DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Claims 4-6 and 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/5/26.
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species II in the reply filed on 6/5/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restrictions are not considered unduly burdensome to examine all groups and species. This is not found persuasive because there is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct groups and species because at least the following reasons apply: The grouping of patentably indistinct groups and species require a different field of search such as employing different search strategies or search queries.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0013307 Moon et al.
3. Referring to claim 1, Moon et al. teaches a device comprising: a high thermal conductivity substrate, (Figure 5 #12 SiC); and a wide bandgap (WBG) material, (Figure 5 #18, 16, and 20), in contact with the high thermal conductivity substrate, (Figure 5 #12 SiC).
4. Referring to claim 7, Moon et al. teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the WBG material comprises a wide-bandgap gallium nitride (GaN) integrated with the high thermal conductivity substrate, (Figure 5 #12 SiC).
5. Referring to claim 8, Moon et al. teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the wide-bandgap GaN comprises a GaN film, (Figure 5 #20 AlGaN).
6. Referring to claim 9, Moon et al. teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the wide-bandgap GaN comprises a high- electron-mobility transistor (HEMT) , (Figure 5 #18, 16, and 20).
7. Referring to claim 10, Moon et al. teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the HEMT comprises a ALGaN/GaN structure, (Figure 5 #18, 16, and 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0013307 Moon et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0052076 Ni et al.
8. Referring to claim 2, Moon et al. teaches the device of claim 1, but silent to wherein the high thermal conductivity substrate comprises boron arsenide (BAs).
Ni et al. teaches a similar device wherein the high thermal conductivity substrate comprises boron arsenide (BAs), (Paragraphs 0002 & 0039).
The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Ni et al. with Moon et al. because Moon et al. teaches the use of a AlN or SiC substrate to improve thermal dissipation, (Moon et al. Paragraphs 0064 and 0069), and where Ni et al. teaches the use of a material that has a higher thermal conductivity than SiC, (Ni et al. Paragraph 0002. 0018, and 0039 Boron Arsenide), hence it would be obvious to use Boron Arsenide instead of SiC for its improved thermal conductivity, and also since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0013307 Moon et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0362265 Broido et al.
9. Referring to claim 3, Moon et al. teaches the device of claim 1, but silent to wherein the high thermal conductivity substrate comprises boron phosphide (BP).
Broido et al. teaches high thermal conductivy materials for thermal management applications comprising the materials of boron phosphide (BP) and boron arsenide (BAs), (Paragraphs 0014 & 0052 and Figure 3).
The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Broido et al. with Moon et al. because Moon et al. teaches the use of a AlN or SiC, (approximately below 490 W/(m ∙ K)), substrate to improve thermal dissipation, (Moon et al. Paragraphs 0064 and 0069), and where Ni et al. teaches the use of a material that has a higher thermal conductivity than SiC, (Broido et al. Figure 3 above 500 W/(m ∙ K)), hence it would be obvious to use Boron Phosphide instead of SiC for its improved thermal conductivity, and also since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/VICTOR A MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 7/22/26