFT domain are divided in X intervals , where in the first interval the chunk is placed in the Head ( first K samples ), in the last interval the chunk is placed in the Tail (last K samples) , and in the rest of intervals the chunk is placed in the middle of each of the two intervals”. The use of Head, Middle and Tail for the placement of chucks indicates alternate mapping over standard mapping. Page 49 Bullet 3 discloses “UE to report the desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports as UE capability” Examiner notes – when UE reports through UE Capability desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports this implies that UE is able to support sending to the BS PTRS transmission capability ); obtaining an alternate mapping configuration instruction sent by the base station when the UE capability information indicates that the UE has the sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping, wherein the alternate mapping configuration instruction is used for indicating the UE to transmit the PT-RS according to PT-RS alternate mapping (Page 49 Bullet 14 as cited above disclose PTRS alternate mapping, Page 49 Bullet 15 discloses configuration by the BS of PT-RS alternate mapping through “For PTRS f or DFT- s - OFDM, support a RRC parameter« UL - PTRS - frequency- density-transformprecoding » indicating a set of thresholds T= {NRBn , n=0 , 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 ), per BWP that indicates the value s of X and K the UE should use depending on the scheduled BW according to the table below”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Moles et al. to sending UE capability information to a base station, wherein the UE capability information is used for indicating whether the UE has a sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping; obtaining an alternate mapping configuration instruction sent by the base station when the UE capability information indicates that the UE has the sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping, wherein the alternate mapping configuration instruction is used for indicating the UE to transmit the PT-RS according to PT-RS alternate mapping., in order to provide flexibility to manage interference and collision.
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining, the corresponding target DMRS port used for transmitting the PT-RS at each subsequent transmission occasion according to the alternate mapping configuration instruction and according to a predefined port selecting rule and an alternate mapping parameter K, wherein the alternate mapping parameter K is used for indicating a number of alternate mapping DMRS ports supported by the UE on each PT-RS port, K is a positive integer, and 2≤K≤a number of DMRS ports in the DMRS port group associated with the corresponding PT-RS port (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0102 discloses “configuration information may indicate that the PTRS-to-DMRS association is to be based on PTRS port cycling. For example, if the DG-PUSCH transmission is associated with N DMRS ports, where N is an integer, the PTRS-to-DMRS association may be determined for each repetition of a repetition set based on a repetition index (k) among the one or more repetitions. For example, a PTRS port may be associated with DMRS port k mod N. In this embodiment, k=0 for a first repetition of particular repetition set and is incremented by one for subsequent repetitions of the repetition set.” Additionally paragraph 0160).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining at least one of an alternate mapping parameter K and/or a port selecting rule configured by the base station, wherein the alternate mapping parameter K is used for indicating a number of alternate mapping DMRS ports supported by the UE on each PT-RS port, K is a positive integer, and 2≤K≤a number of DMRS ports in the DMRS port group associated with the corresponding PT-RS port; and determining, by the UE, the corresponding target DMRS port used for transmitting the PT-RS at each subsequent transmission occasion according to the alternate mapping configuration instruction and according to the port selecting rule and the alternate mapping parameter K (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0102 discloses “configuration information may indicate that the PTRS-to-DMRS association is to be based on PTRS port cycling. For example, if the DG-PUSCH transmission is associated with N DMRS ports, where N is an integer, the PTRS-to-DMRS association may be determined for each repetition of a repetition set based on a repetition index (k) among the one or more repetitions. For example, a PTRS port may be associated with DMRS port k mod N. In this embodiment, k=0 for a first repetition of particular repetition set and is incremented by one for subsequent repetitions of the repetition set.” Additionally paragraph 0160).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein at least one of the alternate mapping parameter K and/or the port selecting rule are/is configured by the base station through high-layer signaling (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0102 discloses “configuration information may indicate that the PTRS-to-DMRS association is to be based on PTRS port cycling. For example, if the DG-PUSCH transmission is associated with N DMRS ports, where N is an integer, the PTRS-to-DMRS association may be determined for each repetition of a repetition set based on a repetition index (k) among the one or more repetitions. For example, a PTRS port may be associated with DMRS port k mod N. In this embodiment, k=0 for a first repetition of particular repetition set and is incremented by one for subsequent repetitions of the repetition set.”.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the UE comprises a single PT-RS port, and the PT-RS port is associated with a group of DMRS ports scheduled and assigned for the UE (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0095 discloses “ In particular, one or more PTRS ports may be associated with one or more scheduled DMRS ports.” )
