DETAILED ACTION
The present application is a national stage entry of PCT/JP2022/016427, filed 31 March 2022, which claims foreign priority to JP2021-061023, filed 31 March 2021.
The preliminary amendment filed 28 September 2023 is acknowledged. Claims 1-12 are pending in the current application and are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation “wherein the content of water and/or hydrophilic solvent” in claim 10 lacks antecedent basis from claim 1. While claim 1 recites “forms a physical gel upon absorption of water”, nowhere is water a physical and required limitation of the resin of claim 1. Nowhere is a solvent positively recited. Thus, the limitations of claim 10 lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lawal et al. (European Polymer Journal, 2009, vol. 45, pp. 3399-3408, cited in PTO-892).
Lawal et al. disclose crosslinking carboxymethyl starch to prepare hydrogels that have a large water absorption capacity (title, abstract, p.3399, first para). The hydrogels can be used in personal care products, including diapers, incontinence articles, sanitary products for fluid absorption, etc. (p.3399, first para). Lawal et al. disclose substituting starch with anionic carboxymethyl groups improves hydrophilicity, thus facilitating water absorbance (p.3400, second para). The crosslinked carboxymethyl starch had an absorption under load of 16-28 g/g in deionized water, and 12-20 g/g in saline (figs. 6 and 7, respectively). It also had a free swelling capacity of 50-80 g/g in deionized water, and 40-70 g/g in saline (fig. 9 and 10, respectively). Thus, Lawal et al. was able to prepare a hydrogel using cheap, readily available and renewable resource, having diverse technical applications, particularly where moderate swelling/water absorption is required (p.3408).
Thus, Lawal et al. disclose a water-absorbing resin, which is a crosslinked starch, with an acidic group (carboxymethyl) introduced therein.
The recitation “wherein when the water-absorbing resin is suspending…” in claim 2 is a latent property of the water-absorbing resin of claim 1. The same rational applies to the characteristics recited in present claims 8 and 9.
Thus, the disclosure of Lawal et al. anticipates claims 1, 2, 5-10 and 12 of the present application.
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mohamood et al. (Chemistry Central Journal, 2018, vol. 12, 10 pages, cited in PTO-892).
Mohamood et al. disclose preparing carboxymethyl starch, and crosslinking it with acetic acid (abstract). However, Mohamood et al. also teach crosslinking can be established by change in pH, radiation, heat or pressure (p.2, first para). Crosslinking increases chemical bond strength and thermal stability. Carboxymethyl starch is known to have water absorption properties. Carboxylic acid groups are added to starch to enable the starch to increase its absorption capacity (p.2, second para). The degree of swelling increased the most when the crosslinked carboxymethyl starch was treated with 1.0 M NaOH, to a value of 23.64 g/g in PBS (i.e. subjected to alkali treatment), (see fig. 7). The optimum crosslinking temperature was 60 °C.
Thus, Mohamood et al. disclose a water-absorbing resin, which is a crosslinked starch, with an acidic group (carboxymethyl) introduced therein. The resin is subsequently subjected to alkali treatment as required by present claim 11.
The recitation “wherein when the water-absorbing resin is suspending…” in claim 2 is a latent property of the water-absorbing resin of claim 1. The same rational applies to the characteristics recited in present claims 8 and 9.
Thus, the disclosure of Lawal et al. anticipates claims 1, 2 and 5-12 of the present application.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bolduc et al. (US Patent No. 8,461,129, cited in PTO-892).
Bolduc et al. disclose a superabsorbent material comprising a particle formed of a carboxylated polysaccharide, said interior is absorbent, and the surface is treated with a non-crosslinking acid in the presence of an organic solvent (claim 1). Bolduc et al. disclose a hygiene article comprising the carboxylated polysaccharide particle (claims 15-17). The carboxylated polysaccharide is carboxymethyl starch (claim 12). Bolduc et al. disclose internal crosslinking is optional (col. 2:60-62). Bolduc et al. found surface treating the polysaccharide with non-crosslinking acids did not produce ester linkages (col. 13:22-30). The surface-treated carboxylated polysaccharides form discrete gel particles once swollen (col.13:46-54).
Thus, Bolduc et al. disclose a water-absorbing resin, which is a crosslinked starch, with an acidic group (carboxymethyl) introduced therein.
The recitation “wherein when the water-absorbing resin is suspending…” in claim 2 is a latent property of the water-absorbing resin of claim 1. The same rational applies to the characteristics recited in present claims 8 and 9.
Thus, the disclosure of Lawal et al. anticipates claims 1-10 and 12 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolduc et al. (cited above) in view of Fujii et al. (US Patent No. 6,723,797, cited in PTO-892).
Bolduc et al. teach as discussed above.
While Bolduc et al. teach modifying the surface of superabsorbent carboxymethyl starch, and that internal crosslinking is optional, Bolduc et al. do not expressly disclose a surface-crosslinked starch having no internal crosslinking (present claims 3 and 4).
Fujii et al. teach increasing the crosslinking density using an inner crosslinking agent is a known technique to increase the water absorbing capacity of a water-absorbing resin (col.1:29-37). However, a high crosslinking density decreases the water absorbing capacity of the resin under no load. To solve this problem, the surface of water-absorbing resins can be crosslinked instead, while maintaining a low density of crosslinking inside the particles (col.1:38-53). The surface crosslinking agents are prepared from a halohydrin (col.2:60 to col.3:55). Fujii et al. expressly teach that while the crosslinking agent can be used as an inner crosslinking agent, it is preferably used to effect surface-crosslinking of water absorbing resin (col.13-14, bridging para). In example 1, Fujii et al. describe preparing an acrylic acid-based resin by polymerization. The resin particles were placed in a double-arm type kneader, and with stirring, the aqueous solution comprising a crosslinking agent was sprayed thereon, and the mixture was mixed thoroughly (col.18-19). The water was heated to 105 °C for 30 min to give surface-crosslinked particles of water absorbing resin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to surface-crosslink carboxymethyl starch water-absorbing resin.
