DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 5 April 2024 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 28 September 2023, 3 January 2025, 15 April 2026, and 14 September 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 28 September 2023, 3 January 2025, 15 April 2026, and 14 September 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered and attached by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-56 were originally filed on 28 September 2023.
Claims 10, 20, 30, and 34-56 were canceled by preliminary amendments filed on 5 April 2024.
Claims 1-9, 11-19, 21-29, and 31-33 remain pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11, 13-15, 19, 21-24, 26-27, 29, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 2017/0366305, hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding Claim 1, Hwang discloses a user equipment, comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 11 and ¶ 200 discloses an MTC device as including a radio frequency (RF) unit that transmits and/or receives a wireless signal; ¶ 201 discloses the RF unit as including a baseband circuit for processing a radio signal);
a memory (Fig. 11 and ¶ 200 discloses the MTC device as including memory); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory (Fig. 11 and ¶ 200 disclose the MTC device as further including a processor connected to the memory and RF unit; ¶ 198 discloses the illustrated wireless communication system of Fig. 11 as implementing Hwang's disclosure — thus, the MTC device is understood as synonymous with the disclosed user equipment (UE) of Fig. 10 since both the UE and MTC device have the same reference number), wherein the processor and the memory are configured to:
receive data on a first component carrier of a plurality of component carriers (Fig. 10, ¶¶ 121 and 124 disclose a method of carrier aggregation wherein a base station (BS) transmitting downlink (DL) data to the UE on a plurality of carriers; ¶¶ 90-95 disclose carrier aggregation as necessarily including use of component carriers — thus disclosure of carriers in carrier aggregation is disclosure of component carriers in carrier aggregation), the plurality of component carriers being associated with an uplink control channel group (¶ 135 discloses that in a time division duplex (TDD) system, the DL subframes used for the DL data transmission correspond to a single uplink (UL) subframe); and
receive a first indication that the user equipment is allowed to transmit feedback for the data on a second component carrier of the plurality of component carriers (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 122-123 and 133-134 disclose the BS configuring the UE via higher layer signaling (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling) to indicate lists of a plurality of HARQ-ACK/NACK sets as transmission targets for UE transmission and DL control information (DCI) indicating one of the plurality of sets of cells upon which the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback).
Regarding Claim 3, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
transmit the feedback on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) of the second component carrier after the receiving the first indication (Fig. 10 and ¶ 126 disclose the UE transmitting UCI after receiving the RRC signaling and DCI; and ¶¶ 114-115 disclose UCI as transmitted using a PUCCH format).
Regarding Claim 4, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 3, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
receive the data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of the first component carrier (¶ 56-57 disclose that DL data is generally transmitted (such as illustrated in Fig. 10) in a PDSCH; ¶ 95 discloses cross-carrier scheduling, as used in the disclosed carrier aggregation system, wherein resources are allocated for PDSCH transmission; and ¶ 131 discloses the UL channel (UCI) transmission as including HARQ-ACK for a PDSCH carrying the DL data depending the PDSCH’s downlink assignment index).
Regarding Claim 5, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
receive a second indication that the user equipment is allowed to transmit the feedback for the data on a third component carrier of the plurality of component carriers (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 122-123 and 133-134 disclose the BS configuring the UE via higher layer signaling (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling) to indicate lists of a plurality of HARQ-ACK/NACK sets as transmission targets for UE transmission and DL control information (DCI) indicating one of the plurality of sets of cells upon which the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback — the disclosed higher layer signaling encompasses the claimed first indication and second indication); and
select between the second component carrier and the third component carrier for transmitting the feedback (¶ 134 discloses the UE selecting one of the plurality of sets).
Regarding Claim 9, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
receive a first resource allocation, wherein the first resource allocation is for transmission of the feedback for the data on the first component carrier (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 122-123 and 133-134 disclose the BS configuring the UE via higher layer signaling (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling) to indicate lists of a plurality of HARQ-ACK/NACK sets as transmission targets for UE transmission and DL control information (DCI) indicating one of the plurality of sets of cells upon which the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback — the disclosed higher layer signaling encompasses the claimed first indication and second indication); and
receive a second resource allocation, wherein the second resource allocation is for transmission of the feedback for the data on the second component carrier of the plurality of component carriers (Id.).