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the UE comprises a plurality of PT-RS ports, and each PT-RS port is associated with a DMRS port group, wherein the DMRS port group associated with each PT-RS port is configured by the base station through high-layer signaling (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0095 discloses “ In particular, one or more PTRS ports may be associated with one or more scheduled DMRS ports.”; and each PT-RS port corresponds to an alternate mapping parameter K that is predefined or is configured by the base station Paragraph 0093 discloses “The one or more DCI may include the indications of the association values in one or more fields.” )
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining the target DMRS port associated with the uplink transmission for the PT-RS comprises: obtaining downlink control information (DCI) sent by the base station, wherein the DCI comprises the target DMRS port (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0044 discloses “The association between a PTRS port and a DMRS port may be provided through control signaling that provides the grant information. For example, for DG-PUSCH, the association between a PTRS and a DMRS port may be indicated by a DCI field PTRS-DMRS association with reference to Table 1 for one PTRS port and Table 2 for two PTRS ports.”)
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the PT-RS is used for at least one of repeated transmission based on a scheduled PUSCH and/or repeated transmission based on a non-scheduled PUSCH (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0052 discloses “A first option may include using only a single port PTRS port for PUSCH scheduled with repetitions…”)
Regarding claim 9, Zhang et al. disclose a method for transmitting information, performed by a base station, and comprising: sending a target demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port associated with uplink transmission for phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) to UE, wherein the target DMRS port is used for PT-RS transmission at a first transmission occasion of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0044 discloses “The association between a PTRS port and a DMRS port may be provided through control signaling that provides the grant information. For example, for DG-PUSCH, the association between a PTRS and a DMRS port may be indicated by a DCI field PTRS-DMRS association with reference to Table 1 for one PTRS port and Table 2 for two PTRS ports.”)
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: receiving UE capability information sent by the UE, wherein the UE capability information is used for indicating whether the UE has a sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping; and sending an alternate mapping configuration instruction to the UE when the UE capability information received by the base station indicates that the UE has the sending capability supporting the PT-RS alternate mapping, wherein the alternate mapping configuration instruction is used for indicating the UE to transmit the PT- RS according to the PT-RS alternate mapping.
However in an analogous art Moles et al. teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving UE capability information sent by the UE, wherein the UE capability information is used for indicating whether the UE has a sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping; (CA 3082587 A1 Page 30 Lines 14-21 discloses “In NR, phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) can be configured for downlink and uplink transmissions in order for the receiver to correct phase noise related errors. The PT-RS configuration is UE-specific and it is agreed that the PT-RS is associated with one of the DM-RS ports used for the transmission, meaning that DM -RS and its associated PT-RS are transmitted using the same precoder and meaning that the modulated symbol used for the PT-RS is taken from the DM -RS, whatever DM -RS sequence is configured. It means that there is no specific configuration of the PT-RS sequence as it borrows from the DM -RS.” The fact that PT-RS configuration from the BS indicates that that BS is aware of UE PTRS capabilities. Additionally Page 49 Bullet 14 discloses “For chunk- based pre - OFT PTRS insertion for DFTsOFDM with X chunks of size K= {2 , 4 }, support the following: For K=2 , the samples in OFT domain are divided in X intervals , and the chunks are located in each interval in samples n to n+K- 1 where then is FFS.For K=4 , the samples in OFT domain are divided in X intervals , where in the first interval the chunk is placed in the Head ( first K samples ), in the last interval the chunk is placed in the Tail (last K samples) , and in the rest of intervals the chunk is placed in the middle of each of the two intervals”. The use of Head, Middle and Tail