Starting from Bolduc et al., one having ordinary skill in the art would have looked to the teaching of Fujii et al., because they are both concerned with improving the absorbance of a water-absorbing resin by modifying its surface. Both Bolduc et al. and Fujii et al. teach internally crosslinking the water-absorbing resin is optional, and Fujii et al. further teach internal crosslinking is not desirable because it results in a product having an inferior water-absorbing property under no load.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to surface-crosslink the carboxymethyl starch water-absorbing resin, because surface-crosslinking is a known technique to improve similar products (water-absorbing resins).
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolduc et al. and Fujii et al. as applied to claims 1-10 and 12 above, and further in view of Mohamood et al. (Chemistry Central Journal, 2018, vol. 12, 10 pages, cited in PTO-892).
Bolduc et al. teach as discussed above.
Bolduc et al. do not expressly disclose subjecting the water-absorbing resin to alkali treatment (present claim 11).
Fujii et al. teach as discussed above.
Mohamood et al. teach preparing crosslinked carboxymethyl starch, with pendant carboxylic groups (abstract). Carboxymethyl starch is known to have water absorption properties. Carboxylic acid groups are added to starch to enable the starch to increase its absorption capacity (p.2, second para). The degree of swelling increased the most when the crosslinked carboxymethyl starch was treated with 1.0 M NaOH, to a value of 23.64 g/g in PBS (i.e. subjected to alkali treatment), (see fig. 7). The pendant group of the anionic hydrogel, carboxyl groups, COO_ are ionized in higher pH, causing the swelling of the hydrogel (p.7, first para).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to subject a crosslinked carboxymethyl starch to alkali treatment, because Mohamood et al. found crosslinked carboxymethyl starch swelled the most when it was subsequently treated with 1.0 M NaOH.
The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in swelling the carboxymethyl starch of Bolduc et al., because Mohamood et al. teach the pendant group of the anionic hydrogel, carboxyl groups, COO_ are ionized in higher pH, causing the swelling of the hydrogel.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura et al. (Carbohydrate Polymers, 2006, vol. 64, pp. 345-349, cited in PTO-892) in view of Fujii et al. (cited above).
Yoshimura et al. teach modifying starch with succinic anhydride, followed by neutralization (abstract). Yoshimura et al. describe the starch carboxylate as a superabsorbent hydrogel:
(p.346, 2.4. Preparation of superabsorbent hydrogels in water). The final hydrogel products did not dissolve but swelled in water without distinct crosslinking process (p.347, 3.1). The water absorbency of the product ranged from 50 g/g to 70 g/g (p.348, 3.2. Water absorbency and biodegradability). The maximum absorbency in pure water was about 120 g water/g dry gel (p.349, last para). Yoshimura et al. teach higher degree of substitution leads to higher absorbency (abstract).
Yoshimura et al. do not expressly disclose crosslinking the surface of the starch, with no internal crosslinking (present claims 3 and 4).
Fujii et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to surface-crosslink carboxymethyl starch water-absorbing resin.
Starting from Yoshimura et al., one having ordinary skill in the art would have looked to the teaching of Fujii et al., because they are both concerned with improving the absorbance of a water-absorbing starch by chemical modification that does not rely on internal crosslinking. Fujii et al. further teach internal crosslinking is not desirable because it results in a product having an inferior water-absorbing property under no load. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to surface-crosslink the carboxymethyl starch water-absorbing resin, because surface-crosslinking is a known technique to improve water absorbency under no load of similar products (water-absorbing resins).
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura et al. and Fujii et al. as applied to claims 1-10 and 12 above, and further in view of Mohamood et al. (Chemistry Central Journal, 2018, vol. 12, 10 pages, cited in PTO-892).
Yoshimura et al. teach as discussed above.
Yoshimura et al. do not expressly disclose subjecting the water-absorbing resin to alkali treatment (present claim 11).
Fujii et al. teach as discussed above.
Mohamood et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to subject a crosslinked carboxymethyl starch to alkali treatment, because Mohamood et al. found crosslinked carboxymethyl starch swelled the most when it was subsequently treated with 1.0 M NaOH.
The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in swelling the carboxymethyl starch of Yoshimura et al., because Mohamood et al. teach the pendant group of the anionic hydrogel, carboxyl groups, COO_ are ionized in higher pH, causing the swelling of the hydrogel.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/552,847 in view of Fujii et al. (cited above).
The claims of the reference application are drawn towards a method of preparing a partially degraded starch and introducing an acidic group, including carboxymethyl or carboxyethyl. While claim 1 involves a crosslinking step, claim 8 is silent. Claim 6 specifies subjecting the resin to alkali treatment.
The claims of the reference application do not expressly disclose surface crosslinking (i.e. no internal crosslinks).
Fujii et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to surface-crosslink carboxymethyl starch water-absorbing resin.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to surface-crosslink the carboxymethyl starch water-absorbing resin, because surface-crosslinking is a known technique to improve water absorbency under no load of similar products (water-absorbing resins).
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections to the pending claims set forth above, no claim is allowed.
/BAHAR CRAIGO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1699