Regarding Claims 11, 13-15, and 19, though of varying scope, the limitations of claims 11, 13-15, and 19 are substantially similar or identical to those of claims 1, 3-5, and 9, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Regarding Claim 21, Hwang discloses a user equipment, comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 11 and ¶ 200 discloses an MTC device as including a radio frequency (RF) unit that transmits and/or receives a wireless signal; ¶ 201 discloses the RF unit as including a baseband circuit for processing a radio signal);
a memory (Fig. 11 and ¶ 200 discloses the MTC device as including memory); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory (Fig. 11 and ¶ 200 disclose the MTC device as further including a processor connected to the memory and RF unit; ¶ 198 discloses the illustrated wireless communication system of Fig. 11 as implementing Hwang's disclosure — thus, the MTC device is understood as synonymous with the disclosed user equipment (UE) of Fig. 10 since both the UE and MTC device have the same reference number), wherein the processor and the memory are configured to:
receive data on a first component carrier of a plurality of component carriers, the plurality of component carriers being associated with an uplink control channel group (Fig. 10, ¶¶ 121 and 124 disclose a method of carrier aggregation wherein a base station (BS) transmitting downlink (DL) data to the UE on a plurality of carriers; ¶¶ 90-95 disclose carrier aggregation as necessarily including use of component carriers — thus disclosure of carriers in carrier aggregation is disclosure of component carriers in carrier aggregation; ¶ 135 discloses that in a time division duplex (TDD) system, the DL subframes used for the DL data transmission correspond to a single uplink (UL) subframe; and ¶ 110 discloses cells being classified into two groups, each with a PUCCH resource allocated to them);
receive a first resource allocation, the first resource allocation being for transmission of feedback for the data on the first component carrier (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 122-123 and 133-134 disclose the BS configuring the UE via higher layer signaling (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling) to indicate lists of a plurality of HARQ-ACK/NACK sets as transmission targets for UE transmission and DL control information (DCI) indicating one of the plurality of sets of cells upon which the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback); and
receive a second resource allocation, the second resource allocation being for transmission of the feedback for the data on a second component carrier of the plurality of component carriers (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 122-123 and 133-134 disclose the BS configuring the UE via higher layer signaling (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling) to indicate lists of a plurality of HARQ-ACK/NACK sets as transmission targets for UE transmission and DL control information (DCI) indicating one of the plurality of sets of cells upon which the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback — the disclosed higher layer signaling encompasses the claimed first indication and second indication).
Regarding Claim 22, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 21, wherein:
the first resource allocation specifies a first set of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the first component carrier (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 122-123 and 133-134 disclose the BS configuring the UE via higher layer signaling (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling) to indicate lists of a plurality of HARQ-ACK/NACK sets as transmission targets for UE transmission and DL control information (DCI) indicating one of the plurality of sets of cells upon which the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback); and
the second resource allocation specifies a second set of PUCCH resources for the second component carrier (Id.).
Regarding Claim 23, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 21, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
receive at least one radio resource control (RRC) configuration message that indicates the first resource allocation and the second resource allocation (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 122-123 and 133-134 disclose the BS configuring the UE via higher layer signaling (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling) to indicate lists of a plurality of HARQ-ACK/NACK sets as transmission targets for UE transmission).
Regarding Claim 24, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 21, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
receive a third resource allocation, wherein the third resource allocation is for transmission of the feedback for the data on a third component carrier of the plurality of component carriers (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 122-123 and 133-134 disclose the BS configuring the UE via higher layer signaling (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling) to indicate lists of a plurality of HARQ-ACK/NACK sets as transmission targets for UE transmission and DL control information (DCI) indicating one of the plurality of sets of cells upon which the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback).
Regarding Claim 26, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 24, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
transmit the feedback on the second component carrier or the third component carrier (¶ 134 discloses the UE selecting one of the plurality of sets).
Regarding Claim 27, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 21, wherein:
the first component carrier is assigned a first bandwidth (¶ 42 discloses that frequency resources (e.g., a component carrier) occupy frequency bands – thus, a first component carrier necessarily occupies (is assigned to) a first bandwidth); and
the second component carrier is assigned a second bandwidth that is different from the first bandwidth (Id. and ¶¶ 95 and 189 disclose a carrier aggregation system, such as that disclosed in association with Fig. 10, utilizing cross-carrier scheduling — thus, different component carriers as disclosed are assigned to different bandwidths).
Regarding Claim 29, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 21, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
receive a first indication that the user equipment is allowed to transmit the feedback for the data on the second component carrier of the plurality of component carriers (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 122-123 and 133-134 disclose the BS configuring the UE via higher layer signaling (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling) to indicate lists of a plurality of HARQ-ACK/NACK sets as transmission targets for UE transmission and DL control information (DCI) indicating one of the plurality of sets of cells upon which the UE may transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback).
Regarding Claims 31-33, though of varying scope, the limitations of claims 31-33 are substantially similar or identical to those of claims 21-23, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Geirhofer et al. (US 2013/0343301, hereinafter Geirhofer).
Regarding Claim 2, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes the first indication (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 122-123 and 133-134 disclose the BS configuring the UE via higher layer signaling (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling) to indicate lists of a plurality of HARQ-ACK/NACK sets as transmission targets for UE transmission).
Hwang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication is on a per component carrier basis.
However, in analogous art, Geirhofer discloses an RRC message that includes the first indication on a per component carrier basis (Fig. 13, ¶¶ 114, 117, and 125 disclose a base station providing separate RRC-configured sets that are defined per CC).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Geirhofer to modify Hwang in order to define RRC-configured sets of resources per CC. One would have been motivated to do this, because per CC RRC configuration enables carrier aggregation (CA) in combination with coordinated multi-point (CoMP), wherein joint operations of CoMP and CA offers flexibility allowing a UE to support up to five times the channel state information (CSI) feedback load as compared to non-CA CoMP (Geirhofer ¶¶ 93-94).