for the placement of chucks indicates alternate mapping over standard mapping. Page 49 Bullet 3 discloses “UE to report the desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports as UE capability” Examiner notes – when UE reports through UE Capability desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports this implies that UE is able to support sending to the BS PTRS transmission capability ); and sending an alternate mapping configuration instruction to the UE when the UE capability information received by the base station indicates that the UE has the sending capability supporting the PT-RS alternate mapping, wherein the alternate mapping configuration instruction is used for indicating the UE to transmit the PT- RS according to the PT-RS alternate mapping. (Page 49 Bullet 14 as cited above disclose PTRS alternate mapping, Page 49 Bullet 15 discloses configuration by the BS of PT-RS alternate mapping though “For PTRS f or DFT- s - OFDM, support a RRC parameter« UL - PTRS - frequency- density-transformprecoding » indicating a set of thresholds T= {NRBn , n=0 , 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 ), per BWP that indicates the value s of X and K the UE should use depending on the scheduled BW according to the table below”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Moles et al. receiving UE capability information sent by the UE, wherein the UE capability information is used for indicating whether the UE has a sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping; and sending an alternate mapping configuration instruction to the UE when the UE capability information received by the base station indicates that the UE has the sending capability supporting the PT-RS alternate mapping, wherein the alternate mapping configuration instruction is used for indicating the UE to transmit the PT- RS according to the PT-RS alternate mapping.., in order to provide flexibility to manage interference and collision.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 9, further comprising: sending at least one of an alternate mapping parameter K or a port selecting rule to the UE through high-layer signaling (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0102 discloses “configuration information may indicate that the PTRS-to-DMRS association is to be based on PTRS port cycling. For example, if the DG-PUSCH transmission is associated with N DMRS ports, where N is an integer, the PTRS-to-DMRS association may be determined for each repetition of a repetition set based on a repetition index (k) among the one or more repetitions. For example, a PTRS port may be associated with DMRS port k mod N. In this embodiment, k=0 for a first repetition of particular repetition set and is incremented by one for subsequent repetitions of the repetition set.” Additionally paragraph 0160).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 9, wherein sending the target DMRS port associated with the uplink transmission for the PT-RS to the UE comprises: sending downlink control information (DCI) to the UE, wherein the DCI comprises the target DMRS port (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0044 discloses “The association between a PTRS port and a DMRS port may be provided through control signaling that provides the grant information. For example, for DG-PUSCH, the association between a PTRS and a DMRS port may be indicated by a DCI field PTRS-DMRS association with reference to Table 1 for one PTRS port and Table 2 for two PTRS ports.”)
Regarding claim 13, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 9, wherein the UE comprises a single PT-RS port, and the PT-RS port is associated with a group of DMRS ports scheduled and assigned for the UE. (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0095 discloses “ In particular, one or more PTRS ports may be associated with one or more scheduled DMRS ports.” )
Regarding claim 14, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 9, wherein the UE comprises a plurality of PT-RS ports, and each PT-RS port is associated with a DMRS port group, wherein the DMRS port group associated with each PT-RS port is configured by the base station through high-layer signaling (US 20220303097 Paragraph 0095 discloses “ In particular, one or more PTRS ports may be associated with one or more scheduled DMRS ports.”; and each PT-RS port corresponds to an alternate mapping parameter K that is predefined or is configured by the base station Paragraph 0093 discloses “The one or more DCI may include the indications of the association values in one or more fields.” );
Regarding claim 18, Zhang et al. disclose a base station, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor, connected with the transceiver and the memory, configured to control wireless signal transceiving of the transceiver and execute computer-executable instructions stored in the memory to implement the method according to claim 9 (Paragraph 0135).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang et al. disclose a non-transitory computer storage medium, storing computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions are executed by a processor to implement the method according to claim 1 (Paragraph 0122).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220303097 A1) in view of Moles et al. (CA 3082587 A1) further in view of Qiao et al. (WO 2015096081 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang et al. disclose the method according to claim 2.