Regarding Claim 12, though of varying scope, the limitations of claim 12 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claims 6-8, 16-18, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang as applied to claims 1, 5, 11, 15, 21, and 24 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0204905, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 6, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 5.
Hwang may not explicitly disclose wherein:
the first component carrier is a primary component carrier;
the second component carrier is a first secondary component carrier; and
the third component carrier is a second secondary component carrier.
However, in analogous art, Lee discloses wherein:
the first component carrier is a primary component carrier (¶ 64 discloses that the primary component carrier is the carrier used by the base station to exchange traffic with a user equipment);
the second component carrier is a first secondary component carrier (¶ 65 discloses a secondary component carrier; ¶ 66 discloses a multi-carrier aggregation mode wherein secondary component carriers are allocated, and setting information is provided on the secondary component carrier); and
the third component carrier is a second secondary component carrier (¶ 66 discloses a plurality of secondary).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Lee to modify Hwang in order to enable use of. One would have been motivated to do this, because provision of setting information and traffic on the primary and secondary component carriers enables a multi-carrier aggregation mode of a system to meet a system load, peak data rate, or service quality requirement (Lee ¶ 66).
Regarding Claim 7, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 1.
Hwang discloses wherein the uplink control channel group comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (¶ 135 discloses that in a time division duplex (TDD) system, the DL subframes used for the DL data transmission correspond to a single uplink (UL) subframe; and ¶ 110 discloses cells being classified into two groups, each with a PUCCH resource allocated to them).
Hwang may not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink control channel group comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) group for uplink carrier aggregation.
However, in analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the uplink control channel group comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) group for uplink carrier aggregation (Fig. 10 and ¶¶ 156-157 disclose a UE being configured with a PUCCH cell per PUCCH group and generating multiplexed HARQ feedback of all HARQ processes of all configured cells).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Lee to modify Hwang in order to have a base station configure a UE with component carriers of PUCCH groups. One would have been motivated to do this, because association with PUCCH groups may help enable the UE to multiplex feedback for cells/component carriers (Lee ¶ 164).
Regarding Claim 8, Hwang discloses the user equipment of claim 1.
Hwang may not explicitly disclose wherein:
the second component carrier is a primary component carrier; and
the first component carrier is a secondary component carrier.
However, in analogous art, Lee discloses wherein:
the second component carrier is a primary component carrier (¶ 64 discloses that the primary component carrier is the carrier used by the base station to exchange control signaling with a user equipment); and
the first component carrier is a secondary component carrier (¶¶ 65-66 disclose use of secondary component carriers for transmitting data, and that a multi-carrier aggregation mode wherein secondary component carriers are allocated, setting information is provided on the secondary component carrier).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Lee to modify Hwang in order to enable use of a range of primary component carrier and a plurality of secondary component carriers. One would have been motivated to do this, because provision of setting information and traffic on the primary and secondary component carriers enables a multi-carrier aggregation mode of a system to meet a system load, peak data rate, or service quality requirement (Lee ¶ 66).
Regarding Claims 16-18, though of varying scope, the limitations of claims 16-18 are substantially similar or identical to those of claims 6-8, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Regarding Claim 25, though of a different scope, the limitations of claim 25 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 6, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Regarding Claim 28, though of a different scope, the limitations of claim 28 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 8, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2019/0313401), at Fig. 11 and associated description, discloses a base station transmitting a System Information Block to a UE configuring resource sets, and Downlink Control Information (DCI) indicating uplink resources for Uplink Control Information (UCI) transmission in a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) transmission, and the UE transmitting the UCI in the PUCCH;
Kuo (US 2011/0274057), at Fig. 6 and associated description, discloses a UE receiving a RRC message for configuring CA and the UE flushing UL HARQ buffers corresponding to an UL CC linked to a DL CC providing PDCCH scheduling for the UL CC is deactivated;
Chen et al. (US 2016/0095105), at Fig. 14 and associated description, discloses a UE receiving multiple UL resource grants;
Rastegardoost et al. (US 2024/0072975), at Figs. 18-19 and associated description, discloses a wireless device aggregating HARQ feedback in a PUCCH transmission;
Yoo et al. (US 2016/0205679), at Figs. 4-5 and associated description, discloses a UE receiving a DL grant on a PCell, DL data on an SCell, and transmitting UL ACK/NACK on the PCell;
Babaei et al. (US 2020/0314948), at Fig. 19 and associated description, discloses a wireless device receiving a DRX configuration and DCI from a base station for providing HARQ feedback for receiving a PDSCH;
Chen et al. (US 2018/0014301), at Fig. 5 and associated description, discloses a UE receiving DCI and DL communication from a base station and responding with an UL communication; and
Nayeb Nazar et al. (CA 2786472), at Figs. 2A-3 and associated description, discloses CC mapping, and a WTRU decoding PDCCH, determining dynamic parameters, and proportioning groups among UL CCS based on dynamic and semi-static parameters.
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468