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the predefined port selecting rule comprises: determining a priority of channel quality of a channel corresponding to a DMRS port according to a possible quality distribution probability of a data layer, and selecting, based on the priority, K DMRS ports in the DMRS port group as the target DMRS ports; or randomly selecting K DMRS ports in the DMRS port group as the target DMRS ports.
However in an analogous art Qiao et al teaches wherein the predefined port selecting rule comprises: determining a priority of channel quality of a channel corresponding to a DMRS port according to a possible quality distribution probability of a data layer, and selecting, based on the priority, K DMRS ports in the DMRS port group as the target DMRS ports; or randomly selecting K DMRS ports in the DMRS port group as the target DMRS ports (WO 2015096081 A1 Page 15 Paragraph 1 discloses “A group is not the last group of unassigned DMRSs in the two groups, and then DMRS 2 is randomly selected in the DMRS corresponding to the three data streams that have not yet been allocated, DMRS 2 is determined as the first DMRS, and DMRS2 is assigned to the first group.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. and Moles et al. to incorporate the teachings of Qiao et al. to randomly select K DMRS ports in the DMRS port group as the target DMRS ports, in order to minimize the probability of collisions.
Response to Arguments
In the arguments dated February 6th 2026 the applicant states that Zhang or Moles does not support “sending UE capability information to a base station, wherein the UE capability information is used for indicating whether the UE has a sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping; and obtaining an alternate mapping configuration instruction sent by the base station when the UE capability information indicates that the UE has the sending capability supporting the PT-RS alternate mapping, wherein the alternate mapping configuration instruction is used for indicating the UE to transmit the PT-RS according to the PT-RS alternate mapping," as recited by independent claim 1 as hereby amended.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees as Moles et al. specifically addresses amended limitations of clam 1. Moles et al. teaches sending UE capability information to a base station, wherein the UE capability information is used for indicating whether the UE has a sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping (CA 3082587 A1 Page 30 Lines 14-21 discloses “In NR, phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) can be configured for downlink and uplink transmissions in order for the receiver to correct phase noise related errors. The PT-RS configuration is UE-specific and it is agreed that the PT-RS is associated with one of the DM-RS ports used for the transmission, meaning that DM -RS and its associated PT-RS are transmitted using the same precoder and meaning that the modulated symbol used for the PT-RS is taken from the DM -RS, whatever DM -RS sequence is configured. It means that there is no specific configuration of the PT-RS sequence as it borrows from the DM -RS.” The fact that PT-RS configuration from the BS indicates that that BS is aware of UE PTRS capabilities. Additionally Page 49 Bullet 14 discloses “For chunk- based pre - OFT PTRS insertion for DFTsOFDM with X chunks of size K= {2 , 4 }, support the following: For K=2 , the samples in OFT domain are divided in X intervals , and the chunks are located in each interval in samples n to n+K- 1 where then is FFS.For K=4 , the samples in OFT domain are divided in X intervals , where in the first interval the chunk is placed in the Head ( first K samples ), in the last interval the chunk is placed in the Tail (last K samples) , and in the rest of intervals the chunk is placed in the middle of each of the two intervals”. The use of Head, Middle and Tail for the placement of chucks indicates alternate mapping over standard mapping. Page 49 Bullet 3 discloses “UE to report the desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports as UE capability” Examiner notes – when UE reports through UE Capability desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports this implies that UE is able to support sending to the BS PTRS transmission capability ); obtaining an alternate mapping configuration instruction sent by the base station when the UE capability information indicates that the UE has the sending capability supporting PT-RS alternate mapping, wherein the alternate mapping configuration instruction is used for indicating the UE to transmit the PT-RS according to PT-RS alternate mapping (Page 49 Bullet 14 as cited above disclose PTRS alternate mapping, Page 49 Bullet 15 discloses configuration by the BS of PT-RS alternate mapping though “For PTRS f or DFT- s - OFDM, support a RRC parameter« UL - PTRS - frequency- density-transformprecoding » indicating a set of thresholds T= {NRBn , n=0 , 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 ), per BWP that indicates the value s of X and K the UE should use depending on the scheduled BW according to the table below”)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Samuel Dilan Rutnam/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471